DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-12, 13-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harry (US 2892457 A)in view of Jean-Charles (FR 2683140 A1), hereinafter Jean, in further view of Stokes et al. (US 20090023984 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Harry discloses a surgical instrument (Fig 1) comprising: a housing (handle portion 16, Fig 1); a syringe carriage (gear block 35, Fig 3) including a gear rack (gear rack comprised of rack gears 43 and 45), the syringe carriage (35) operably coupled to the housing (16) and configured to couple to a syringe (Syringe (S) comprising barrel 19, Fig 1); a movable handle (trigger 64, Fig 1) movable relative to the housing (16) and operably coupled in meshed engagement with the gear rack (43+45) (pawl 74 is in mesh engagement with the gear rack 43+45), wherein movement of the movable handle (64) cause linear translation of the gear rack (43+45) of the syringe carriage (35); a needle (needle of syringe, Fig 1) configured to operably couple to a syringe coupled to the syringe carriage (needle is coupled to the syringe (S) and carriage 35, Fig 1); and a kick-back assembly including a kick-back stop (actuator member 51, Fig 2) configured to rotate relative to the housing (16) (actuator member 51 rotates relative to housing 16 via pivot pin 52, Fig 2), the kick-back stop (51) being in direct engagement with the gear rack (43+45) to bias the syringe carriage (35) in a proximal direction (kick-back stop 51 directly engages rack 43+45 to bias syringe carriage 35 by means of flange 62 in the proximal direction effecting rearward movement; Col 2, lines 60-70).
Harry is silent regarding a pinion gear in meshed engagement with the gear rack, wherein movement of the movable handle rotates the pinion gear to cause linear translation of the gear rack of the syringe carriage; a shaft extending distally from the housing and defining a lumen; a needle sheath extending through the lumen of the shaft, the needle sheath defining a lumen and being movable relative to the shaft between an extended condition and a retracted condition; the needle extending through the lumen of the needle sheath, wherein a distal end of the needle is covered by the needle sheath when the needle sheath is in the extended condition and the distal end of the needle is uncovered by the needle sheath when the needle sheath is in the retracted condition.
Jean teaches a pinion gear (drive gear 9, Fig 1) in meshed engagement with the gear rack (rack 7), wherein movement of the movable handle (drive handle 12, Fig 1) rotates the pinion gear (9) to cause linear translation of the gear rack (7) of the syringe carriage (means 8, Fig 1) (Page 3, 5th paragraph).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry with pinion gear as taught by Jean for the purpose of improving engagement with the rack and increase reliability and robustness of the device to inject selected quantified doses (Page 6: “ease of use, particularly with regard to the quantification of the product to be ejected during each movement of the handle, which makes it a solid and reliable device, even if the conditions in which it is used are difficult”).
Harry/Jean are silent wherein a shaft extending distally from the housing and defining a lumen; a needle sheath extending through the lumen of the shaft, the needle sheath defining a lumen and being movable relative to the shaft between an extended condition and a retracted condition; the needle extending through the lumen of the needle sheath, wherein a distal end of the needle is covered by the needle sheath when the needle sheath is in the extended condition and the distal end of the needle is uncovered by the needle sheath when the needle sheath is in the retracted condition.
Stokes teaches a shaft (deployment device housing 62, Fig 6a) extending distally from the housing (handle 54, Fig 6a) and defining a lumen (lumen of housing 62, Fig 6a); a needle sheath (protective sheath 70, Fig 6a) extending through the lumen of the shaft (62) (Fig 6a), the needle sheath (70) defining a lumen (lumen of sheath 70, Fig 6a) and being movable relative to the shaft (62) between an extended condition (Fig 6a) and a retracted condition (Fig 6b); a needle (needle 64, Fig 6a) extending through the lumen of the needle sheath (70) (Fig 6a-b), wherein a distal end of the needle (64) is covered by the needle sheath (70) when the needle sheath (70) is in the extended condition (Fig 6a) and the distal end of the needle (66) is uncovered by the needle sheath (70) when the needle sheath (70) is in the retracted condition (Fig 6b).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean with similar shaft, sheath and retraction mechanism as taught by Stokes for the purpose of protecting the needle and to shield the needle from accidental sticks ([0087]).
Regarding claim 2, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1. Harry is silent regarding further comprising a lever operably coupled to the needle sheath and slidably coupled to the housing, the lever configured to selectively move the needle sheath between the extended condition and the retracted condition.
Stokes teaches further comprising a lever (rod 72, Fig 6a) operably coupled to the needle sheath (70) and slidably coupled to the housing (54), the lever configured to selectively move the needle sheath (70) between the extended condition (Fig 6a) and the retracted condition (Fig 6b).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean/Stokes with similar lever in the retraction mechanism of the sheath as taught by Stokes for the purpose of moving the sheath between the open and close position to protecting the needle and to shield the needle from accidental sticks ([0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1. Harry discloses further comprising a fluid port (fluid port of syringe (s)) extending from the housing (16). Harry is silent regarding in fluid communication with the lumen of the needle sheath.
Stokes teaches a shaft (deployment device housing 62, Fig 6a) extending distally from the housing (handle 54, Fig 6a) and defining a lumen (lumen of housing 62, Fig 6a); a needle sheath (protective sheath 70, Fig 6a) extending through the lumen of the shaft (62) (Fig 6a), the needle sheath (70) defining a lumen (lumen of sheath 70, Fig 6a) and being movable relative to the shaft (62) between an extended condition (Fig 6a) and a retracted condition (Fig 6b); a needle (needle 64, Fig 6a) extending through the lumen of the needle sheath (70) (Fig 6a-b), wherein a distal end of the needle (64) is covered by the needle sheath (70) when the needle sheath (70) is in the extended condition (Fig 6a) and the distal end of the needle (66) is uncovered by the needle sheath (70) when the needle sheath (70) is in the retracted condition (Fig 6b).
Harry/Jean/Stokes as modified discloses wherein the fluid port (fluid port of syringe (s), from Harry) is in fluid communication with the lumen (lumen of sheath 70, Fig 6a, From Stokes) of the needle sheath (70, from Stokes).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Piehl with similar shaft, sheath and retraction mechanism as taught by Stokes for the purpose of protecting the needle and to shield the needle from accidental sticks ([0087]).
Regarding claim 7, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1, Harry is silent wherein the movable handle and the pinion gear are in ratchet engagement with each other.
Jean teaches wherein the movable handle (12) and the pinion gear (9) are in ratchet engagement with each other (Page 2, 1st paragraph; due to the ratchet the gear 9 do not rotate when moving in the proximal direction).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean/Stokes with pinion gear as taught by Jean for the purpose of improving engagement with the rack and increase reliability and robustness of the device to inject selected quantified doses (Page 6: “ease of use, particularly with regard to the quantification of the product to be ejected during each movement of the handle, which makes it a solid and reliable device, even if the conditions in which it is used are difficult”).
Regarding claim 8, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1. Harry discloses wherein each actuation of the movable handle (64) causes a specific dose to be delivered from the syringe (S) (each actuation of the movable handle in the upwards position of the control button 17 causes a specific dose to be delivered from syringe (s), Fig 1).
Regarding claim 9, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1. Harry discloses wherein the kick- back stop (51) includes a tooth (1000, Annotated Fig 1) in direct engagement with the gear rack (43+45) and the kick-back assembly includes an adjustable kick-back lever (stop portion 82, Fig 1), and a spring (spring 68, Fig 1) disposed between the adjustable kick-back lever (82) and the kick-back stop (51).
Regarding claim 10, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 9. Harry discloses wherein the adjustable kick-back lever (82) is configured to selectively adjust a pull-back distance that the rack is moved proximally at the end of each injection stroke (stop portion 82 is adjustable to select permissible rearward distance displaced by rack 43+45).
Regarding claim 9, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1. Harry discloses wherein the kick- back stop (51) includes a tooth (1000, Annotated Fig 1) in direct engagement with the gear rack (43+45) and the kick-back assembly includes an adjustable kick-back lever (finger piece 65, Fig 1), and a spring (spring 68, Fig 1) disposed between the adjustable kick-back lever (65) and the kick-back stop (51).
Regarding claim 10, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 9. Harry discloses wherein the adjustable kick-back lever (65) is configured to selectively adjust a pull-back distance that the rack is moved proximally at the end of each injection stroke (finger piece 65, acts a s an adjustable lever depending on the force applied it displaces a certain distance corresponding with a certain movement in the rearward direction of the rack 43+45)
Regarding claim 11, Harry discloses a surgical instrument (1) comprising: a housing (handle portion 16, Fig 1); a syringe carriage (gear block 35, Fig 3) including a gear rack (gear rack comprised of rack gears 43 and 45), the syringe carriage (35) operably coupled to the housing (16); a syringe (syringe (S), Fig 1) storing a fluid (fluid (F) inside barrel 19, Fig 1; Col 1, lines 3-4) and operably coupled to the syringe carriage (35); a movable handle (trigger 64, Fig 1) movable relative to the housing (16) and operably coupled in meshed engagement with the gear rack (43+45), wherein movement of the movable handle (64) translate the gear rack (43+45) of the syringe carriage (35) and expel the fluid (F) from the syringe (S); a needle (needle of syringe, Fig 1) operably coupled to the syringe (S) to deliver the fluid (F) from the syringe (needle is coupled to the syringe (S) and carriage 35, Fig 1); and a kick-back assembly including a kick-back stop (actuator member 51, Fig 2) configured to rotate relative to the housing (16) (actuator member 51 rotates relative to housing 16 via pivot pin 52, Fig 2), the kick-back stop (51) being in direct engagement with the gear rack (43+45) to bias the syringe carriage (35) in a proximal direction (kick-back stop 51 directly engages rack 43+45 to bias syringe carriage 35 by means of flange 62 in the proximal direction effecting rearward movement; Col 2, lines 60-70).
Harry is silent regarding a pinion gear in meshed engagement with the gear rack, wherein movement of the movable handle rotates the pinion gear to cause linear translation of the gear rack of the syringe carriage; a shaft extending distally from the housing and defining a lumen; a needle sheath extending through the lumen of the shaft, the needle sheath defining a lumen and being movable relative to the shaft between an extended condition and a retracted condition; a lever operably coupled to the needle sheath and configured to move the needle sheath; the needle extending through the lumen of the needle sheath.
Jean teaches a pinion gear (drive gear 9, Fig 1) in meshed engagement with the gear rack (rack 7), wherein movement of the movable handle (drive handle 12, Fig 1) rotates the pinion gear (9) to cause linear translation of the gear rack (7) of the syringe carriage (means 8, Fig 1) (Page 3, 5th paragraph).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry with pinion gear as taught by Jean for the purpose of improving engagement with the rack and increase reliability and robustness of the device to inject selected quantified doses (Page 6: “ease of use, particularly with regard to the quantification of the product to be ejected during each movement of the handle, which makes it a solid and reliable device, even if the conditions in which it is used are difficult”).
Harry/Jean are silent wherein a shaft extending distally from the housing and defining a lumen; a needle sheath extending through the lumen of the shaft, the needle sheath defining a lumen and being movable relative to the shaft between an extended condition and a retracted condition; a lever operably coupled to the needle sheath and configured to move the needle sheath; the needle extending through the lumen of the needle sheath.
Stokes teaches a shaft (deployment device housing 62, Fig 6a) extending distally from the housing (handle 54, Fig 6a) and defining a lumen (lumen of housing 62, Fig 6a); a needle sheath (protective sheath 70, Fig 6a) extending through the lumen of the shaft (62) (Fig 6a), the needle sheath (70) defining a lumen (lumen of sheath 70, Fig 6a) and being movable relative to the shaft (62) between an extended condition (Fig 6a) and a retracted condition (Fig 6b); a lever (rod 72, Fig 6a) operably coupled to the needle sheath (70) and configured to move the needle sheath (70); the needle (needle 64, Fig 6B) extending through the lumen of the needle sheath (70).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean with similar shaft, sheath and retraction mechanism as taught by Stokes for the purpose of protecting the needle and to shield the needle from accidental sticks ([0087]).
Regarding claim 12, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 11. Harry is silent wherein a distal end of the needle is covered by the needle sheath when the needle sheath is in the extended condition and the distal end of the needle is uncovered by the needle sheath when the needle sheath is in the retracted condition.
Stokes teaches a needle (needle 64, Fig 6a) extending through the lumen of the needle sheath (70) (Fig 6a-b), wherein a distal end of the needle (64) is covered by the needle sheath (70) when the needle sheath (70) is in the extended condition (Fig 6a) and the distal end of the needle (66) is uncovered by the needle sheath (70) when the needle sheath (70) is in the retracted condition (Fig 6b).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Piehl with similar shaft, sheath and retraction mechanism as taught by Stokes for the purpose of protecting the needle and to shield the needle from accidental sticks ([0087]).
Regarding claim 14, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 11. Harry discloses further comprising a fluid port (fluid port of syringe (s)) extending from the housing (16). Harry is silent regarding in fluid communication with the lumen of the needle sheath.
Stokes teaches a shaft (deployment device housing 62, Fig 6a) extending distally from the housing (handle 54, Fig 6a) and defining a lumen (lumen of housing 62, Fig 6a); a needle sheath (protective sheath 70, Fig 6a) extending through the lumen of the shaft (62) (Fig 6a), the needle sheath (70) defining a lumen (lumen of sheath 70, Fig 6a) and being movable relative to the shaft (62) between an extended condition (Fig 6a) and a retracted condition (Fig 6b); a lever (rod 72, Fig 6a) operably coupled to the needle sheath (70) and configured to move the needle sheath (70).
Harry/Jean/Stokes as modified discloses wherein the fluid port (fluid port of syringe (s), from Harry) is in fluid communication with the lumen (lumen of sheath 70, Fig 6a, From Stokes) of the needle sheath (70, from Stokes).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Piehl with similar shaft, sheath and retraction mechanism as taught by Stokes for the purpose of protecting the needle and to shield the needle from accidental sticks ([0087]).
Regarding claim 17, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 11. Harry is silent wherein the movable handle and the pinion gear are in ratchet engagement with each other.
Jean teaches wherein the movable handle (12) and the pinion gear (9) are in ratchet engagement with each other (Page 2, 1st paragraph; due to the ratchet the gear 9 do not rotate when moving in the proximal direction).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean/Stokes with pinion gear as taught by Jean for the purpose of improving engagement with the rack and increase reliability and robustness of the device to inject selected quantified doses (Page 6: “ease of use, particularly with regard to the quantification of the product to be ejected during each movement of the handle, which makes it a solid and reliable device, even if the conditions in which it is used are difficult”).
Regarding claim 18, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 11. Harry discloses wherein each actuation of the movable handle (64) causes a specific dose to be delivered from the syringe (S) (each actuation of the movable handle in the upwards position of the control button 17 causes a specific dose to be delivered from syringe (s), Fig 1).
Regarding claim 19, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 11,wherein the kick- back stop (51) includes a tooth (1000, Annotated Fig 1) in direct engagement with the gear rack (43+45) and the kick-back assembly includes an adjustable kick-back lever (stop portion 82, Fig 1) and a spring (68) disposed between the adjustable kick-back lever (82) and the kick-back stop (51) (stop portion 82 is adjustable to select permissible rearward distance displaced by rack 43+45)
Regarding claim 19, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 11,wherein the kick- back stop (51) includes a tooth (1000, Annotated Fig 1) in direct engagement with the gear rack (43+45) and the kick-back assembly includes an adjustable kick-back lever (finger piece 65, Fig 1) and a spring (68) disposed between the adjustable kick-back lever (65) and the kick-back stop (51) (finger piece 65, acts a s an adjustable lever depending on the force applied it displaces a certain distance corresponding with a certain movement in the rearward direction of the rack 43+45)
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harry (US 2892457 A)in view of Jean-Charles (FR 2683140 A1), in further view of Stokes et al. (US 20090023984 A1) in further view of Vickroy et al. (US 4998921 A).
Regarding claim 3, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1. Harry/Jean/Stokes are silent regarding further comprising a seal coupled to an inner surface of the needle sheath and forming a fluid-tight seal between the needle sheath and an outer surface of the needle when the needle sheath is in the retracted condition and forming a seal when the needle sheath is in the extended condition.
Vickroy teaches a surgical instrument (Fig 1) comprising a seal (septum 12, Fig 2) coupled to an inner surface of the needle sheath (inner surface of needle sheath 10, Fig 2) and forming a fluid-tight seal (Col 5, lines 4-6) between the needle sheath (10) and an outer surface of the needle (needle 16, Fig 2) when the needle sheath (10) is in the retracted condition (Fig 6) and forming a seal when the needle sheath is in the extended condition (Fig 3).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean/Stokes with similar seal located at a distal inner end of the sheath as taught by Vickroy for the purpose of sealing the interior lumen of the sheath maintaining the needle sterile (Col 5 lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 13, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 11. Harry/Jean/Stokes are silent regarding further comprising a seal coupled to an inner surface of the needle sheath and forming a fluid-tight seal between the needle sheath and an outer surface of the needle when the needle sheath is in the retracted condition and forming a seal when the needle sheath is in the extended condition.
Vickroy teaches a surgical instrument (Fig 1) comprising a seal (septum 12, Fig 2) coupled to an inner surface of the needle sheath (inner surface of needle sheath 10, Fig 2) and forming a fluid-tight seal (Col 5, lines 4-6) between the needle sheath (10) and an outer surface of the needle (needle 16, Fig 2) when the needle sheath (10) is in the retracted condition (Fig 6) and forming a seal when the needle sheath is in the extended condition(Fig 3).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean/Stokes with similar seal located at a distal inner end of the sheath as taught by Vickroy for the purpose of sealing the interior lumen of the sheath maintaining the needle sterile (Col 5 lines 4-6).
Claims 5 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harry (US 2892457 A)in view of Jean-Charles (FR 2683140 A1), in further view of Stokes et al. (US 20090023984 A1)in further view of Pfahnl et al. (US 20150209821 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1. Harry is silent wherein a proximal end of the needle includes a luer lock for coupling to a distal end of the syringe.
Pfahnl teaches a surgical instrument comprising: a housing (main housing or chassis 513, Fig 6); a syringe carriage (carriage 505, Fig 6) operably coupled to the housing (513) and configured to couple to a syringe (syringe 550, Fig 6); a movable handle (trigger 510, Fig 6) movable relative to the housing (513) and operably coupled to the syringe carriage (505) to distally advance the syringe carriage (505) ([0091]).
Pfahnl further discloses wherein a proximal end of the needle ([needle; [0082]) includes a luer lock for coupling to a distal end of the syringe (Fig 6 shows a tip comprising a luer connector; therefore, the needle connecting to the tip must have a luer lock to couple to the distal tip of the syringe).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean/Stokes with similar luer lock connection between the syringe tip and the needle as taught by Pfahnl for the purpose of facilitating connections between the syringe and the needle or other user equipment ([0082]).
Regarding claim 15, Harry/Jean/Stokes discloses the surgical instrument of claim 11. Harry is silent wherein a proximal end of the needle includes a luer lock for coupling to a distal end of the syringe.
Pfahnl teaches a surgical instrument comprising: a housing (main housing or chassis 513, Fig 6); a syringe carriage (carriage 505, Fig 6) operably coupled to the housing (513) and configured to couple to a syringe (syringe 550, Fig 6); a movable handle (trigger 510, Fig 6) movable relative to the housing (513) and operably coupled to the syringe carriage (505) to distally advance the syringe carriage (505) ([0091]).
Pfahnl further discloses wherein a proximal end of the needle ([needle; [0082]) includes a luer lock for coupling to a distal end of the syringe (Fig 6 shows a tip comprising a luer connector; therefore the needle connecting to the tip must have a luer lock to couple to the distal tip of the syringe).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Harry/Jean/Stokes with similar luer lock connection between the syringe tip and the needle as taught by Pfahnl for the purpose of facilitating connections between the syringe and the needle or other user equipment ([0082]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Alternative interpretation of Harry (US 2892457 A) in view of Jean-Charles (FR 2683140 A1), in further view of Stokes et al. (US 20090023984 A1). In order to advance prosecution, the examiner rejected claims 9-10 and 19 under alternatives interpretation of the kick-back lever. Examiner suggest amending claim limitation to describe the structural relationship of the kick-back lever, stop and spring including how the spring directly contacts both the surfaces of lever at one end and the stop at the other end enabling the function of the assembly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUILLERMO G PAZ ESTEVEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/Lauren P Farrar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783