DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 7/21/2026.
The objections and rejections not addressed below are deemed withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Duin et al, WO2017/198521.
Van Duin discloses a composition comprising an ethylene/olefin/diene copolymer (EPDM) and extender oil (for claim 1) in an amount of 10 to 40 phr, overlapping the claimed range (for claim 1), wherein the sum of the EPDM and the extender oil is at least 95 wt% of the composition, overlapping the claimed range (for claim 1) (page 4: lines 8-24).
Said EPDM comprises less than 63 wt% ethylene, overlapping the claimed range (for claim 1); an olefin which is most preferably propylene (for claim 1) (page 5: lines 8-9); and 4 to 8 wt% of diene which is a combination of 5-ethylidene-2-norbornene (ENB) (for claim 1) and 5-vinylnorbornene (VNB) (for claim 5) (Page 4: lines 12-20; page 5: lines 4-5). Van Duin further specifies that the VNB content is in the range of 0.05 to 1 wt% (Page 4: lines 19-20), overlapping the claimed range (for claim 5). Based on this value and the total amount of diene in the EPDM (4 to 8 wt%) it is calculated that the prior art EPDM comprises 3 to 7.95 wt% ENB.
Regarding the olefin content: The prior art teaches an EPDM comprising 55 to 63 wt% ethylene and a combined 4 to 8 wt% of ENB and VNB; based on these numbers, it is deduced that the propylene content would be in the range of 29 to 41 wt% (for claim 1).
Regarding the number of ENB units per chain: The prior art EPDM has a weight average molecular weight (Mw) in the range of 400000 to 700000 g/mol and a molecular weight distribution (Mw/Mn) in the range of 3.5 to 6.0 (page 5: lines 18-25); it is therefore calculated that the prior art EPDM has a number average molecular weight (Mn) in the range of about 66,666.7 to 200000 g/mol (i.e., about 66.7 to 200 kg/mol). Given this Mn and the ENB content noted in the previous paragraph, the number of ENB units per chain for the prior art EPDM ranges from [(3 × 10 ×66.7)/120] to [7.95 × 10 × 200)/120]-i.e., about 17 to about 133, overlapping the claimed range (for claims 1, 4).
Regarding claim 2: The prior art EPDM is branched with a difference in phase angle δ in the range of 0 to 30 (page 5: lines 26-32), overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3: As noted above, Van Duin teaches that the prior art EPDM has a Mw in the range of 400000 to 700000 g/mol.
Regarding claims 8, 10: The prior art teaches a Mooney viscosity ML(1+8) 150 °C ≥ 95 (page 5: lines 15-17).
Regarding claims 11-14: Van Duin further teaches the addition of a vulcanizing agent, corresponding to the claimed curing agent (for claim 11), to form a vulcanizable composition (for claim 12) which is then shaped and cured to form an article (for claims 13, 14) (page 7: lines 10-22).
Regarding claim 15: Van Duin teaches that the prior art rubber composition may comprise a blowing agent (page 10: line 14). An ordinary artisan will recognize that such additives are used to a polymer composition to make a foam.
Regarding claim 17: The prior art rubber composition is prepared via a process comprising the steps of polymerizing the monomers to form the EPDM, adding the extender oil to the EPDM in the reaction mixture , and then removing the volatiles (page 7: lines 3-9).
Van Duin is silent regarding the production of an EPDM having the claimed amounts of each monomer and number of ENB repeating units per chain.
Regarding the amounts of ethylene, propylene, and number of ENB repeating units: It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages; see In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (" (MPEP § 2144.05).
As noted earlier in this Action, the prior art teaches the production of an EPDM wherein the ranges for the amounts of ethylene, propylene, and ENB repeating units overlap the claimed ranges. Barring a showing of evidence demonstrating unexpected results, it therefore would have been obvious at the time the invention was effectively filed to prepare an EPDM having the claimed monomer content and number of ENB per chain in view of the teachings of Van Duin (for claims 1, 4, 5).
Regarding the claimed ENB weight percent: It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As noted earlier in this Action, the prior art EPDM contains ENB in an amount up to 7.95 wt%. The difference between this value and the claimed lower limit of 8 wt% is small-only 0.05. Note that
the prior art teaches the production of a composition comprising an EPDM and extender oil in the same amounts as the claimed invention,
the prior art EPDM contains the same monomers (i.e., ethylene, propylene, ENB, and VNB) as the claimed invention,
the amounts of ethylene, propylene, and VNB in the prior art EPDM are all within the claimed ranges
the prior art EPDM has the same properties of difference in phase angle δ , Mw, Mooney viscosity ML(1+8) 150 °C, and
the prior art composition is used in the same applications such as seals and engine mounts (page 10: lines 17-21) as the claimed invention (specification page 19: lines 14-25).
Given that the 1) the prior art EPDM is so similar to the claimed ethylene copolymer and 2) that the difference between the prior art amount of ENB and the claimed lower limit of 8% is so small (i.e. 0.05%), an ordinary artisan would reasonably expect that the properties of the prior art composition comprising an EPDM having an ENB content of 7.95wt% would not be materially different from those of the claimed invention. The burden is therefore shifted to applicant to provide evidence demonstrating the criticality of the claimed range.
Regarding the claimed properties of phase angle minimum δmin (for claim 1), dynamic stiffness (for claim 16), and tan delta (for claim 16): “[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same…" as that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP § 2112).
As discussed above, the prior art renders obvious a composition which appears to be identical to the claimed invention. It is therefore reasonably expected that its properties would not be materially different from those of the claimed invention. The burden is therefore shifted to applicant to provide evidence demonstrating an unobvious difference between the claimed invention and the prior art (for claims 1, 16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Van Duin does not suggest the production of a copolymer comprising 0.2 to 1.2 wt% VNB and having more than 95 up to 120 units of ENB per polymer chain as calculated according to formula (I) recited in independent claim 1.
In response, Van Duin discloses an ethylene/olefin/diene copolymer wherein the diene is required to be a combination of ENB and VNB (abstract). Furthermore, as noted earlier in this Action, Van Duin teaches that the amount of VNB is in the range of 0.05 to 1 wt% (abstract; page 4: lines 17-18); note that this overlaps the claimed range of 0.2 to 1.2 wt% VNB.
With regards to the number of ENB units per polymer chain, it has been held that “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom"; see In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) (MPEP § 2144.1). As discussed earlier in this Action, the prior art EPDM has a Mn in the range of about 66,666.7 to 200000 g/mol (i.e., about 66.7 to 200 kg/mol) and an ENB content of 3 to 7.95 wt%. Based on these ranges, an ordinary artisan can calculate that the number of ENB units per chain for the prior art EPDM ranges from [(3 × 10 ×66.7)/120] to [7.95 × 10 × 200)/120]-i.e., about 17 to about 133, overlapping the claimed range.
Van Duin therefore teaches the production of a polymer wherein the VNB content and the number of units of ENB per polymer chain are in ranges that overlap the claimed ranges. Applicant’s argument that Van Duin does not suggest the newly added limitations therefore is not persuasive, as it is well settled that “even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness”; see In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
With regards to the submitted declaration, applicant cites Table 2 as allegedly demonstrating that the claimed polymer is not obvious over the polymer of Van Duin.
To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range; see In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960) (MPEP § 716.02(d)(II)). The cited table contains data from a single example reported to have 105 units of ENB per chain; note that this value is just slightly below the midpoint of the claimed range of 95 to 120 units. In contrast, the comparative example is reported to have 63 ENB units per chain, which is about 33% less than the claimed lower limit of 95 units per chain. Because the differences between the exemplified amounts and the claimed lower limit of 95 units per chain are so great, the data provided in the submitted declaration does not demonstrate the criticality of the claimed range.
Furthermore, note that the comparative example in the submitted declaration is reported to have an ENB content of 5.5%; this value is about 18% lower than the claimed lower limit of 8 wt% recited in claim 1. As discussed earlier in this Action, however, Van Duin renders obvious a polymer having an ENB content as high as 7.95 wt%. Note that this value is only 0.625% less than the claimed lower limit of 8 wt%. Because the prior art value is so much closer to the claimed lower limit than the value exemplified in the submitted declaration, the cited Table does not demonstrate the criticality of the claimed ENB content. The cited data therefore does not demonstrate that the polymer rendered obvious by Van Duin would not be expected to have the same properties as the claimed polymer.
To the extent that applicant argues that Van Duin does not disclose the same advantages or the same use(s) as envisioned by applicant, it has been held that “[T]he reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant; see In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). It therefore is not persuasive to argue that Van Duin does not teach the same alleged improvements and/or end uses as desired by applicant.
Applicant argues that Table 1 of the submitted declaration demonstrates that the prior art polymer would not be expected to have the required phase angle minimum. As noted earlier in this Action, Van Duin teaches an EPDM wherein the prior art ranges for ethylene content, propylene content, VNB content, difference in phase angle δ, Mw, and Mooney viscosity ML(1+8) 150 °C all overlap the claimed ranges. The prior art therefore renders obvious an EPDM wherein these properties are the same as those of the ethylene copolymer of the claimed invention.
The difference between the EPDM of Van Duin and the ethylene copolymer of the claimed invention is the ENB content. As noted above, Van Duin teaches an EPDM wherein the ENB content can be as high as 7.95 wt%, which is only 0.625% less than the claimed lower limit of 8 wt%, whereas the cited comparative example has an ENB content of 5.5 wt%, which is about 18% less than the claimed lower limit. It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Because the difference between the ENB content of the comparative example and the claimed lower limit is so much greater than the difference between the prior art upper limit of 7.95 and the claimed value of 8 wt%, the cited data does not demonstrate that the EPDM rendered obvious by Van Duin would not have the required phase angle minimum.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). As discussed above, the prior art renders obvious the production of an EPDM having the required values of ethylene content, propylene content, ENB content, and # ENB units/chain; see In re Wertheim, In re Woodruff, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner cited earlier in this Action. Contrary to applicant’s argument, impermissible hindsight is not required to optimize these values based on the ranges specifically disclosed by Van Duin. Contrary to applicant’s arguments, the normal desire of scientists to improve upon what is already known in the art provides the motivation to choose the overlapping portions of the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges; see In re Peterson cited earlier in this Action.
Applicant argues that the submitted declaration should be given more weight than that of a layman because Dr. Björn Loges is an expert in the field. Although factual evidence is preferable to opinion testimony, such testimony is entitled to consideration and some weight so long as the opinion is not on the ultimate legal conclusion at issue (emphasis added). While an opinion as to a legal conclusion is not entitled to any weight, the underlying basis for the opinion may be persuasive. In re Chilowsky, 306 F.2d 908, 134 USPQ 515 (CCPA 1962) (MPEP 716.01(c)). It is therefore unpersuasive to argue that Dr. Loges states the opinion that the claimed invention would be unobvious, as opinions on the ultimate legal conclusion (i.e., that the claimed invention would allegedly be unobvious over the prior art) are not entitled to legal weight.
As to the underlying basis for Dr. Loges’ opinion-i.e., the data cited in the submitted declaration-it is noted that said data does not demonstrate that the properties of the EPDM having an ENB content of 7.95 wt% as taught by Van Duin would be materially different from those of the claimed invention per the reasons outlined in the previous paragraphs. Applicant’s comparative example of a polymer having an ENB content of 5.5 wt% does not demonstrate the criticality of the claimed range when the prior art upper limit of 7.95 wt% is so much closer to the claimed lower limit of 8 wt%.
Regarding applicant’s comparison of the specification’s Example 1 to its Comparative examples (see remarks page 11), the cited evidence must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 716.02(e)). Note that Van Duin requires that the prior art copolymer has a Mooney viscosity ML(1+8) at 150 C ≥ 85 MU, and a total diene content in the range of 4 to 8 wt%. None of the comparative examples C1 to C5(A) presented in the instant specification satisfy these requirements (see specification page 27: Table 1). Applicant’s comparison of the inventive example to the comparative examples of the specification therefore does not compare the claimed invention to the closest prior art as required.
With regards to applicant’s argument that the examples of Van Duin have a narrower range for ENB units per polymer chain, it has been held that "a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments," Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.). "Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or non-preferred embodiments,” In re Susi 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). (MPEP § 2123 [R-5]). The rejection of record is not based on an individual example; rather, the rejection is based on the prior art’s broad disclosure. Contrary to applicant’s arguments, the mere fact that the prior art examples represent a narrow portion of its disclosure does not teach away from its broader disclosure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY S LENIHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765