Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0004, line 3, "while also stably transport" should read "while also stably transporting."
In paragraph 0020, line 4, "300 mm" should read "300mm".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 5, "earing rails" should read "bearing rails". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bonora et al (U.S. Patent No. 20190283244).
Regarding claim 1, Bonora et al teaches a variable swath end effector, comprising:
Two arms (240A, 240B), each for retaining a portion of a retained element (Paragraph 0053, lines 7-10);
Two pairs of bearing rails (225, 226), each pair being uniquely mechanically associated with a one of the two arms (240A, 240B), wherein a level of one pair of bearing rails (225) is staggered from a second level of the other pair of bearing rails (226) in a perpendicular axis, and wherein the staggered pairs of bearing rails (225, 226) are interleaved with each other (Paragraph 0059, lines 4-12; paragraph 0060, lines 5-13; Fig. 2a, element 225; Fig. 2b, element 226; Fig. 5a and 5b); and
A motor capable of driving a belt in mechanical association with each of the two arms (240A, 240B), wherein actuation of the motor drives the belt to synchronously move each of the two arms (240A, 240B) across a respective one of the pairs of bearing rails (225, 226) to vary the swath between the two arms (240A, 240B) (Paragraph 0052, lines 2-4; paragraph 0054, lines 1-4, 5-18).
Regarding claim 2, Bonora et al teaches a main housing (210, 215), encompassing the two pairs of bearing rails (225, 226), the motor and the drive belt (Paragraph 0054, lines 1-4, 15-18; Fig. 2b, elements 210, 215).
Regarding claim 11, Bonora et al teaches a back end (215) opposite the two arms (240A, 240B) (Paragraph 0051, lines 7-9; Fig. 2b, elements 215, 240A, 240B).
Regarding claim 12, Bonora et al teaches a back end (215) that comprises a network connection (Paragraph 0054, lines 15-18; paragraph 0144, lines 1-4, 13-15).
Regarding claim 13, the back end (215) comprises a control board (810) (Paragraph 0139, lines 1-5; Fig. 8, element 810).
Regarding claim 14, the synchronous movement is encoded (Paragraph 0056, lines 13-14; paragraph 0140, lines 1-8; Fig. 8, elements 810, 802, 808).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonora et al in view of O'Connor et al (US 10357833).
Bonora et al fails to teach a pneumatic line. O’Connor et al teaches the main housing (115) further comprises a feed through of a pneumatic line to each of the arms (Column 4, lines 6-10).
Bonora et al fails to teach a port. O’Connor et al teaches the connection of the pneumatic line to each of the arms comprises a port (150, 405) (Column 4, lines 6-10; Fig. 4A, elements 150, 405).
Bonora et al fails to teach an o-ring port. O’Connor et al teaches the port (150, 405) comprises an o-ring port (Fig. 4C, elements 150, 405).
Bonora et al fails to teach a vacuum port. O’Connor et al teaches the pneumatic line feeds at least one vacuum port (150, 405) on each arm (Column 4, lines 6-10).
Bonora et al fails to teach a Bernoulli cup. O’Connor et al teaches the pneumatic line feeds at least one Bernoulli cup (110) on each arm (Column 2, lines 1-7; Fig. 1B, elements 150, 110).
Bonora et al fails to teach a splice port. O’Connor et al teaches the port (150, 405) comprises a splice port (Fig. 4C, elements 150, 405).
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonora et al in view of Tang et al (US 10381257).
Bonora et al fails to teach an optical fiber line. Tang et al teaches a main housing (13, 14) further comprising a feed through of an optical fiber line to each of the arms (26) (Column 16, lines 38-42).
Bonora et al fails to teach a connection of the optical fiber line. Tang et al teaches a connection of the optical fiber line to each of the arms (26) comprises a port (Column 16, lines 38-42).
Bonora et al fails to teach a servo motor. Tang et al teaches the motor (8) is a servo-motor (Column 8, lines 24-29; Fig. 1, element 8).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonora et al in view of Hu et al (US 20170102993).
Bonora et al fails to teach encoding. Hu et al teaches encoding that is resistance-based (Paragraph 0029, lines 1-5; paragraph 0076, lines 1-7).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonora et al in view of Kamakura et al (EP 2733057).
Bonora et al fails to teach encoding. Kamakura et al teaches encoding that is absolute encoding (Paragraph 105).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonora et al in view of Knopf et al (US 20190387678).
Bonora et al fails to teach a pitch adjustment. Knopf et al teaches a pitch adjustment to adjust the pitch of at least one of the arms (130) (Paragraph 108, lines 1-8; Fig. 1B, elements 130, 170, 162).
Bonora et al fails to teach a pitch adjustment. Knopf et al teaches a pitch adjustment that comprises a cylinder (162) driven by a jack screw (170) (Paragraph 108, lines 1-8; Fig. 1B, elements 162, 170).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable for disclosing a swath that varies between 50mm and 250mm. Within the disclosure for Knopf et al, it is shown that the arms can adjust to a maximum width of 50mm (Paragraph 113, lines 10-15). The arms are not able to adjust to a width of 250mm. As such, these measurements are considered unique to the disclosed invention.
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651