DETAILED ACTION
This office action is replacing office action of 1/6/2026 base on new claim numbering filed on 3/6/2026.
NOTE: claim 29-30 should be listed as canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/1/2025 and 10/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 21, 24, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemann (US 20070279745) in a view of Yamamoto et al (JP 2008032794, English translation attached).
Regarding Claim 15, Klemann teaches a method of manufacturing an optical device (abstract; figs. 2-3) comprising:
providing a substrate having a polymeric layer on a surface of the substrate (¶[0019], line 1, Providing a substrate having a planar surface; ¶[0020], line 1-6, Coating the planar surface of the substrate with a first polymer having a first refractive index to form a first polymer layer having first and second planar surfaces),
forming openings in the polymeric layer (see fig. 2A; ¶[0022], line 1-2, Forming a microstructure in the first polymer layer from the second polymer of the second polymer layer; ¶[0039], line 1-23, In the context of this invention, typically a grating line or pattern of grating lines is formed by one of three methods, i.e., photolithography, embossing, or printing; a stack of many planes may be etched all the way down to the surface of the substrate);
depositing a material in the openings to form meta-atoms of a first metastructure (¶[0040], line 1-15, embossing; Solid polymer layers may be embossed by the application of a microstructured tool under heat and pressure. If a low refractive index layer is embossed in this fashion, the high refractive index polymer may be coated on top of it, so as to fill in the indentations created in the low refractive index layer),
wherein adjacent ones of the meta-atoms are separated from one another by polymeric material of the first polymeric layer (see figs. 2A-2D and fig. 3; ¶[0039], line 1-23, Over-coating with a layer of low refractive index polymer fills in the spaces between the grating lines and encapsulates them); and
providing a protective layer over the first metastructure (¶[0040], line 1-15, a low refractive index layer may be coated on top of it to fill in the indentations and possibly to
cover the entire surface to serve as a protective coating).
But Klemann does not specifically disclose that wherein the protective layer having hydrophilic surface.
However, Yamamoto teaches color filter protective films (abstract), wherein the protective layer having hydrophilic surface (abstract; line 1-9, to provide a photosensitive resin composition for color filter protective films; The photosensitive resin composition (Q) for color filter protective films comprises a hydrophilic resin (A); ¶[0007], line 1-9, the present invention relates to a photosensitive resin composition for a color filter protective film, which is composed of a hydrophilic resin (A),….).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical device of Klemann by the color filter protective films of Yamamoto for a purpose of providing of a color filter protective film that is excellent in heat resistance and transparency (¶[0006], line 1-6).
Regarding Claim 16, Klemann teaches an optical device (abstract; figs. 2-3) comprising:
a substrate (¶[0019], line 1, Providing a substrate having a planar surface; ¶[0020], line 1-6, Coating the planar surface of the substrate with a first polymer having a first refractive index to form a first polymer layer having first and second planar surfaces);
a first metastructure disposed on the substrate (see fig. 2A; ¶[0022], line 1-2, Forming a microstructure in the first polymer layer from the second polymer of the second polymer layer; ¶[0039], line 1-23, In the context of this invention, typically a grating line or pattern of grating lines is formed by one of three methods, i.e., photolithography, embossing, or printing; a stack of many planes may be etched all the way down to the surface of the substrate; ¶[0040], line 1-15, embossing; Solid polymer layers may be embossed by the application of a microstructured tool under heat and pressure. If a low refractive index layer is embossed in this fashion, the high refractive index polymer may be coated on top of it, so as to fill in the indentations created in the low refractive index layer),
wherein the first metastructure includes a plurality of meta-atoms separated from one another by polymeric material (see figs. 2A-2D and fig. 3; ¶[0039], line 1-23, Over-coating with a layer of low refractive index polymer fills in the spaces between the grating lines and encapsulates them); and
a protective layer over the first metastructure (¶[0040], line 1-15, a low refractive index layer may be coated on top of it to fill in the indentations and possibly to cover the entire surface to serve as a protective coating).
But Klemann does not specifically disclose that wherein the protective layer has hydrophilic surface.
However, Yamamoto teaches color filter protective films (abstract), wherein the protective layer having hydrophilic surface (abstract; line 1-9, to provide a photosensitive resin composition for color filter protective films; The photosensitive resin composition (Q) for color filter protective films comprises a hydrophilic resin (A); ¶[0007], line 1-9, the present invention relates to a photosensitive resin composition for a color filter protective film, which is composed of a hydrophilic resin (A),….).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical device of Klemann by the color filter protective films of Yamamoto for a purpose of providing of a color filter protective film that is excellent in heat resistance and transparency (¶[0006], line 1-6).
Regarding Claim 17, Klemann – Yamamoto combination teaches the optical device of claim 16 wherein the plurality of meta-atoms of the first metastructure are composed of titanium dioxide (¶[0058], line 1-9, a polymer filled with microspheres of a ceramic material with a high-refractive index; rutile titanium dioxide, anatase titanium dioxide, as disclosed in Klemann).
Regarding Claim 21, Klemann – Yamamoto combination teaches the method of claim 15, wherein a thickness of the protective layer is at least two times the wavelength of light for applications in which the first metastructure is to be used (¶[0069], line 1-12, a 2.8 µm-thick cured coating film made of the photosensitive resin, he transmittance of light with wavelengths of 400 nm and 540 nm is preferably 95% or more; claim 4, line 1-4, wherein a 2.8 µm thick cured coating film made of the photosensitive resin composition has a transmittance of 95% or more for light of wavelengths of 400 nm and 540 nm, as disclosed in Yamamoto).
Regarding Claim 24, Klemann – Yamamoto combination teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the meta-atoms are composed of an oxide, a nitride, or a metal (¶[0058], line 1-9, The high-refractive index may also comprise a filled polymer, e.g., a polymer filled with microspheres of a ceramic material with a high-refractive index. Typical ceramic fillers include rutile titanium dioxide, anatase titanium dioxide, organotitanates, zinc sulfide and zirconium oxide, as disclosed in Klemann).
Regarding Claim 26, Klemann – Yamamoto combination teaches the optical device of claim 16, wherein a thickness of the protective layer is at least two times the wavelength of light for applications in which the first metastructure is to be used (¶[0069], line 1-12, a 2.8 µm-thick cured coating film made of the photosensitive resin, he transmittance of light with wavelengths of 400 nm and 540 nm is preferably 95% or more; claim 4, line 1-4, wherein a 2.8 µm thick cured coating film made of the photosensitive resin composition has a transmittance of 95% or more for light of wavelengths of 400 nm and 540 nm, as disclosed in Yamamoto).
Regarding Claim 28, Klemann – Yamamoto combination teaches the optical device of claim 16, wherein the meta-atoms are composed of an oxide, a nitride, or a metal (¶[0058], line 1-9, The high-refractive index may also comprise a filled polymer, e.g., a polymer filled with microspheres of a ceramic material with a high-refractive index. Typical ceramic fillers include rutile titanium dioxide, anatase titanium dioxide, organotitanates, zinc sulfide and zirconium oxide, as disclosed in Klemann).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemann (US 20070279745) a view of Yamamoto et al (JP 2008032794), further in a view of Han et al (US 20170030773).
Regarding Claim 19, Klemann – Yamamoto combination discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that wherein a housing; an optoelectronic component operable to emit or sense light, wherein the optoelectronic component is disposed within the housing; and an optical device according to claim 16, wherein the optical device is disposed over the optoelectronic component.
However, Han teaches an optical device including metasurfaces (abstract; figs. 1-9), wherein an apparatus (fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a housing (fig. 1, 142, 144, 146, 148);
an optoelectronic component operable to emit or sense light (fig. 1, 120),
wherein the optoelectronic component is disposed within the housing (fig. 1, 120); and
an optical device (fig. 1, 110) according to claim 16,
wherein the optical device is disposed over the optoelectronic component (fig. 1, 110, 120; fig. 12, 512, 521; 513, 522).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical device of Klemann – Yamamoto combination by the optical device including metasurfaces of Han for the purpose to miniaturize a structure of the optical device and improve the performance of the optical device. (¶[0005], line 6-10).
Claim 20, 22-23, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemann (US 20070279745) a view of Yamamoto et al (JP 2008032794), further in a view of Riley, JR. et al (US 20190064532).
Regarding Claim 20, Klemann – Yamamoto combination discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the method of claim 15, wherein each meta-atoms has a height that is on the order of ten times greater than its width.
However, Riley, JR. teaches metasurface elements (abstract; figs. 1-3), wherein each meta-atoms has a height that is on the order of ten times greater than its width (¶[0167], line 1-3, amorphous-Si metasurface features embedded in SiO2 having a pillar height from 500 to 1000 nm and a pillar diameter from 100 to 300 nm; ¶[0269], line 1-26, In many embodiments, the pillar height may vary from 300 to 1000 nm and the pillar diameter from 100 to 350 nm. In various other embodiments, the pillar diameter may vary from 100 to 300 nm, and the pillar height from 300 to 400 nm and/or 700 to 1000 nm; -- the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Nabber, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical device of Klemann – Yamamoto combination by the metasurface elements of Riley, JR. for the purpose to shape output light from an illumination source (abstract, line 1-15).
Regarding Claim 22, Klemann – Yamamoto - Riley, JR. combination teaches the method of claim 15, comprising forming an antireflective on a surface of the protective layer (fig. 2A, 26’, 24; ¶[0222], line 1-50, an embedding medium (24) typically having a lower-index of refraction; the low-index medium may act as a protective barrier to the metasurface elements; The combined element (metasurface, embedding medium and substrate) may also be coated with a suitable anti-reflection coating on the side of the substrate containing the metasurface (26') and/or on the backside of the substrate (26), as disclosed in Riley, JR.).
Regarding Claim 23, Klemann – Yamamoto - Riley, JR. combination teaches the method of claim 15, comprising:
forming an antireflective surface on the substrate (fig. 2A, 10, 26; ¶[0222], line 1-50, The combined element (metasurface, embedding medium and substrate) may also be coated with a suitable anti-reflection coating on the side of the substrate containing the metasurface (26') and/or on the backside of the substrate (26); Optional anti-reflection coatings may also be included on either the bare substrate surface (26) or on the patterned metasurface side, as disclosed in Riley, JR.); and
forming the polymeric layer on the antireflective surface (fig. 6, 46, 50/54; ¶[0120], line 1-5, the at least one first metasurface element and at least one second metasurface elements are disposed on opposite sides of the same substrate, as disclosed in Riley, JR.).
Regarding Claim 25, , Klemann – Yamamoto combination discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the optical device of claim 16, wherein each meta-atoms has a height that is on the order of ten times greater than its width.
However, Riley, JR. teaches metasurface elements (abstract; figs. 1-3), wherein each meta-atoms has a height that is on the order of ten times greater than its width (¶[0167], line 1-3, amorphous-Si metasurface features embedded in SiO2 having a pillar height from 500 to 1000 nm and a pillar diameter from 100 to 300 nm; ¶[0269], line 1-26, In many embodiments, the pillar height may vary from 300 to 1000 nm and the pillar diameter from 100 to 350 nm. In various other embodiments, the pillar diameter may vary from 100 to 300 nm, and the pillar height from 300 to 400 nm and/or 700 to 1000 nm; -- the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Nabber, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical device of Klemann – Yamamoto combination by the metasurface elements of Riley, JR. for the purpose to shape output light from an illumination source (abstract, line 1-15).
Regarding Claim 27, Klemann – Yamamoto - Riley, JR. combination teaches the optical device of claim 16, comprising an antireflective on a surface of the protective layer (fig. 2A, 26’, 24; ¶[0222], line 1-50, an embedding medium (24) typically having a lower-index of refraction; the low-index medium may act as a protective barrier to the metasurface elements; The combined element (metasurface, embedding medium and substrate) may also be coated with a suitable anti-reflection coating on the side of the substrate containing the metasurface (26') and/or on the backside of the substrate (26), as disclosed in Riley, JR.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current new rejections.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872