Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaka et al (WO 2013027828) in view of Sakai et al (KR 20170060575).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaka et al teaches a conveyance device that applies suction to and conveys a plate-shaped object to be conveyed (Abstract), the device comprising:
A plate-shaped main body (11) configured to face the plate-shaped object (W) to be conveyed (Page 2, paragraph 13; Fig. 1, element 11);
A plurality of recesses (21) formed in the plate-shaped main body (11) and configured to face an outer circumferential portion of the plate-shaped object (W) to be conveyed (Page 2, paragraphs 13, 14; Fig. 5, element 21);
A plurality of discharge channels (23) formed inside the plate-shaped main body (21) (Page 2, paragraph 15; Page 3, paragraph 4; Fig. 4, elements 21, 23);
Wherein each discharge channel (23) is connected to one of the recesses (21), and the discharge channels (23) are configured to form a swirling flow in each recess (21) with fluid from the discharge channels (23) (Page 3, paragraph 4; Fig. 6, elements 21, 23).
However, Iwasaka et al does not teach restriction members. Sakai et al teaches a wafer transfer device with a plurality of movement restriction members (13, 14) formed on the main body (11) and configured to contact with and restrict lateral movement of the plate-shaped object (W) to be conveyed (Page 2, paragraph 13; Page 3, paragraph 2; Fig. 3, elements 13, 14); and
In each of the plurality of recesses, a portion of an opening not covered by the plate-shaped object (W) to be conveyed is covered by one of the plurality of movement restriction members (13, 14) so as to restrict a flow of external air into the recesses (Page 2, paragraph 13; Page 3, paragraph 2; Fig. 3, elements 13, 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sakai et al in Iwasaka et al to facilitate the creation of restricting members that can secure the wafer during transport as taught by Sakai et al (Page 3, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 2, Iwasaka et al teaches the plurality of recesses (21) are formed at each of one end and another end of the main body (11) in opposing relation to each other (Fig. 1, elements 2; annotated figure), and
The plurality of discharge channels (23) are formed so that fluid flowing out of the plurality of recesses (21) connected to the plurality of discharge channels (23) flows in a direction from outside to inside of the plate-shaped object to be conveyed (W) (Page 3, paragraph 4). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 3, Iwasaka et al teaches a swirling flow that travels from the inside to the outside of the plate-shaped object (W) to be conveyed (Page 3, paragraph 4). Iwasaka et al does not teach restricting members. Sakai et al teaches a wafer conveyance device wherein the restriction members (13) form an outlet path between the plate-shaped main body (11) and the fluid flowing out of the recesses (15) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 13, 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sakai et al in Iwasaka et al to facilitate the creation of restriction members that can help align the wafer as taught by Sakai et al (Page 3, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 4, Iwasaka et al teaches a swirling flow that travels from the inside to the outside of the plate-shaped object (W) to be conveyed (Page 3, paragraph 4). Iwasaka et al does not teach restricting members. Sakai et al teaches a wafer conveyance device wherein the restriction members (13) form an outlet path between the plate-shaped main body (11) and the fluid flowing out of the recesses (15) (Fig. 3, elements 11, 13, 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sakai et al in Iwasaka et al to facilitate the creation of restriction members that can help align the wafer as taught by Sakai et al (Page 3, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 5, Iwasaka et al teaches each recess (21) has a rounded shape in plain view, and each discharge channel (23) enters one of the recesses (21) in a tangential direction of the rounded shape (Fig. 4, element 21; Fig. 6, elements 21, 23).
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651