DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 17, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al (US 2008/0110338), hereinafter Taylor in view of Sprinkle (US 2006/0086251), hereinafter Sprinkle.
Regarding claim 1, Taylor teaches an oxygen concentrator (Fig. 1) comprising:
a compressor configured to generate a pressurized air stream (Fig. 1: compressor 2, paragraph 6, air is drawn in and pressurized by compressor 2);
at least two canisters (paragraph 6, multiple adsorbent beds, Fig. 2: column A, Column B), each canister comprising adsorbent material configured to preferentially adsorb a component gas from the pressurized air stream, thereby producing oxygen enriched air from the pressurized air stream (paragraph 5, utilized zeolite adsorbent to selectively adsorb nitrogen resulting in pressurized oxygen rich product gas, paragraph 6);
one or more valves (paragraph 6, directed through valve arrangement), configured to:
selectively pneumatically couple the compressor to each canister so as to selectively feed the pressurized air stream to the canister; (paragraph 7, the controller controls the timing and operation of the various valves used to cycle the beds through feed, purge, and pressure equalization steps)and
selectively vent each canister to atmosphere (Paragraph 6, flush out, purge nitrogen to exhaust 6, paragraph 33) ;
an accumulator pneumatically coupled to receive the produced oxygen enriched air (Fig. 1: product gas storage 4, paragraph 31);
one or more controllers operably coupled to the one or more valves and the compressor (Fig. 1: programmable controller 5, paragraph 7), the one or more controllers configured to:
regulate a speed of the compressor to a speed set point while generating the pressurized air stream (paragraph 33, pressure sensor is adapted to perform other functions such as compressor feedback control), wherein the regulating comprises generating a control signal having a characteristic parameter; (paragraph 33, gas pressure sensor is adapted to monitor pressure in the adsorbent bed. The pressure measurements are used to adjust the valve operation to achieve balanced pressure in the adsorbent beds)
selectively operate the one or more valves in a cyclic pattern so as to produce oxygen enriched air in the accumulator, (Fig. 2, paragraph 34, Fig. 3, paragraph 6 pressurized air directed through columns by a valve arrangement in a series of steps, paragraph 37) wherein a cycle of the cyclic pattern comprises a plurality of phases (Fig. 3, paragraph 7, through feed and purge steps that make up PSA cycle), each of the plurality of phases comprising a duration (Fig. 3,paragraph 34), and
generate a dynamic adjustment to one or more of the durations based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter (Paragraph 34, the processor can adjust the valve timing to keep the beds balanced, based on the peak pressure in each bed, paragraph 38), whereby the dynamic adjustment reduces dynamic imbalance of a pneumatic characteristic between the canisters. (Paragraph 34, the processor can adjust the valve timing to keep the beds balanced, paragraph 37 advance or retard timing, paragraph 38 to adjust for imbalance various timing adjustments made be made, Fig. 4)
Taylor does not explicitly teach wherein the regulating comprising generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter and to generate a dynamic adjustment based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter.
However, Sprinkle teaches an oxygen concentrator (Abstract) to regulate a speed of a compressor to a set point wherein regulating comprises generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter. (Paragraph 114, the speed of the compressor and vacuum pump are constant while valve timing is adjusted, paragraph 115, the compressor and vacuum motor speed can be maintained while the duty cycle of the flow control valve is adjusted, Paragraph 119, for any given motor speed, the pressure vacuum developed for sieve beds can be determined empirically and stored in the memory. This pressure can then be used to control the switching or timing of main switch valve and pressure equalization valve to accomplish the proper pressure swing adsorption result.)
Therefore, the combination of Taylor and Sprinkle teaches to regulate a speed of a compressor to a set point, wherein the regulating comprising generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter and to generate a dynamic adjustment based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to have substituted the direct pressure measurement of Taylor with the estimated pressure measure based on the motor speed of Sprinkle as this is a known art equivalent way of determining pressure in the sieve beds and further would result in the elimination of the pressure sensor.
Regarding claim 17, Taylor teaches a method of operating an oxygen concentration device (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
controlling, with one or more controllers(Fig. 1: programmable controller 5), a compressor to generate a pressurized air stream (Fig. 1: compressor 2, paragraph 6, air is drawn in and pressurized by compressor 2)to at least two canisters (Paragraph 6, multiple adsorbent beds, Fig. 2: column A, column B), each canister comprising adsorbent material configured to preferentially adsorb a component gas from the pressurized air stream(paragraph 5, utilized zeolite adsorbent to selectively adsorb nitrogen resulting in pressurized oxygen rich product gas, paragraph 6), thereby producing oxygen enriched air from the pressurized air stream(paragraph 5, utilized zeolite adsorbent to selectively adsorb nitrogen resulting in pressurized oxygen rich product gas, paragraph 6) to an accumulator pneumatically coupled to receive the produced oxygen enriched air; (Fig. 1: product gas storage 4, paragraph 31)
the controlling the compressor comprising regulating a speed of the compressor to a speed set point(paragraph 33, pressure sensor is adapted to perform other functions such as compressor feedback control), wherein the regulating comprises generating a control signal having a characteristic parameter; (paragraph 33, gas pressure sensor is adapted to monitor pressure in the adsorbent bed. The pressure measurements are used to adjust the valve operation to achieve balanced pressure in the adsorbent beds):
controlling, with the one or more controllers, operation of one or more valves (paragraph 6, directed through valve arrangement)to (a) selectively pneumatically couple the compressor to each canister so as to selectively feed the pressurized air stream to the canister(paragraph 7, the controller controls the timing and operation of the various valves used to cycle the beds through feed, purge, and pressure equalization steps), and (b) selectively vent each canister to atmosphere(Paragraph 6, flush out, purge nitrogen to exhaust 6, paragraph 33);
wherein the controlling operation of the one or more valves comprises selectively operating the one or more valves in a cyclic pattern so as to produce the oxygen enriched air(Fig. 2, paragraph 34, Fig. 3, paragraph 6 pressurized air directed through columns by a valve arrangement in a series of steps, paragraph 37), wherein a cycle of the cyclic pattern comprises a plurality of phases (Fig. 3, paragraph 7, through feed and purge steps that make up PSA cycle), each of the plurality of phases comprising a duration (Fig. 3,paragraph 34); and
controlling, with the one or more controllers, generation of a dynamic adjustment to one or more of the durations based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter, whereby the dynamic adjustment reduces dynamic imbalance of a pneumatic characteristic between the canisters. (Paragraph 34, the processor can adjust the valve timing to keep the beds balanced, based on the peak pressure in each bed, paragraph 38), whereby the dynamic adjustment reduces dynamic imbalance of a pneumatic characteristic between the canisters. (Paragraph 34, the processor can adjust the valve timing to keep the beds balanced, paragraph 37 advance or retard timing, paragraph 38 to adjust for imbalance various timing adjustments made be made, Fig. 4)
Taylor does not explicitly teach wherein the regulating comprising generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter and to generate a dynamic adjustment based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter.
However, Sprinkle teaches an oxygen concentrator (Abstract) to regulate a speed of a compressor to a set point wherein regulating comprises generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter. (Paragraph 114, the speed of the compressor and vacuum pump are constant while valve timing is adjusted, paragraph 115, the compressor and vacuum motor speed can be maintained while the duty cycle of the flow control valve is adjusted, Paragraph 119, for any given motor speed, the pressure vacuum developed for sieve beds can be determined empirically and stored in the memory. This pressure can then be used to control the switching or timing of main switch valve and pressure equalization valve to accomplish the proper pressure swing adsorption result.)
Therefore, the combination of Taylor and Sprinkle teaches to regulate a speed of a compressor to a set point, wherein the regulating comprising generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter and to generate a dynamic adjustment based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to have substituted the direct pressure measurement of Taylor with the estimated pressure measure based on the motor speed of Sprinkle as this is a known art equivalent way of determining pressure in the sieve beds and further would result in the elimination of the pressure sensor.
Regarding claim 33, Taylor teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
means for controlling a compressor to generate a pressurized air stream to at least two canisters(Fig. 1: programmable controller 5, paragraph 7, (Fig. 1: compressor 2, paragraph 6, air is drawn in and pressurized by compressor 2, paragraph 6, multiple adsorbent beds, Fig. 2: column A, Column B), each canister comprising adsorbent material configured to preferentially adsorb a component gas from the pressurized air stream, thereby producing oxygen enriched air from the pressurized air stream (paragraph 5, utilized zeolite adsorbent to selectively adsorb nitrogen resulting in pressurized oxygen rich product gas, paragraph 6)to an accumulator pneumatically coupled to receive the produced oxygen enriched air(Fig. 1: product gas storage 4, paragraph 31);
the controlling the compressor comprising regulating a speed of the compressor to a speed set point(paragraph 33, pressure sensor is adapted to perform other functions such as compressor feedback control), wherein the regulating comprises generating a control signal having a characteristic parameter; (paragraph 33, gas pressure sensor is adapted to monitor pressure in the adsorbent bed. The pressure measurements are used to adjust the valve operation to achieve balanced pressure in the adsorbent beds);
means for controlling operation of one or more valves (paragraph 6, directed through valve arrangement)to (a) selectively pneumatically couple the compressor to each canister so as to selectively feed the pressurized air stream to the canister(paragraph 7, the controller controls the timing and operation of the various valves used to cycle the beds through feed, purge, and pressure equalization steps), and (b) selectively vent each canister to atmosphere(Paragraph 6, flush out, purge nitrogen to exhaust 6, paragraph 33);
wherein the controlling operation of the one or more valves comprises selectively operating the one or more valves in a cyclic pattern so as to produce the oxygen enriched air(Fig. 2, paragraph 34, Fig. 3, paragraph 6 pressurized air directed through columns by a valve arrangement in a series of steps, paragraph 37), wherein a cycle of the cyclic pattern comprises a plurality of phases (Fig. 3, paragraph 7, through feed and purge steps that make up PSA cycle), each of the plurality of phases comprising a duration (Fig. 3,paragraph 34); and
means for generation of a dynamic adjustment to one or more of the durations based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter, whereby the dynamic adjustment reduces dynamic imbalance of a pneumatic characteristic between the canisters. (Paragraph 34, the processor can adjust the valve timing to keep the beds balanced, based on the peak pressure in each bed, paragraph 38), whereby the dynamic adjustment reduces dynamic imbalance of a pneumatic characteristic between the canisters. (Paragraph 34, the processor can adjust the valve timing to keep the beds balanced, paragraph 37 advance or retard timing, paragraph 38 to adjust for imbalance various timing adjustments made be made, Fig. 4)
Taylor does not explicitly teach wherein the regulating comprising generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter and to generate a dynamic adjustment based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter.
However, Sprinkle teaches an oxygen concentrator (Abstract) to regulate a speed of a compressor to a set point wherein regulating comprises generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter. (Paragraph 114, the speed of the compressor and vacuum pump are constant while valve timing is adjusted, paragraph 115, the compressor and vacuum motor speed can be maintained while the duty cycle of the flow control valve is adjusted, Paragraph 119, for any given motor speed, the pressure vacuum developed for sieve beds can be determined empirically and stored in the memory. This pressure can then be used to control the switching or timing of main switch valve and pressure equalization valve to accomplish the proper pressure swing adsorption result.)
Therefore, the combination of Taylor and Sprinkle teaches to regulate a speed of a compressor to a set point, wherein the regulating comprising generating a compressor control signal having a characteristic parameter and to generate a dynamic adjustment based on an evaluation of the characteristic parameter.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to have substituted the direct pressure measurement of Taylor with the estimated pressure measure based on the motor speed of Sprinkle as this is a known art equivalent way of determining pressure in the sieve beds and further would result in the elimination of the pressure sensor.
Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor in view of Sprinkle, and further in view of Deane et al (US 2005/0103341), hereinafter Deane.
Regarding claim 15, Taylor in view of Sprinkle teaches the oxygen concentrator of claim 1, but is silent as to wherein to regulate speed of the compressor to a speed set point, the one or more controllers are configured to generate the compressor control signal based on a difference between (a) a measured speed signal generated by a speed sensor, and (b) the speed set point.
However, Deane teaches a portable gas fractionalization system (Abstract) wherein to regulate the speed of the compressor to a speed set point, the one or more controllers are configured to generate the compressor control signal based on a difference between (a) a measured speed signal generated by a speed sensor, and (b) the speed set point. (Paragraph 95, the controller can monitor the speed sensor and maintain the compressor speed substantially constant by adjusting the duty cycle controlling the current source)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Taylor in view of Sprinkle with the ability to regulate the speed of the compressor to a set point based on a difference between a measured signal and the speed set point in order to maintain the required compressor speed.
Regarding claim 31, Taylor in view of Sprinkle teaches the method of claim 17, but is silent as to wherein to regulate speed of the compressor to a speed set point, the one or more controllers are configured to generate the compressor control signal based on a difference between (a) a measured speed signal generated by a speed sensor, and (b) the speed set point.
However, Deane teaches a portable gas fractionalization system (Abstract) wherein to regulate the speed of the compressor to a speed set point, the one or more controllers are configured to generate the compressor control signal based on a difference between (a) a measured speed signal generated by a speed sensor, and (b) the speed set point. (Paragraph 95, the controller can monitor the speed sensor and maintain the compressor speed substantially constant by adjusting the duty cycle controlling the current source)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Taylor in view of Sprinkle with the ability to regulate the speed of the compressor to a set point based on a difference between a measured signal and the speed set point in order to maintain the required compressor speed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-14, 16, 18-30, and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2-8 the prior art does not teach wherein the imbalance control system includes a sampler to sample on or more values of the characteristic parameter over a cycle and compute a measure of imbalanced based on the sampled values and an imbalance controller to compute at least one phase duration adjustment from the measure of imbalance.
Regarding claims 9-14, the prior art does not teach wherein the evaluation comprises a comparison between (a) a first sample value of the characteristic parameter, the first sample value being associated with at least one first phase for one of the at least two canisters, and (b) a second sample value of the characteristic parameter, the second sample value being associated with at least one second phase for another one of the at least two canisters, wherein the at least one first phase and the at least one second phase are corresponding phases.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach wherein the compressor control signal is a pulse width modulation (PWM) waveform and the characteristic parameter is a duty cycle of the PWM waveform.
Regarding claims 18-24, the prior art does not teach wherein to generate the dynamic adjustment to the one or more durations, the one or more controllers: samples one or more values of the characteristic parameter over a cycle, and computes a measure of imbalance based on the sampled values; and compute at least one phase duration adjustment from the measure of imbalance.
Regarding claims 25-30, the prior art does not teach wherein the evaluation comprises comparing (a) a first sample value of the characteristic parameter, the first sample value being associated with at least one first phase for one of the at least two canisters, and (b) a second sample value of the characteristic parameter, the second sample value being associated with at least one second phase for another one of the at least two canisters, wherein the at least one first phase and the at least one second phase are corresponding phases.
Regarding claim 32, the prior art does not teach, wherein the compressor control signal is a pulse width modulation (PWM) waveform and the characteristic parameter is a duty cycle of the PWM waveform.
Conclusion
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785