DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 11/16/2022. Claims 1-21 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) file on 11/16/2022 has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riehl et al, (Riehl), (USNO.2019/0052124).
As for claim 1, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 a wireless charging system for a vehicle, comprising: housing defining a cavity; at least two coils arranged around the cavity and adapted to create at least one inductive power field for wireless charging, comprising a magnetic field within the cavity; and a control unit connected to the at least two coils and adapted to connect to a power supply; wherein the power supply is connected to the control unit and the at least two coils via a connector embedded in the housing; and wherein the connector and the housing are configured to connect the at least two coils and the control unit to the power supply upon installation of the housing onto the vehicle (par.[0030-0036,0050]).
As for claim 2, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 one of a USB or a 12 Volt power source
As for claim 3, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 the power supply is at least one of a vehicle power supply or a DC power source
As for claim 4, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 the at least two coils and the control unit cooperate to form at least one transmitter, and each transmitter cooperates with a receiver of a mobile device, to provide power to the mobile device
As for claim 6, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 at least
two coils are nonplanar; wherein the magnetic field is static; and 3-dimensional; wherein the orientation of each magnetic field is controlled via the control unit
As for claim 7, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 control unit regulates a current supply to the at least two coils; and wherein the at least two coils are independently connected to controlled by the control unit.
As for claim 8, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 one coil of the at least two coils is arranged at the bottom of the cavity (par.[0052]).
As for claim 9, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 the cavity defines at least one cup holder
As for claim 10, Riehl discloses and shows is constructed of a moldable nonmetallic material; wherein the at least two coils are embedded in the housing and wherein the at least two coils are in a nonplanar arrangement.
As for claim 11, Riehl discloses the housing is adapted to be installed in a vehicle interior, and the housing (200) is adapted to provide storage (par.[0022])
As for claim 13, Riehl discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 a control method for a wireless charging system comprising the steps of: providing a charging system having a control unit, a housing defining a charging zone, at least two coils arranged around the charging zone and adapted to create at least one inductive power field for wireless charging within the charging zone wherein the power supply is connected to the control unit and the at least two coils via a connector embedded in the housing; and
activating the charging zone via the connector, the power supply, the at least two coils and the control unit upon detecting a mobile device in the charging zone (par.[0030-0036,0050]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
steps of: establishing a communication link between the control unit and the receiver in the mobile device; applying current to the at least two coils via the control unit;
measuring the power level received by the receiver and communicating a measured power level to the control device; storing the measured power level in the control unit; and comparing the measured power level with a highest stored power level in the control unit, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859