DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 11/17/2022. Claims 1-15 are pending and considered below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in paragraph [0053] (PGPub), the actuator should be consistently numbered “1251” to correspond with FIG. 1;
in paragraph [0129], the master chamber should be numbered “1220a” to be consistent with paragraph [0042]; and
in paragraph [0129], the sub-reservoir should be numbered “1100b” to be consistent with paragraph [0057].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama et al. (US-2012/0118682-A1, hereinafter Murayama) in view of Hansmann (US-2019/0176785-A1, hereinafter Hansmann).
Regarding claim 1, Murayama discloses:
a first block in which an operating part operated in conjunction with a brake pedal is arranged (paragraphs [0049], [0054] and [0063]; and FIG. 2, brake pedal-12, input device-14, master cylinder-34, first reservoir-36, and stroke simulator-64);
a second block in which an electronic part that is electronically operated and controlled by an electronic control unit is arranged, and which is arranged spaced apart from the first block (paragraphs [0037-0038], [0049], [0065] and [0071]; FIG. 1, input device-14, motor cylinder device-16, and vehicle stability assist (VSA) device-18; and FIG. 2, motor cylinder device-16, VSA device-18, and second reservoir-84);
a connecting line for hydraulically connecting the first block and the second block to each other (paragraphs [0049-0050]; and FIG. 2, piping tubes-22a,22d, master cylinder-34, and cylinder mechanism-76);
wherein: the operating part comprises a master cylinder having a master piston connected to the brake pedal and a master chamber whose volume is variable by displacement of the master piston (paragraph [0054]; and FIG. 2, brake pedal-12, master cylinder-34, cylinder tube-38, first piston-40a, second piston-40b, and push rod-42);
the electronic part comprises a hydraulic control unit including a pedal simulator, a hydraulic pressure supply device for generating hydraulic pressure by actuating a hydraulic piston by an electric signal, a first hydraulic circuit for controlling hydraulic pressure transmitted to two wheel cylinders, and a second hydraulic circuit for controlling the hydraulic pressure to be transmitted to other two wheel cylinders (paragraphs [0037-0038], [0049-0051], [0063] and [0072]; and FIG. 2, piping tubes-22b,22e, output ports-24a,24b, disc brake mechanisms-30a,30b,30c,30d, wheel cylinders-32FR,32RL,32RR,32FL, cylinder body-82, first slave piston-88a, and second slave piston-88b); and
the connecting line comprises a first connecting line having a first branch line connected at one end to the master chamber and at the other end to be branched and connected to the first hydraulic circuit, a second branch line connected to the second hydraulic circuit and a third branch line to be connected to the pedal simulator (paragraphs [0049-0050] and [0058-0063]; and FIG. 2, connection ports-20a,20b, piping tubes-22a,22d, introduction ports-26a,26b, first fluid pressure passage-58a, second fluid pressure passage-58b, branch fluid pressure passage-58c, stroke simulator-64, and port-65a).
Murayama does not disclose a pedal folding device provided between the master piston and the brake pedal. However, Hansmann discloses a vehicle braking system, including the following features:
a pedal folding device provided between the master piston and the brake pedal (paragraphs [0012] and [0021-0024]; FIG. 1, master cylinder-14, brake pedal-18, electromechanical brake booster-30, input rod-34, boost body-46, differential travel sensor-48, controller-50, electric motor-52, and gear unit-54; FIG. 2A, master cylinder-14, brake pedal-18, electromechanical brake booster-30, input rod-34, controller-50, and input-70; and FIG. 2B, master cylinder-14, brake pedal-18, electromechanical brake booster-30, input rod-34, controller-50, and input-70).
Hansmann teaches that a brake pedal should be in a retracted position during an autonomous driving mode; and an extended position during a manual driving mode (paragraphs [0019-0020] and [0023-0024]). Hansmann further discloses that retracting the brake pedal in high or full automation vehicles avoids accidental depression of the brake pedal and provides additional leg room for the occupant (paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the retractable brake pedal of Hansmann into the vehicle brake system with a brake input device and motor cylinder device of Murayama. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of avoiding accidental depression of the brake pedal and providing additional leg room for the vehicle occupant during autonomous operation.
Regarding claim 2, Murayama does not disclose a pedal folding device provided between the master piston and the brake pedal. However, Hansmann further discloses:
wherein the pedal folding device comprises: an actuator for generating and providing power, and a gear part disposed between the actuator and an input rod to convert a rotational force of the actuator into a linear motion of the input rod (paragraph [0012]; and FIG. 1, input rod-34, electric motor-52, and gear unit-54).
Hansmann teaches that a brake pedal should be retracted and extended using an electric motor, input rod, and gear unit (paragraph [0012]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the retractable brake pedal of Hansmann into the vehicle brake system with a brake input device and motor cylinder device of Murayama. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of avoiding accidental depression of the brake pedal and providing additional leg room for the vehicle occupant during autonomous operation.
Regarding claim 3, Murayama further discloses:
wherein the operating part further comprises a main reservoir in which a pressurizing medium is stored, the electronic part further comprises a sub-reservoir in which a pressurizing medium is stored, and the connecting line further comprises a second connecting line having one end connected to the main reservoir, and the other end connected to the sub-reservoir (paragraphs [0054] and [0071]; and FIG. 2, first reservoir-36, second reservoir-84, and piping tube-86).
Regarding claim 5, Murayama further discloses:
a first cut valve provided in the first branch line to control a flow of a pressurizing medium, and a second cut valve provided in the second branch line to control a flow of a pressurizing medium (paragraphs [0058-0063]; and FIG. 2, piping tubes-22a,22d, first fluid pressure passage-58a, second fluid pressure passage-58b, first cutoff valve-60a, and second cutoff valve-60b).
Regarding claim 6, Murayama further discloses:
wherein the electronic part further comprises a simulator valve provided in the third branch line to control a flow of a pressurizing medium (paragraphs [0058-0063]; and FIG. 2, branch fluid pressure passage-58c, third cutoff valve-62, and stroke simulator-64).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama in view of Hansmann, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim (US-2018/0345943-A1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 15, Murayama further discloses:
wherein the first connecting line is provided as a rigid pipe (paragraphs [0046-0047]).
Murayama does not disclose connecting the main reservoir and the sub-reservoir using an elastic hose. However, Kim discloses a reservoir assembly for a brake system, including the following features:
the second connecting line is provided as an elastic hose (paragraph [0035]; and FIG. 1, first reservoir tank-110, first connection port-113, second reservoir tank-120, second connection port-123, and connection member-130).
Kim teaches that a connection member may be formed of a rubber hose for easy transfer of brake oil even when installation positions of a first reservoir tank and a second reservoir tank are changed (paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the rubber hose connecting reservoirs of Kim into the vehicle brake system with a connection between a first reservoir and a second reservoir of Murayama. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of efficiently installing, replacing and re-positioning a connection between reservoirs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667