DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, p. 4, 4th paragraph and p. 6, 6th paragraph, filed 5 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim (US 20220216480 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220216480 A1).
In regards to claim(s) 1, Kim discloses a positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (abstract; [0105]), comprising:
a positive electrode current collector (abstract); and a positive electrode mixture layer (first positive electrode active material layer and a second positive electrode active material layer; abstract) formed on a surface of the positive electrode current collector, wherein the positive electrode mixture layer includes: a positive electrode active material (Example 1, [0122]: LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.2O2 (NCM622)); and a fibrous carbon (Example 1, Table 1: Carbon nanotube structure) and a non-fibrous carbon (Example 1, Table 1: Carbon black), and when the positive electrode mixture layer is bisected in a thickness direction, and a half region on a side of the positive electrode current collector is defined as a first region and a half region on an outer surface side is defined as a second region, the first region contains substantially only the non-fibrous carbon (Example 1, Table 1: Carbon black) as a sole carbon-based conductive agent, and the second region contains substantially only the fibrous carbon (Example 1, Table 1: Carbon nanotube structure) as a sole carbon-based conductive agent, the positive electrode active material in the first region is identical to the positive electrode active material in the second region (in Example 1, both regions have the same active material, NCM622, [0122];[0124]), and a content of the fibrous carbon in the positive electrode mixture layer is 0.02 mass% to 0.5 mass% (Table 1; Example 1; 0.1% Carbon nanotube structure), based on a total mass of the positive electrode mixture layer.
While Kim discloses the two regions in Example 1, Example 1 does not disclose that the two regions have the same thickness. However, Kim discloses a thickness range of the two regions to be from 25:75 to 50:50 ([0062]) which overlaps the instantly claimed value of 50:50 and therefore establishes a case of prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because prior art teaches the same utility over the entire range.
In regards to claim(s) 2, Kim discloses carbon nanotubes (Table 1; Example 1).
In regards to claim(s) 3, Kim discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising the positive electrode, a negative electrode ([0097]) and a non-aqueous electrolyte ([0105]).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752