DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1,4,6,8,10, and 15 are amended.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-14 are under examination.
Withdrawn Objections
The objection raised against the specification is withdrawn in view of the Applicants deletion of the hyperlink.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marceau et al ( US 2014/0315294 A1) is being withdrawn and replaced with a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, in view of Applicants argument.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schweizer et al ( Current Gene Therapy, 2010).
Regarding claim 1, Schweizer et al teach a lentiviral packaging system and a method of producing a lentiviral vector in order to manufacture sufficient materials for gene therapy purposes to treat acquired or inherited diseases.( See Abstract). Schweizer et al’s packaging system comprises of four plasmids: one plasmid encodes envelope proteins (Env plasmid) linked to one promoter, one plasmid encodes lentiviral Gag and Pol proteins (Gag-Pol plasmid) linked to another promoter, one plasmid encodes a lentiviral Rev protein (Rev plasmid) also linked to its own promoter, and one plasmid comprises a transgene of interest (TOI) that is also linked to its own promoter, this reads on steps (a) and (b). Schweizer et al also teach that the transgene (i.e.green fluorescent protein (GFP) is placed under the control of a CMV/β-actin promoter (CAG), the gag-pol and env (VSV-G) genes are placed under the control of CMV promoter, whereas the rev gene is placed under the control of RSV promoter, this reads on step (c) of the instant claim, as the system of Schweizer et al comprises of at least three promoters that are unique).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marceau et al in view of Schweizer et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al (WO 2021/127076 A1, with a priority date of 12/18/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Marceau et al also teach a lentiviral packaging system and a method of producing a lentiviral vector in order to manufacture sufficient materials for therapeutic applications such as gene therapy and/or DNA vaccination, for use in clinical trials and/or commercial use. ( See abstract). Marceau et al’s lentiviral packaging system comprises of four plasmids, wherein one plasmid encodes envelope proteins (Env plasmid) linked to one promoter, one plasmid encodes lentiviral Gag and Pol proteins (Gag-Pol plasmid) that is linked to another promoter, one plasmid encodes a lentiviral Rev protein (Rev plasmid) linked to its own promoter, and one plasmid comprises a transgene of interest (TOI) that is also linked to its own promoter, this reads on steps (a) and (b). ( See Fig.1, and paragraph [0022]). Marceau et al do not explicitly state the type of promoter used in the aforementioned plasmids; however, Marceau et al cite Schweizer et al as a source reference of the plasmids that can be adapted for producing lentiviral vectors. ( See paragraph [0021]. The teachings of Schweizer are set forth above. As discussed above, the lentiviral packaging system of Schweizer et al comprises of four plasmids, wherein three of the promoters are different from each other. As such, Schweizer et al demonstrate that the use of different promoter sequences, including CMV,RSV, and CAG, in a four-plasmid lentiviral packaging system was known in the art. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ the promoter configuration taught by Schweizer in the four-plasmid lentiviral vector system of Marceau et al. In particular, Marceau et al’s express identification of Schweizer as a reference concerning a lentiviral packaging system would have directed one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to implement or optimize a four-plasmid system to known plasmid and promoter configurations described by Schweizer et al. An ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to select different promoter sequences, as taught by Schweizer et al , for the expression of the respective components when implementing four-plasmids system of Marceau et al. In other words, claim 1 is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, namely the predictable results is the expression of the respective lentiviral components from the selected promoters. See MPEP 2143 (I)(A).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, following the discussion of claim 1 above, Marceau et al do not teach a codon-optimized VSVG or REV.
Shi et al teach a lentivirus packaging system comprising of four plasmids and a method of producing a lentiviral vector, comprising: transfecting a mammalian cell with a first nucleic acid encoding REV under control of a first promoter and an ENV gene under control of a second promoter, a second nucleic acid encoding a gene of interest under control of a third promoter, and a third nucleic acid encoding (GAG/POL) under control of a fourth promoter; culturing the transfected mammalian cell; and isolating the lentiviral vector. ( See paragraph [0005]). Shi et al also teach nucleic acids comprising codon-optimized VSVG and REV genes, in which both genes are codon-optimized to match the codon usage of a host cell (i.e. the cells used to produce viral particle). ( See paragraphs [0028-0029]) and, [0057]). Shi et al teach do not explicitly state that the REV and VSVG are optimized for expression in Hek293 cells; however, Shi et al clearly state that the REV and VSVG must be optimized to match the codon usage of the host cell, and because Shi et al exemplified the production of viral particles using Hek293, the REV and VSVG are presumed to be optimized to match the codon usage of Hek293. ( See paragraph [0057]). According to Shi et al, codon optimizing a gene to match a host cell’s codon use preferences enhances gene expression. ( See paragraph [0028-0029]).
Therefore, claims 11 and 13 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Marceau et al in view of Schweizer et al render obvious the lentiviral packaging system of claim 1, but fail to teach a codon-optimized REV and VSVG. Shi et al teach a lentiviral packaging system, as well as codon-optimized VSVG and REV, and strongly suggest to codon optimize viral genes to match the codon usage of a host cell, such as Hek293 cells, in order to enhance gene expression. Therefore, one with ordinary skill in the art who had reviewed Marceau et al and Schweizer et al could have come across Shi et al and immediately noticed the strong possibility of using codon-optimized REV and VSVG gene, as taught by Shi, to enhance the expression of both genes in the host cell. There is a reasonable expectation of success, when constructing lentiviral packaging system, to use codon-optimize REV and VSVG to match the codon usage of a host cell, such as Hek293 cells, that the lentiviral packaging system of claim 1 could be successfully produced.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10,12, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Schweizer et al. does not disclose at least "wherein the
promoter sequence of each of at least three of the first promoter, the second promoter, the third promoter, and the fourth promoter is different from each of the other promoter sequences of the
first promoter, the second promoter, the third promoter, and the fourth promoter" as required by
amended claim 1, because two of the four promoters disclosed in Schweizer et al are CMV.
This is not found persuasive, because instant claim 1 requires that “ at least three ” of the promoters to be different form one another. Schweizer' s teaching of a system with the following four promoters: CMV, CMV, RSV, and CAG satisfies this limitation because CMV, RSV, CAG provide three different promoters. The fact that two of the four promoters are both CMV does not, by itself, defeat the limitation. Thus, in Schweizer' s system at least three of the four promoter sequences-i.e. CMV, CAG, and RSV are different from one another. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Applicants argue that Marceau et al does not anticipate amended claim 1 because
Marceau does not disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, and further argue that the office improperly relied upon the disclosure of Schweizer et al which is cited by Marceau, to supply the missing limitation. Because Marceau does not incorporate the teachings of Schweizer by reference and , therefore, cannot relied upon to establish anticipation by Marceau.
Applicants argument is persuasive in part. In particular, the office agrees that the cited disclosure of Marceau does not establish anticipation of claim 1 because the claimed combination is not disclosed on its entirety by Marceau. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 102 is withdrawn. However, the subject matter of claim 1 is not considered patentable over the prior art, as it would have been obvious over the combined teachings of Marceau and Schweizer. Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant further argue that Marceau et al teach away from Schweizer et al because Marceau characterize the process reported by Schweizer as “ non industrialisable”.
This is not found persuasive, because Marceau et al’s statement concerns the industrial
scalability of the processes described by Schweizer rather than the suitability of the four-plasmid system or the promoter configuration disclosed therein. In fact, Marceau et al expressly rely on Schweizer as a reference concerning lentiviral packaging system and subsequently describe its own four-plasmid lentiviral packaging system. Further, Marceau et al cite Schweizer et al in connection with large-scale lentiviral production processes . ( See [0310] in Marceau et al disclosure). Accordingly, Marceau et al does not discourage an ordinary skill in the art from considering the plasmid and promoter teachings of Schweizer.
Applicants request for rejoinder is not considered at this time.
This is because claim 1 remains rejected, and the amendment to claim 1 does not overcome the outstanding rejection. Thus, claim 1 is not in condition for allowance, and requirement for rejoinder is not appropriate at this time. See MPEP 821.04.
Conclusion
/FATIMAH KHALAF MATALKAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638