DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 11 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi et al. (JP 2000058120, referring to previously provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Adachi") in view of Minami et al. (WO 2018179782, referring to Examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Minami").
Regarding claim 1, Adachi teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising a negative electrode [0001, “The present invention relates to an electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery having a metallic lithium negative electrode”]. Adachi teaches that in the metallic lithium negative electrode, lithium metal deposits during charging and dissolves during discharging [0013, “the amount of electricity required for charging, i.e., for depositing Li, was kept constant at around 0.2 coulombs, and discharging, i.e., dissolving Li”]. Adachi teaches that the lithium secondary battery further includes a nonaqueous electrolyte that includes a metal cation, a halide (iodide) anion, and a lithium salt dissolved in the electrolyte [0007, “it has been discovered that the charge-discharge cycle characteristics of a metallic lithium negative electrode can be improved by adding, as an additive, a compound consisting of a metal cation that alloys with lithium and an iodide anion to the electrolyte solvent, “this electrolyte is characterized in that it contains these metal iodides as additives … to the electrolyte, in which an organic fluorine-containing lithium salt is dissolved in a non-aqueous solvent”]. Since the lithium salt is dissolved in the nonaqueous electrolyte, the nonaqueous electrolyte also comprises lithium ions. Adachi discloses that the metal cation forms an alloy with lithium in the metallic lithium negative electrode [0011, “When electrochemical deposition and dissolution tests, i.e., charge/discharge tests, were conducted on a lithium metal negative electrode”, “the metal cations of the additive are reduced during charging, and these are alloyed with metallic lithium”]. Adachi is silent regarding the positive electrode, separator, oxalate complex anion, and lithium salt including at least one of the lithium salts recited in claim 1.
Minami teaches analogous art of a lithium secondary battery comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte [page 2, paragraph 1] and a negative electrode wherein lithium metal deposits during charging and dissolves during discharging [page 2, paragraph 5, “A nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising lithium metal deposited on the negative electrode current collector during charging and the lithium metal being dissolved in the nonaqueous electrolyte at the time of discharging”]. Minami teaches that the nonaqueous electrolyte comprises an oxalate complex anion in a lithium salt [page 2, paragraph 5, “the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising: And a lithium salt containing an oxalate complex as an anion”], as well as another electrolyte salt in combination with the lithium salt containing the oxalate complex anion [page 5, paragraph 7, “Although the lithium salt functions as an electrolyte salt, since it decomposes at the negative electrode 12 and its concentration decreases, it is preferable to use another electrolyte salt in combination”]. Minami teaches that the electrolyte salt used in combination with the oxalate complex anion-containing lithium salt may be LiBF4, LiClO4, LiPF6, LiAsF6, LiSbF6, LiAlCl4, or LiSCN [page 6, paragraph 5, “Examples of electrolyte salts used in combination with a lithium salt having an oxalate complex as an anion are LiBF 4, LiClO 4, LiPF 6, LiAsF 6, LiSbF 6, LiAlCl 4, LiSCN”]. Minami also teaches that the secondary battery may comprise a positive electrode and a separator disposed in between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [page 3, paragraph 5, “The electrode body 14 has a positive electrode 11, a negative electrode 12, and a separator 13, and the positive electrode 11 and the negative electrode 12 are spirally wound with a separator 13 interposed therebetween.”].
Minami discloses that swelling of the negative electrode may cause the electrode to break [page 2, paragraph 4, “the electrode may be cut due to the influence of the stress generated by expansion of the negative electrode“]. Minami teaches that including a lithium salt having an oxalate complex anion in the nonaqueous electrolyte causes the lithium metal to uniformly deposit on the negative electrode, which suppresses swelling of the negative electrode [page 2, paragraph 8, “adding a lithium salt having an oxalate complex as an anion in a nonaqueous electrolyte, lithium metal is uniformly deposited on the negative electrode, expansion of the negative electrode Can be suppressed specifically”]. Minami further teaches that since the lithium salt having an oxalate complex anion decomposes and its concentration decreases that is preferable to use another electrolyte salt along with the lithium salt having an oxalate complex anion in the nonaqueous electrolyte [page 5, paragraph 7].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nonaqueous electrolyte taught by Adachi to include an oxalate complex anion as taught by Minami in order to cause uniform deposition of lithium metal in the negative electrode to prevent negative electrode swelling and breakage, as well as to include an electrolyte salt such as LiBF4, LiClO4, LiPF6, LiAsF6, LiSbF6, LiAlCl4, or LiSCN in order to maintain an electrolyte salt in the nonaqueous electrolyte even as the lithium salt containing an oxalate complex anion decomposes. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known positive electrode and separator taught by Minami with the negative electrode and nonaqueous electrolyte taught by Adachi in order to yield the predictable result of obtaining a lithium secondary battery.
Further regarding claim 2, Adachi teaches that the metal cation, which is added to the nonaqueous electrolyte via a metal iodide compound, may be tin (Sn), magnesium (Mg), zinc (Zn), or indium (In) [0010].
Further regarding claim 3, Adachi teaches that the additive including the metal cation may be dissolved in the electrolyte solution in an amount of 10 ppm to 2000 ppm, and even more preferably 100 to 500 ppm relative to the electrolyte [0010]. While Adachi does not specifically teach the concentration of the metal cation in mmol/L, "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). Adachi teaches that there is a demand for the development of an electrolyte capable of improving the charge/discharge reversibility of the lithium negative electrode [0005]. Adachi further teaches that when the metal iodide additive was used, the reversibility of charge/discharge was greatly improved due to the improvement in precipitation morphology caused by the metal cations [0011]. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person having ordinary skill would have found it obvious to try to find the optimum range of concentrations of the metal cation from the finite number of identified concentrations taught by Adachi with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143 I E).
Further regarding claim 4, Adachi teaches that the additive including the iodide ion may be dissolved in the electrolyte solution in an amount of 10 ppm to 2000 ppm, and even more preferably 100 to 500 ppm relative to the electrolyte [0010]. While Adachi does not specifically teach the concentration of the iodide ion in mmol/L, "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). Adachi teaches that there is a demand for the development of an electrolyte capable of improving the charge/discharge reversibility of the lithium negative electrode [0005]. Adachi further teaches that when the metal iodide additive was used, the reversibility of charge/discharge was greatly improved due to the suppression of side reactions between the metallic lithium and electrolyte by the iodide ions [0011]. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person having ordinary skill would have found it obvious to try to find the optimum range of concentrations of the iodide ion from the finite number of identified concentrations taught by Adachi with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143 I E).
Further regarding claim 11, modified Adachi teaches the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Adachi is silent regarding the oxalate complex anion.
Minami teaches that the lithium salt having an oxalate complex anion is preferably has a concentration of 0.01 mol/L, or 100 mmol/L, or more in the electrolyte, which overlaps the recited range [page 6, paragraph 3, “The lithium salt having an oxalate complex as an anion is preferably contained in the nonaqueous electrolyte in a concentration of at least 0.01 M (mol / L)”]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Minami teaches that within the disclosed range, the effect of the oxalate complex anion of suppressing swelling of the negative electrode becomes significant [page 6, paragraph 3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium secondary battery taught by modified Adachi to include the oxalate complex anion in a concentration within the range disclosed by Minami, in order to significantly suppress swelling of the negative electrode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of instant claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi in view of Minami, applicant alleges that Minami does not remedy Adachi’s deficiency regarding the limitation reciting “the lithium salt includes at least one selected from the group consisting of LiClO4, LiBF4, LiPF6, LiAlCl4, LiSbF6, LiSCN, LiAsF6, LiB10Cl10, and LiN(FSO2)2”. As described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above, Minami teaches that it is preferable to include an electrolyte salt such as LiBF4, LiClO4, LiPF6, LiAsF6, LiSbF6, LiAlCl4, or LiSCN in addition to a lithium salt containing an oxalate complex anion in order to compensate for the decomposition and decrease in concentration of the lithium salt containing an oxalate complex anion. Therefore, this argument is not considered persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729