DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received on October 7, 2025.
Claim 11-30 are pending in the application. Claims 1-10 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US PG Pub No. 2014/0060466), hereinafter “Taylor”, in view of Koenneker et al. (DE 103 29 958 A1), hereinafter “Koenneker”.
Regarding claim 11, Taylor discloses a gas exchange system for an internal combustion engine configured to increase efficiency, the system comprising: one or more exhaust valves (20) configured with dynamically adjustable opening times, wherein the opening times are controlled by an electromechanical, hydraulic, or pneumatic control system to regulate a quantity of air or air/fuel mixture in a cylinder of the engine (paragraphs 27-46 and 81); and wherein the one or more exhaust valves are configured to remain open during an initial portion of the compression stroke, allowing partial expulsion of exhaust gases and/or air to optimize cylinder pressure (paragraph 86).
Taylor fails to disclose that a height of a portion of the intake system communicating with the cylinder corresponds to a stroke length during compression of the air in the cylinder where the one or more exhaust valves are closed.
However, Koenneker discloses that a height of a portion of the intake system communicating with the cylinder corresponds to a stroke length during compression of the air in the cylinder where the one or more exhaust valves are closed (Koenneker (Fig. 1; Abstract; paragraphs 3-10)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Taylor by incorporating the teachings of Koenneker in order to have a more efficient combustion.
Regarding claim 12, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, wherein the system is configured to reduce a quantity of air and a quantity of fuel for each full work cycle, and wherein the reduced quantities of air and fuel, combined with reduced compression pressure, enable the engine to operate with a higher expansion ratio than traditional engines, thereby achieving increased efficiency (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 13, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, wherein the engine comprises a 2-stroke engine further comprising a compressor, wherein the compressor, in conjunction with the one or more exhaust valves, is configured to regulate the air or air/fuel supply to the cylinder to optimize the operation of the engine for at least one of maximum efficiency or maximum power output (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 14, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, wherein the engine comprises a 4-stroke engine, and wherein during an induction stroke of the engine:(a) the one or more exhaust valves are configured to remain closed and one or more intake valves are configured to open, allowing an air or an air/fuel mixture to be introduced into the cylinder; and(b) when a desired quantity of the air or the air/fuel mixture is introduced, the one or more intake valves are configured to close, and the one or more exhaust valves are configured to simultaneously open, allowing exhaust to be drawn back into the cylinder to reduce the pumping effort required by the engine (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 15, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, wherein both a quantity of air used for combustion of main and pilot fuels and a quantity of the fuels are limited, such that the pressure increase resulting from combustion is utilized to make the pressure in the cylinder, after expansion, approximately equal to the pressure in the exhaust system or the pressure outside the engine (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 16, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, wherein the engine comprises a 2-stroke engine, and wherein a height of inlet ports in the cylinder is configured to correspond to a height of piston travel during the compression stroke when the one or more exhaust valves are closed during optimal operation, wherein the height of the inlet ports is adjustable to ensure a total quantity of air is sufficient for the compression volume and for expulsion into the exhaust system to reduce emissions (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 17, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, further comprising a temperature sensor installed in the exhaust system, the temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the exhaust gas after leaving the one or more exhaust valves, wherein the temperature is indicative of cylinder pressure after the expansion (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 18, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, wherein the remaining heat from the exhaust is configured to drive one or more power-producing units selected from the group consisting of Stirling engines, steam turbine systems, and turbine systems that use an alternative working medium, wherein, when ammonia or LPG is used as the main fuel, it is further utilized as a working medium in a turbine circuit of a power-generation unit, with the main fuel drawn in gaseous form from the turbine circuit after the turbine and before the condenser (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 19, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, wherein the one or more exhaust valves and any intake valves are controlled by at least one of electromechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic means, or combinations thereof, wherein each valve is configured to be individually controlled to optimize gas exchange in the cylinder (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 20, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 11, wherein solid fuels are converted by pyrolysis into gaseous fuels for the internal combustion engine, wherein the exhaust from the engine is utilized wholly or partially for heating in the pyrolysis process (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 21, the modified invention of Taylor discloses a gas exchange system for an internal combustion engine configured to improve efficiency, the system comprising: a plurality of exhaust valves configured with dynamically adjustable opening and closing times, wherein the opening and closing times are controlled by an electromechanical, hydraulic, or pneumatic control system to regulate a quantity of air or air/fuel mixture in a cylinder of the engine (paragraphs 27-46 and 81); and a control system configured to control the opening and closing of the plurality of exhaust valves such that the pressure in the cylinder after expansion is substantially equal to the pressure in the exhaust system, thereby optimizing the pressure conditions for the subsequent gas exchange process (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83), and wherein a height of a portion of the intake system communicating with the cylinder corresponds to a stroke length during compression of the air in the cylinder where the plurality of exhaust valves are closed (Koenneker (Fig. 1; Abstract; paragraphs 3-10)).
Regarding claim 22, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 21, wherein the control system is further configured to reduce a quantity of air and a quantity of fuel for each full work cycle, enabling the engine to operate with a higher expansion ratio than traditional engines, thereby achieving increased efficiency (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 23, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 21, wherein the engine comprises a 2-stroke engine further comprising a compressor, wherein the compressor, in conjunction with the plurality of exhaust valves, is configured to regulate the air or air/fuel supply to the cylinder to optimize the operation of the engine for at least one of maximum efficiency or maximum power output (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 24, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 21, wherein the engine comprises a 4-stroke engine, and wherein during an induction stroke of the engine:(a) the plurality of exhaust valves are configured to remain closed and one or more intake valves are configured to open, allowing an air or an air/fuel mixture to be introduced into the cylinder; and(b) when a desired quantity of the air or the air/fuel mixture is introduced, the one or more intake valves are configured to close, and at least one of the plurality of exhaust valves is configured to open, allowing exhaust to be drawn back into the cylinder to reduce the pumping effort required by the engine (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 25, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 21, wherein both a quantity of air used for combustion of main and pilot fuels and a quantity of the fuels are limited, such that the pressure increase resulting from combustion is utilized to make the pressure in the cylinder, after expansion, approximately equal to the pressure in the exhaust system or the pressure outside the engine (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 26, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 21, wherein the engine comprises a 2-stroke engine, and wherein a height of inlet ports in the cylinder is configured to correspond to a height of piston travel during the compression stroke when the plurality of exhaust valves are closed during optimal operation, wherein the height of the inlet ports is adjustable to ensure a total quantity of air is sufficient for the compression volume and for expulsion into the exhaust system to reduce emissions (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 27, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 21, further comprising a temperature sensor installed in the exhaust system, the temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the exhaust gas after leaving the plurality of exhaust valves, wherein the temperature is indicative of cylinder pressure after the expansion (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 28, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 21, wherein the plurality of exhaust valves and any intake valves are controlled by at least one of electromechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic means, or combinations thereof, wherein each valve is configured to be individually controlled to optimize gas exchange in the cylinder (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 29, the modified invention of Taylor discloses the gas exchange system of claim 21, wherein solid fuels are converted by pyrolysis into gaseous fuels for the internal combustion engine, wherein the exhaust from the engine is utilized wholly or partially for heating in the pyrolysis process (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83).
Regarding claim 30, the modified invention of Taylor discloses a method for optimizing gas exchange in an internal combustion engine to increase efficiency, the method comprising: adjusting an opening time of one or more exhaust valves in a cylinder of the engine, wherein the opening time is dynamically adjustable and controlled by an electromechanical, hydraulic, or pneumatic control system to regulate a quantity of air or air/fuel mixture within the cylinder (paragraphs 27-46 and 81); and maintaining the one or more exhaust valves in an open position during an initial portion of a compression stroke of the engine to allow partial expulsion of exhaust gases and/or air from the cylinder, thereby optimizing cylinder pressure for improved combustion efficiency (Figs. 8-15; paragraphs 27-46 and 63-83), wherein a height of a portion of the intake system communicating with the cylinder corresponds to a stroke length during compression of the air in the cylinder where the one or more exhaust valves are closed (Koenneker (Fig. 1; Abstract; paragraphs 3-10)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed on October 7, 2025 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
With regard to the Drawings objection, Applicant amended the claims in order to overcome the objection. Therefore, the Drawings objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747