DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad (US20130269147) in view of Haberl et al. (US5066315), hereinafter Haberl.
Regarding claim 1, Conrad discloses a dust extractor comprising
a dust cyclone container (Fig. 8 element 44) with an air inlet (Fig. 7 element 34, 0092, where it is contemplated that Figs. 7-9 each have the same element 34) for connecting to a hose (0126, where a flexible hose corresponds to a hose), the dust cyclone container having a contaminated portion downstream the air inlet (Fig. 8, the portion of the cyclone container (44) which is external to element 53 correspond to a contaminated portion) and a clean portion downstream the contaminated portion (Fig. 8, the portion of the cyclone container (44) which is surrounded by element 53 and thereby internal to element 53 corresponds to a clean portion), where a dust separating part (Fig. 8 element 53) is adapted to be provided between the contaminated portion and the clean portion (Fig. 8), the dust separating part comprising at least one cyclone and/or a coarse filter part (0096, where the dust separating part (53) is a coarse filter), wherein the contaminated portion of the dust cyclone container is adapted to be provided with a dust container (Fig. 8 element 30, 0094-0095 and 0134, where the collection chamber being removable and being a completely separate structure which “may be removable without the cyclone chamber” (0134) is being used as the embodiment, which is supported at least by 0090) for collecting dust (0094-0095),
a fine filter section (Fig. 8 element 46, excluding element 30) arranged adjacent to the dust cyclone container (Fig. 8) and having a contaminated section (Fig. 8, the section of the fine filter section (46) which is directly above element 40 corresponds to a contaminated section) and a clean section downstream the contaminated section (Fig. 8, the section downstream of element 42 corresponds to a clean section), and a fine filter part (Fig. 8 element 42) is adapted to be provided between the contaminated section and the clean section (Fig. 8),
a mobility section (Fig. 5 element 58) comprising wheels (Fig. 5 elements 60) and a frame (Fig. 5 element 62),
an air channel (Fig. 8 element 36), between the clean portion of the dust cyclone container and a contaminated section of the fine filter part (Fig. 8),
a blower/fan motor (Fig. 8 element 20) mounted to the fine filter section (Fig. 8), for drawing air from the air inlet through the dust separating part, through the air channel and through the fine filter part, and allowing air to exit to the ambient after having passed the fine filter part (0091 and 0097, where the suction motor is capable of drawing air from the air inlet through the dust separating part, air channel, and the fine filter part, and allowing air to exit to ambient), and
a lid arrangement (Fig. 8 element 45);
wherein the dust cyclone container has a center axis along its longitudinal extension (see annotated Fig. 8 below), and the fine filter part is provided at a radial distance (Fig. 8, where the thickness of the outer sidewall of the dust cyclone container (44) and the thickness of the outer sidewall of the fine filter section (46) added together corresponds to a radial distance) from the dust cyclone container along a plane perpendicular to the center axis of the dust cyclone container (see annotated Fig. 8 below), the plane coinciding with the dust cyclone container and a portion of the fine filter part (see annotated Fig. 8 below),
wherein the fine filter section is attached to the mobility section (Fig. 1), and wherein the dust cyclone container is attached to the fine filter section (Fig. 1), so as to be suspended from the fine filter section (Fig. 1 where, at least when the dust extractor is lifted off of the ground by the fine filter section (46) , the dust cyclone container (44) and mobility section (58) are both suspended from the fine filter section (46)), and
wherein the dust cyclone container is arranged axially separated from the mobility section by a distance (Figs. 1 and 8, 0094-0095 and 0134, where the height of the dust container (30) corresponds to an axial separation distance), and
wherein the distance is a longitudinal distance between a bottom of the dust cyclone container and a top of the mobility assembly measured in a direction perpendicular to a wheel axis of the mobility assembly (see annotated Fig. 3 below, which shows an illustration of the embodiment where the dust container is a completely separate structure and is removable (as discussed above) and where the wheel axis is into/out of the page and therefore the longitudinal distance, which is equivalent to the height of the dust container, is in a direction which is perpendicular to the wheel axis).
Conrad fails to disclose a relief valve is integrated with the lid arrangement and arranged in a region of a central axis of the dust cyclone container when the lid arrangement is in a closed, operative position.
Haberl is also concerned with a dust extractor and teaches a relief valve (Fig. 1 element 21) is integrated with a lid arrangement (Fig. 1 element 17, 3:35-65, where Fig. 1 shows the relief valve being integrated with the lid arrangement and 3:35-65 also discusses it) and arranged in a region of a central axis of the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1 element 10 corresponds to a dust cyclone container and 3:35-65, where the coaxial axes discussed corresponds to a central axis of the dust container) when the lid arrangement is in a closed, operative position (Fig. 1, 3:35-65). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify the dust extractor of Conrad to include a relief valve integrated with the lid arrangement and arranged in a region of a central axis of the dust cyclone container when the lid arrangement is in a closed, operative position, as taught by Haberl, because Haberl teaches that the relief valve allows for cleaning of the coarse filter without interrupting the normal operation of the cyclone apparatus (4:36-42).
Regarding claim 2, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the dust cyclone container has a generally cylindrical shape (Figs. 1-6 and 8), wherein the dust cyclone container is attached to the fine filter section along an axial extension of the generally cylindrical shape (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the dust cyclone container is arranged axially separated from the mobility section by a distance (Figs. 1 and 8, 0094, where the height of the dust container (30) corresponds to an axial separation distance).
Regarding claim 4, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 3, as described above, and further discloses a bottom of the dust cyclone container (see annotated Fig. 8 above, where the end of the dust cyclone container (44) which is below the plane is considered the bottom of the dust cyclone container (44)) is arranged axially separated from the mobility section by a distance (Figs. 1 and 8, 0094-0095, where the height of the dust container (30) corresponds to an axial separation distance).
Conrad, as modified, fails to disclose that the distance is at least 20 cm. Conrad, as modified, discloses that there is distance between the bottom of the dust cyclone container and the mobility section, but is silent to the specific dimension/provide a relative range for the distance to fall within. In other words, Conrad fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the distance between the bottom of the dust cyclone container and the mobility section is to be at least 20 cm. The distance between the bottom of the dust cyclone container and the mobility section, which equates to the height of the dust container, is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the size and storage capability of the dust container are each proportional to the distance between the bottom of the dust cyclone container and the mobility section. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the dust extractor has a distance between the bottom of the dust cyclone container and the mobility section, was disclosed in the prior art by Conrad, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the dust extractor disclosed by Conrad to have a distance between the bottom of the dust cyclone container and the mobility section be at least 20 cm.
Regarding claim 5, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the dust cyclone container is elevated from ground by the mobility section and by the fine filter section (Fig. 1) in a normal operative position of the dust extractor (Fig. 1 shows a normal operative position of the dust extractor).
Regarding claim 6, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses a bottom of the dust cyclone container (see annotated Fig. 8 above, where the end of the dust cyclone container (44) which is at and below the plane is considered the bottom of the dust cyclone container (44)) is accessible from an angular range of at least 150 degrees measured about a center axis of the dust cyclone container (see annotated Fig. 8 above and Figs. 2 and 3, where a bottom of the dust cyclone container (44) is accessible from an angular range of at least 150 degrees as it can be seen in Figs. 2 and 3 that at least the section of the dust cyclone container (44) from the center of the dust cyclone container (44) on the side shown in Fig. 3 all the way to the center of the dust cyclone container (44) on the side opposite of that shown in Fig. 3 is accessible and therefore allows for at least 180 degrees of access).
Regarding claim 7, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses center axes of the dust cyclone container and the fine filter part are parallel (see annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 11, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section have essentially cylindrical shapes (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the dust separating part comprises an opening facing the clean portion of the dust separating part (see annotated Fig. 8' below), wherein the opening of the dust separating part lies in the plane (see annotated Fig. 8' below), wherein there is a shortest distance between an opening of the fine filter part (see annotated Fig. 8' below, where a singular opening is shown and examiner notes that any one of the spaces between the pleats of the filter part (42) correspond to an opening of the filter part (42)) that faces the contaminated section of the fine filter part and the plane (see annotated Fig. 8’ below, where it can be seen that the opening of the filter part extends in a v-shape through the plane, which means that the shortest distance is zero), wherein that distance falls below 0.3 times the length of the fine filter part along a center axis of the fine filter part (see annotated Fig. 8’ below, where zero distance is less than .3 times any length which includes a length of the fine filter part along a center axis of the fine filter part).
Regarding claim 14, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the dust cyclone container has a diameter perpendicular to a center axis of the dust cyclone container along a lateral extension of the fine filter part (see annotated Fig. 8 above), and the fine filter part has a center axis (see annotated Fig. 8 above), wherein there is a first shortest distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part (see annotated Fig. 8 above).
Conrad, as modified, fails to disclose that the first shortest distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part is less than 1.2 times the diameter of the dust cyclone container along a lateral extension of the fine filter part. Examiner notes that Applicant provides no criticality in the specification for the claimed range. Conrad, as modified, discloses that there is a first shortest distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part, but is silent to the specific dimension/provide a relative range for the first shortest distance to fall within. In other words, Conrad, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the first shortest distance that the dust extractor is to possess is less than 1.2 times the diameter of the dust cyclone container along a lateral extension of the fine filter part. The first shortest distance of dust extractor is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the size, filtering capability, and storage capability of the dust extractor are each proportional to the first shortest distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the dust extractor has a first shortest distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part, was disclosed in the prior art by Conrad, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the dust extractor disclosed by Conrad, as modified, to have a first shortest distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part is less than 1.2 times the diameter of the dust cyclone container along a lateral extension of the fine filter part.
Regarding claim 15, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 14, as described above, and further discloses the fine filter section is adapted to hold a plurality of fine filter parts (Fig. 8, where both elements 42 and 40 are fine filter parts), the dust cyclone container has a diameter perpendicular to a center axis of the dust cyclone container (see annotated Fig. 8 above), and the fine filter parts have center axes (see annotated Fig.8b above, where the center of fine filter part is the same axis for both fine filter parts), wherein a second distance is a shortest distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and a center axis of a fine filter part that is farthest away from the dust cyclone container (see annotated Fig. 8 above, where the first shortest distance corresponds to the second shortest distance).
Conrad, as modified, fails to disclose that the second distance is less than 1.2 times the diameter of the dust cyclone container along the lateral extension of the fine filter part. Examiner notes that Applicant provides no criticality in the specification for the claimed range. Conrad, as modified, discloses that there is a second distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part, but is silent to the specific dimension/provide a relative range for the second distance to fall within. In other words, Conrad, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the second distance that the dust extractor is to possess is less than 1.2 times the diameter of the dust cyclone container along the lateral extension of the fine filter part. The second distance of dust extractor is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the size, filtering capability, and storage capability of the dust extractor are each proportional to the second distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the dust extractor has a second distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part, was disclosed in the prior art by Conrad, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the dust extractor disclosed by Conrad, as modified, to have a second distance between the center axis of the dust cyclone container and the center axis of the fine filter part is less than 1.2 times the diameter of the dust cyclone container along a lateral extension of the fine filter part.
Regarding claim 16, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the lid arrangement is arranged to cover a top of the dust cyclone container and a top of the fine filter section (see annotated Fig. 8 above, where the end of the dust cyclone container (44) which is above the plane is considered the top of the dust cyclone container (44) and the end of the fine filter section (46) which is above the plane is considered the top of the fine filter section (46)), in a normal operative configuration of the dust extractor (Fig. 8 shows a normal operative position of the dust extractor).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad (US20130269147), in view of Haberl et al. (US5066315), hereinafter Haberl, and in further view of Dyson et al. (US9591957), hereinafter Dyson.
Regarding claim 8, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to disclose the fine filter section partly surrounds the dust cyclone container such that the fine filter section extends on lateral sides of a portion of the dust cyclone container.
Dyson is also concerned with a dust extractor and teaches the fine filter section (Fig. 3 element 6, which also includes elements 101 in Fig. 4) partly surrounds the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1 element 62) such that the fine filter section extends on lateral sides of a portion of the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify the dust extractor of Conrad, as modified, to have the fine filter section partly surround the dust cyclone container such that the fine filter section extends on lateral sides of a portion of the dust cyclone container, as taught by Dyson, because Dyson teaches that this configuration allows the dust cyclone container (i.e. the primary separating apparatus) to be received snugly into the fine filter section (i.e. the main body) in a way that is “in a visually striking position for the user” (2:35-42).
Regarding claim 9, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to disclose opposing outer surfaces of the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section at least partly have substantially complementary shapes.
Dyson is also concerned with a dust extractor and teaches opposing outer surfaces of the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1 element 62) fine filter section (Fig. 3 element 6, which also includes elements 101 in Fig. 4) at least partly have substantially complementary shapes (see annotated Fig. 5 below). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify the dust extractor of Conrad, as modified, to have opposing outer surfaces of the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section at least partly have substantially complementary shapes, as taught by Dyson, because Dyson teaches that this configuration allows the dust cyclone container (i.e. the primary separating apparatus) to be received snugly into the fine filter section (i.e. the main body) in a way that is “in a visually striking position for the user” (2:35-42).
Regarding claim 10, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further discloses a shape of a first one of the opposing outer surfaces of the dust cyclone container is generally convex and a shape of a second one of the opposing outer surfaces of the fine filter section is generally concave (Dyson, see annotated Fig. 5 above).
Claims 17-18 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad (US20130269147), in view of Dyson et al. (US9591957), hereinafter Dyson, and in further view of Cawl et al. (US3177635), hereinafter Cawl.
Regarding claim 17, Conrad discloses a dust extractor comprising
a dust cyclone container (Fig. 8 element 44) with an air inlet (Fig. 7 element 34, 0092, where it is contemplated that Figs. 7-9 each have the same element 34) for connecting to a hose (0126, where a flexible hose corresponds to a hose), the dust cyclone container having a contaminated portion downstream the air inlet (Fig. 8, the portion of the cyclone container (44) which is external to element 53 correspond to a contaminated portion) and a clean portion downstream the contaminated portion (Fig. 8, the portion of the cyclone container (44) which is surrounded by element 53 and thereby internal to element 53 corresponds to a clean portion), where a dust separating part (Fig. 8 element 53) is adapted to be provided between the contaminated portion and the clean portion (Fig. 8), the dust separating part comprising at least one cyclone and/or a coarse filter part (0096, where the dust separating part (53) is a coarse filter), wherein the contaminated portion of the dust cyclone container is adapted to be provided with a dust container (Fig. 8 element 30, 0094-0095 and 0134, where the collection chamber being removable and being a completely separate structure which “may be removable without the cyclone chamber” (0134) is being used as the embodiment, which is supported at least by 0090) for collecting dust (0094-0095),
a fine filter section (Fig. 8 element 46, excluding element 30) arranged adjacent to the dust cyclone container (Fig. 8) and having a contaminated section (Fig. 8, the section of the fine filter section (46) which is directly above element 40 corresponds to a contaminated section) and a clean section downstream the contaminated section (Fig. 8, the section downstream of element 42 corresponds to a clean section), and a fine filter part (Fig. 8 element 42) is adapted to be provided between the contaminated section and the clean section (Fig. 8),
a mobility section (Fig. 5 element 58) comprising wheels (Fig. 5 elements 60) and a frame (Fig. 5 element 62),
an air channel (Fig. 8 element 36), between the clean portion of the dust cyclone container and a contaminated section of the fine filter part (Fig. 8),
a blower/fan motor (Fig. 8 element 20) mounted to the fine filter section (Fig. 8), for drawing air from the air inlet through the dust separating part, through the air channel and through the fine filter part, and allowing air to exit to the ambient after having passed the fine filter part (0091 and 0097, where the suction motor is capable of drawing air from the air inlet through the dust separating part, air channel, and the fine filter part, and allowing air to exit to ambient), and
a lid arrangement (Fig. 8 element 45);
wherein the dust cyclone container has a center axis along its longitudinal extension (see annotated Fig. 8 above), and the fine filter part is provided at a radial distance (Fig. 8, where the thickness of the outer sidewall of the dust cyclone container (44) and the thickness of the outer sidewall of the fine filter section (46) added together corresponds to a radial distance) from the dust cyclone container along a plane perpendicular to the center axis of the dust cyclone container (see annotated Fig. 8 above), the plane coinciding with the dust cyclone container and a portion of the fine filter part (see annotated Fig. 8 above),
wherein the dust cyclone container is arranged axially separated from the mobility section by a distance (Figs. 1 and 8, 0094-0095 and 0134, where the height of the dust container (30) corresponds to an axial separation distance),
wherein the distance is a longitudinal distance between a bottom of the dust cyclone container and a top of the mobility assembly measured in a direction perpendicular to a wheel axis of the mobility assembly (see annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows an illustration of the embodiment where the dust container is a completely separate structure and is removable (as discussed above) and where the wheel axis is into/out of the page and therefore the longitudinal distance, which is equivalent to the height of the dust container, is in a direction which is perpendicular to the wheel axis).
Conrad fails to disclose the fine filter section partly surrounds the dust cyclone container such that the fine filter section extends on lateral sides of a portion of the dust cyclone container, and the lid arrangement comprises a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section.
Dyson is also concerned with a dust extractor and teaches the fine filter section (Fig. 3 element 6, which also includes elements 101 in Fig. 4) partly surrounds the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1 element 62) such that the fine filter section extends on lateral sides of a portion of the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify the dust extractor of Conrad to have the fine filter section partly surround the dust cyclone container such that the fine filter section extends on lateral sides of a portion of the dust cyclone container, as taught by Dyson, because Dyson teaches that this configuration allows the dust cyclone container (i.e. the primary separating apparatus) to be received snugly into the fine filter section (i.e. the main body) in a way that is “in a visually striking position for the user” (2:35-42).
Conrad, as modified, fails to disclose the lid arrangement comprises a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section.
Cawl is also concerned with a dust extractor and teaches the lid arrangement comprises a first lid part (Fig. 1 element 74) of the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1 element 70) that is independently openable relative to a second lid part (Fig. 1 element 48) of the fine filter section (Fig. 1 element 16; 2:52-55, 3:5-8, and 5:36-48). Pursuant of MPEP 2144.06-II, it has been held obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose. Conrad, as modified, discloses the invention except that the lid arrangement comprises a single lid which is openable to both the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section instead of comprising a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section. Cawl shows that a lid arrangement comprising a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section is an equivalent structure known in the art (i.e both lid arrangements allow for covering of their respective sections, access to their respective sections, and for airflow to flow between the two sections through the use of the lid arrangement). Therefore, because these two lid arrangement types were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute a lid arrangement comprising a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section for a lid arrangement comprising a single lid which is openable to both the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section.
Regarding claim 18, Conrad, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further discloses the dust cyclone container has a generally cylindrical shape (Conrad, Figs. 1-6 and 8), wherein the dust cyclone container is attached to the fine filter section along an axial extension of the generally cylindrical shape (Conrad, Fig. 8, 0100).
Regarding claim 33, Conrad discloses a dust extractor comprising
a dust cyclone container (Fig. 8 element 44) with an air inlet (Fig. 7 element 34, 0092, where it is contemplated that Figs. 7-9 each have the same element 34) for connecting to a hose (0126, where a flexible hose corresponds to a hose), the dust cyclone container having a contaminated portion downstream the air inlet (Fig. 8, the portion of the cyclone container (44) which is external to element 53 correspond to a contaminated portion) and a clean portion downstream the contaminated portion (Fig. 8, the portion of the cyclone container (44) which is surrounded by element 53 and thereby internal to element 53 corresponds to a clean portion), where a dust separating part (Fig. 8 element 53) is adapted to be provided between the contaminated portion and the clean portion (Fig. 8), the dust separating part comprising at least one cyclone and/or a coarse filter part (0096, where the dust separating part (53) is a coarse filter), wherein the contaminated portion of the dust cyclone container is adapted to be provided with a dust container (Fig. 8 element 30, 0094-0095 and 0134, where the collection chamber being removable and being a completely separate structure which “may be removable without the cyclone chamber” (0134) is being used as the embodiment, which is supported at least by 0090) for collecting dust (0094-0095),
a fine filter section (Fig. 8 element 46, excluding element 30) arranged adjacent to the dust cyclone container (Fig. 8) and having a contaminated section (Fig. 8, the section of the fine filter section (46) which is directly above element 40 corresponds to a contaminated section) and a clean section downstream the contaminated section (Fig. 8, the section downstream of element 42 corresponds to a clean section), and a fine filter part (Fig. 8 element 42) is adapted to be provided between the contaminated section and the clean section (Fig. 8),
a mobility section (Fig. 5 element 58) comprising wheels (Fig. 5 elements 60) and a frame (Fig. 5 element 62),
an air channel (Fig. 8 element 36), between the clean portion of the dust cyclone container and a contaminated section of the fine filter part (Fig. 8),
a blower/fan motor (Fig. 8 element 20) mounted to the fine filter section (Fig. 8), for drawing air from the air inlet through the dust separating part, through the air channel and through the fine filter part, and allowing air to exit to the ambient after having passed the fine filter part (0091 and 0097, where the suction motor is capable of drawing air from the air inlet through the dust separating part, air channel, and the fine filter part, and allowing air to exit to ambient),
a lid arrangement (Fig. 8 element 45);
wherein the dust cyclone container has a center axis along its longitudinal extension (see annotated Fig. 8 above), and the fine filter part is provided at a radial distance (Fig. 8, where the thickness of the outer sidewall of the dust cyclone container (44) and the thickness of the outer sidewall of the fine filter section (46) added together corresponds to a radial distance) from the dust cyclone container along a plane perpendicular to the center axis of the dust cyclone container (see annotated Fig. 8 above), the plane coinciding with the dust cyclone container and a portion of the fine filter part (see annotated Fig. 8 above), and
wherein the dust cyclone container is arranged axially separated from the mobility section by a distance (Figs. 1 and 8, 0094-0095 and 0134, where the height of the dust container (30) corresponds to an axial separation distance), and
wherein the distance is a longitudinal distance between a bottom of the dust cyclone container and a top of the mobility assembly measured in a direction perpendicular to a wheel axis of the mobility assembly (see annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows an illustration of the embodiment where the dust container is a completely separate structure and is removable (as discussed above) and where the wheel axis is into/out of the page and therefore the longitudinal distance, which is equivalent to the height of the dust container, is in a direction which is perpendicular to the wheel axis).
Conrad fails to disclose opposing outer surfaces of the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section at least partly have substantially complementary shapes, and the lid arrangement comprises a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section.
Dyson is also concerned with a dust extractor and teaches opposing outer surfaces of the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1 element 62) fine filter section (Fig. 3 element 6, which also includes elements 101 in Fig. 4) at least partly have substantially complementary shapes (see annotated Fig. 5 above). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify the dust extractor of Conrad to have opposing outer surfaces of the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section at least partly have substantially complementary shapes, as taught by Dyson, because Dyson teaches that this configuration allows the dust cyclone container (i.e. the primary separating apparatus) to be received snugly into the fine filter section (i.e. the main body) in a way that is “in a visually striking position for the user” (2:35-42).
Conrad, as modified, fails to disclose the lid arrangement comprises a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section.
Cawl is also concerned with a dust extractor and teaches the lid arrangement comprises a first lid part (Fig. 1 element 74) of the dust cyclone container (Fig. 1 element 70) that is independently openable relative to a second lid part (Fig. 1 element 48) of the fine filter section (Fig. 1 element 16; 2:52-55, 3:5-8, and 5:36-48). Pursuant of MPEP 2144.06-II, it has been held obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose. Conrad, as modified, discloses the invention except that the lid arrangement comprises a single lid which is openable to both the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section instead of comprising a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section. Cawl shows that a lid arrangement comprising a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section is an equivalent structure known in the art (i.e both lid arrangements allow for covering of their respective sections, access to their respective sections, and for airflow to flow between the two sections through the use of the lid arrangement). Therefore, because these two lid arrangement types were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute a lid arrangement comprising a first lid part of the dust cyclone container that is independently openable relative to a second lid part of the fine filter section for a lid arrangement comprising a single lid which is openable to both the dust cyclone container and the fine filter section.
Regarding claim 34, Conrad discloses the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further discloses the dust cyclone container has a generally cylindrical shape (Conrad, Figs. 1-6 and 8), wherein the dust cyclone container is attached to the fine filter section along an axial extension of the generally cylindrical shape (Conrad, Fig. 8, 0100).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17, and 33 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection rely on a different combination of prior art as the combination of prior art challenged by Applicant in the Arguments/Remarks.
Conclusion
/C.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723