DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 6-7 and 9 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (page 4) that Youngkyo allegedly fails to disclose: “in a case of accessing the SNPN services via a PLMN using 3GPP access”; “operating in the SNPN access mode over non-3GPP access”; “transmitting the Registration request message to the SNPN via non-3GPP access.” Applicant further asserts that Youngkyo’s three paths (511–513) do not use non-3GPP access when accessing the SNPN via the PLMN.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the reasons below.
1. Accessing SNPN services via a PLMN using 3GPP access. Youngkyo explicitly discloses a path where the UE connects: to a PLMN via 3GPP access, and subsequently accesses the SNPN via the N3IWF. For example, Youngkyo explains that: a terminal may connect to a public network using 3GPP access and then connect to the private network through the N3IWF. This corresponds directly to the claimed scenario: “accessing SNPN services via a PLMN using the 3GPP access.” Thus, Youngkyo explicitly discloses the claimed condition.
2. Operation over non-3GPP access. Youngkyo further discloses the UE establishing a connection over a non-3GPP access network. For example, Youngkyo describes that: the UE obtains an IP address through a non-3GPP connection (e.g., Wi-Fi), the UE establishes a tunnel with the N3IWF to access the SNPN. This teaching corresponds to: “operate in the SNPN access mode over non-3GPP access.”
Applicant’s argument (page 5) that Youngkyo lacks an explicit “SNPN access mode” is not persuasive, because the claim does not require any specific signaling mechanism defining such a mode. Operating in an access configuration that uses non-3GPP access to reach the SNPN through N3IWF inherently constitutes operating in an SNPN access mode over non-3GPP access.
3. Transmission of a Registration Request message via non-3GPP access: Youngkyo further discloses that the UE sends a registration request message when accessing the SNPN. Specifically: the UE establishes the tunnel to the N3IWF, the UE transmits a registration request message toward the SNPN. Youngkyo further explains that the registration request message may include an access network parameter indicating non-3GPP access. Thus, Youngkyo explicitly teaches: “transmitting the Registration request message to the SNPN via the non-3GPP access.”
4. Applicant’s interpretation of the three connection paths: Applicant argues (page 6) that none of the three paths use non-3GPP access when accessing the SNPN via the PLMN. However, this interpretation is too narrow. Youngkyo discloses: connection to the PLMN via 3GPP access, and connection to the SNPN via N3IWF, which inherently uses non-3GPP access. Thus, the architecture of Youngkyo inherently includes: 3GPP access to PLMN, and non-3GPP access to SNPN via N3IWF. This corresponds directly to the claimed scenario where: the UE accesses the SNPN services via the PLMN using 3GPP access, and transmits a registration request through non-3GPP access.
5. “SNPN access mode”: Applicant further (page 6) argues that Youngkyo does not explicitly disclose an SNPN access mode. However, the claim does not define any specific protocol state or parameter representing the mode. Youngkyo discloses a UE configuration in which the UE accesses an SNPN through non-3GPP access via N3IWF. Such operation inherently constitutes operating in an SNPN access mode. Therefore the limitation is met.
Conclusion: Youngkyo teaches: accessing SNPN services through a PLMN using 3GPP access, establishing non-3GPP connectivity through an N3IWF, and transmitting a registration request message to the SNPN through the non-3GPP access. Accordingly, Youngkyo discloses each limitation of independent claims 6 and 9.
Dependent claim 7, which depends from claim 6, is also anticipated for the same reasons.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 6, 7, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. §102 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Youngkyo et al. (KR 20210044104 A).
Regarding claim 6, Youngkyo teaches a User Equipment (UE) (UE 120 of Figs. 1 and 3) comprising: a controller (control unit 330), wherein:
in a case of accessing Stand-alone Non-Public Network (SNPN) services using 3GPP access (Referring to FIG. 5, a first path 511 for the UE 120 to access the SNPN#1 501 is based on 3GPP access through the 5G-RAN 102-1, page 5, par 7), the controller is configured to:
operate in a (SNPN) access mode over the 3GPP access (UE may attempt to access the SNPN through another path through 3GPP access when it is in an area serviced by the base station of the SNPN, page 6, par 6), and
transmit a Registration request message to an SNPN via the 3GPP access in a Registration Procedure for the SNPN (In steps 713 and 715, in order to access the SNPN, the terminal may request registration by transmitting a registration request message to the AMF through the base station. In Step 713, the terminal may include the AN parameter in the registration request message, and the AN parameter or the registration request message may include information on radio capabilities for the 3GPP access of the terminal., page 6, par 6), and
in a case of accessing the SNPN services via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) using the 3GPP access (There is a method of accessing a public network using 3GPP access and then accessing a private network through N3IWF, page 5, par 8), the controller is further configured to:
operate in the SNPN access mode over non-3GPP access (n step 601, a terminal acquires an IP (internet protocol) address through a non-3GPP connection (eg, WiFi). In step 603, in order to access the SNPN, the UE searches for the N3IWF of the SNPN and creates a tunnel between the UE and the N3IWF, page 5, par 10), and transmit the Registration request message to the SNPN via the non-3GPP access in the Registration Procedure for the SNPN (In step 605, in order to access the SNPN, the terminal transmits a registration request message to the N3IWF. In this case, the terminal may include an access network (AN) parameter in the registration request message. The AN parameter may include information or an indicator indicating that the terminal has accessed through a non-3GPP connection, page 5, par 11).
Regarding claim 7, Youngkyo teaches the UE according to claim 6, wherein the controller is further configured not to operate in the SNPN access mode over the 3GPP access in a case of accessing the SNPN services via the PLMN using the 3GPP access (The registration rejection message or registration cancellation message may include a specific cause value. For example, "access to the SNPN is not permitted due to multiple access" may be designated as the cause value. In addition, an indicator such as "access type = 3GPP access" or "access type = via PLMN" may be included in order to inform which path the access is rejected. When a registration rejection message or a registration cancellation message including a cause value is received, in step 721, the terminal does not attempt to access the SNPN through the corresponding path, page 6, par 10-11).
Regarding claim 9, Youngkyo teaches 0 communication control method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (method of Figs. 5-7), the communication control method comprising:
in a case of accessing Stand-alone Non-Public Network (SNPN) services using 3GPP access Referring to FIG. 5, a first path 511 for the UE 120 to access the SNPN#1 501 is based on 3GPP access through the 5G-RAN 102-1, page 5, par 7),
operating in a SNPN access mode over the 3GPP access (UE may attempt to access the SNPN through another path through 3GPP access when it is in an area serviced by the base station of the SNPN, page 6, par 6), and
transmitting a Registration request message to an SNPN via the 3GPP access in a Registration Procedure for the SNPN (In steps 713 and 715, in order to access the SNPN, the terminal may request registration by transmitting a registration request message to the AMF through the base station. In Step 713, the terminal may include the AN parameter in the registration request message, and the AN parameter or the registration request message may include information on radio capabilities for the 3GPP access of the terminal., page 6, par 6), and
in a case of accessing the SNPN services via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) using the 3GPP access (There is a method of accessing a public network using 3GPP access and then accessing a private network through N3IWF, page 5, par 8),
operating in the (SNPN) access mode over non-3GPP access (in step 601, a terminal acquires an IP (internet protocol) address through a non-3GPP connection (eg, WiFi). In step 603, in order to access the SNPN, the UE searches for the N3IWF of the SNPN and creates a tunnel between the UE and the N3IWF, page 5, par 10),
transmitting the Registration request message to the SNPN via the non-3GPP access in the Registration Procedure for the SNPN (In step 605, in order to access the SNPN, the terminal transmits a registration request message to the N3IWF. In this case, the terminal may include an access network (AN) parameter in the registration request message. The AN parameter may include information or an indicator indicating that the terminal has accessed through a non-3GPP connection, page 5, par 11).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643