DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of the compound recited in claim 15 in the reply filed on 10/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Upon further considerations, the restriction requirement between the elected compound of claim 15 and the compound recited in claim 14 is withdrawn.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 17-48, 50-97, and 99-106 have been cancelled. Claims 3-8, 10-16, 49, 98, 107, and 108 have been amended.
Claims 1-16, 49, 98, 107, and 108 are pending and under examination.
Claims 1-16, 49, 98, 107, and 108 are examined to the extent that they read on the compounds recited in claims 14 and 15.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the recitation “ester, or alkylester” in the last line. Correction to “ester, and alkylester” is required
3. Claims 2-4 and 9-11 are objected to because of the recitation “comprises” (line 1). Correction to replace this recitation with the term “is” is required.
4. Claims 7 and 8 are objected to because of the recitation: “wherein R1 is
wherein p is an integer from 1 to 20.
R6 is a toll-like receptor (TLR) agonist or a derivative thereof, and each R3 is independently selected from alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, ester, or alkylester”.
Since R1 is already defined in the parent claim 2, this recitation is redundant. Correction to delete this recitation from the claims is required.
5. Claims 16, 49, and 107 are objected to because of the recitation “a compound of claim 1”. Correction to “the compound of claim 1” is required.
6. Claim 98 is objected to because of the recitations ““an antibody, a ligand, or an antigen binding fragment thereof”(line 2); and “a nanoparticle of claim 49” (line 4). Correction to “an antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof, or a ligand”; and “the nanoparticle of claim 49” is required.
7. Claim 108 is objected to because of the recitation “a composition of claim 16” . Correctio to “the composition of claim 16” is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-16, 49, 107, and 108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Nano Research, February 2019, 12: 855-861), in view of all Dong et al. (WO 19/027999; published on 02/07/2019), Met et al. (Breast Cancer Res Treat, 2011, 125: 395-406), and Bazin et al. (Tetrahedron Letters, 2016, 57: 2063-2066).
Zhang et al. teach conjugates between paclitaxel or camtothecin and an ionizable cationic lipid (PAL and CAL, respectively). PAL and CAL are obtained by reacting the -OH group of paclitaxel/camtothecin with the -COOH group of Lipid 1. The synthetic route is shown below:
(see p. 856, Fig. 1; Supplementary Material, Fig. S1). Zhang et al. teach nanoparticles comprising PAL/CAL, DOPE, cholesterol, and DMG-PEG; the nanoparticles encapsulate an p53-encoding mRNA and are used to simultaneously deliver the encapsulated mRNAs and the drug to the same cell (claims 16, 49, 107, and 108) (see paragraph bridging p. 855 and 856; p. 856-857). Zhang et al. teach that the nanoparticle platform could be used with a broad category of chemotherapy drugs (see p. 858, column 1)
While Zhang et al. teach conjugating to chemotherapy drugs, Dong et al. teach that ionizable cationic lipids could be conjugated to diverse compounds of interest (such as carbohydrates, phosphate, and vitamins) and formulated into nanoparticles for mRNA delivery (see p. 1, line 30 through p. 2, line 20; p. 5, lines 7-25; p. 6, lines 7-13; p. 34; p. 36, lines 10-14; p. 42, lines 3-5; p. 45, lines 15-23; p. 48, lines 18-30; p. 51-52; p. 84; claims 21 and 28).
Based on the combined teachings of Zhang et al. and Dong et al., one of skill in the art would have reasonably concluded that, in addition to chemotherapeutic drugs, Lipid 1 taught by Zhang et al. could be used to obtain conjugates with a variety of other compounds of interest.
While neither Zhang et al. nor Dong et al. teach a TLR agonist as the compound of interest, using a TLR agonist is suggested by the prior art. For example, Dong et al. teach that administering dendritic cells (DCs) transfected with antigen-encoding mRNAs induces antigen-specific immune responses (see p. 1, lines 19-24). Met et al. teach that DCs transfected with an mRNA encoding p53 could be used to induce immune response against tumors expressing high levels of mutated p53 (see Abstract; paragraph bridging p. 395 and 396; p. 396, column 1, last paragraph). Bazin et al. teach that, since TLR7 and TLR8 are expressed by DCs, agonists which potently activate both TLR7 and TLR8 (such as resiquimod) are useful as vaccine adjuvants capable of eliciting innate and adaptive immune responses against cancer. Bazin et al. teach that, since TLR7/8 are located in the endosomal compartment, cellular uptake of the TLR7/8 agonists is a prerequisite for DC activation; cellular uptake is achieved via conjugating the TLR7/8 agonists to lipids. The TLR7/8 agonists taught by Bazin et al. are:
(resiquimod or R848)
(see p. 2063).
Based on these teachings, one of skill in the art would have found obvious to modify Zhang et al. by replacing paclitaxel/camtothecin with the TLR7/8 agonists taught by Bazin et al. to achieve the predictable result of obtaining nanoparticles suitable for obtaining DCs capable of eliciting enhanced immune responses against tumors expressing high levels of mutated p53, when eliciting immune responses against these tumors was desired. By doing so one of skill in the art would have reacted the -OH group of the TLR7/8 agonists with the -COOH group of Lipid 1 and would have obtained compounds set forth by Formulae A and I (claims 1, 7, and 8). By conjugating R848 to Lipid 1, one of skill in the art would have obtained a conjugate as recited in claim 2-6 and 9-14.
With respect to claim15, Dong et al. teach that that the branched lipid tail aldehyde
could be used to obtain cationic ionizable lipids for conjugation with compounds of interest (see p. 56; p. 63). Modifying Zhang et al. and Bazin et al. by replacing lauraldehyde (highlighted in the synthetic route above) with
would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to achieve the predictable result of obtaining nanoparticles suitable for eliciting enhanced immune responses against tumors expressing high levels of mutated p53. By doing so, one of skill in the art would have obtained the compound recited in claims 13 and 15.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time of its effective filing date.
10. Claims 1-16, 49, 98, 107, and 108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. taken with all Dong et al., Met et al., and Bazin et al., in further view of Murugaiyan et al. (Clin. Exp. Immunol., 2007, 149: 194-202).
The teachings of Zhang et al., Dong et al., Met et al., and Bazin et al. are applied as above for claims 1-16, 49, 107, and 108. Zhang et al., Dong et al., Met et al., and Bazin et al. do not teach a composition comprising a ligand for a costimulatory molecule and nanoparticles encapsulating an mRNA encoding the costimulatory molecule (claim 98). Murugaiyan et al. teach that the interaction between CD40 and its ligand CD40-L plays an important role in the anti-tumor immune responses. Murugaiyan et al. teach that the anti-tumor immune responses are dependent on the levels of CD40 expression on DCs and CD40-L on T-cells; higher levels promote tumor regression, while the low levels induced during tumor progression promote tumor growth. Murugaiyan et al. teach that strong CD40 stimulation by agonistic antibodies or peptidomimetic small molecules is needed for generating enhanced anti-tumor immune responses (see Abstract; paragraph bridging p. 194 and 195; p. 202, column 1). Based on these teachings, one of skill in the art would have reasonably concluded that transfecting DCs with a nucleic acid encoding CD40 and contacting the transfected DCs with a CD40 ligand would provide the strong stimulation necessary for anti-tumoral activity. One of skill in the art would have found obvious to modify the nanoparticles of Zhang et al., Dong et al., Met et al., and Bazin et al. by further encapsulating a CD40-encoding mRNA and incorporate the resultant nanoparticles in a kit containing a CD40 agonistic antibody to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a composition suitable for eliciting enhanced immune responses against tumors expressing high levels of mutated p53, when treating these tumors was desired.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time of its effective filing date.
11. No claim is allowed. No claim is free of prior art.
/ILEANA POPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633