DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on applications filed in Korea on August 4, 2020 and August 3, 2021.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on November 21, 2022.
Claims 1 – 19 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on November 21, 2022 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines ring A in Chemical Formula 1 as “a benzene ring fused with two adjacent pentagonal rings.” However, ring A is drawn between two pyrrole rings. It is unclear if the two adjacent pentagonal rings are meant to refer to the drawn pyrrole rings, or if ring A is intended to be a three-ring condensed structure resulting in a five membered ring of ring A fused to the pyrrole rings drawn in the Formula. Similarly, ring B is defined as an aromatic or heteroaromatic ring fused with an adjacent pentagonal ring. However, ring B is drawn next to a pyrrole ring. It is unclear if the “adjacent pentagonal ring” is meant to refer to the drawn pyrrole ring or if ring B is meant to be a two-ring condensed structure.
For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted as encompassing either of the above options.
Claims 2 – 19 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claims 2, 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 1, Chemical Formula 1 is shown as
, wherein ring A is defined to be a benzene ring fused with two adjacent pentagonal rings, i.e. a fused three ring structure. However, none of the Formulae in claim 2 nor the compounds of claim 5 contain the two additional pentagonal rings as part of ring A as required by the definition of ring A in claim 1.
Similarly, in claim 1, Chemical Formula 3 is shown as
, where ring B is defined to be a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic or heteroaromatic ring fused with an adjacent pentagonal ring. However, many of the Formulae in claim 12, including Formula 3-1 to 3-6 and many of the compounds in claim 19 do not contain the second pentagonal ring as required by the definition of ring B in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (KR20200083171A1, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1 – 4, 6 – 12, 17 and 18, Numata teaches:
An organic light emitting device, comprising an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer between the anode and the cathode (Page 1, Paragraphs 6 – 10: “According to one aspect, the first electrode; a second electrode, and a light emitting layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode. The light emitting layer includes a first compound, a second compound, and a third compound.”
Wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound of Chemical Formula 1
(Numata teaches that the second compound may be at least one compound represented by Formula 2-4
(Page 2, Paragraph 1). A particular compound taught by Numata within the scope of Formula 2-4 is
(Page 23 of the KR patent application). This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein A is a benzene ring; Ar1 and Ar2 are each a substituted C6 aryl, namely terphenyl groups as required by claim 3; a is 0 so that the corresponding R group does not exist. The compound reads on Chemical Formula 1-4 in claim 2.)
Wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound of Chemical Formula 2
(Numata teaches that the second compound may be at least one compound represented by Formula 2-1
( Page 2, Paragraph 1). Numata teaches that the second compound is a hole transporting host having a hole transporting ability and may be a combination of two or more compounds (Page 23, Paragraph 1). A particular compound taught by Numata within the scope of Formula 2-1 is
( Page 23 of the KR patent application). This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Ar3 and Ar4 are both a substituted C6 aryl group, namely biphenylyl groups as required by claim 7; b and c are each independently an integer of 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist. This compound reads on Chemical Formula 2-1 of claim 6. This is the same compound as
in claim 10 on page 25.)
Wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound of Chemical Formula 3
(Numata teaches that the light emitting layer contains a compound of Formula 1-4
(Page 1, Last Paragraph). Numata teaches that the first compound is an electron transporting host having electron transporting ability (Page 21, Paragraph 1). A particular compound within the scope of Formula 1-4 is compound 371
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein B is an unsubstituted C6 aromatic ring, namely a benzene ring as required by claim 11; X1 to X3 are each N; Ar5 is a substituted C6 aryl and Ar6 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; Ar7 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; L1 is a single bond; d and e are 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist. The compound is represented by Formula 3-1 in claim 12.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the light emitting layer of Numata with one electron transport host and two hole transporting hosts wherein the three host materials read on the claimed Formulae because Numata teaches a light emitting layer with a first electron transporting host and a second hole transporting host (Page 21, Paragraph 1 & Page 23, Paragraph 1). Numata further teaches that the hole transport host may be a combination of two or more of the hole transporting host materials taught (Page 23, Paragraph 1).
As per claim 5, the only difference between compound HT-HOST-D above and claimed compound
on page 21 is the terphenyl substituent on the bottom pyrrole is a biphenyl group in the claimed compound. However, in the definition for c16 in Formula 2-4, Numata teaches that c16 may be an integer of 1 to 3. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound HT-HOST-D above to change c16 from an integer of 2 to an integer of 1 and arrive at the claimed compound.
Numata includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Numata being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of an hole transporting host having hole transporting ability (Page 23, Paragraph 1), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789