DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awano (JP 2012064537 A) as submitted on Applicant's Information Disclosure Statement filed 19 August 2025.
In regards to claim(s) 1, Awano discloses a positive electrode (64; Fig. 1) for a non-aqueous electrolyte battery ([0037]).
Awano discloses a positive electrode current collector (62), a positive electrode mixture layer (66), positive electrode active material (70, 75A, 75B), non-fibrous carbon (71; granular carbon material; [0055]) and fibrous carbon (76; [0055]), wherein the mixture layer (66) is formed of a first region (proximal layer 68) and of a second region (counter electrode side layer 74).
However, Awano does not disclose wherein the mixture layer is bisected in the thickness direction (1:1 ratio of thickness).
Awano discloses a range of ratios from approximately 50:50 to 40:60 ([0028]) which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 50:50 and therefore establishes a case of prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because prior art teaches the same utility over the entire range.
In regards to claim(s) 2, Awano discloses CNTs ([0045]).
In regards to claim(s) 3, Awano discloses the battery with the positive electrode, negative electrode, non-aqueous electrolyte ([0045]).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160156018 A).
In regards to claim(s) 1, Kim teaches the active material layer(s) is formed on one surface or both
surfaces of the current collector, wherein the active material layer may be fabricated by applying and
drying a slurry including an electrode active material. The slurry including the electrode active material
may be prepared by including each active material depending on the cathode and the anode, a
conductive material, a binder, and a solvent (Kim 0040-0041). Kim also teaches examples of the
conductive material (active material) may include as graphite such as natural graphite, artificial graphite,
or the like; carbon black such as carbon black, acetylene black, Ketjen black, channel black, furnace
black, lamp black, thermal black, or the like (non-fibrous carbon); conductive fiber such as carbon fiber,
metallic fiber, or the like; metal powder such as carbon fluoride powder, aluminum powder and nickel powder, or the like; conductive whiskers such as zinc oxide, potassium titanate, or the like; conductive
metal oxide such as titanium oxide, or the like; conductive material such as polyphenylene derivative, or
the like (Kim 0042).
Kim discloses that the first positive electrode layer closest to the current collector comprises non-fibrous conductive material ([0042] – “conductive material may include as graphite such as natural graphite, artificial graphite, or the like; carbon black such as carbon black, acetylene black, Ketjen black, channel black, furnace black, lamp black, thermal black, or the like”) and the thickness is 20 to 500 µm (step a) – [0045]). Kim discloses that the second positive electrode layer (further from the current collector) comprises the conductive fiber structure layer (step b), [0046]) with a thickness of 3 to 50 µm ([0072]).
However, Kim does not disclose that that the thickness of the first layer is equivalent to the thickness of the second layer (allowing for the claimed bisection in the thickness direction).
Kim discloses a range of ratios from 0.4 to 167:1 (20 µm vs 50 µm; and 500 µm vs. 3 µm) which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 1:1 and therefore establishes a case of prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because prior art teaches the same utility over the entire range.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim also teaches the fibrous conductive material … may be selected from a carbon nanotube or a carbon nanofiber (Kim 0050).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the secondary battery is fabricated by stacking a cathode and an
anode, with a separator interposed therebetween, and injecting an electrolyte thereinto, followed by sealing (Kim 0078).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 November 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant’s Amendment changes the rejection grounds of Kim from 35 USC 102 to 35 USC 103, see above. Furthermore, see the prior art rejection over Awano (submitted on the IDS, and translation provided) above as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752