Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a plurality of spokes affixed to the hub” in line 4 of claim 35. This feature should be clearly shown in the figures in order to help the public understand the invention without having to read the specification.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, 20, 24, 27-28, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peric (WO2013010878A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peric discloses an additive-coated sheave (1; Figures 1-5) comprising: a wheel (cylindrical body of sheave 1) having a groove (105) in an outer circumferential surface of the wheel; and a coating (page 7, ¶10 and page 8, ¶1) affixed to the groove (105) by an additive manufacturing process; wherein one or more of: the wheel comprises two or more materials (page 13, last paragraph, made of different materials, where 101,102 and sheave 1 are made of different materials); an adhesive is used to affix the coating to the groove (105; page 8, ¶1, foil is glued to the surface); one or more depressions are formed into the groove (105) before the coating is affixed to the groove (105; page 7, ¶8-10, ball or sandblast performed forming depressions prior to coating).
Regarding claim 2, Peric discloses wherein the additive manufacturing process is selected from the group consisting of repeatedly spraying the coating onto the groove (105; page 8, ¶1, plasma or flame spraying); and wherein one or more of: the wheel comprises two or more materials (page 13, last paragraph, made of different materials, where 101,102 and sheave 1 are made of different materials); an adhesive is used to affix the coating to the groove (105; page 8, ¶1, foil is glued to the surface); one or more depressions are formed into the groove (105) before the coating is affixed to the groove (105; page 7, ¶8-10, ball or sandblast performed forming depressions prior to coating).
Regarding claim 11, Peric discloses wherein the groove (105) is: sanded (page 7, ¶8-10, sandblasted prior to coating) before the coating is affixed to the groove (105).
Regarding claim 20, Peric discloses wherein the coating comprises a material selected from the group consisting of a polymer material and a metal (page 8, ¶1, spraying applied metal or plastic layers); and wherein one or more of: the wheel comprises two or more materials (page 13, last paragraph, made of different materials, where 101,102 and sheave 1 are made of different materials); an adhesive is used to affix the coating to the groove (105; page 8, ¶1, foil is glued to the surface); one or more depressions are formed into the groove (105) before the coating is affixed to the groove (105; page 7, ¶8-10, ball or sandblast performed forming depressions prior to coating).
Regarding claim 24, Peric discloses wherein the coating has a surface selected from the group consisting of a smooth exterior surface and textured exterior surface (page 8, ¶1-3)
Regarding claim 27, Peric discloses wherein the coating comprises a material (page 7, ¶10, chrome) that is harder than a material forming the wheel (page 4, ¶1 and page 11, ¶5, steel C45, iron).
Regarding claim 28, Peric discloses wherein the coating comprises a material (page 8, ¶3, polymer PTFE) that is softer than a material forming the wheel (page 4, ¶1 and page 11, ¶5, steel C45, iron).
Regarding claim 34, Peric discloses wherein the wheel comprises a single continuous material (page 13, last paragraph, one piece material)
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Petersen (US2954702A).
Regarding claim 35, Petersen discloses an additive-coated sheave assembly comprising: a wheel (A; Figures 2-3) comprising: a hub (10); a plurality of spokes (11, 12) affixed to the hub (10); and a rim (13); wherein an outer circumferential surface of the rim (13) comprises a groove (14); and a coating (15) affixed to the groove by an additive manufacturing process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peric.
Regarding claim 17, Peric discloses the above additive-coated sheave and further teaches wherein one or more indentations/depressions are formed into the groove (105) before the coating is affixed to the groove (105; page 7, ¶8-10, ball or sandblasted performed forming indentations or depressions prior to coating). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the additive-coated sheave to include ridges formed into the groove before the coating is affixed to the groove in order to form a gripping surface to allow the coating to better attach to the surface of the groove. Peric further teaches that ball or sandblasted is performed prior to coating, in which is known in the art that ball, sandblasting, or shot peening creates indentations in the surface that causes ridges to rise around the indentations.
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peric in view of Goser (WO2019011495A1).
Regarding claims 30-31, Peric discloses the above additive-coated sheave, but fails to teach an axle configured to support the wheel; a frame configured to receive and support the axle; and a bearing/bushing positioned between the wheel and the axle.
Goser teaches a similar additive-coated sheave and further teaches an axle (8; Figures 1-3) configured to support the wheel (4a; 4b; 4c); a frame (2; 3) configured to receive and support the axle (8); and a bearing/bushing (12; page 9, bearing sleeve) positioned between the wheel (4a; 4b; 4c) and the axle (8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the additive-coated sheave of Peric to include the axle, frame, bearing/bushing as taught by Goser in order to aid with frictionless rotation of the sheave without interference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 1, in the last three paragraphs of page 11, pages 12-13, and first four lines of page 14, the applicant argued that there is no disclosure in Peric, Goser, and Zhong an additive manufacturing process and wherein the additive manufacturing process is required to be selected from the group consisting of ultrasonic additive manufacturing, directed energy deposition, electron beam melting, and combinations thereof.
The examiner construed that the disclosure of Peric teaches an additive manufacturing process of applying/adding coating to the grooves of the sheave such as a corrosion coating (last line of page 7) and a coating having the desired surface roughness (first three paragraphs in page 8). The examiner further construed that the required additive manufacturing process including a selection from the group consisting of ultrasonic additive manufacturing, directed energy deposition, electron beam melting, and combinations thereof is not commensurate of the claim limitation. The phrase “wherein one or more of” in line 4 and the phrase “and/or” in line 16 indicates that the selection from the group of additive manufacturing process is one of the one or more options or alternatives listed between lines 5-19 and is therefore not a required feature of the claim limitation. Thus, contradicting to applicant’s assertions, such argument does not overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654