DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on June 19, 2020.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on November 16, 2022.
Claims 1 – 10 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on November 16, 2022, February 15, 2023, July 17, 2024, February 28, 2025, and September 4, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Formulae 5-1 and 5-2 in claim 9 are low resolution and it is difficult to determine the presence or absence of bonds, particularly as it relates to Y3 and Q3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Many of the compounds and formulae in the specification, including at least formulae 5-1 and 5-2 on page 12, the synthesis reactions on pages 40 – 54, and the compounds in [0165], [0169 – 0172] are low resolution and difficult to discern.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The formulae in claims 1 – 5, and 9 contain two different identifiers for the formulae drawn, a [Chem. X] identifier above the structure and a (x) identifier below. This renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear when the claims discuss a formulae number which identifier is being used. For instance, claim 5 recites a compound represented by general formula (3), which could refer to
in the claim, but could also be interpreted as being represented by Chem. 3 in claim 2 as both structures appear to be represented by the identifier “3.”
Examiner recommends amending the claims to remove the [Chem XX] identifiers.
Claims 6 – 8 and 10 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 4, and 8 – 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 17/909100 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of formula (1) with a group represented by formula 2-1 in claims 1 – 4 of the ‘100 application overlap in scope with formula (1) in claims 1 – 4 of the instant application. Claims 5 – 20 of the ‘100 application discuss the use of a blue emitting layer with an anthracene host material and a blue dopant with the same formula as in claims 8 – 10 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,925,108. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of formula A-1 in the ‘108 patent overlap in scope with formula (1) in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN110317140A, using the provided machine translation). “NPB” (“NPB” Ossila.) is provided as an evidentiary reference for claim 1.
As per claims 1 – 4, Chen teaches:
An organic electroluminescence device, between an anode and a cathode comprising, at least a first hole transport layer, a second hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer in this order from the anode side (In Example Device 1, as described in [0134], a device is prepared with a substrate, an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer a, a hole transport layer b, an emission layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode sequentially formed.)
Wherein the second hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (1)
(In Example 9, compound 108 is used in the hole transport layer b
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein A represents a group represented by general formula 2-1
wherein n is an integer of 0 so that R1 does not exist; L1 represents a divalent group which is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon, m is an integer of 1, Ar1 is a substituted aromatic heterocyclic group; Ar2 is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group; B and C represent a substituted aromatic group. This compound reads on general formula 2-2 in claim 2 and general formulae 2-3 and 2-4 in claims 3 and 4 wherein p is 0.)
Wherein an absolute value of a difference between a HOMO level of the second hole transport layer and a HOMO level of the first hole transport layer is 0.15 eV or less (In the Example device 9, NPB is used as the material of hole transport layer a. As evidenced by “NPB,” the HOMO level of NPB is -5.5 eV (Page 2). Table 1 in Chen shows that the HOMO level of compound 108 is -5.55. Therefore, the difference between the HOMO levels is 0.05 eV, which is within the range claimed.)
As per claims 5 – 7, an alternative interpretation is that the claimed first and second hole transport layers are sublayers of Chen’s hole transport b. As the materials would then be the same, the difference in HOMO levels between the layers would be 0, which is less than 0.15 eV as claimed. In this scenario, compound 108 above reads on general formula (3) in claim 5 wherein groups F is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group; E and D are represented by general formula 4-1
, wherein for E, q is 0 so that L2 does not exist, r and s are 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist, X1 is CR5R6 wherein R5 and R6 each represent a linear alkyl group having 1 carbon atom; for D, q is 2 and one L2 is divalent group which is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon and the other L2 is a divalent group which is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon; r and s are 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist; X1 is NR4 wherein R4 is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchiwaki (US20160141509A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, Fuchiwaki teaches:
An organic electroluminescence device, between an anode and a cathode comprising, at least a first hole transport layer, a second hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer in this order from the anode side ([0051]: “An organic EL device utilizing the material for an organic EL device according to the inventive concept will be explained. The drawing is a schematic diagram illustrating an organic EL device 100 according to an embodiment. The organic EL device 100 may include, for example, a substrate 102, an anode 104, a hole injection layer 106, a hole transport layer 108, an emission layer 110, an electron transport layer 112, an electron injection layer 114 and a cathode 116.” The claimed first and second hole transport layers are interpreted as two sublayers of the hole transport layer taught by Fuchiwaki.)
Wherein the second hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (1)
(Fuchiwaki teaches compounds of Formula 1
. A particular compound taught by Fuchiwaki is compound 24
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein A represents a group represented by general formula 2-1
wherein n is an integer of 3 two R1 are an unsubstituted aromatic group and one R1 is a substituted aromatic group; L1 is a divalent group which is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon, m is an integer of 1, Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted aromatic group; B and C represent a substituted aromatic group. This compound is represented by general formula 2-2 as required by claim 2, and general formula 2-3 in claim 3 wherein p represents 0. & [0052]: “For example, an embodiment utilizing the material for an organic EL device according to the inventive concept in the hole transport layer 108 will be explained.”)
Wherein an absolute value of a difference between a HOMO level of the second hole transport layer and a HOMO level of the first hole transport layer is 0.15 eV or less (Since the compounds of the first and second hole transport layer are the same, it would naturally follow that the difference between the HOMO levels is 0, which is less than 0.15 eV as claimed.)
While Fuchiwaki does not specifically teach a device with compound 24 in the hole transport layer, Fuchiwaki teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Fuchiwaki as Fuchiwaki demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 5,
Wherein the first hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (3)
(As noted above, the first and second hole transport layer are interpreted as sublayers of Fuchiwaki. Therefore, the compounds of the layers are identical. Compound 24 above reads on the claimed formula wherein E and F represent a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group; and D represents a group represented by general formula 4-1
, wherein q represents an integer of 3 and two L2 are divalent groups which are unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbons and one L2 is a divalent group which is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon; r and s represent 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist; X1 is NR4 wherein R4 is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group.)
As per claim 10, Fuchiwaki teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer contains an anthracene derivative having an anthracene backbone ([0055]: “The emission layer may be disposed on the hole transport layer 108 and may be formed utilizing a host material represented by one of the following Formula HO1 to HO4 doped with a luminescent material
.”)
Claims 1 – 5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (KR20190003329A, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1 – 4, Ham teaches:
An organic electroluminescence device, between an anode and a cathode comprising, at least a first hole transport layer, a second hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer in this order from the anode side ([0110]: “The organic light-emitting device can be stacked in the following order from the bottom: anode (hole injection electrode (1000))/hole injection layer (200)/hole transport layer (300)/light-emitting layer (400)/electron transport layer (500)/electron injection layer (600)/cathode (electron injection electrode (2000)).” The claimed first and second hole transport layers are interpreted as two sublayers of the hole transport layer taught by Ham.)
Wherein the second hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (1)
(Ham teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0007]). A particular compound taught by Ham is compound 4
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein A represents a group represented by general formula 2-1
wherein n is an integer of 0 so that R1 does not exist; L1 is a divalent group which is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon, m is an integer of 1, Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted aromatic group; B and C represent a substituted aromatic group and an unsubstituted aromatic group, respectively. This compound is represented by general formula 2-2 as required by claim 2, and general formulae 2-3 and 2-4 in claim 3 wherein p represents 0. & [0019]: “The compound of the present invention can increase hole injection and transport characteristics when used as a hole transport layer (HTL)”)
Wherein an absolute value of a difference between a HOMO level of the second hole transport layer and a HOMO level of the first hole transport layer is 0.15 eV or less (Since the compounds of the first and second hole transport layer are the same, it would naturally follow that the difference between the HOMO levels is 0, which is less than 0.15 eV as claimed.)
While Ham does not specifically teach a device with compound 24 in the hole transport layer, Ham teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Ham as Ham demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 5, Ham teaches:
Wherein the first hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (3)
(As noted above, the first and second hole transport layer are interpreted as sublayers of Ham. Therefore, the compounds of the layers are identical. Compound 4 above reads on the claimed formula wherein E and F represent a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group and an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group, respectively; and D represents a group represented by general formula 4-1
, wherein q represents an integer of 0 so that L2 does not exist; r and s represent 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist; X1 represents O.)
As per claim 8, Ham teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer contains a blue light-emitting dopant (In the examples, Ham uses the blue dopant
in the emission layer as claimed.)
As per claim 10, Ham teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer contains an anthracene derivative having an anthracene backbone (In the Example devices, as described in [0222], BH01 was used as the host material in the light emitting layer
.)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (KR20190003329A) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 8 and 10 above, and further in view of Suh (WO2019164331A1, using US20210184121A1 as the official English language translation).
As per claim 9, Ham teaches blue dopant materials in the emission layer of the device, such as
used with anthracene based host materials, such as
. Ham does not teach:
Wherein the blue light-emitting dopant is a compound represented by general formula (5-1) or (5-2)
Suh teaches OLED devices with similar blue light emission anthracene based host materials,
, and similar triarylamine hole transport layer materials
([0178]). Suh teaches that the devices contain dopants such as
, which reads on Formula 5-1 wherein Q1 and Q3 are unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbons and Q2 is a substituted aromatic heterocyclic ring; X2 represents B; Y1 represents O, and Y2 and Y3 represent N-R7 wherein R7 is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the blue dopant of Ham with the blue dopant of Suh, which reads on the claimed formula because both compounds are taught to be functionally equivalent blue light dopants for use with anthracene based host materials and triarylamine hole transport layers.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789