DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 01/07/2026.
Claims 24-27 are new.
Claims 1-9, 15, 18, 20, 21 and 24-27 are pending for examination
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 15, 18, 20, 21 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0134552 A1) in view of Wu (US 2023/0189110 A1) hereinafter “Kim” and “Wu” respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches A method in a user equipment (UE) (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, terminal or user equipment) for managing configurations received from a radio access network (RAN) (Kim: paragraph 0054 & Figs. 1-2, wireless access network) the method comprising:
receiving, by the UE and from a first network node (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, source base station or source cell) that supports both a first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0159, (non-DAPS)) configuration or normal handover operation) and a second configuration (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, DAPS related configuration), (i) the first configuration configuring the UE to utilize a first set of functions (Kim: paragraph 0159, said normal handover operation), and (ii) the second configuration supplementing the first configuration and configuring the UE to utilize a second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0159-160 & Fig. 13, DAPS-related configuration information (in addition to normal configuration) for DAPS handover procedure);
communicating, by the UE, with the first network node in accordance with the first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0158 & Fig. 13, UE maintaining data transmission or reception with a source base station during handover process, thus communicating according to the first configuration; see also paragraph 0158 & Fig. 6, data transmission or reception operation with source cell);
determining, by the UE, that the UE is to re-establish a radio connection with the RAN (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, handover procedure to target cell) via a second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, target base station or target cell) that supports the first configuration but not the second configuration (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, required configuration information operation (normal configuration or non-DAPS) to the target cell, thus teaching the target supports only the first configuration; see also paragraph 0160, UE maintaining connection with source cell for which DAPS is configured);
releasing, by the UE, the second configuration so that the UE is no longer configured to utilize the second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station, thus teaching the UE no longer utilizes the DAPS operation); and
communicating, by the UE, with the second network node in accordance with the first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, data transmission and reception in downlink/uplink between UE and target cell).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the second configuration further includes at least one of a sidelink configuration or a reference time reporting configuration. However, Wu from an analogous art similarly teaches a DAPS handover procedure wherein a UE transmits a RRC reconfiguration information for a sidelink communication with another UE (Wu: paragraphs 0110-0112 & Figs. 4A-4B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include sidelink configurations for DAPS handover as taught by Wu so as to utilize sidelink resources to facilitate a handover.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE releases the second configuration prior to re-establishing the radio connection with the second network node (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE releases the second configuration in response to detecting a communication failure with the first network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160, handover procedure from source cell to target cell, thus detecting a failure with a communication or link with the source cell).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE releases the second configuration in response to the determining that the UE is to re-establish the radio connection with the second network node (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches communicating, by the UE, with the second network node using the first configuration after the UE re-establishes the radio connection with the second network node (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE determines that the UE is to re-establish the radio connection with the second network node after the UE detects a communication failure with the first network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160, handover procedure from source cell to target cell, thus detecting a failure with a communication or link with the source cell).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches A User Equipment (UE) (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, terminal or user equipment; see also paragraph 0179 & Fig. 16), comprising:
a Radio Resource Control (RRC) controller (Kim: paragraph 0179 & Fig. 16, controller); and
a RAN interface (Kim: paragraph 0180 & Fig. 16, RF processor),
the RRC controller being configured to:
receive, via the RAN interface from a first network node (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, source base station or source cell) that supports both a first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0159, (non-DAPS)) configuration or normal handover operation) and a second configuration (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, DAPS related configuration), (i) the first configuration configuring the UE to utilize a first set of functions (Kim: paragraph 0159, said normal handover operation), and (ii) the second configuration supplementing the first configuration and configuring the UE to utilize a second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0159-160 & Fig. 13, DAPS-related configuration information (in addition to normal configuration) for DAPS handover procedure);
communicate, via the RAN interface, with the first network node in accordance with the first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0158 & Fig. 13, UE maintaining data transmission or reception with a source base station during handover process, thus communicating according to the first configuration; see also paragraph 0158 & Fig. 6, data transmission or reception operation with source cell);
determine that the UE is to re-establish a radio connection with the RAN (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, handover procedure to target cell) via a second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, target base station or target cell) that supports the first configuration but not the second configuration (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, required configuration information operation (normal configuration or non-DAPS) to the target cell, thus teaching the target supports only the first configuration; see also paragraph 0160, UE maintaining connection with source cell for which DAPS is configured);
release the second configuration so that the UE is no longer configured to utilize the second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station, thus teaching the UE no longer utilizes the DAPS operation); and
communicate, via the RAN interface, with the second network node in accordance with the first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, data transmission and reception in downlink/uplink between UE and target cell).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the second configuration further includes at least one of a sidelink configuration or a reference time reporting configuration. However, Wu from an analogous art similarly teaches a DAPS handover procedure wherein a UE transmits a RRC reconfiguration information for a sidelink communication with another UE (Wu: paragraphs 0110-0112 & Figs. 4A-4B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include sidelink configurations for DAPS handover as taught by Wu so as to utilize sidelink resources to facilitate a handover.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches A method for managing configurations in a first network node (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, source base station or source cell) operating in a radio access network (RAN) (Kim: paragraph 0054 & Figs. 1-2, wireless access network), the method comprising:
communicating, by the first network node, with a user equipment (UE) (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, terminal or user equipment) according to (i) a first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0159, (non-DAPS)) configuration or normal handover operation) configuring the UE to utilize a first set of functions (Kim: paragraph 0159, said normal handover operation) and (ii) a second configuration (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, DAPS related configuration) supplementing the first configuration configuring the UE to utilize a second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0159-160 & Fig. 13, DAPS-related configuration information (in addition to normal configuration) for DAPS handover procedure);
determining, by the first network node, that the UE is to communicate (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, handover procedure to target cell) with a second network node operating in the RAN (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, target base station or target cell);
in response to determining that the second network node does not support the second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, required configuration information operation (normal configuration or non-DAPS) to the target cell, thus teaching the target supports only the first configuration; see also paragraph 0160, UE maintaining connection with source cell for which DAPS is configured), transmitting the first configuration to the second network node and preventing the second configuration from being transmitted to the second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, normal handover procedure to target cell, thus teaching the DAPS handover is prevented or not transmitted to the target cell).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the second configuration further includes at least one of a sidelink configuration or a reference time reporting configuration. However, Wu from an analogous art similarly teaches a DAPS handover procedure wherein a UE transmits a RRC reconfiguration information for a sidelink communication with another UE (Wu: paragraphs 0110-0112 & Figs. 4A-4B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include sidelink configurations for DAPS handover as taught by Wu so as to utilize sidelink resources to facilitate a handover.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches determining that first network node is to transmit handover preparation information to the second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160, handover procedure from source cell to target cell).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim teaches A base station (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, source base station or source cell) operating in a radio access network (RAN) (Kim: paragraph 0054 & Figs. 1-2, wireless access network), that includes a first network node (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, said source base station or source cell) and a second network node Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, target base station or target cell), the base station being the first network node (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, source base station or source cell) and comprising:
a Radio Resource Control (RRC) controller (Kim: paragraph 0195 & Fig. 17, controller); and
a RAN interface (Kim: paragraph 0197 & Fig. 17, RF processor),
the RRC controller being configured to:
communicate, via the RAN interface, with a user equipment (UE) (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, terminal or user equipment) according to (i) a first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0159, (non-DAPS)) configuration or normal handover operation) configuring the UE to utilize a first set of functions (Kim: paragraph 0159, said normal handover operation), and (ii) a second configuration (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, DAPS related configuration) supplementing the first configuration and configuring the UE to utilize a second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0159-160 & Fig. 13, DAPS-related configuration information (in addition to normal configuration) for DAPS handover procedure);
determine that the UE is to communicate (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, handover procedure to target cell) with a second network node operating in the RAN (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, target base station or target cell); and
in response to a determination that the second network node does not support the second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, required configuration information operation (normal configuration or non-DAPS) to the target cell, thus teaching the target supports only the first configuration; see also paragraph 0160, UE maintaining connection with source cell for which DAPS is configured), transmit the first configuration to the second network node and prevent the second configuration from being transmitted to the second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, normal handover procedure to target cell, thus teaching the DAPS handover is prevented or not transmitted to the target cell).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the second configuration further includes at least one of a sidelink configuration or a reference time reporting configuration. However, Wu from an analogous art similarly teaches a DAPS handover procedure wherein a UE transmits a RRC reconfiguration information for a sidelink communication with another UE (Wu: paragraphs 0110-0112 & Figs. 4A-4B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include sidelink configurations for DAPS handover as taught by Wu so as to utilize sidelink resources to facilitate a handover.
Regarding Claim 16, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches the first network node is to transmit handover preparation information to the second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160, handover procedure from source cell to target cell).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches a computer-readable medium storing machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the RRC controller (Kim: paragraph 0321, computer readable storage medium implementation executing a processor) cause the RRC controller to:
communicate with the user equipment (UE) according to (i) the first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0159, (non-DAPS)) configuration or normal handover operation) and (ii) the second configuration (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, DAPS related configuration);
determine that the UE is to communicate with the second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, target base station or target cell); and
in response to the determination that the second node does not support the second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, required configuration information operation (normal configuration or non-DAPS) to the target cell, thus teaching the target supports only the first configuration; see also paragraph 0160, UE maintaining connection with source cell for which DAPS is configured), transmit the first configuration to the second network node and prevent the second configuration from being transmitted to the second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, normal handover procedure to target cell, thus teaching the DAPS handover is prevented or not transmitted to the target cell).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches a computer-readable medium storing machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the RRC controller (Kim: paragraph 0321, computer readable storage medium implementation executing a processor), cause the RRC controller to:
receive, from the first network node (Kim: paragraph 0159 & Fig. 13, source base station or source cell), (i) the first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0159, (non-DAPS)) configuration or normal handover operation), and (ii) the second configuration (Kim: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 13, DAPS related configuration);
determine that the UE is to re-establish the radio connection with the RAN via the second network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, handover procedure to target cell);
release the second configuration so that the UE is no longer configured to utilize the second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station, thus teaching the UE no longer utilizes the DAPS operation); and
communicate with the second network node in accordance with the first configuration (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, data transmission and reception in downlink/uplink between UE and target cell).
Regarding Claim 21, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE releases the second configuration prior to re-establishing the radio connection with the second network node (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station).
Regarding Claim 24, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches transmit the first configuration to the second network node and prevent the second configuration from being transmitted to the second network node in response to the determination that the second node does not support the second set of additional functions (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 13, normal handover procedure to target cell, thus teaching the DAPS handover is prevented or not transmitted to the target cell).
Regarding Claim 25, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE releases the second configuration in response to detecting a communication failure with the first network node (Kim: paragraphs 0158-0160, handover procedure from source cell to target cell, thus detecting a failure with a communication or link with the source cell).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE releases the second configuration in response to the determination that the UE is to re-establish the radio connection with the second network node (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station).
Regarding Claim 27, Kim-Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the UE communicates with the second network node using the first configuration after the UE re-establishes the radio connection with the second network (Kim: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 13, target sends a RRC Reconfiguration message (including daps-SourceRelease field) for UE to stop data transmission or reception with the source base station).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 7, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463