DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on September 10, 2026, that includes a response to the Final Office Action mailed May 12, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 9, 15, and 25 have been amended; and claims 2, 5, 7, 19 and 20 have been canceled. Claims 4, 6, 11-18, and 24 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 21-23, and 25 are under examination.
Withdrawal of Prior Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 5 has been canceled. Therefore, the 35 USC 112(d) rejection of claim 5, presented in the Final Office Action mailed May 12, 2026, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6 and 24 are objected to because of the following:
i) In claim 1, the expression “at least one carrier material comprising at least one material selected from” is awkward and redundant. Applicant is advised to amend the expression to “at least one carrier material selected from”.
ii) Claims 6 and 24 contain improper status identification. These claims have been withdrawn, and thus should properly be identified accordingly as “withdrawn”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Obviousness-Type Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 21-23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 16-19 of copending Application No. 18/713,056.
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to an antimicrobial “material” comprising spherical particles with a diameter of at most 5 µm comprising a cellulose carrier at least partially coated with ruthenium oxide and silver oxide.
Claims 1-5 and 16-19 of copending Application No. 18/713,056 disclose an antimicrobial “material” comprising particles comprising a cellulose carrier at least partially coated with ruthenium oxide and silver oxide.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the disclosure of copending Application No. 18/713,056 provides that by “particle” is meant “all possible particle shapes and sizes” (paragraph 0042), including those with a length, diameter and/or circumference greater than 100 nanometers (nm) (paragraph 0028). This would include within the scope of the purview spherical particles; and a diameter “greater than 100 nm” is not patentably distinct from “a diameter of at most 5 µm”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 21-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 first stipulates that the hybrid material “can be integrated into substances and/or coating materials for producing an antimicrobial effect”, implying that the antimicrobial effect is somehow dependent on being integrated with other substances and/or coating materials, but then claim 1 later stipulates that the first metal and the second metal establish half cells, and that the hybrid material itself produces the antimicrobial effect, implying that the half cells themselves somehow provide the antimicrobial effect independent of being integrated into other substances and/or coating materials. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claim 25, which depends from claim 1, stipulates in a wherein clause that “the established half cells are short-circuited in the presence of water and oxygen thereby producing the antimicrobial effect”, which renders the clam indefinite for the following reasons:
1. Claim 1 first stipulates in the preamble that the claimed “material” is “provided as an additive…for producing an antimicrobial effect”. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain whether or not the claimed material itself necessarily contains water and oxygen, or, alternatively, whether the composition in which the claimed “material” is employed as an additive in an intended use is necessarily limited to aqueous compositions that contain both water and oxygen, or whether compositions that contain water and oxygen are entirely optional, but when employed as an additive in such compositions, the effect is as described.
2. Claim 1 states that the hybrid material comprises a first and second metal that establish half cells. Claim 1 then states in a wherein clause that “the hybrid material produces the antimicrobial effect”. But claim 25 states that the antimicrobial effect is only produced when the half cells are short circuited, which is arriving at a different state than the claimed hybrid material, in which the half cells are established. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claims 3, 5, 8-10, 21-23, and 25 are (also) indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 21-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luong (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2020/0062865), in view of Van Loi et al. (Front Microbiol. 2018; 9: Article 3037).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to an antimicrobial “material” comprising spherical particles with a diameter of at most 5 µm comprising a cellulose carrier at least partially coated with ruthenium oxide and silver oxide.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Luong discloses e.g. an antimicrobial “material” comprising spherical particles with a diameter of e.g. 3-10 nm comprising a cellulose carrier at least partially coated with antimicrobial agents (see e.g. abstract; paragraphs 0009, 0031, 0034).
Van Loi et al. disclose the AGXX antimicrobial coating that can be attached to various carrier surfaces including to e.g. glass and organic polymers, which may be in particle form; is composed of two transition metal oxides, ruthenium and silver; and provides a potent antimicrobial effect against a broad range of Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacteria, including antibiotic resistant nosocomial pathogens.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Luong does not explicitly disclose that the antimicrobial agent coating the cellulose particles comprises ruthenium oxide and silver oxide. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Van Loi et al.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Luong and Van Loi et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s presently claimed composition.
Luong discloses e.g. an antimicrobial “material” comprising spherical particles with a diameter of e.g. 3-10 nm comprising a cellulose carrier at least partially coated with antimicrobial agents, for use in e.g. a wound dressing. Since Van Loi et al. disclose that the AGXX antimicrobial coating can be attached to various carrier surfaces including to e.g. glass and organic polymers, which may be in particle form; is composed of two transition metal oxides, ruthenium and silver; provides a potent antimicrobial effect against a broad range of Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacteria, including antibiotic resistant nosocomial pathogens; and thus has application in wound dressings; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ the AGXX antimicrobial coating as the antimicrobial coating on the Luong cellulose particles, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting particles can be applied to a wound dressing to successfully provide a potent antimicrobial effect against a broad range of Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacteria, including antibiotic resistant nosocomial pathogens.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
i) Applicant contends that “the Office acknowledges that van Loi does not disclose AGXX microparticles to contain oxidation state VI…rather…RuO4 is used to create Ru or RuOx…wherein RuO2 has Ru in the IV oxidation state”; that “the prior art consistently teaches metallic Ru(0) and Ag(0), not semiconductive Ru(IV)/(VI) oxides or silver semiconductors, and provides no motivation to alter oxidation states”, and “Van Loi…explicitly describes AGXX as metallic ruthenium and metallic silver, not oxides”; that “the person skilled in the art would not be able to identify RuOx as a results-effective variable…to affect…here the antimicrobial effect”; and “AGXX…allows for electron flow and eventually the generation of reactive oxygen species (ROS) at the interface”.
The Examiner, however, would like to point out the following:
1. First, it is noted that the prior art rejection is over Luong in view of Van Loi, and Van Loi teaches the AGXX antimicrobial coating which is composed of e.g. two transition metal oxides, ruthenium and silver; and provides a potent antimicrobial effect. Whether the prior art before Van Loi consistently teaches metallic Ru(0) and Ag(0) is thus really of no consequence.
2. Applicant is not claiming a hybrid material in which the ruthenium compound is exclusively ruthenium VI. In stark contrast, Applicant’s claims provide, at the very least, that one of the ruthenium atoms is in oxidation state IV, or that at least one of the ruthenium atoms is in oxidation state VI. All of the ruthenium can be in oxidation state IV and none at all in oxidation state VI. Applicant’s claims are in fact broader than merely oxidation state IV or VI. In fact, Applicant’s claims provide that, in addition to the at least one ruthenium atom that is in e.g. oxidation state IV or e.g. in oxidation state VI, that ruthenium can also be in any other oxidation state, such as Ru(0). Indeed, as now presented, the claims provide that the majority of the ruthenium can even be Ru(0), as long as at least one ruthenium atom is in oxidation state IV, or in oxidation state VI.
3. Hence, Applicant’s claims basically provide that the ruthenium is expected to readily transition between oxidation states, as if in an environment where there are reactive oxygen species available that can react with the ruthenium and at various points in time the ruthenium is oxidized or reduced, and the environment is such that at least one ruthenium or even most of the ruthenium will be in the IV or VI oxidation state, or both.
4. As Applicant points out, the Office has acknowledged that Van Loi discloses manufacturing the AGXX coating by reduction of RuO4, in which ruthenium is in the VI oxidation state, to Ru or RuOx, wherein for RuO2 the ruthenium is in the IV oxidation state. However, as already mentioned, supra, Applicant’s claims are not limited to Ru being in the VI oxidation state. Rather, Applicant’s claims provide that Ru can be in the IV oxidation state only, and not the VI oxidation state. Ru can also, in addition to the IV oxidation state, be in the Ru(0) state.
5. Van Loi provides that the ruthenium can be in the IV oxidation state, in the Ru(0) state, or even in the VI oxidation state. RuOx would indeed include RuO2 (i.e. IV oxidation state) or RuO4 (i.e. VI oxidation state). Applicant has admitted on the record that “AGXX allows for electron flow and eventually the generation of reactive oxygen species (ROS) at the interface”. No doubt then in Van Loi the Ru is exposed to conditions that permit the oxidation and reduction of the Ru to various oxidation states. With the presence of ROS, the Ru will primarily be in the VI or IV oxidation state, or some combination, but could also be, at least in part, in the Ru(0) state. But Applicant’s claims provide precisely the very same limitations.
For the foregoing reasons, the 35 USC 103 rejection is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617