DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 1/18/22 and 7/2/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “elastic member having a second hole portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “a catheter main body” is indefinite because it is not clear if the aforementioned recitation is referring to the “a catheter” in the preamble or an additional catheter. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation is being interpreted as “the catheter main body.”
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “to which a catheter main body is attached” is indefinite because it is not clear if applicant is attempting to positively recite the catheter main body or functionally recite the catheter main body as a result of the “a catheter” not being positively recited in claim 1. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as a functional recitation.
Regarding claim 9, the recitation “a catheter” is indefinite because it is not clear if the “a catheter” is the same or different structure from the “a catheter” which is functionally recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the sensor.”
Claims 2-10 are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suehara et al. (Pub. No. 2020/0022636) as listed on the IDS dated 07/02/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Suehara et al. teaches a branched connector (26, Figs. 1 and 3) used in a catheter (18/80, Fig. 1), the branched connector (26) comprising: a first end portion (1st end portion of 600, see Fig. 1 below) to which a catheter main body (18) is attached (see Fig. 1) and having a first hole portion (604, Fig. 3) communicating with the catheter main body (18, see Figs. 1, 3 and [0058] where 604 is in communication with 42) being formed; and a second end portion (610, Fig. 3) including an elastic member (642, Fig. 3, see [0063]) and having a second hole portion (opening hole of 632, Fig. 3) for inserting a wire-like instrument being formed in the elastic member (a wire-like instrument formed in 642 is insertable within 632]), wherein, the second hole portion (opening hole of 632) communicates with the first hole portion (604, see Fig. 3, [0060] and [0062]) and has a flow passage area smaller (cross-sectional flow path area of lumen of 632 absent 642) than a flow passage area of the first hole portion (cross-sectional flow path area of 604, see Fig. 1; it is the examiner’s position that as a result of an instrument being insertable within 642 to inject a fluid 632 has a flow passage area and Fig. 3 illustrates that the cross-sectional flow path area of 632 is smaller than the cross-sectional flow path area of 604).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1
[AltContent: textbox (1st end portion)][AltContent: ]
Regarding claim 3, Suehara et al. teaches further comprising: a main body portion (body of 600, Fig. 3) including the first end portion (1st end portion, Fig. 1 above): and a sensor connection port portion (602, Fig. 3) including the second end portion (610), wherein the sensor connection port portion (602) is provided with a joint portion (608, Fig, 3) for detachably coupling to the main body portion (body of 600, see [0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Suehara et al. teaches wherein the joint portion (608) is formed in a cylindrical shape (see Fig. 3 illustrating the inner portion along 608 being cylindrical) including a flange portion (614, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Suehara et al. teaches wherein the main body portion (body of 600) is provided with a drainage pipe (606, Fig. 3) communicating with the first hole portion (604) and branching in a direction (angled direction of 606, see Fig. 3) crossing a direction (horizontal direction of 602, see Fig. 3) in which the sensor connection port portion (602) is inserted into the main body portion (body of 600, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Suehara et al. teaches wherein the first end portion (1st end portion, Fig. 1 above) includes a cylindrical shape portion (see Fig. 1 above) for attaching another catheter (the 1st end portion in Fig. 1 above can attach to another catheter via 606, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Suehara et al. teaches a catheter (18/80, Fig. 1) comprising the branched connector according to claim1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Suehara et al. teaches wherein an outer side (outer surface of 610 where 660, 638 and 640 are located, see Fig. 3) of the second end portion (610) is provided with a transmitting portion (90/91/ 96,/97,/100), Fig. 3) for transmitting a detection result by the sensor (660, 638, 640 see [0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suehara et al. (Pub. No. 2020/0022636 as listed on the IDS dated 07/02/2024) in view of Ueda et al. (Pub. No. 2016/0015958).
Regarding claim 2, Suehara et al. does not teach wherein the elastic member is formed of silicone rubber. However, Ueda et al. teaches an elastic member (3, Fig. 1) formed of silicone rubber (see [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the valve taught by Suehara et al. by forming the valve from silicone rubber as taught by Ueda et al. because Ueda et al. teaches that it is known in the art to form a valve from silicone rubber which is an art effective equivalent for rubber (see [0031]) Suehara teaches that the valve can be formed from rubber (see [0063]) and various changes and modifications can be made to the device (see [0140]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suehara et al. (Pub. No. 2020/0022636 as listed on the IDS dated 07/02/2024) in view of Korogi et al. (Pub. No. 2006/019164) in view of Schmidt et al. (Patent No. 4,881,542).
Regarding claim 4, Suehara et al. does not teach wherein the main body portion and the sensor connection port portion are formed of an elastic member, and the joint portion is formed of a resin material. However, Korogi et al. teaches a main body portion (main body portion, Fig. 2 below) and the sensor connection port portion (sensor connection portion Fig. 2 below) are formed, and the joint portion (joint portion Fig. 2 below) is formed of a resin material (see [0078] where the hub is formed form a thermoplastic resin).
[AltContent: textbox (main body portion)][AltContent: textbox (joint body portion)][AltContent: ]Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2
[AltContent: textbox (sensor connection portion)]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device taught by Suehara et al. by forming the hub from a thermoplastic resin as taught by Korogi et al. because Korogi et al. teaches that it is known in the art to form a hub from such material (see [0078]). Further, Suehara teaches that the valve can be formed from rubber (see [0063]) and various changes and modifications can be made to the device (see [0140]).
Suehara et al. in view of Korogi et al. does not specifically teach that the thermoplastic resin is elastic. However, Schmidt et al. teaches a thermoplastic resin that is elastic (see Col. 6, lines 25- 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device taught by Suehara et al. in view of Korogi et al. by forming elements 600 and 602 from a thermoplastic synthetic resin as taught by Schmidt et el. for providing a hub that is elastic and pliable (see Coo. 6, lines 25-30). Further, Suehara in view of Korogi et al. teaches that the valve can be formed from rubber (see [0063]) and various changes and modifications can be made to the device (see Suehar et al.[0140]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suehara et al. (Pub. No. 2020/0022636 as listed on the IDS dated 07/02/2024) in view of Bonham et al. (Pub. No. 2019/0091461 as listed on the IDS dated 07/02/2024 ).
Regarding claim 7, Suehara et al. does not teach wherein the sensor connection port portion is provided with a valve for opening and closing a channel connecting the joint portion and the second end portion. However, Bonham et al. teaches a connection portion (101, Fig. 2A) provided with a valve (205, Fig. 2) for opening and closing a channel (lumen of 101) connecting a joint portion (9917, Fig. 1, see [0260]) and the second end portion (101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Suehara et al. by adding the check valve to the lumen of 602 for preventing urine backflow thereby minimizing microbial migration in a direction opposite of intended flow (see [0264]). Further, Suehara teaches that the valve can be formed from rubber (see [0063]) and various changes and modifications can be made to the device (see [0140]).
Conclusion
TIFFANY LEGETTE-THOMPSON
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723