Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13 June 2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. See attached copy of PTO-1449.
Status of Application
2. Applicants’ arguments/remarks filed 13 November 2025 are acknowledged. Claims 1 and 22-41 are currently pending. Claims 2-21 are cancelled. Claim 41 is newly added. Claims 1, 22-23, 25-28, 30, 32-33 and 40 are amended. Claims 1 and 22-41 are examined on the merits within.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
3. Applicants’ arguments, filed 13 November 2025, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claims 25-28 and 32-33 have been withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejection of claims 22-29 and 40 is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections of claims 1, 23, 32 and 40 has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. The 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) Rejection of claims 1 and 22-27 has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. The 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections of Sprogoe et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0296600) in view of Ticho et al. (WO2017/201340) and Sprogoe et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0296600) in view of Nazarian et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0282665) have been modified to reject the claims over Sprogoe et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0296600) in view of Ticho et al. (WO2017/201340) and Nazarian et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0282665).
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
5. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 24 recites the broad recitation “Spinal Muscular Atrophy”, and the claim also recites “ (Type I, II, III, or IV)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
8. Claim(s) 1 and 22-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sprogoe et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0296600) in view of Ticho et al. (WO2017/201340) and Nazarian et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0282665).
Regarding instant claim 1, Sprogoe et al. teach carrier-linked relaxin prodrug for treatment of diseases which can be treated with relaxin. See abstract. The carrier is a hydrogel in the form of microparticles with a size diameter of 1 to 1000 µm. See paragraph [0124]. The carrier can be polyesters. See paragraph [0112].
Regarding instant claims 22 and 28, the composition is used to treat diseases such as fibrosis of the heart, lungs, kidney or liver. See paragraph [0764]. Thus it would have been obvious to try administering the composition for interstitial lung disease to yield predictable results since Sprogoe et al. teach the effectiveness against lung disease.
Regarding instant claims 23-27, the disease is a stroke. See paragraph [0770]. The composition can be administered by intraarticular injection, intradermal injection, intramuscular injection, subcutaneous injection, etc. See paragraph [0798].
Regarding instant claim 30, Sprogoe et al. teach carrier-linked relaxin prodrug for treatment of diseases which can be treated with relaxin. See abstract. The carrier is a hydrogel in the form of microparticles with a size diameter of 1 to 1000 µm. See paragraph [0124]. The carrier can be polyesters. See paragraph [0112]. The composition is used to treat diseases such as fibrosis of the heart, lungs, kidney or liver. See paragraph [0764]. The composition can be administered by intraarticular injection, intradermal injection, intramuscular injection, subcutaneous injection, etc. See paragraph [0798].
Regarding instant claim 36, Sprogoe et al. teach the microparticles may be administered with an excipient such as water. See paragraph [0079].
Regarding instant claim 37, Sprogoe et al. teach the composition may be lyophilized. See paragraph [0726].
Regarding instant claims 38-39, Sprogoe et al. teach the composition can be a sustained release formulation. See paragraph [0079].
Sprogoe et al. do not teach the dose of 1-2000 µg/kg or a nucleic acid that encodes relaxin or 0.01-10% relaxin.
Ticho et al. teach mRNA therapy for treatment of fibrosis, wherein mRNA, when administered in vivo, encodes human relaxin and fusion proteins comprising relaxin preferably encapsulated in lipid nanoparticles. See abstract. The composition comprises a dose of up to 2 mg/kg in a human subject. See claim 10.
Nazarian et al. teach a method of treating a stiffened joint in a subject by administering relaxin. See abstract. Doses include 0.0015 mg/kg and 0.5 mg/kg. See paragraph [0174]. Example 1 is directed to evaluation of the glenohumeral joint. The sustained release formulation provides release of a therapeutic dose of relaxin during a period of at least about 4 weeks. See paragraph [0026]. As used herein, an “effective amount,” is intended to include the amount of relaxin or an analog, a fragment or a variant thereof, that, when administered to a subject having a stiffened joint, is sufficient to effect treatment of the stiffened joint (e.g., by diminishing, ameliorating or maintaining the stiffened joint or one or more symptoms of the stiffened joint). The “effective amount” may vary depending on the sequence of the relaxin, how the relaxin is administered, the severity of the joint stiffness and the history, age, weight, family history, genetic makeup, the types of preceding or concomitant treatments, if any, and other individual characteristics of the subject to be treated. See paragraph [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the percentage of relaxin in the formulation to achieve the desired properties for administration while achieving the desired effect, wherein the amount to achieve the desired effect may vary depending on route of administration, severity of joint stiffness, age, family history, etc. as taught by Nazarian et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of relaxin to achieve the desired effect based on known safe effective dosage ranges taught by Ticho et al. and Nazarian et al. It would have been obvious to substitute mRNA that encodes for relaxin, for relaxin, to achieve effective results because Ticho et al. teach that mRNA encoding relaxin effectively treats fibrotic diseases. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to use the formulation of Sprogoe et al. to treat joint fibrotic diseases, such as the glenohumeral joint, because Nazarian et al. teach the effectiveness of using relaxin to treat joint disease of the glenohumeral joint.
Double Patenting
10. Claims 1 and 22-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,439,685.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and U.S. Patent No. 11,439,685 are directed to a formulation comprising aliphatic polyester and an antifibrotic agent. The only difference lies in the fact that the instant claims are additionally directed to the method of treating with the formulation, as well as the amount of relaxin when present. The instant claims are directed to 1-10% relaxin whereas U.S. Patent No. 11,439,685 comprises a larger range of 0.01 to 33% of relaxin. Since the instant claims fall within this range, the two are not patentably distinct.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 13 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
11. Applicants argued, “Sprogoe does not teach a microparticle having a diameter of 1 to100 µm and antifibrotic agent at 0.01 to 10% of total formulation mass. Ticho and Nazarian fail to cure the deficiencies.”
In response to applicants’ arguments, Sprogoe et al. teach carrier-linked relaxin prodrug for treatment of diseases which can be treated with relaxin. See abstract. The carrier is a hydrogel in the form of microparticles with a size diameter of 1 to 1000 µm. See paragraph [0124]. The carrier can be polyesters. See paragraph [0112]. Nazarian teaches an “effective amount,” is intended to include the amount of relaxin or an analog, a fragment or a variant thereof, that, when administered to a subject having a stiffened joint, is sufficient to effect treatment of the stiffened joint (e.g., by diminishing, ameliorating or maintaining the stiffened joint or one or more symptoms of the stiffened joint). The “effective amount” may vary depending on the sequence of the relaxin, how the relaxin is administered, the severity of the joint stiffness and the history, age, weight, family history, genetic makeup, the types of preceding or concomitant treatments, if any, and other individual characteristics of the subject to be treated. See paragraph [0077]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the percentage of relaxin in the formulation to achieve the desired properties for administration while achieving the desired effect, wherein the amount to achieve the desired effect may vary depending on route of administration, severity of joint stiffness, age, family history, etc. as taught by Nazarian et al.
Thus this rejection is maintained.
12. Applicants argued, “A terminal disclaimer has been filed to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejection. The rejection is now moot.”
In response to applicants’ arguments, a terminal disclaimer has not been filed at this time. Thus the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
13. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
14. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615