DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on April 8, 2026.
Applicant’s amendment to the specification, filed April 8, 2026, is hereby entered.
Claims 1 – 4, 6, 7, 9 and 10 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claim 5 has been cancelled.
Claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 10 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the specification, filed April 8, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the objection to the specification as set forth in the office action filed January 12, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 8, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the objection to claim 9 as set forth in the office action filed January 12, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 8, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention as set forth in the office action filed January 12, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 8, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen as set forth in the office action filed January 12, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 8, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 3, 5, and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchiwaki as set forth in the office action filed January 12, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 8, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 5, 8 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham as set forth in the office action filed January 12, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 8, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham in view of Suh as set forth in the office action filed January 12, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 4, and 6 – 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 4, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (US20210210693A1).
As per claims 1 – 4, Uehara teaches:
An organic electroluminescence device, between an anode and a cathode, comprising at least, a first hole transport layer, a second hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer in this order from the anode side ([0075]: “The organic EL device of the present invention may have a structure in which an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode are sequentially formed on a substrate.” In [0084], Uehara teaches that the hole transport layer may be formed of two or more compounds, formed in a stacked layer system, which is interpreted as the claimed first and second hole transport layer.)
The second hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by
(Uehara teaches triarylamine compounds of Formula A-1
([0027]) for use in the hole transport layer ([0049]). A specific compound taught by Uehara is compound 1
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein A represents a group represented by general formula (2-1) wherein n is an integer of 0 so that R1 does not exist, L1 represents a n unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon, m represents an integer of 1, Ar1 and Ar2 represent an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group; The group is represented by general formula (2-1) in claim 2 and general formulae (2-3) and (2-4) in claims 3 and 4 wherein p is 0 ; B and C both represent a substituted phenyl group.)
The first hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (3)
(Another compound taught by Uehara is compound 2
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein D and E represent a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group; F represents a group represented by general formula 4-1) wherein q is an integer of 0 so that L2 does not exist; r and s represent 0 so that R2 and R3 do not exist; X1 represents CR5R6.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a multilayer hole transport layer with the claimed layer compositions based on the desire to predictably practice the invention of Uehara and based on the totality of the teachings of Uehara, as Uehara teaches that the hole transport layer can be formed of individual stacks together of single compounds within Formula A-1 ([0084]).
Since the prior art combination teaches substantially the same structures as disclosed by Applicant, the property of the absolute value of a difference between a HOMO level of the second hole transport layer and a HOMO layer of the first hole transport layer is considered to naturally flow from the product of the prior art combination (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be present. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. Examiner further notes that the structures above are sufficiently similar that it is reasonable to expect that they would have similar HOMO levels, such as those required by the claimed relationship.
As per claim 6, Uehara additionally teaches compound 37
, with two fluorenyl groups. Therefore it would have been obvious to modify compound 2 to replace the biphenyl substituent with a fluorenyl group and arrive at a compound with two groups represented by general formula (4-1) and both of the X1 groups are CR5R6 as claimed.
Uehara includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Uehara being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of high light emission efficiency, low voltage and long lifespan in organic electronic devices containing them in the hole transport layer ([0024]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 10, Uehara teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer contains an anthracene derivative having an anthracene backbone (In the Example devices as described in [0150], the compound EMH-1 was used as a host material for the light emitting layer
. This material contains the anthracene backbone as claimed.)
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (US20210210693A1) as applied to claims 1 – 4, 6, and 10 above, and further in view of Suh (WO2019164331A1, using US20210184121A1 as the official English language translation).
As per claims 8 and 9, Uehara teaches anthracene based host materials, such as
used in the emission layer ([0150]). Uehara does not teach:
Wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a blue light emitting dopant and the blue light-emitting dopant is a compound represented by general formula (5-1)
Suh teaches OLED devices with similar anthracene-based host materials,
, and similar triarylamine hole transport layer materials
([0178]). Suh teaches that the devices contain blue dopants such as
, which reads on Formula 5-1 wherein Q1 and Q3 are unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbons and Q2 is a substituted aromatic heterocyclic ring; X2 represents B; Y1 represents O, and Y2 and Y3 represent N-R7 wherein R7 is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the OLED of Uehara with the blue dopant of Suh, which reads on the claimed formula because the dopants of Suh are taught to be predictably suitable for use in emission layers with anthracene-based host materials and triarylamine hole transport layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, Uehara does not specifically teach a triarylamine hole transporting material with multiple groups represented by (4-1) wherein one of the plurality of X1 is NR4 and the other X1 is CR5R6 as required by claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789