DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Applicant’s remarks and amendments, filed 2 April 2026 in response to the final rejection mailed 23 December 2025, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims are acknowledged. The listing of claims filed 2 April 2026 replaces all prior versions and listings of the claims.
Claims 18, 20-26, 28-34, and 38-40 are pending and being examined on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, 21, 23, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Capello (US 2013/0115195 A1) in view of Dull et al. (Molecules, 2019, 21 pages), and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi (Biomed Pharmacol, 2018, 91-97) as evidenced by Ultrus (Lynside® Pro SCB, 2025, 2 pages).
The instant claims are as of record, drawn to a method for treating a subject suffering from, or susceptible of suffering from, endometriosis, comprising the administration of an effective dose of resveratrol, a curcuma extract, and a Saccharomyces cerevisiae species to said subject.
Capello teaches a composition comprising 150-250 mg or more of Saccharomyces cervisiae ([0045]), 5-150 mg of 98% trans-resveratrol ([0030], [0040]), and 5-150 mg of 95% standardized curcumin extract (at least 15% curcuminoid content by weight; effective dose; [0028], [0040]; as required for instant Claims 18, 22, 31, 32, 34, and 40). The specification (page 17, lines 21-23) indicates that Lynside® Pro SCB may be used as the Saccharomyces cervisiae strain, which according to the product page provided by Ultrus, comprises 20 x 109 CFU/g, which converts to 200,000,000 CFU/mg, and thus the composition of the prior art would contain between 3 x 1010 and 5 x 1010 CFU of Saccharomyces cervisiae (as required for instant Claims 31, 33, and 34). If the maximum amount of each ingredient was used, the total mass of the composition would be 550 mg, comprising 45.5% Saccharomyces cervisiae and 27.3% of each of trans-resveratrol and curcumin extract (as required for instant Claim 28). Additionally, since the curcumin extract comprises 95% curcuminoids, the curcuminoids are therefore present in a range of 4.75-142.5 mg (as required for instant Claims 34 and 40). The composition is a nutritional supplement (nutraceutical; food supplement; [0020]) administered daily to a human ([0018]; as required for instant Claims 18 and 40) as an oral capsule wherein the ingredients can be provided in a single capsule (dosage form; [0058]; as required for instant Claims 23, 25, 28, 31, 32, 38, and 40). The composition additionally comprises vitamin D3 and vitamin C (Claims 12 and 13, page 6; as required for instant Claim 29). The composition comprises a probiotic, Saccharomyces cervisiae, and does not comprise Lactobacillus (as required for instant Claim 30).
Capello does not expressly teach treating a subject suffering from, or predisposed to development of endometriotic lesions or delaying, slowing down, or reducing endometriotic lesions in a subject.
Dull et al. teach that resveratrol is known to have anti-inflammatory properties that can inhibit endometriotic lesions (Dull et al., page 2; as required for instant Claim 18), decrease pain (e.g., pelvic pain) associated with endometriosis (Dull et al., page 10; as required for instant Claim 20), and induce antioxidant enzymes (decrease oxidative stress; Dull et al., page 11; as required for instant Claim 21). Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi further teach that curcumin inhibits endometrial lesions and reduces inflammation and thus is a useful dietary and pharmaceutical agent for prevention and treatment of endometriosis (Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi, Conclusion, page 96; as required for instant Claims 18, 20, and 21).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Capello, Dull et al., and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The positive teachings of Dull et al. and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi regarding the usefulness of resveratrol and curcumin for reducing inflammation, inhibiting endometriotic lesions, and decreasing pain, thereby treating endometriosis, provide motivation for a skilled artisan to administer the anti-aging composition of Capello to a subject suffering from, or predisposed to development of endometriotic lesions. Additionally, a skilled artisan would be motivated to use the composition of Capello and had a reasonable expectation of success in so providing, due to the added benefits of anti-aging, stimulation of stem cell production, and reduction of inflammation, which would provide additional benefits to the subject (Capello, Claim 1, page 6), and especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary or the criticality of some unrecited features.
Claims 18, 20-23, 28-32, 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capello (US 2013/0115195 A1) in view of Dull et al. (Molecules, 2019, 21 pages), and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi (Biomed Pharmacol, 2018, 91-97) as evidenced by Ultrus (Lynside® Pro SCB, 2025, 2 pages) as applied to Claims 18, 20, 21, 23, and 28-30 above and further in view of McFarland (World J Gastroenterol, 2010, 2202-2222).
The claims and teachings of Capello in view Dull et al. and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi are as of record.
Capello, Dull et al., and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi do not teach wherein the Saccharomyces cerevisiae is of the variety boulardii.
McFarland teaches that S. boulardii is a safe and effective probiotic with clinical evidence for various diseases to back up its use, particularly in comparison to other strains of Saccharomyces (McFarland, Conclusion, 2216).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Capello and McFarland to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Due to its use for various diseases and safety profile, a skilled artisan would have provided S. cerevisiae v. boulardii as the probiotic in the instant method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Capello and McFarland are relied upon for the reasons discussed above. Based upon the overall beneficial teaching provided by this reference with respect to S. boulardii, the selection of a particular variety of yeast from among those well-known in the art would have been a manner of judicial selection and routine optimization well within the purview of the skilled artisan, absent any specific evidence to the contrary regarding the nonobviousness of this variant.
Claims 18, 20, 21, 23, 24, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capello (US 2013/0115195 A1) in view of Dull et al. (Molecules, 2019, 21 pages), and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi (Biomed Pharmacol, 2018, 91-97) as evidenced by Ultrus (Lynside® Pro SCB, 2025, 2 pages) as applied to Claims 18, 20, 21, 23, and 28-30 above, and further in view of Maia et al. (Int J Women Health, 2012, 543-549).
The claims and teachings of Capello in view Dull et al. and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi are as of record.
Capello, Dull et al., and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi do not teach wherein the subject suffering from endometriosis has undergone or is to undergo a surgical treatment of resection of the endometriotic lesions, medically assisted reproduction, and/or contraceptive treatment.
Maia et al. teach that endometriosis patients taking a combination of oral contraceptives (under contraceptive treatment; as required for instant Claim 24) and resveratrol experience less endometriotic pain (Maia et al., Table 2, page 545). Additionally, patients having undergone laparoscopy or hysteroscopy to treat endometriotic lesions taking resveratrol also experienced less pain (Maia et al., Results, page 545).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the composition of Capello to the patient population of Maia et al. in order to reduce endometriosis-associated pain in patients undergoing contraceptive treatment and/or surgical intervention. A skilled artisan would do so with a reasonable expectation of success due to the positive teaching of resveratrol as a compound for pain reduction in a subject suffering from endometriosis.
Claims 18, 19-23, 25, 26, 28-34, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capello (US 2013/0115195 A1) as evidenced by Dull et al. (Molecules, 2019, 21 pages) and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi (Biomed Pharmacol, 2018, 91-97) in view of McFarland (World J Gastroenterol, 2010, 2202-2222) as applied to Claims 18, 20-23, 28-32, 38, and 40 above and in further view of Yadav et al. (AAPS Pharm Sci Tech, 2009, 752-762), Gandia et al. (Int J Vitam Nutr Res, 2007, 243-248), and Staff (US Pharmacist, 2006, 13 pages).
The claims and teachings of Capello as evidenced by Dull et al. and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi in view of McFarland are as of record.
Capello, Dull et al., and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi, and McFarland do not teach wherein each dosage unit comprises zinc and inulin, that the zinc is in the form of bisglycinate, or wherein the curcuma extract is associated with a cyclodextrin.
Yadav et al. teach that inclusion complexes of cyclodextrin and curcumin (curcuma extract) protect the guest molecule from the environment while increasing solubility and stabilization for pharmaceutical purposes (Yadav et al., Introduction, page 753; as required for instant Claim 34).
Gandia et al. teach that zinc is an essential trace mineral and that zinc bisglycinate is a safe, well-tolerated, and has higher oral availability than zinc gluconate (Gandia et al., Abstract, page 243; as required for instant Claims 26, 33, and 39).
Staff teaches that inulin is a natural food fiber that is highly soluble, act as a prebiotic, and improve immune function (Staff, pages 1-2; as required for instant Claim 33).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Capello, McFarland, Yadav et al., Gandia et al., and Staff to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Providing zinc in the bisglycinate form provides a more readily available form of an essential trace mineral and inulin to improve immune function as a prebiotic. Additionally, providing the curcuma extract in association with cyclodextrin would increase solubility and stability of the composition, thereby providing motivation for a skilled artisan to include it in the instant invention. A skilled artisan could therefore include zinc in the bisglycinate form, inulin, and curcuma extract associated with cyclodextrin in the composition of the claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art (including compositions within the processes thereof), the burden is on applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and declaration of Dr. Boukadi Samir under 37 CFR §1.132 filed 2 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the declaration of Dr. Boukadi Samir at ¶5, it is stated that the Examiner suggests that because Capello describes compositions with anti-inflammatory or anti-aging properties, such compositions may be beneficial in treating endometriosis. This is not persuasive, however, because this is not the argument that was made. Instead, the positive teachings of Dull et al. and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi regarding the usefulness of resveratrol and curcumin for reducing inflammation, inhibiting endometriotic lesions, and decreasing pain, thereby treating endometriosis, provide motivation for a skilled artisan to administer the anti-aging composition of Capello to a subject suffering from, or predisposed to development of endometriotic lesions. The composition of Capello would therefor intrinsically have the properties of reducing inflammation, inhibiting endometriotic lesions, and decreasing pain because of the presence of resveratrol and curcumin and a skilled artisan would know that the composition has those properties due to the teachings of Dull et al. and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi. In addition, a skilled artisan would be motivated to use the composition of Capello and would have a reasonable expectation of success in so providing, due to the added benefits of anti-aging, stimulation of stem cell production, and reduction of inflammation, which would provide additional benefits to the subject (Capello, Claim 1, page 6), and especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary or the criticality of some unrecited features.
Additionally, it is noted that the patient population for the instantly claimed method is broad. The specification defines “a subject predisposed to endometriosis” as a woman having a clinical picture suggesting the presence of endometriosis, which includes strong or severe menstrual pain, hypofertility, infertility, or a family history of the disease (Specification, page 17). There are various additional risk factors (e.g., predispositions) including socio-economic status, family history, weight, peripheral body fat distribution, pigmentary traits, sun habits, diet, physical activity, smoking, alcohol intake, age at menarche, menstrual cycle length, duration of menstrual flow, parity, oral contraceptive use, exposure to polychlorinated biphenyls and dioxins, and comorbidities including gastrointestinal, immunological, and cardiovascular diseases (Parazzini et al., Table 1, page 4). With such broad and varied risk factors predisposing those with a uterus to endometriosis, the patient population of a subject predisposed to development of endometriotic lesions is equally broad.
The teachings of Capello, Dull et al., and Arablou & Kolahdouz-Mohammadi disclose the composition of the instant claims as well as the functionality of resveratrol and curcuma for treating endometriotic lesions. The composition of Capello could also reasonably be administered to a patient population predisposed to development of endometriotic lesions who also wanted to use a composition with anti-aging and therefore intrinsically treats a subject in need thereof who is predisposed to the development of endometriotic lesions.
At ¶6-7 of the disclosure it is argued that it is counterintuitive that a composition would reduce endometrial cell growth when it is disclosed that it may stimulate stem cell production. There is no information cited which indicates that stimulation of stem cell production was known in the art to inhibit reduction of endometrial lesion size and/or induce their formation, and therefore this argument is not persuasive. It is also noted that the instant disclosure indicates that the combination, as taught by Capello, is effective for reduction or prevention of endometriotic lesions (e.g., when administered to one predisposed to forming said lesions). As discussed above, a skilled artisan would know that the composition of Capello would have these properties due to the presence of resveratrol and curcuma, which are known for reducing endometriotic lesions, and the broad patient population overlaps the patient population which would use the composition of Capello for anti-aging.
Finally, at ¶8 it is indicated that the Examiner proposes combining Saccharomyces cerevisiae with resveratrol and a curcuma extract based on general properties, however this is not the case because Capello already discloses the composition as taught by the instant claims and is therefore already combined. Instead, it is argued that the composition of Capello could reasonably be administered to the patient population of the instant claims because not only would the broad patient population as disclosed above encompass the patient population of Capello which would use the composition for anti-aging, but a skilled artisan would also be motivated to administer said composition to the patient population because of the known effects of resveratrol and curcuma in reducing endometriotic lesions and associated pain and inflammation.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., synergy) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
/J.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/AARON J KOSAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655