DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim 10 is newly added. Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (WO 2018/116941 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2019/0326640 A1) in view of Toyama (US 2021/0336260 A1) and Nagata (US 2019/0067677 A1).
Regarding claims 1 & 7-10, Hasegawa teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a nonaqueous electrolyte, wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material such as a lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide in which a molar content of nickel among the transition metals is preferably 80% or more; and the nonaqueous electrolyte includes 1.5 mass% or less of an isocyanuric acid ester component having at least one unsaturated organic group with an unsaturated carbon-carbon bond such as triallyl isocyanurate and diallyl isocyanurate ([0019]-[0029], [0034]-[0038] & [0049]). Hasegawa is silent as to the positive electrode active material including the claimed component M and the limited range for the content of Co. Toyama teaches a positive electrode active material including a lithium transition metal oxide comprising Ni, Co, M (where M includes one or more of metals such as Mn and Al), wherein a content of Co can be from 0 mol% to 5 mol% based on the total molar content of transition metals ([0030]-[0045]) which reads on the presently claimed range for x1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide Co in Hasegawa’s active material in an amount ranging from 0 mol% to 5 mol% based on the total amount of transition metals because good charge-discharge cycle properties while providing a reduction in cost as taught by Toyama ([0043]-[0044]). Nagata teaches a positive electrode active material comprising a lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide comprising an additional component M such as W in an amount of 0.15 mol% relative to the total molar content of Ni, Co and Al ([0031]-[0033] & [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include a component M such as W in Hasegawa’s active material in order to improve the battery capacity and the capacity retention as taught by Nagata (Table 1).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (WO 2018/116941 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2019/0326640 A1), Toyama (US 2021/0336260 A1) and Nagata (US 2019/0067677 A1), and further in view of Ito (US 2016/0211553 A1).
Regarding claims 2-5, Hasegawa as modified by Toyama and Nagata teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1 but is silent as to the electrolyte including a cyclic sulfite ester component. Ito teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising an electrolyte which can include at least one of triallyl isocyanurate and diallyl cyanurate and a sulfur-containing organic compound such as ethylene sulfite, wherein a content of the sulfur-containing organic compound is preferably 0.3 mass% to 3 mass% based on the total mass of the electrolyte ([0112]-[0113], [0164]-[0168], [0362]-[0386] & [0910]-[0912]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include 0.3 mass% to 3 mass% ethylene sulfite in Hasegawa’s electrolyte in order to ensure easy control of characteristics such as output characteristics, load characteristics, low-temperature characteristics, cycle characteristics and high-temperature storage characteristics as taught by Ito ([0168]). Furthermore, Hasegawa teaches an exemplary embodiment using 0.75 mass% triallyl isocyanurate (Example 1) such that when 0.3 mass% to 3 mass% ethylene sulfite is included in the electrolyte, a resulting mass ratio of the isocyanuric acid ester component relative to the cyclic sulfite ester components becomes 0.22 to 4 which encompasses the presently claimed range of 0.5 to 1.5 in claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (WO 2018/116941 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2019/0326640 A1), Toyama (US 2021/0336260 A1) and Nagata (US 2019/0067677 A1), and further in view of Han (US 2020/0185714 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Hasegawa as modified by Toyama and Nagata teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, where a Co content in Toyama corresponds to a x1 value of 0 to 0.05 where x1 can be less than 0.03 or even less than 0.01 in some instances ([0043]-[0044]) but is silent as to, wherein in the composition formula, 0 ≤ x2 ≤ 0.1 and 0.05 ≤ y+x2 ≤ 0.2 are satisfied. Han teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive electrode including a positive electrode active material such as lithium nickel-manganese-cobalt-aluminum oxide in which a molar content of Co preferably ranges from 0.01 to 0.1 based on the total molar contents of the transition metals (i.e Ni, Co, Mn and Al), a molar content of Mn ranges from more than 0 to 0.15 and a molar content of Al ranges from more than 0 to 0.15 which overlap with the presently claimed ranges ([0047]-[0061] & [0105]-[0112]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to limit y and x2 in Hasegawa’s active material to the presently claimed ranges in order to ensure a high nickel content (i.e from 80 mol% to 98 mol% relative to the total molar content of transition metals) thereby yielding high-capacity properties as taught by Han ([0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The subject matter of claims 1 & 6-10 is found to be obvious over the combined teachings of Hasegawa, Toyama and Nagata and the subject matter of claims 2-5 and 6 is found to be obvious further in view of Ito and Han, respectively, as noted in the above updated rejection. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-10 stand rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727