DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed September 17, 2025, claims 55-56, 58-61, 63-64, 66, 70 and 72 are amended, claims 53 - 72 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim objections applicant’s arguments, see page 6 paragraph 2, filed September 17, 2025, with respect to claims 55-56, 58, 60-61, 63-64, 66, 70 and 72 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 55-56, 58, 60-61, 63-64, 66, 70 and 72 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 applicant’s arguments, see page 6 paragraph 3, filed September 17, 2025, with respect to claims 54-55, and 59-72 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the 112 rejection is maintained. Please see below.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 7 paragraphs 5 - page 11, filed September 17, 2025, with respect to claims 53 - 72 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 54-55 and 59-72, the applicant argued that, see page 6 paragraphs 4 - page 7 , “…As an example of "geographic information", para. [0110] and FIG. 9 of the parent application PCT/US2021/033288 (See WO 2021/236861) describe that a WTRU may receive application function (AF) IDs along with information indicating any of DNN(s), URI(s), a Cell/TA list, PLMN ID(s) and/or local DN service area(s). As shown in FIG. 6, AF IDs may be provided in a response to a provisioning request. One skilled in the art would understand that local DN service areas may be representative of "geographic information" as in claim 55. As an example, [0106] and FIG. 7 of the parent application PCT/US2021/033288 (See WO 2021/236861) describe that AF IDs may be retrieved based on a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) associated with the EEC 504 (e.g., the EEC 504 being executed at the WTRU). One skilled in the art would understand that a request from the WTRU may provide the "GPSI" as in claim 55 in order facilitate retrieval of AF IDs.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Applicant is recommended to add the argued claim language to the claim limitation to overcome the 112 rejection, “a WTRU may receive application function (AF) IDs along with information indicating any of DNN(s), URI(s), a Cell/TA list, PLMN ID(s) and/or local DN service area(s)”. It is also noted, that the above argued limitations are removed/deleted from PCT/US2021/033288 (EP41546681A1 - See Amended claims with annotations dated May 28, 2025). Also it is clear “AF IDs may be retrieved based on a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) associated with the EEC 504 (e.g., the EEC 504 being executed at the WTRU)” is not equivalent to “wherein the request message includes information indicating a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) associated with the WTRU”, It is also recommended to add the underlined limitation in the claim to overcome the 112.
It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a WTRU may receive application function (AF) IDs along with information indicating any of DNN(s), URI(s), a Cell/TA list, PLMN ID(s) and/or local DN service area(s)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claims 59-72, the applicant argued that, see page 7 paragraphs 3-5, “…Claims 59-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. As for claim 59, the Examiner asserts that the term "relocation operation" is unclear. Per MPEP 2173.02, whether a claim is indefinite or not depends on whether or not those skilled in the art would understand what is claimed when the claim is read in light of the specification. However, no clearly articulated rationale as to why the claim term "relocation operation" is unclear has been provided. To the contrary, the Examiner has identified examples of relocation operations in the specification. Applicant respectfully submits that the claim term "relocation operation" satisfies the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). In view of the foregoing, it is respectfully requested that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 be withdrawn”.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Claim 59 is not clear in that it discloses the initiation of a relocation operation. This feature is
not clear because it is not clear to what the relocation applies. In order to address this, paragraph 112 could be used, as it defines the relocation. The relocation could be defined as relocating a PDU session anchor (PSA) to be associated with a data network corresponding to the DNAI for an edge server corresponding to the at least one AF 11 or relocating to or within a data network corresponding to the DNAI an edge server corresponding to the at least one AF [D), for example an EAS. The relocating needs to be properly defined to be supported by the description, as suggested above.
Regarding claims 53, 59 and 65, the applicant argued that, see page 9 - page 10 paragraph 1, “…While Zhou discloses that a correlation module 98 correlates the second policy control session with an application function (AF) session according to the session identifier of the first PDU session carried in the request message, Zhou is silent that the UE provides an AF ID and a session identifier together in the request message. Instead, Zhou proposes that the foregoing correlation occurs at the network side (See [0129]-[0134]). In contrast, the claimed WTRU provides a PDU session establishment request message which includes (1) an AF ID and (2) an established (e.g., second) PDU session ID. The present application states that the combination of AF ID and previously established PDU session ID allow the Session Management Function (SMF) to recognize that a different procedure than that of a SSC Mode 3 procedure. Thus, the SMF may determine a Data Network Access Identifier (DNAI) and determine to execute an EAS relocation and/or a PSA relocation (See WO 2021/236861 at [0109]). Accordingly, Zhou fails to disclose or otherwise make obvious "the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session" and that the WTRU receives "the PDU session establishment accept message including information indicating an address of a first edge server associated with the AF ID" as recited in claim 53.
In addition, Zhou fails to disclose or otherwise make obvious "obvious "the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session" and "initiating a relocation operation based on a data network access ID (DNAI) associated with the AF ID" and "the NAS message including information indicating an address of an edge server associated with the AF ID" as recited in claim 59. Liao 1 Reference.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding claims 53, 59 and 65, Zhou clearly teaches, the broadly claimed limitations of receive information indicating one or more application function (AF) identifiers (IDs) (see Fig.2-4, para. 0010, 0016-0023, the UE accesses the application through the PDN session 1, so that the AF establishes an AF session 1 to provide service information, and the CP correlates the AF session 1 with the PDU session 1. The UE accesses an application through the PDU session 1. The AF corresponding to the application establishes the AF session 1 to provide service information to the policy function, and the policy function correlates the AF session 1 with the policy control session 1, see also Fig.9, para. 0115-0118); send a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message for a first PDU session, the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session (see Fig.7, para. 0066-0069, Fig.8, para. 0071-0075, after the session identifier of the first PDU session is obtained, the request message for establishing the second PDU session is initiated to the network side device and the request message carries the session identifier of the first PDU session, the session identifier of the first PDU session includes at least one of: a user identifier (user ID), a name of a data network, and an IP address or IPv6 prefix of the first PDU session, the session identifier of the first PDU session includes at least one of: a user identifier (user ID), a name of a data network, and an IP address or IPv6 prefix of the first PDU session, see also Fig.9, Fig.10, para. 0119-0120, a correlation module 98 configured to correlate the second PDU session and an application function (AF) session according to the session identifier carried in the request message. The AF session is established when the UE accesses a specified application through the first PDU session, clearly the technical effect can only be achieved if there is a link between the PDU session establishment for a first PDU session and the PDU session ID of an established PDU session).
Regarding claims 53, 59 and 65, the applicant further argued that, see page 10 paragraphs 2-3, “…Liao 1 is silent that the PDU session establishment procedure includes "the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session" and "the PDU session establishment accept message including information indicating an address of a first edge server associated with the AF ID" as recited in claim 53. While Liao 1 proposes a PDU session establishment procedure which allows a UE to request to establish a PDU session for a specific UAS-DNN, Liao 1 fails to disclose or suggest any PDU session establishment request from the UE allows for the SMF 508 to initiate a relocation operation, such as with respect to the specific UAS-DNN. As such, the shortcomings in Zhou are not cured by resort to the Liao 1 reference. It is submitted that claims 53 and 59 are patentable over Zhou in view of Liao 1 for at least the foregoing reasons”.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding claims 53, 59 and 65, Liao clearly teaches the broadly claimed limitations of receive a PDU session establishment accept message for the first PDU session including information indicating an address of a first edge server associated with an AF ID (see Fig.5, para. 0104, in a PDU Session Establishment procedure 520 with UTM-DNN (data network name), the UEs in the UAV 502 and UAV-C 504 request to establish PDU session for a specific UAS-DNN. The SMF/UPF/DN 508 can initiate secondary authentication procedure with UAS-DN-AAA (data network-authentication, authorization, and accounting) server if the UEs send the request with NAI (network access identifier). In an Application layer registration procedure 522 for UAV, the UE in the UAV 502 performs application layer registration to the UTM-application server associated to the UTM-AF 514, in which an IP address of the UTM-application server is pre-configured in the UE or provided in a PDU session accept message. The AF session is established when the UE accesses a specified application through the first PDU session, clearly the technical effect can only be achieved if there is a link between the PDU session establishment for a first PDU session and the PDU session ID of an established PDU session).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclose by Zhou and Liao reads upon “receive information indicating one or more application function (AF) identifiers (IDs); send a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message for a first PDU session, the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session; and receive a PDU session establishment accept message for the first PDU session, the PDU session establishment accept message including information indicating an address of a first edge server associated with the AF ID” as recites in the claim. The technical effect is only be achieved if there is a link between the PDU session establishment for a first PDU session and the PDU session ID of an established PDU session.
Regarding claims 53, 59 and 65, the applicant further argued that, see page 10 paragraphs 4, “…Huawei discloses that the AF may send requests to influence SMF routing decisions. Huawei proposes that the SMF sends notifications about DNAI changes to the AF. Huawei is silent as to the PDU session establishment procedure including (1) an AF ID and (2) an (e.g., established) PDU session ID. In other words, informing the AF of its own AF ID in response to a change in DNAI as in Huawei fails make obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a modification to the SSC Mode 3 procedure of Zhou that would arrive at the claimed invention”.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding claims 53, 59 and 65, Huawei clearly teaches the broadly claimed limitations of sending, to an access network, a non-access stratum (NAS) message for the second PDU session for the WTRU, the NAS message including information indicating an address of an edge server associated with the AF ID (see Section 5.6.7, page 4-5, An Application Function may send requests to influence SMF routing decisions, for event subscription or for both. The AF may subscribe to notifications about UP path management events, e.g., when the request becomes active or inactive, or when a change of DNAI occurs for the PDU Session. The corresponding notification about a change from source DNAI (or no DNAI) to target DNAI (or no DNAI) sent by the SMF to the AF includes the AF transaction internal identifier, type of notification (i.e. early notification or late notification), the Identity of the source and/or target DNAI, the IP address/prefix of the UE, the SUPI and the N6 routing information related to the 5GC UP. The UE identity information and the N6 routing information related to the 5GC UP are optional if the PDU Session type is IP. The nature of the N6 traffic routing information related to the 5GC UP is described in clause 5.6.10).
In response to applicant’s argument that Huawei fails make obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a modification to the SSC Mode 3 procedure of Zhou that would arrive at the claimed invention, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, so that a AF is able to identify SMF notifications that correspond to the AF request, see Huawei, paragraphs 21-23.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclose by Zhou and Huawei reads upon “receive information indicating one or more application function (AF) identifiers (IDs); send a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message for a first PDU session, the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session; and receive a PDU session establishment accept message for the first PDU session, the PDU session establishment accept message including information indicating an address of a first edge server associated with the AF ID” as recites in the claim. The technical effect is only be achieved if there is a link between the PDU session establishment for a first PDU session and the PDU session ID of an established PDU session.
The applicant further argued that, see page 11, “…Claims 54-58 and 60-64 which include the same features, as claim 53 or 59 from which they depend, are submitted to patentably distinguish over Zhou in view of Liao 1 for at least the same reasons as those of claim 53 or 59.
It is submitted that the Huawei reference and the Liao 2 reference, as applied in the Office Action to the dependent claims, fail to cure the shortcomings present in Zhou and Liao 1 Claims 65-72
Claims 65-72, which include similar, but not identical features, to those of claims 59-64, are submitted to patentably distinguish over Zhou in view of Liao 1 and the remaining art of record for at least similar reasons to those of claims 59-64.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Per above cited reasons, the listed claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
( b ) The following is a quotation of the second paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112:
Claims 54-55, and 59-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 55 (NEW) has been amended to recite, " wherein the response message includes information indicating any of a data network name (DNN), a uniform resource ID (URI), a cell area ID, a tracking area ID, a public land mobile network ID, a local data network service area, and/or geographic information which are associated with the one or more AF IDs, and/or the request message includes information indicating a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) associated with the WTRU”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “… and/or geographic information which are associated with the one or more AF IDs, and/or the request message includes information indicating a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) associated with the WTRU”. Paragraph 111 of instant application disclose, “… In certain representative embodiments, the one or more AF IDs may be received along with Information indicating any of DNN(s), URI(s), a Cell/TA list, PLMN ID(s) and/or local DN service area(s), such as if the DNN is a LADN. At 1030, the WTRU 102 may perform sending (e.g., to a SMF 183 and/or UPF 184) of a PDU session establishment request message for a first PDU session (e.g., to be established)….” The claims and the specification of the instant application does not describe the method/step, “wherein the response message includes... and/or geographic information which are associated with the one or more AF IDs, and/or the request message includes information indicating a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) associated with the WTRU.” Therefore claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraph 0111) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Claim 59 (NEW) has been amended to recite, "… sending, to an access network, a non-access stratum (NAS) message for the second PDU session for the WTRU, the NAS message including information indicating an address of an edge server associated with the AF ID”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “… sending, to an access network, a non-access stratum (NAS) message for the second PDU session for the WTRU, the NAS message including information indicating an address of an edge server associated with the AF ID”. Fig. 11or 12 , “… In this embodiment, the last step of is sending of a non- access stratum (NAS) message for the first PDU session for the WTRU 102. The NAS message may include information indicating an address of an edge server.” The claims and the specification of the instant application does not describe the method/step, “sending, to an access network, a non-access stratum (NAS) message for the second PDU session for the WTRU, the NAS message including information indicating an address of an edge server associated with the AF ID.” Therefore claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see Fig.11 and Fig.12) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Claim 65 is also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 59.
Claims 60-64 and 66-72 are also rejected since they are dependent on the rejected independent claims 59 and 65, respectfully, as set forth above.
Claims 53-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 53 recites, in lines 4-7, “send a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message for a first PDU session, the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session”. It is unclear whether the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) “send a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message for a first PDU session …”, since there is no a link between the PDU session establishment for a first PDU session and the PDU session ID of an established PDU session. Similarly, there must be a link between the edge server and the application function.
Claim 59 recites, “… initiating a relocation operation based on a data network access ID (DNAI) associated with the AF ID …”, in lines 7-8. It is unclear as to what is meant by the term “a relocation operation”. What does the “relocation” applies to? How is it define?. (See paragraph 112, “The relocation could be defined as relocating a PDU session anchor (PSA) to be associated with a data network corresponding to the DNAI) for an edge server corresponding to the at least one AF 11) or relocating to or within a data network corresponding to the DNAI an edge server corresponding to the at least one AF [D), for example an EAS.”).
Claim 65 is also being rejected for the same reasons as set forth above for claim 59.
Claims 54-58, 60-64 and 66-72 are also rejected since they are dependent on the rejected independent claims 59 and 65, respectfully, as set forth above.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as best understood.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 53 and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/02323060), and further in view of Liao et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0329460).
As per claim 53, Zhou disclose A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Fig.6, a UE) comprising:
a processor (see Fig.6, Processor 02) and a transceiver (see Fig.6, Transmission device 106) which are configured to:
receive information indicating one or more application function (AF) identifiers (IDs) (see Fig.2-4, para. 0010, 0016-0023, the UE accesses the application through the PDN session 1, so that the AF establishes an AF session 1 to provide service information, and the CP correlates the AF session 1 with the PDU session 1. The UE accesses an application through the PDU session 1. The AF corresponding to the application establishes the AF session 1 to provide service information to the policy function, and the policy function correlates the AF session 1 with the policy control session 1, see also Fig.9, para. 0115-0118);
send a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message for a first PDU session, the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an AF ID among the one or more AF IDs and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session (see Fig.7, para. 0066-0069, Fig.8, para. 0071-0075, after the session identifier of the first PDU session is obtained, the request message for establishing the second PDU session is initiated to the network side device and the request message carries the session identifier of the first PDU session, the session identifier of the first PDU session includes at least one of: a user identifier (user ID), a name of a data network, and an IP address or IPv6 prefix of the first PDU session, the session identifier of the first PDU session includes at least one of: a user identifier (user ID), a name of a data network, and an IP address or IPv6 prefix of the first PDU session, see also Fig.9, Fig.10, para. 0119-0120, a correlation module 98 configured to correlate the second PDU session and an application function (AF) session according to the session identifier carried in the request message. The AF session is established when the UE accesses a specified application through the first PDU session).
Zhou however does not explicitly disclose receive a PDU session establishment accept message for the first PDU session including information indicating an address of a first edge server associated with the AF ID.
Liao however disclose receive a PDU session establishment accept message for the first PDU session including information indicating an address of a first edge server associated with an AF ID (see Fig.5, para. 0104, in a PDU Session Establishment procedure 520 with UTM-DNN (data network name), the UEs in the UAV 502 and UAV-C 504 request to establish PDU session for a specific UAS-DNN. The SMF/UPF/DN 508 can initiate secondary authentication procedure with UAS-DN-AAA (data network-authentication, authorization, and accounting) server if the UEs send the request with NAI (network access identifier). In an Application layer registration procedure 522 for UAV, the UE in the UAV 502 performs application layer registration to the UTM-application server associated to the UTM-AF 514, in which an IP address of the UTM-application server is pre-configured in the UE or provided in a PDU session accept message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of receive a PDU session establishment accept message for the first PDU session including information indicating an address of a first edge server associated with an AF ID, as taught by Liao, in the system of Zhou, so as to be able to support low latency transmission for delivering commands sent by a controller and response message sent by the controller, see Liao, paragraphs 21-23.
As per claim 57, the combination of Zhou and Liao disclose the WTRU of claim 53.
Zhou further disclose wherein the processor and the transceiver are configured to: prior to receiving the information indicating the one or more AF IDs, send a PDU session establishment request message for the second PDU session (see Fig.8, para. 0072, in S804, a request message for establishing a second PDU session is initiated to the network side device when the UE determines that the first PDU session currently established needs to be redirected to the terminating user-plane function (TUPF)).
As per claim 58, the combination of Zhou and Liao disclose the WTRU of claim 53.
Zhou further disclose wherein the first edge server is any of an edge application server (EAS), and an edge enabler server (EES) (see Fig.12, para. 0149, in S1214, the AF provides updated service information to the policy function through AF session 1 after an application layer interaction is performed between the UE and an application server / an edge application server (EAS)).
Claims 54-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/02323060), in view of Liao et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0329460) and further in view of Huawei (Update to AF influence on traffic routing, 1/22/2018, Jan 22, 2018).
As per claim 54, the combination of Zhou and Liao disclose the WTRU of claim 53.
The combination of Zhou and Liao however does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor and the transceiver are configured to: prior to receiving the information indicating the one or more AF IDs, send a request message to a second edge server, and receiving a response message from the second edge server, wherein the response message includes the information indicating the one or more AF IDs.
Huawei however disclose wherein a processor and a transceiver are configured to: prior to receiving the information indicating the one or more AF IDs, send a request message to a second edge server, and receiving a response message from the second edge server, wherein the response message includes the information indicating the one or more AF IDs (see Section 5.6.7, when the AF request targets any UE or a group of UE, the AF request is likely to influence multiple PDU Sessions possibly served by multiple SMFs and PCFs. When the AF request targets a group of UE it provides one or several group identifiers in its request. The group identifiers provided by the AF are mapped to Internal-Group identifiers. Members
of the group have this Group Identifier in their subscription. The Internal-Group Identifier is
stored in UDM, retrieved by SMF from UDM and passed by SMF to PCF at PDU Session set-up. The PCF can then map the AF requests with user subscription and determine whether an AF request targeting a Group of users applies to a PDU Session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a processor and a transceiver are configured to: prior to receiving the information indicating the one or more AF IDs, send a request message to a second edge server, and receiving a response message from the second edge server, wherein the response message includes the information indicating the one or more AF IDs, as taught by Huawei, in the system of Zhou and Liao, so that a AF is able to identify SMF notifications that correspond to the AF request, see Huawei, paragraphs 21-23.
As per claim 55, the combination of Zhou, Liao and Huawei disclose the WTRU of claim 53.
Huawei further disclose wherein the response message includes information indicating any of a data network name (DNN), a uniform resource ID (URI), a cell area ID, a tracking area ID, a public land mobile network ID, a local data network service area, and/or geographic information which are associated with the one or more AF IDs, and/or the request message includes information indicating a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) associated with the WTRU (see Section 5.6.7, AF requests may contain at least:1) Information to identify the traffic. The traffic can be identified in the AF request by - Either a DNN and possibly slicing information (S-NSSAI) or an AF-SeIVice-Identifier and Information on the UE(s). This may correspond to: - Individual UEs identified using GPSI, or an IP address/Prefix).
As per claim 56, the combination of Zhou and Liao disclose the WTRU of claim 53.
The combination of Zhou and Liao however does not explicitly disclose wherein the AF ID is a transaction ID or a service ID, and wherein the PDU session establishment request message includes information indicating a data network name (DNN) associated with the AF ID.
Huawei however disclose wherein the AF ID is a transaction ID or a service ID, and wherein the PDU session establishment request message includes information indicating a data network name (DNN) associated with the AF ID (see Section 5.6.7, page 6, for PDU Session that corresponds to the AF request, the PCF provides the SMF with PCC rules that are generated based on the AF request and taking into account UE location presence in area of interest. The PCC rules may contain the AF transaction internal identifier, information to identify the traffic to be routed and/or information about the DNAI(s) towards which the traffic routing should apply and/or a list of traffic steering policy IDs and/or information on AF subscription to SMF events).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the AF ID is a transaction ID or a service ID, and wherein the PDU session establishment request message includes information indicating a data network name (DNN) associated with the AF ID, as taught by Huawei, in the system of Zhou and Liao, so that a AF is able to identify SMF notifications that correspond to the AF request, see Huawei, paragraphs 21-23.
Claims 59, 61-65 and 67-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/02323060), and further in view of Huawei (Update to AF influence on traffic routing, 1/22/2018, Jan 22, 2018).
As per claim 59, Zhou disclose A method implemented by a network entity (NE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message for a first PDU session, the PDU session establishment request message including information indicating: (1) an application function (AF) identifier (ID) and (2) information indicating a PDU session ID of an established second PDU session for the WTRU (see Fig.7, para. 0066-0069, Fig.8, para. 0071-0075, after the session identifier of the first PDU session is obtained, the request message for establishing the second PDU session is initiated to the network side device and the request message carries the session identifier of the first PDU session, the session identifier of the first PDU session includes at least one of: a user identifier (user ID), a name of a data network, and an IP address or IPv6 prefix of the first PDU session, the session identifier of the first PDU session includes at least one of: a user identifier (user ID), a name of a data network, and an IP address or IPv6 prefix of the first PDU session, see also Fig.9, Fig.10, para. 0119-0120, a correlation module 98 configured to correlate the second PDU session and an application function (AF) session according to the session identifier carried in the request message. The AF session is established when the UE accesses a specified application through the first PDU session);
initiating a relocation operation based on a data network access ID (DNAI) associated with the AF ID (see para. 0121, see also Fig.13, para. 0154-0164, in S1302, the UE requests the network to establish PDU session 2, carried with the user id and the DN name, at AN1. The network selects TUPF 1 for PDU session 2, and allocates IP address 2 to PDU session 2, and in S1306, after the UE receives the redirecting message (that is, the message in which the network informs the UE that PDU session 1 and PDU session 2 are to be released, and informs the UE to establish a new PDU session in the same DN), the UE first decides to redirect PDU session 1. Therefore, the UE transmits a request message for establishing a new PDU session (PDU session 3) to the network, where the message carries the user Id, the DN name, the PDU session identifier 1, the TUPF redirecting indication information and the like. The network selects a new TUPF (i.e., TUPF 2) for the UE, and allocates a new IP address (IP address 3));
Zhou however does not explicitly disclose sending, to an access network, a non-access stratum (NAS) message for the first PDU session for the WTRU, the NAS message including information indicating an address of an edge server associated with the AF ID.
Huawei however disclose sending, to an access network, a non-access stratum (NAS) message for the first PDU session for the WTRU, the NAS message including information indicating an address of an edge server associated with the AF ID (see Section 5.6.7, page 4-5, An Application Function may send requests to influence SMF routing decisions, for event subscription or for both. The AF may subscribe to notifications about UP path management events, e.g., when the request becomes active or inactive, or when a change of DNAI occurs for the PDU Session. The corresponding notification about a change from source DNAI (or no DNAI) to target DNAI (or no DNAI) sent by the SMF to the AF includes the AF transaction internal identifier, type of notification (i.e. early notification or late notification), the Identity of the source and/or target DNAI, the IP address/prefix of the UE, the SUPI and the N6 routing information related to the 5GC UP. The UE identity information and the N6 routing information related to the 5GC UP are optional if the PDU Session type is IP. The nature of the N6 traffic routing information related to the 5GC UP is described in clause 5.6.10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of sending, to an access network, a non-access stratum (NAS) message for the first PDU session for the WTRU, the NAS message including information indicating an address of an edge server associated with the AF ID, as taught by Huawei, in the system of Zhou, so that a AF is able to identify SMF notifications that correspond to the AF request, see Huawei, paragraphs 21-23.
As per claim 61, the combination of Zhou and Huawei disclose the method of claim 59.
Huawei further disclose wherein the NE includes a session management function (SMF), and wherein the NAS message is a PDU session request message sent to an access network for the WTRU (see Section 5.6.7, page 6, when DN-AAA server authorizes the PDU Session establishment, it may send DN authorization data for the established PDU Session to the SMF. The DN authorization data for the established PDU Session include - a reference to a locally configured authorization data in the SMF).
As per claim 62, the combination of Zhou and Huawei disclose the method of claim 59.
Zhou further disclose prior to receiving the PDU session establishment request message for the first PDU session, establishing the second PDU session for the WTRU (see para. 0072, in S804, a request message for establishing a second PDU session is initiated to the network side device when the UE determines that the first PDU session currently established needs to be redirected to the terminating user-plane function (TUPF). The request message carries the session identifier of the first PDU session).
As per claim 63, the combination of Zhou and Huawei disclose the method of claim 59.
Huawei further disclose wherein the AF ID is a transaction ID and/or a service ID, and wherein the PDU session establishment request message includes information indicating a data network name (DNN) associated with the at least one AF ID (see Section 5.6.7, page 6, for PDU Session that corresponds to the AF request, the PCF provides the SMF with PCC rules that are generated based on the AF request and taking into account UE location presence in area of interest. The PCC rules may contain the AF transaction internal identifier, information to identify the traffic to be routed and/or information about the DNAI(s) towards which the traffic routing should apply and/or a list of traffic steering policy IDs and/or information on AF subscription to SMF events).
As per claim 64, the combination of Zhou and Huawei disclose the method of claim 59.
Zhou further disclose wherein the edge server is any of an edge application server (EAS), and an edge enabler server (EES) (see Fig.12, para. 0149, in S1214, the AF provides updated service information to the policy function through AF session 1 after an application layer interaction is performed between the UE and an application server / an edge application server (EAS)).
As per claim 65, claim 65 is rejected the same way as claim 59
As per claim 67, the combination of Zhou and Huawei disclose the NE of claim 65.
Huawei further disclose the NAS message is a PDU session request message sent to an access network for the WTRU (see Section 5.6.7, page 6, when DN-AAA server authorizes the PDU Session establishment, it may send DN authorization data for the established PDU Session to the SMF).
As per claim 68, claim 68 is rejected the same way as claim 62.
As per claim 69, claim 69 is rejected the same way as claim 63.
As per claim 70, claim 70 is rejected the same way as claim 62.
As per claim 71, the combination of Zhou and Huawei disclose the NE of claim 65.
Huawei further disclose wherein the NE includes a session management function (SMF) (see Section 5.6.7, page 6, when DN-AAA server authorizes the PDU Session establishment, it sends DN authorization data for the established PDU Session to the SMF. The DN authorization data for the established PDU Session include - a reference to a locally configured authorization data in the SMF).
As per claim 72, claim 72 is rejected the same way as claim 64.
Claims 60 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/02323060), in view of Huawei (Update to AF influence on traffic routing, 1/22/2018, Jan 22, 2018), and further in view of Liao et al (PCT/US2019/058176, further published as US Pub. No.:2024/0007850.
As per claim 60, the combination of Zhou and Huawei disclose the method of claim 59.
The combination of Zhou and Huawei however does not explicitly disclose wherein the relocation operation includes any of relocating a PDU session anchor (PSA) for the edge server, and relocating the edge server to a data network corresponding to the DNAI associated with the AF ID.
Liao however disclose wherein the relocation operation includes any of relocating a PDU session anchor (PSA) for the edge server, and/or relocating the edge server to a data network corresponding to the DNAI associated with the AF ID (see para. 0032-034, due to UE mobility, the network may need to relocate the UPF acting as UL CL and establish a new PDU session anchor (PSA) for access to the local DN. To support session continuity during UL CL relocation the network may establish a temporary N9 forwarding tunnel between the source UL CL and target UL CL. The N9 forwarding tunnel may be maintained until all active traffic flowing on it ceases to exist for a configurable period of time or until an application function (AF) informs the SMF 404 that it can release the source PSA providing access to the source local DN. During the existence of the N9 forwarding tunnel the UPF acting as target UL CL is configured with packet filters that: force uplink traffic from existing data sessions between UE and the application in the source local DN into the N9 forwarding tunnel towards the source UL CL; and/or force any traffic related to the application in the target local DN to go to the new local DN via the target PSA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the relocation operation includes any of relocating a PDU session anchor (PSA) for the edge server, and/or relocating the edge server to a data network corresponding to the DNAI associated with the AF ID, as taught by Liao, in the system of Zhou and Huawei, so as to provide a method to perform local breakout at a non-public network for some traffic, criteria to determine if and when to enable local breakout, a method to configure the UE to enable the local breakout at the non-public network, and a method to encrypt traffic for privacy when transporting via PLMN from the non-public network, see Liao, paragraphs 19-23.
As per claim 66, claim 65 is rejected the same way as claim 60
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US Pub. No.:2023/0422158) – see para. 0075-0078, Fig.1, “When the UE performs the PDU Session establishment with PDU Session type of “Unstructured”, and the subscription information corresponding to the UE requested DNN includes the “NEF Identity for NIDD”, then the SMF initiates a SMF-NEF Connection establishment procedure towards the NEF corresponding to the “NEF ID” for that DNN/S-NSSAI Combination. [0076] 1. The UE performs steps 1-10 of PDU Session Establishment Procedure. The SMF receives the Session Management Subscription data for the corresponding SUPI, DNN and S-NSSAI that is associated with NEF Identity for NIDD and NIDD information such GPSI and AF ID. [0077] 2. If the subscription information corresponding to DNN and S-NSSAI includes the “NEF Identity for NIDD”, the SMF shall create a PDU session towards the NEF. The SMF invokes Nnef_SMContext_Create Request (User Identity, PDU session ID, NEF ID, NIDD information, S-NSSAI, DNN) message towards the NEF. The UE capability to support Reliable Data Service (RDS) is included in the PCO in the PDU Session Establishment Request message”.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469