DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the substrate intended by “a substrate located in a center hole of the cup”. It is unclear how the additional substrate [250] located in the center hole of the cup. The structure and/or location/arrangement of the substrate relative to a center hole of the cup in the final product is not clear. Applicant should clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aarab [US 2017/0365390 A1] in view of Ratz et al. [US 2015/0228401 A1] and JPS6219929Y2.
Regarding claim 1, Aarab discloses a transformer assembly [figures 2-5] comprising:
- a transformer core [para 0049];
- a cup [40] that receives the transformer core;
- a lid [50] that engages with the cup and covers the transformer core;
- a winding [14, 16, 18] wound around the cup and the lid; and
- a substrate [22] to which the cup is connected.
Aarab discloses the instant claimed invention except for at least one hole formed in the cup and/or lid.
Ratz et al. discloses a transformer assembly comprising:
- a transformer core [201];
- a cup [205] that receives the transformer core;
- a lid [204] that engages with the cup and covers the transformer core; and
- a winding [203] wound around the cup and the lid; wherein the cup and/or the lid include at least one hole [figures 2-4] through which the transformer core is exposed to an exterior of the cup and the lid when the lid is engaged with the cup, wherein the at least one hole is located in the cup and/or lid where the winding is wound around the cup and the lid [figures 2-4].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include at least one hole in the cup and/or lid of Aarab’s transformer, as suggested by Ratz et al., for the purpose providing heat dissipation from the core.
Aarab in view of Ratz et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a casing and a material within the casing.
JPS6219929Y2 discloses a magnetic structure [figures 1-2] comprising:
- a toroidal core/coil assembly [1, 2] mounted on multiple substrate structure [4, 7, 9];
- a casing [13] that surrounds the toroidal core/coil assembly and the substrate structure; and
- a potting material [figure 2] that encapsulates or pots the toroidal core/coil assembly and the substrate structure.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the casing and potting material of JPS6219929Y2 in Aarab, as modified, for the purpose of providing protecting and encapsulating the magnetic device.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Aarab further discloses a clip [24] that is at least partially inserted into a center hole of the cup, wherein the clip includes insulating material. The specific material and/or method to form the clip would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving manufacturing.
Regarding claim 3, Aarab further discloses a recess [or groove 48, 34, 38, 64] form to support the clip [24, figures 1-6], wherein the clip having a plurality of projections [80, figure 5] engage with the recesses/grooves.
The specific arrangement of the recess/groove would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving assembling/manufacturing.
Regarding claim 4, Aarab further discloses another substrate [12] having a plurality of holes formed there in, wherein the transformer assembly disposed on the substrate. Aarab also discloses a mounting/supporting structure for mounting the transformer onto the substrate, wherein the mounting/supporting structure includes the clip [24] and base plate [22] having support elements [30] for supporting the transformer on the substrate.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the mounting/supporting structure with the cup of Aarab for the purpose of simplifying the structure and/or assembling/manufacturing.
Regarding claim 6, Aarab further discloses a bottom surface of the cup includes pips or feet [52] that locate the transformer assembly with respect to the substrate or base plate [22 or 12, figures 1-6].
Regarding claim 7, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 paragraph, Aarab discloses an additional substrate [clip 24] located in a center hole of the cup [205].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the clip of Aarab as “additional substrate” to separate and insulate the coils [14, 16, 18].
The specific material [FR4, a known material used in magnetic/electronic device] use for the clip would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of providing and/or improving insulation/isolation.
Regarding claim 9, both Aarab and Ratz et al. discloses each of the cup and the lid includes a center hole with a diameter of about 2 mm or greater.
Regarding claim 12, both Aarab and JPS6219929Y2 disclose the winding includes first and second windings [windings 14, 16, 18 of Aarab having ends/terminals in figures 6-7, windings 3, 6 of JPS6219929Y2 having ends] that electrically connected to corresponding terminals of the substrate [figures 6-7 of Aarab and figures 1-2 of JPS6219929Y2.
The specific connections of the windings to terminals [or pads] on the substrate would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving external connections.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuhiro [JP 2000-208343 A] in view of Ratz et al. and JPS6219929Y2.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Mitsuhiro discloses a magnetic assembly [figures 1-3] comprising:
- core [3];
- a cup [4, 5, 6] that receives the transformer core;
- a lid [4, 5, 6] that engages with the cup and covers the transformer core; and
- a winding [2] wound around the cup and the lid.
Mitsuhiro further discloses a bottom surface of the cup includes pips or feet [8] that locate the transformer assembly with respect to a substrate [not show].
Mitsuhiro discloses the instant claimed invention except for at least one hole formed in the cup and/or lid.
Ratz et al. discloses a transformer assembly comprising:
- a transformer core [201];
- a cup [205] that receives the transformer core;
- a lid [204] that engages with the cup and covers the transformer core; and
- a winding [203] wound around the cup and the lid; wherein the cup and/or the lid include at least one hole [figures 2-4] through which the transformer core is exposed to an exterior of the cup and the lid when the lid is engaged with the cup, wherein the at least one hole is located in the cup and/or lid where the winding is wound around the cup and the lid [figures 2-4].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include at least one hole in the cup and/or lid of Mitsuhiro, as suggested by Ratz et al., for the purpose providing heat dissipation from the core.
Mitsuhiro view of Ratz et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a casing and a material within the casing.
JPS6219929Y2 discloses a magnetic structure [figures 1-2] comprising:
- a toroidal core/coil assembly [1, 2] mounted on multiple substrate structure [4, 7, 9];
- a casing [13] that surrounds the toroidal core/coil assembly and the substrate structure; and
- a potting material [figure 2] that encapsulates or pots the toroidal core/coil assembly and the substrate structure.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the casing and potting material of JPS6219929Y2 in Aarab, as modified, for the purpose of providing protecting and encapsulating the magnetic device.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Mitsuhiro further discloses a clip [7] that is at least partially inserted into a center hole of the cup, wherein the clip includes insulating material. The specific material and/or method to form the clip would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving manufacturing.
Regarding claim 3, Mitsuhiro further discloses a recess [groove figure 3] form to support the clip [7], wherein the clip having a plurality of projections [figures 2-3] engage with the recesses/grooves [figures 2-3].
Regarding claim 7, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 paragraph, Mitsuhiro discloses an additional substrate [clip 7] located in a center hole of the cup [4, 5, 6].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the clip of Mitsuhiro as “additional substrate” to separate and insulate the coils [2].
The specific material [FR4, a known material used in magnetic/electronic device] use for the clip would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of providing and/or improving insulation/isolation.
Regarding claim 9, both Mitsuhiro and Ratz et al. discloses each of the cup and the lid includes a center hole with a diameter of about 2 mm or greater.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837