DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 11/22/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7, 10-13, 15-20, 22-27, 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/22/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is vague and indefinite because it is not clear how said optical metrology (that is performing optical metrology on said cured film and said substrate) is simultaneously performing optical metrology during formation of said non-uniform film. The examiner suggests adding language such as --also-- or --further comprising-- to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘399 (US 2017/0106399 A1) in view of ‘073 (WO 2018/027073 A1) in view of ‘674 (WO 2010/034674 A1).
Claims 1-2, 4-5:
‘399 teaches the PAINT process [0029] whereby droplets of UV curable liquid are ejected onto a substrate (Fig. 3A) followed by application of a superstrate to spread and merge the droplets into a non-uniform shape (Fig. 3B-3D), followed by curing (Fig. 3E) and removal of the superstrate (Fig. 3F). Although ‘399 does not explicitly state the formed object (cured film and substrate) is subjected to optical metrology, the process does include optical metrology (Fig. 6, the metrology tool 602) and it would have been obvious to check the formed object compared to the intended design to ensure the desired object with the desired properties was, in fact, formed.
The resulting object can be a corrector plate, which is a lens designed to be part of an optical system that corrects for aberrations in a spherical mirror [0141].
‘399 does not teach local heating or a multi-lens column.
However, ‘073 teaches local heating using a DMD to form a non-uniform profile [0040].
Additionally, ‘674 teaches a multi-lens column including the lenses and spherical mirrors (Fig. 8-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of ‘399 and further include a local heating step for the purpose of controlling the shape of the film and forming a non-uniform profile. ‘073 teaches it is suitable to include a local heating step for this reason. It would have further been obvious to integrate the corrector plate into a multi-lens column because ‘674 establishes such lenses and spherical mirrors are conventional in a multi-lens column.
Claim 3:
‘073 teaches in-situ metrology used as a part of a feedback loop for forming the film [00110].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0030879 teaches in situ metrology and finish/final metrology (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759