Claim Interpretation
The phrase of “for a heavy duty dust extractor” is understood as being directed to and further reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which does not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the claimed invention, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02 and § 2112 - § 2112.02.
As such, the claim does not require or positively recite a “dust extractor.” Therefore, the “initial power” of a dust extractor is likewise not a claimed limitation and cannot be relied upon in interpreting the scope of the claim.
Therefore, the at least claim 1 has been interpreted as follows:
“A filter arrangement comprising a filter holder, an essential filter, a filter inlet, a filter outlet, a first air pressure sensor, and a second air pressure sensor; wherein the first air pressure sensor is arranged to indicate an inlet air pressure associated with the filter inlet and the second air pressure sensor is arranged to indicate an outlet air pressure associated with the filter outlet, the filter arrangement further comprising a control unit arranged to detect a state of the essential filter based on a pressure difference between the inlet air pressure and the outlet air pressure, wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a missing essential filter if the pressure difference is smaller than a configurable missing filter threshold, and wherein the control unit is arranged to determine the pressure difference between the inlet air pressure and the outlet air pressure after a settling time duration of filter operation.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 10-12, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al (US 20140260994; hereinafter Grider) in view of JP 2016154833 (hereinafter JP ‘833), EP 2301404 (hereinafter EP ‘404), Sukhman et al (US 9155988; hereinafter Sukhman), CN 106289828 (hereinafter CN ‘828), FR 3122338 (FR ‘338), or Kara et al (US 20110271832; hereinafter Kara).
As regarding claim 1, Grider discloses the claimed invention for a filter arrangement ([0004], [0152], [0161]-[0163], [0245], [0307]-[0308] and fig. 29) for a heavy duty dust extractor ([0004]), the filter arrangement comprising a filter holder, an essential filter, a filter inlet, a filter outlet, a first air pressure sensor and a second air pressure sensor, wherein the first air pressure sensor is arranged to indicate an inlet air pressure associated with the filter inlet and the second air pressure sensor is arranged to indicate an outlet air pressure associated with the filter outlet, the filter arrangement further comprising a control unit arranged to detect a state of the essential filter based on a pressure difference between the inlet air pressure and the outlet air pressure ([0152]), wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a missing essential filter if the pressure difference is smaller than a configurable missing filter threshold and/or wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a malfunctioning essential filter if the pressure difference is below a configurable filter malfunction threshold ([0161]-[0163] and fig. 29).
Also regarding claim 1, Grider does not disclose wherein the control unit is arranged to determine the pressure difference between the inlet air pressure and the outlet air pressure after a settling time duration of filter operation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the control unit is arranged to determine the pressure difference between the inlet air pressure and the outlet air pressure after a settling time duration of filter operation in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it was known in the art as shown in JP ‘833 ([0015], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0041]-[0045], and [0054]); EP ‘404 ([0003], [0006]-[0008], [0024-0025], [0033], [0040], and [0042]); Sukhman (col 5 ln 20 – col 6 ln 65); CN ‘828 ([0021] and [0050]); FR ‘338 ([0066]); or Kara ([0003], [0020], and [0024]-[0025]).
Alternatively, since Claim 1 does not require the settling time duration to be automatically measured or controlled by the filter arrangement, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to have an operator perform this function - i.e., to measure the settling time from the initial powering on of the dust extractor, and to do so once per startup. Such a manual approach would be motivated by the need to avoid inaccurate pressure readings during transient startup conditions, ensure the filter reaches a stable operating state before evaluation, and reduce system complexity by minimizing control requirements and computational load.
As regarding claim 2, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the control unit is arranged to determine the pressure difference between the inlet air pressure and the outlet air pressure by averaging ([0253]) or low-pass filtering measurement values from the first and second air pressure sensors.
As regarding claim 4, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a malfunctioning essential filter if the pressure difference is between the missing filter threshold and a configurable filter malfunction threshold ([0335]-[0338]).
As regarding claim 5, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a particle-laden essential filter if the pressure difference is above a configurable particle-laden filter threshold ([0315]).
As regarding claim 6, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first air pressure sensor and the second air pressure sensor are arranged to measure respective absolute air pressure values ([0248]).
As regarding claim 10, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein at least one of the first and the second air pressure sensor is arranged to be wirelessly connected to the control unit ([0232]).
As regarding claim 11, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for a pre-filter with a pre-filter inlet and a pre-filter outlet arranged upstream from the essential filter ([0248]).
However, Grider does not disclose wherein a third pressure sensor and a fourth pressure sensor are arranged to measure a pressure difference between the pre-filter inlet air pressure and the pre-filter outlet air pressure, wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a state of the pre-filter based on the pressure difference between the pre-filter inlet air pressure and the pre-filter outlet air pressure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein a third pressure sensor and a fourth pressure sensor are arranged to measure a pressure difference between the pre-filter inlet air pressure and the pre-filter outlet air pressure, wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a state of the pre-filter based on the pressure difference between the pre-filter inlet air pressure and the pre-filter outlet air pressure in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As regarding claim 12, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the control unit arranged to detect a state of the essential filter based on the detected state of the pre-filter ([0220] and [0315]).
As regarding claim 17, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the control unit is arranged to inactivate missing filter detection and/or malfunctioning filter detection in case the air flow through the essential filter is below a configurable minimum limit value ([0227]-[0228], [0234]-[0237], [0282], [0315], [0319]-[0320] and [0330]).
As regarding claim 19, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the control unit is arranged to communicate a filter state to a display device ([0234]-[0235], [0318] and [0336]).
As regarding claim 20, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the communicated filter state comprises any of. a pressure difference, a particle load level, a filter malfunction condition, a missing filter condition, and/or a particle accumulation rate ([0315]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al (US 20140260994; hereinafter Grider) in view of JP 2016154833 (hereinafter JP ‘833), EP 2301404 (hereinafter EP ‘404), Sukhman et al (US 9155988; hereinafter Sukhman), CN 106289828 (hereinafter CN ‘828), FR 3122338 (FR ‘338), or Kara et al (US 20110271832; hereinafter Kara) as applied supra, and further in view Westergren (US 4733430).
As regarding claim 7, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first air pressure sensor and the second air pressure sensor are comprised in a differential air pressure sensor arrangement configured to measure relative air pressure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first air pressure sensor and the second air pressure sensor are comprised in a differential air pressure sensor arrangement configured to measure relative air pressure in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it was known in the art as shown Westergren (col 7 ln 17-43). Both Grider and Westergren are directed to air filter management.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al (US 20140260994; hereinafter Grider) in view of JP 2016154833 (hereinafter JP ‘833), EP 2301404 (hereinafter EP ‘404), Sukhman et al (US 9155988; hereinafter Sukhman), CN 106289828 (hereinafter CN ‘828), FR 3122338 (FR ‘338), or Kara et al (US 20110271832; hereinafter Kara) as applied supra, and further in view Cornell (US 20150059583).
As regarding claim 8, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first air pressure sensor is arranged in a conduit arranged to guide an air flow towards the filter inlet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first air pressure sensor is arranged in a conduit arranged to guide an air flow towards the filter inlet in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it was known in the art as shown Cornell (pressure sensor 12 locates in the filter inlet conduit 4 of fig. 1). Both Grider and Westergren are directed to air filter device.
As regarding claim 9, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the second air pressure sensor is arranged in the filter housing. wherein the second air pressure sensor is arranged in the filter housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the second air pressure sensor is arranged in the filter housing in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it was known in the art as shown Cornell (13, 14 of fig. 1 in housing 1). Both Grider and Cornell are directed to air filter device.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al (US 20140260994; hereinafter Grider) in view of JP 2016154833 (hereinafter JP ‘833), EP 2301404 (hereinafter EP ‘404), Sukhman et al (US 9155988; hereinafter Sukhman), CN 106289828 (hereinafter CN ‘828), FR 3122338 (FR ‘338), or Kara et al (US 20110271832; hereinafter Kara) as applied supra, and further in view of Hanslmeier et al (US 20220183523; hereinafter Hanslmeier) or Gray et al (US 5810908; hereinafter Gray).
As regarding claim 13, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the missing filter threshold and/or the filter malfunction threshold is configured in dependence of an air flow through the essential filter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the missing filter threshold and/or the filter malfunction threshold is configured in dependence of an air flow through the essential filter in order to enhance filter performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Hanslmeier ([0016]-[0022]) or Gray (abstract).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al (US 20140260994; hereinafter Grider) in view of JP 2016154833 (hereinafter JP ‘833), EP 2301404 (hereinafter EP ‘404), Sukhman et al (US 9155988; hereinafter Sukhman), CN 106289828 (hereinafter CN ‘828), FR 3122338 (FR ‘338), or Kara et al (US 20110271832; hereinafter Kara) and Hanslmeier et al (US 20220183523; hereinafter Hanslmeier) or Gray et al (US 5810908; hereinafter Gray), as applied supra, and further in view of Wessels et al (US 20210387127; Wessels).
As regarding claim 14, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention except for where the missing filter threshold and/or the filter malfunction threshold is a linearly increasing or affine function of air flow through the essential filter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide where the missing filter threshold and/or the filter malfunction threshold is a linearly increasing or affine function of air flow through the essential filter in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it was known in the art as shown Wessels ([0045]-[0046] and [0048]-[0049]).
As regarding claim 15, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention except for where the missing filter threshold and/or the filter malfunction threshold is a non-linear and non-decreasing function of air flow through the essential filter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide where the missing filter threshold and/or the filter malfunction threshold is a non-linear and non-decreasing function of air flow through the essential filter in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it was known in the art as shown Wessels ([0045]).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al (US 20140260994; hereinafter Grider) in view of JP 2016154833 (hereinafter JP ‘833), EP 2301404 (hereinafter EP ‘404), Sukhman et al (US 9155988; hereinafter Sukhman), CN 106289828 (hereinafter CN ‘828), FR 3122338 (FR ‘338), or Kara et al (US 20110271832; hereinafter Kara) and further in view Cunningham et al (US 20160084137; hereinafter Cunningham).
As regarding claim 16, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the particle-laden filter threshold is configured in dependence of an air flow through the essential filter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the particle-laden filter threshold is configured in dependence of an air flow through the essential filter in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it was known in the art as shown Cunningham ([0053]). Both Grider and Cunningham are directed to air filter apparatus.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al (US 20140260994; hereinafter Grider) in view of JP 2016154833 (hereinafter JP ‘833), EP 2301404 (hereinafter EP ‘404), Sukhman et al (US 9155988; hereinafter Sukhman), CN 106289828 (hereinafter CN ‘828), FR 3122338 (FR ‘338), or Kara et al (US 20110271832; hereinafter Kara) and further in view Morgan (US 20140260984).
As regarding claim 18, Grider as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Grider as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a nearly particle-laden essential filter if the pressure difference is above a configurable nearly particle-laden filter threshold. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a nearly particle-laden essential filter if the pressure difference is above a configurable nearly particle-laden filter threshold in order to enhance filter arrangement performance, since it was known in the art as shown Morgan ([0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 02/04/26 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773