DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 12/29/2025, has been entered, claims 1-21 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12, 16, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders et al. (US20060254592), hereafter Anders, in view of Parham et al. (US20170007861), hereafter Parham.
Regarding Claim 1, Anders discloses a respirator mask apparatus (See Fig. A, respiratory mask 100) comprising: a transparent lens (See Fig. A, annotated below; Abstract, “The respiratory mask may be made of a substantially transparent material”) integrated with a transparent frame (See Fig. A below; Abstract);
Anders does not disclose that the transparent frame provided along a perimeter of the lens.
However, Parham teaches a respirator mask apparatus (Fig. 1), comprises of a transparent lens (Fig. 7, shield 142, par. 0069, “The shield 142 optionally may be transparent or semi-transparent (for example, translucent) to facilitate speech comprehension”), integrated with a transparent frame (Fig. 7, frame 102, “The frame 102 of the respirator 100 is or includes a shield 142”; the frame is part of the shield and therefore also transparent), and that the transparent frame provided along a perimeter of the lens (See Fig. 1-7, the frame 102 is provided along the perimeter). Parham further teaches an elastomeric lip around a perimeter of the transparent frame (Fig. 11, face seal 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known apparatus of Anders, with the transparent frame of Parham, and have the transparent frame structured along the perimeter of the lens, to provide structure and rigidity to the respirator mask as taught by Parham (Parham, par. 0052).
The modified Anders further discloses the transparent frame including: a top section (See Fig. A, annotated below) including a nose bridge to contact a wearer's nose (Fig. A, Anders, par. 0012, “the respiratory mask is of a half-face style”), left and right sections respectively connected to the top section to contact the wearer's cheeks (Fig. A, Anders, par. 0012, “the respiratory mask covers the lower portion of a user's face”), each of the left and right sections including at least one aperture (Anders, par. 0034, “Each valve may include a port 123 incorporated into the body of the respiratory mask 100”), a bottom section (See Fig. A) including a protrusion to contact the wearer's chin (See Fig. A, annotated below) and at least one aperture (Anders, par. 0034, “Each valve may include a port 123 incorporated into the body of the respiratory mask 100”), and an elastomeric lip (Fig. 5, rolled edge 150; Anders, par. 0033, “The respiratory mask 100 may be constructed of a suitable, flexible, substantially transparent material such as… silicone rubber”; silicone rubber is an elastomer) around a perimeter of the transparent frame configured to provide an air seal with a face of the wearer (Anders, Fig. 5, par. 0041, “Both the sealing of the respiratory mask 100 and the comfort of the user may be greatly increased by the incorporation of a rolled edge 150 into the respiratory mask 100”; See Parham Fig. 11, an elastomeric lip is provided around the frame); a first inhalation filter assembly connected to an external side of the left section to enclose the at least one aperture (See Fig. A); a second inhalation filter assembly connected to an external side of the right section to enclose the at least one aperture (See Fig. A); and an exhalation filter assembly connected to an external side of the bottom section to enclose the at least one aperture (Anders, par. 0034, See Fig. A).
Fig. A, Adapted from Anders Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the positioning of the exhalation filter assembly is configured to enable accumulated moisture and sweat to flow downward out of an inside of the apparatus and enable exhaled air to flow downward preventing external contamination of others (Examiner Notes: The prior art has the claimed structure such that the exhalation filter assembly is positioned at the bottom, which is the same as the structure of the claimed invention, so that the moisture, sweat, and exhaled air may flow downward as claimed, see Anders, Fig. 1, 5, 6; See MPEP 2114, claims directed to an apparatus are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the transparent lens has a bulbous shape configured to prevent contact between lips and the nose of the wearer (Examiner Notes: See Fig. A, the transparent lens of the prior art has the claimed shape, therefore, it is capable of preventing contact).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the first inhalation filter assembly is positioned at the left section and the second inhalation filter assembly is positioned at the right section to enable inhaled air to pass over and cool the wearer's face (Examiner Notes: See Fig. A, the prior art has the claimed structure, therefore, it is capable of passing inhaled air over the wearer’s face; See MPEP 2114, claims directed to an apparatus are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.).
Regarding Claim 17, the modified Anders discloses The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein each of the left and right sections includes at least one harness slot to receive a strap of a harness (Anders, Fig. 6, straps 160 and 170; slots are shown in the figure at the connection point).
Regarding Claim 20, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the top section is configured to sit below a wearer's eyewear (Anders, par. 0012, “the respiratory mask is of a half-face style, or in other words the respiratory mask covers the lower portion of a user's face including the nose and mouth, while at the same time not covering the eyes and upper cheek areas of a user”) (Examiner Notes: See Fig. 1, the prior art has the claimed structure, and based on the Figure, the top section will sit below eyewear as claimed; See MPEP 2114, claims directed to an apparatus are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.)
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 7, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, further in view of Inagaki et al. (US20130152948), hereafter Inagaki.
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, wherein each of the first and second inhalation filter assemblies includes: filter media (Anders, par. 0034, a filter cartridge); a base section configured to receive the filter media (Anders, par. 0034, “a way of attaching a filter cartridge such as by a bayonet-style coupling 130, threading, snap-fitting, or other suitable connections”) (Examiner Notes: The prior art discloses various connection mechanisms for attaching the filter, a base section must exists for the connection, in the given example of the prior art, bayonet-style coupling 130 of Fig. 2 is the base section).
Anders discloses that the exhalation filter assembly include a filter media (Anders, par. 0034, “one-way inhalation 120 and one-way exhalation 140 valves… All valves may be constructed in a similar manner. Each valve may include… a way of attaching a filter cartridge”) and a base section configured to receive the filter media (Anders, par. 0034), and various connection methods of the filter media known in the art (Anders, par. 0034), but does not specifically disclose a filter cap removably connected to the base section to retain the filter media against the base section.
However, Inagaki teaches a respiratory mask, comprising of a filter assembly (assembly shown in Fig. 2) includes a filter media (Fig. 2, filter 1), a base section (Fig. 2, holder 3), an exhalation filter assembly include the filter media (Fig. 2, exhalation valve 5) and a filter cap removably connected to the base section to retain the filter media against the base section (Fig. 2, cap 2; par. 0061, “…pressing knob 31 of holder 3 to release cap 2 permits replacement of filter element 1”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known respiratory mask of Anders, with the filter of Inagaki, to filter exhaled air and prevent the filter media from falling out and stronger tightness of the connection as taught by Inagaki (Inagaki, par. 0061).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 2, wherein each of the first and second inhalation filter assemblies includes a first check valve facing an inside of the apparatus or integrated with the base section of the respective filter assembly or the respective left or right section (Anders, Fig. 1, par. 0034, “Incorporated into the respiratory mask are one-way inhalation”), the check valve configured to enable one-way air communication into the apparatus (Anders, par. 0034, one-way inhalation 120).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 3, wherein the exhalation filter assembly includes a second check valve located between the filter media and the bottom section of the frame or integrated with the base section of the exhalation filter assembly or the bottom section of the frame (Anders, Fig. 1, exhalation 140), the check valve configured to enable one-way air communication out of the apparatus (Anders, par. 0034, “one-way exhalation 140 valves”).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 2, wherein the filter cap has at least one opening to enable air to pass through to the filter media (Inagaki, Fig. 2, an opening is shown on cap 2).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 2, wherein each of the filter assemblies are configured to accept different types or sizes of filter media (Anders, par. 0022, “The filter or filters may also be removable to allow for interchange between new and spent filters or interchange between filters that filter different inhalants under changing conditions”).
Regarding Claim 21, Anders discloses a respirator mask apparatus (See Fig. A, respiratory mask 100) comprising: a transparent lens (See Fig. A; Anders, Abstract, “The respiratory mask may be made of a substantially transparent material”) integrated with a frame (See Fig. A; Anders, Abstract);
Anders does not disclose that the transparent frame provided along a perimeter of the lens.
However, Parham teaches a respirator mask apparatus (Fig. 1), comprises of a transparent lens (Fig. 7, shield 142, par. 0069, “The shield 142 optionally may be transparent or semi-transparent (for example, translucent) to facilitate speech comprehension”), integrated with a transparent frame (Fig. 7, frame 102, “The frame 102 of the respirator 100 is or includes a shield 142”; the frame is part of the shield and therefore also transparent), and that the transparent frame provided along a perimeter of the lens (See Fig. 1-7, the frame 102 is provided along the perimeter). Parham further teaches an elastomeric lip around a perimeter of the transparent frame (Fig. 11, face seal 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known apparatus of Anders, with the transparent frame of Parham, and have the transparent frame structured along the perimeter of the lens, to provide structure and rigidity to the respirator mask as taught by Parham (Parham, par. 0052).
The modified Anders further discloses the frame including: a top section (See Fig. A) including a nose bridge to contact a wearer's nose (Fig. A, Anders, par. 0012, “the respiratory mask is of a half-face style”), left and right sections respectively connected to the top section to contact the wearer's cheeks (Fig. A, Anders, par. 0012, “the respiratory mask covers the lower portion of a user's face”), each of the left and right sections including at least one aperture (Anders, par. 0034, “Each valve may include a port 123 incorporated into the body of the respiratory mask 100”), and a bottom section (See Fig. A) including a protrusion to contact the wearer's chin (See Fig. A) and at least one aperture (Anders, par. 0034, “Each valve may include a port 123 incorporated into the body of the respiratory mask 100”); a first inhalation filter assembly connected to an external side of the left section to enclose the at least one aperture (See Fig. A); a second inhalation filter assembly connected to an external side of the right section to enclose the at least one aperture (See Fig. A); and an exhalation filter assembly connected to an external side of the bottom section to enclose the at least one aperture (See Fig. A),
The modified Anders further discloses each of the first and second inhalation filter assemblies includes: filter media (Anders, par. 0034, a filter cartridge); a base section configured to receive the filter media (Anders, par. 0034, “a way of attaching a filter cartridge such as by a bayonet-style coupling 130, threading, snap-fitting, or other suitable connections”) (Examiner Notes: The prior art discloses various connection mechanisms for attaching the filter, a base section must exists for the connection, in the given example of the prior art, bayonet-style coupling 130 of Fig. 2 is the base section).
The modified Anders discloses that the exhalation filter assembly include a filter media (Anders, par. 0034, “one-way inhalation 120 and one-way exhalation 140 valves… All valves may be constructed in a similar manner. Each valve may include… a way of attaching a filter cartridge”) and a base section configured to receive the filter media (Anders, par. 0034), and various connection methods of the filter media known in the art (Anders, par. 0034), but does not specifically disclose a filter cap removably connected to the base section to retain the filter media against the base section
However, Inagaki teaches a respiratory mask, comprising of a filter assembly (assembly shown in Fig. 2) includes a filter media (Fig. 2, filter 1), a base section (Fig. 2, holder 3), an exhalation filter assembly include the filter media (Fig. 2, exhalation valve 5) and a filter cap removably connected to the base section to retain the filter media against the base section (Fig. 2, cap 2; par. 0061, “…pressing knob 31 of holder 3 to release cap 2 permits replacement of filter element 1”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known respiratory mask of Anders, with the filter of Inagaki, to filter exhaled air and prevent the filter media from falling out and stronger tightness of the connection as taught by Inagaki (Inagaki, par. 0061).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Inagaki, further in view of Bergeron et al. (US11738219).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 4, but is silent on wherein the first and second check valves are reversible or adjustable to change an air-flow direction or air-flow resistance.
However, Bergeron teaches a respiratory mask (Fig. 1, mask 10), comprising of a first and second inhalation filter assembly (Fig. 8A, air-providing device 29), an exhalation filter assembly (Fig. 37A, outlet assembly 175), and a first and second check valves for the first and second inhalation filter assembly and the exhalation filter assembly (Fig. 8A, valve 65; Fig. 37A, valve member 188), wherein the first and second check valves are reversible or adjustable to change an air-flow direction or air-flow resistance (col. 13, line 29-36, “the valve 65 remains open while any one of the filters 52, 53 is connected to the filter mount 56.sub.x… the valve 65 automatically closes when any one of the filters 52, 53 is disconnected from the filter mount 56.sub.x.”; col. 16, line 24-29, “The selector 180 is operable to selectively change the mask 10 between the negative-pressure mode and the positive-pressure mode. In this example of implementation, the outlet assembly 175 has an activated mode and a deactivated mode which are selectable by the wearer through interaction with the selector 180”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to further modify the known respiratory mask of Anders, with the valves of Bergeron, so the valves are adjustable to be opened or closed to regulate airflow and seal the mask against noxious agents as taught by Bergeron (col. 13, line 29-36).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Inagaki, further in view of Japuntich et al. (US6584976), hereafter Japuntich.
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 7, wherein a first type or size of filter media are used with the first and second inhalation filter assemblies (par. 0021, “the filter may be a fiber filter… the filter may be capable of filtering out one or more inhalants”) but is silent on a second type or size of filter media is used with the exhalation filter assembly.
However, Japuntich teaches a face mask (mask shown in Fig. 13), comprising of a inhalation filter assembly (Fig. 13, inhale filter element 76), and an exhalation filter assembly (Fig. 13, exhalation filter element 41), wherein a first type or size of filter media are used with the first and second inhalation filter assemblies and a second type or size of filter media is used with the exhalation filter assembly (See col. 10, line 27-34 describing the inhalation filter media and element 41 for exhalation filter media; Claim 1, “an exhale filter element that does not also serve as an inhale filter element… which pressure drop across the exhale filter element is less than a pressure drop across the inhale filter element during the same exhalation”; the pressure drop of exhalation is different from inhalation, therefore the filter media is different). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to further modify the known respiratory mask of Anders with the filter medias of Japuntich, to create pressure drop across the filter media to decrease the airflow resistance as taught by Japuntich (Japuntich, col. 7 line 49-67).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Inagaki, further in view of Mulchi (US4064876), hereafter Mulchi.
Regarding Claim 9, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 2, but is silent on wherein the filter media includes two outer layers configured for structural support and a third inner layer configured for viral and bacterial filtration.
However, Mulchi teaches a filter media (Fig. 2), wherein the filter media includes two outer layers configured for structural support (Fig. 3, filter element 21, 26; col. 8 line 26-27, “The charcoal granules are held in place by the compressed polyester urethane layer”; col. 9,line 44-47, “The sixth and final component in the filter is composed of (preferably two layers of) cellulose. The cellulose serves to protect the preceding layers and to offer structural support for the compressed components”; the sandwich structure of the layers also provides support) and a third inner layer configured for viral and bacterial filtration (Fig. 3, layer includes 22, 23, 24; col. 7; line 40-59; col. 8 line 66 – col. 9 line 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to further modify the known respiratory mask of Anders, with the filter media of Mulchi, to filter various contaminants while also providing strong structural integrity as taught by Mulchi (Mulchi, col. 2).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Gerson et al. (US20080156329), hereafter Gerson.
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, but is silent on wherein at least one of the filter assemblies is replaced by an adaptor that facilitates a connection to at least one of a different filter media or a different filter assembly.
However, Gerson teaches a respiratory mask (Fig. 9, mask 10), comprises of two filter assemblies (Fig. 9, filter assembly 170), wherein at least one of the filter assemblies is replaced by an adaptor (See Fig. 10, the filter assembly 170 is replaced by quick-connect adaptor 100B) that facilitates a connection to at least one of a different filter media or a different assembly (Fig. 10, filter 80; par. 0047, “a vapor filter cartridge 100B has a quick-connect adaptor for coupling with a corresponding quick-connect adapter on the filter pad 80… Accordingly, such a connection permits use with an off-the-shelf particle filter 80”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known respiratory mask of Anders, with the adaptor connection of Gerson, for easy and convenient assemble process and allows the mask to be used with various filter medias as taught by Gerson (Gerson, par. 0047).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Bauskar (US20200101341), hereafter Bauskar.
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, but is silent on wherein the transparent lens includes at least one of dual parallel lenses with an air gap between the lenses or dual parallel lenses with a second lens including a mini-lens located inside of the apparatus.
However, Bauskar teaches a protective lens (Fig. 1A, protective lens 100), wherein the transparent lens includes at least one of dual parallel lenses with an air gap between the lenses (See Fig. 1A, par. 0028, “the protective lens 100 comprises a first layer 110 and a second layer”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known respiratory mask of Anders, with the transparent lens of Bauskar, to prevent condensation of water on the interior surface as taught by Bauskar (Bauskar, par. 0020).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Hodnett (US4748697), hereafter Hodnett.
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the transparent lens has a thickness that is less than 3.0 mm to minimize vocal distortion and decibel loss.
However, Hodnett teaches a face mask (mask shown in Fig. 1), comprising of a transparent lens (Fig. 1, col. 4, line 64-66, “The rolled lenses 28 can be constructed of an acetate, polycarbonate or plastic material which is transparent”), wherein the transparent lens has a thickness that is less than 3.0 mm (col. 5, line 3-6, “In a most preferred embodiment of the invention the lenses 23 are constructed of polycarbonate or other impact-resistant material having a thickness of about 20 mils.”; 20 mils = 0.508 mm). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of Anders to less than 3.0 mm as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (See Applicant’s specification, par. 00105).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Bergeron.
Regarding Claim 15, Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, but is silent on wherein the transparent lens contains Acoustic Resonant Micro-Surfaces ("ARMS") that reduce distortion and decibel loss.
However, Bergeron teaches a respiratory mask (Fig. 1, mask 10), comprising of an Acoustic Resonant Micro-Surfaces ("ARMS") that reduce distortion and decibel loss (col. 21, line 14-33, “a membrane 185 configured to vibrate in response to vocal sound emitted by the wearer in order to transmit the vocal sound. In this case, the membrane 185 is made of a polyimide material (e.g., A Kapton™ film).”; the membrane of the prior art is a thin, microscale film that is mechanically responsive to sound waves produced by speech, therefore it is an ARMS) between two layers of supporting members (Fig. 21, support member 174, 176). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known respiratory mask of Anders, with the membrane of Bergeron, to allow the transmission of the wearer’s speech as taught by Bergeron (Bergeron, col. 21, line 14-33).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Formica et al. (US20180126108), hereafter Formica.
Regarding Claim 18, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 17, but is silent on wherein the strap includes ultrasonic welds to enable unused portions of the strap to be removed.
However, Formica teaches a headgear for use with a mask (Abstract), including a strap (strap shown in Fig. 1, 6). Wherein The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the strap includes ultrasonic welds to enable unused portions of the strap to be removed (par. 0172, “the headgear strap may be thermoformed and then edges of the strap may be ultrasonically cut.”; par. 0187, “ultrasonic die cut (thermoformed sheet placed on die cutting machine, ultrasonic welder travels around perimeter of headgear)”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known respiratory mask of Anders, with the ultrasonic welded strap of Formica, for softer and less abrasive edges to provide comforts as taught by Formica (Formica, par. 0172).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders, in view of Parham, in view of Koehler (US9320923), hereafter Koehler.
Regarding Claim 19, the modified Anders discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, but is silent on wherein base sections of the first inhalation filter assembly, the second inhalation filter assembly, and the exhalation filter assembly have the same dimensions to enable interchangeability or removal of check valves.
However, Koehler teaches a respiratory face mask (Fig. 1, face mask 9), comprising of a first and second inhalation filter assembly, and an exhalation filter assembly (Abstract, filtering inhalation and exhalation valves; see Fig. 1), wherein base sections of the first inhalation filter assembly, the second inhalation filter assembly, and the exhalation filter assembly have the same dimensions to enable interchangeability or removal of check valves (Fig. 1, valves 19, 20; col. 10, line 4-7, “In some aspects, the inhalation and exhalation valves can be the same or part of a single valve system. More than one of the valves can be utilized if desired. The valves can be replaceable in some aspects.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known respiratory face mask of Anders, with the filter assemblies of Koehler, for flexibility and interchangeability in valve usage as taught by Koehler (Koehler, col. 10, line 4-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 102(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Parham. Specifically, Parham teaches a respirator mask device, comprising of a transparent lens integrated with a transparent frame, and the frame is provided along a perimeter of the lens (Fig. 7).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRIS HANYU GONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785