DETAILED ACTION
It appears a restriction/Election was improperly submitted in this application that was intended for a different application. Examiner will work on removing the action from the file folder. In the meantime, the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 1/14/2026 is hereby withdrawn and vacated. The following action replaces the Requirement for Restriction/Election and should have been the subsequent Office Action.
Applicants' arguments, filed 12/11/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burks et al (Cholecystokinin Receptor-Targeted Polyplex Nanoparticle Inhibits Growth and Metastasis of Pancreatic Cancer, March 7, 2018).
Burks et al. discloses in Figure 1C, the structure of a species of claim 12. Further, Figure 4C, discloses using the construct of Figure 1c for in vivo detection of pancreatic intraepithelial neoplasia lesions in a subject (rats are subjects according to the instant specification definition at pg 5) with fluorescently labeled Cy3 gastrin siRNA (see Figure 1E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burks et al (Cholecystokinin Receptor-Targeted Polyplex Nanoparticle Inhibits Growth and Metastasis of Pancreatic Cancer, March 7, 2018) in view of Ruoslahti et al (WO2011127405).
Burks et al is discussed above for teaching in vivo detection of pancreatic intraepithelial neoplasia lesions in a subject using the construct of instant claim 12 and fluorescently labeled Cy3 gastrin siRNA, but does not teach the additional detectable moieties of component c in instant claims 3-11. Burks et al further teaches the use of the theronostic NPs as labeled to localize small tumors for diagnostic purposes (pg 30, left column, last ¶ spanning to right column).
Ruoslahti et al teaches known detectable agents include fluoropores, Ga-67, and sulfoates (pg 20 lines 7-16 and pgs 53-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substituted known detectable agents disclosed in by Ruoslahti et al into the composition of Burks et al, given the common purpose of providing in vivo detection. See MPEP 2144.06.
It would then have been obvious to use the constructs for the disclosed purposes of Burks.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612