DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 28th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 14-15, 18-19, and 21-22 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-3, 6, 16-17, and 20 have been cancelled by the applicant. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 8th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 4 and 18 under 35 USC § 112(b) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As stated in the previous office action, claims 4 and 18 are indefinite for failing to particularly point the limitation “position information of a parking spot of the vehicle” recited in both claims. The standard definition of a “parking spot” as a designated area where a single vehicle can be parked is understood, however, it is its use in the context of the entire limitation “the position information of a parking spot” that remains indefinite. As stated in the prior office action, the area and or position associated with a parking spot could be defined by the lines of a parking lot, the proximity to a curb, the perimeter of a given vehicle, single-point location of a given vehicle, landmarks, and a range of other relative terms. To overcome this rejection, the applicant must definitively state what specific “position information” related to the parking spot, whether it be single-point spatial coordinates, a defined perimeter based on the dimensions of the vehicle, visual markers, or otherwise that allow the “second distance” to be determined as claimed in both claim 4 and 18.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-8 and 14-22 under 35 USC § 112(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that Kameyama (US 20060046684 A1) fails to disclose the limitations of representative claim 1 and the corresponding elements of claim 14. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Kameyama, as cited in the previous office action and again below, anticipates each and every limitation of said claims under their broadest reasonable interpretation (See MPEP 2111.01(I)).
Specifically, applicant argues that Kameyama “is silent about the step of receiving information of turning on an outer lamp of the vehicle from a terminal device to enter a vehicle entry mode based on light guidance, and the outer lamp of the vehicle here includes a front- left outer lamp, a front-right outer lamp, a rear-left outer lamp and a rear-right outer lamp.” As cited in the previous office action and again below, Kameyama explicitly teaches this exact limitation in figure 8 and in paragraph 86 (par. 86: “the welcoming controller 50 notifies the user of the parking location in the various output patterns by using the lighting device and the sound generators in combination. The lighting devices are effective for notifying the location of the automobile to guide the user to the automobile, when the user is approaching to the automobile in the night.”). One of ordinary skill would also understand that Kameyama’s terminal device 1 in communication with controller 1100 through network 1170 (see fig. 1 and par.’s 58-59) anticipates the terminal device as claimed by the applicant as it pertains to the step of receiving information of turning on an outer lamp of the vehicle (See also par.’s 60-62). As was also cited in the prior office action, Kameyama shows explicitly in figures 14A-14C the outer lamp of the vehicle including each of the front and rear outer lamps as claimed, and said lamps responding to the approach direction of the user (denoted by “U” in fig.’s 14A-14C) as claimed by the applicant.
Applicant additionally argues that Kameyama fails to disclose the limitations of lines 22-35 of amended claim 1. As was cited in the prior office action, Kameyama shows explicitly in figures 14A-14C the outer lamp responding to the approach direction of the user (denoted by “U” in fig.’s 14A-14C) as claimed by the applicant (fig. 11 steps S22-S26: whether to illuminate vehicle’s forward, backward, or lateral lamp is determined based on user’s direction relative to the vehicle, i.e., the orientation of the vehicle head relative to the orientation user terminal. See also figures 14A-14C and par. 91: welcoming operation selects forward, backward, lateral, and relative right and left lighting devices 504-512 depending upon the direction and distance of the user terminal 1’s approach to the vehicle head or vehicle tail). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the terminal device, outer lamp configuration, and the light guidance method in response to designated orientation information as claimed are fully anticipated by Kameyama (See 102(a)(1) rejection below).
Applicant is reminded that claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the specification and remarks, but they are not imported into a claim limitation as part of the claim. (See MPEP 2111.01(II)). Accordingly, the description of the “strategy for control”, purpose of GPS positioning, use of complex sensors, use of identity authentication, and additional elements described in the Remarks are not considered part of the claims nor are they used to evaluate patentability over Kameyama.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 3 “[…] receiving information of tuning on an outer lamp […]” contains a minor typographical error and should read “[…] receiving information of turning on an outer lamp […]”
Claim 1 line 4 “receiving information of tuning on an outer lamp of the vehicle from a terminal device to enter a vehicle entry mode on light guidance” should read “receiving information of tuning on an outer lamp of the vehicle from a terminal device to enter a vehicle entry mode based on light guidance” to properly align with the limitation recited in claim 6 of the previous claim set filed November 22nd, 2022.
Claim 14 line 6 “[…] receiving information of tuning on an outer lamp […]” contains a minor typographical error and should read “[…] receiving information of turning on an outer lamp […]”
Claim 14 line 7 “receiving information of tuning on an outer lamp of the vehicle from a terminal device to enter a vehicle entry mode on light guidance” should read “receiving information of tuning on an outer lamp of the vehicle from a terminal device to enter a vehicle entry mode based on light guidance” to properly align with the limitation recited in claim 20 of the previous claim set filed November 22nd, 2022.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 14-15, 18-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kameyama (US 20060046684 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Kameyama discloses (in at least figures 1-3, 5-8, and 11, the description, and the claims) method for a lamp control of a vehicle, implemented by a vehicle controller (fig. 1 and par. 59: user welcoming system 1000 implemented via controllers 1100,1110, and 1120, fig. 11: flowchart of welcoming operation steps), the method comprising:
receiving information of tuning on an outer lamp of the vehicle from a terminal device to enter a vehicle entry mode on light guidance (fig. 8 and par. 86: “the welcoming controller 50 notifies the user of the parking location in the various output patterns by using the lighting device and the sound generators in combination. The lighting devices are effective for notifying the location of the automobile to guide the user to the automobile, when the user is approaching to the automobile in the night.” See also claim 14.).
receiving, from the terminal device, position information of the terminal device, and obtaining position information of the vehicle (fig. 1 and par.’s 58-59: terminal device 1 connects with wireless communication device 501 and automobile position determination controller 11001 via wireless communication network 1170. See par. 61: controller 1100 receives location information from terminal 1, and par. 62: The user terminal 1 establishes a connection with the network 1170 through a closest wireless base station 1171, and the base station 1171 adds location information thereof to communication data received from the user terminal 1 and transfers the resultant data to the position controller 1100);
determining a distance between the terminal device and the vehicle according to the position information of the terminal device and the position information of the vehicle (par. 62: “The location information is used to specify the distance between the user terminal 1 and the automobile, and the direction of the user approaching to the automobile.”); and
generating, when the distance is shorter than or equal to a preset distance threshold, first information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle, and turning on the outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to a location of the terminal device according to the first information (fig. 11 steps S27-S34, par. 66 and 93: lamps turned on according welcoming operation S29 or S31. Selection of S29 or S31 is determined based upon direction and orientation of terminal approaching vehicle. See also par. 64: “The location information respectively obtained by the GPS receiver 532 in the automobile and the GPS receiver 554 in the user terminal is useful to comprehend the distance and the relative direction, in particular when-the distance between the user terminal 1 and the automobile is relatively long. For example, the location information from the GPS receivers 532 and 554 can be effectively used in notifying the parking location to the user by means of the lighting devices 504-512 […]).
wherein the outer lamp of the vehicle comprises a front-left outer lamp, a front-right outer lamp, a rear-left outer lamp and a rear-right outer lamp (figures 14A-14C and par. 91: welcoming operation selects forward, backward, lateral, and relative right and left lighting devices 504-512 depending upon the direction and distance of the user terminal 1’s approach to the vehicle head or vehicle tail),
wherein the generating the first information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle comprises:
generating second orientation information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle according to the position information of the terminal device (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain their two locations and the “distance and the relative direction” between them. See also fig. 11: step S21 determine user’s direction and S27 obtain distance info);
generating third orientation information of a vehicle head orientation of the vehicle according to the position information of the vehicle (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain their two locations and the “distance and the relative direction” between them. See also fig. 11: step S21 determine user’s direction and S27 obtain distance info); and
generating first orientation information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle head orientation of the vehicle according to the second orientation information and the third orientation information (fig. 11 and par.’s 66 and 93: first and second orientations as claimed are used by selection controller 1120 to perform welcoming operation of either S29 or S31 both of which involve turning on corresponding lamps. See also fig. 11, par.’s 91-93, fig. 1 and par.’s 61-65: distance and orientation information of the user terminal with respect to position and orientation of the vehicle generates information that controller 1100 with approach controller 1110 and selection controller 1120 uses to implement welcoming operation), and
wherein the turning on the outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the location of the terminal device according to the first information comprises:
turning on the front-left outer lamp of the vehicle when the first orientation information indicates that the terminal device is located at a front left position with respect to the vehicle head orientation; or
turning on the front-right outer lamp of the vehicle when the first orientation information indicates that the terminal device is located at a front-right position with respect to the vehicle head orientation; or
turning on the rear-left outer lamp of the vehicle when the first orientation information indicates that the terminal device is located at a rear-left position with respect to the vehicle head orientation; or
turning on the rear-right outer lamp of the vehicle when the first orientation information indicates that the terminal device is located at a rear-right position with respect to the vehicle head orientation (fig. 11 steps S22-S26: whether to illuminate vehicle’s forward, backward, or lateral lamp is determined based on user’s direction relative to the vehicle, i.e., the orientation of the vehicle head relative to the orientation user terminal. See also figures 14A-14C and par. 91: welcoming operation selects forward, backward, lateral, and relative right and left lighting devices 504-512 depending upon the direction and distance of the user terminal 1’s approach to the vehicle head or vehicle tail).
Regarding Claim 4: Kameyama discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the generating the first information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle comprises:
generating third orientation information of the vehicle head orientation of the vehicle according to the position information of the vehicle (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain relative direction between their two locations, i.e., the orientation of the vehicle with respect to the terminal);
determining position information of a vehicle head of the vehicle and position information of a parking spot of the vehicle according to the third orientation information and the position information of the vehicle (par. 64: “The location information respectively obtained by the GPS receiver 532 in the automobile and the GPS receiver 554 in the user terminal is useful to comprehend the distance and the relative direction”);
determining a first distance between the terminal device and the vehicle head according to the position information of the terminal device and the position information of the vehicle head of the vehicle (fig. 11 and par.’s 90-93: orientation information is used in steps S21-S23 to select forward lamps of vehicle according to distance between the terminal and the vehicle head, position information is used in steps S27-S32 to select welcoming operation based upon distance threshold See also fig.’s 14A-14C); and
determining a second distance between the terminal device and a vehicle tail according to the position information of the terminal device and the position information of the parking spot of the vehicle (fig. 11 and par.’s 90-93: orientation information is used in steps S21-S25 to select backward lamps of vehicle according to distance between the terminal and the vehicle tail, position information is used in steps S27-S32 to select welcoming operation based upon distance threshold See also fig.’s 14A-14C and par. 64: “the location information from the GPS receivers 532 and 554 can be effectively used in notifying the parking location to the user by means of the lighting devices 504-512” ), wherein the first distance and the second distance are used as the first information (fig. 11 and par.’s 66 and 93: first and second distances as claimed are used by selection controller 1120 to perform welcoming operation of either S29 or S31 both of which involve turning on corresponding lamps).
Regarding Claim 5: Kameyama discloses method for the lamp control of the vehicle according to claim 4, wherein the turning on the outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the location of the terminal device according to the first information comprises:
turning on an outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the vehicle head when the first distance is shorter than the second distance (fig. 11: steps S27-S32); or
turning on an outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the vehicle tail when the first distance is greater than the second distance (fig. 11: steps S27-S32).
Regarding Claim 7: Kameyama discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after the turning on the outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the location of the terminal device according to the first information, the method further comprising:
detecting whether a vehicle door is opened; and
turning off the turned-on outer lamp of the vehicle, and exiting the vehicle entry mode based on light guidance when the vehicle door is opened (fig. 11: steps S33-S34 once it is confirmed that the user is in the automobile, the lamps are turned off. It is inherent that entering the vehicle requires a door to be opened.).
Regarding Claim 8: Kameyama discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the generating the first orientation information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle head orientation of the vehicle comprises:
determining a difference value between a first included angle and a second included angle according to the second orientation information and the third orientation information, and using the difference value as the first orientation information (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain relative direction between their two locations, i.e., the orientation of the vehicle with respect to the terminal, fig. 11 and par.’s 90-93: orientation information is used in steps S21-S23 to select forward lamps of vehicle according to distance between the terminal and the vehicle head, position information is used in steps S27-S32 to select welcoming operation based upon distance threshold See also fig.’s 14A-14C );
wherein the second orientation information is the first included angle between a first straight line formed by a connection line between the terminal device and the vehicle and with a horizontal coordinate axis or a longitudinal coordinate axis in a coordinate system established by taking the vehicle as an origin, the third orientation information is the second included angle between a second straight line formed by a connecting line between the vehicle head and the vehicle tail, and the horizontal coordinate axis or the longitudinal coordinate axis in the coordinate system established by taking the vehicle as the origin (par.’s 62-64, par.’s 90-93, fig.’s 14A-14C: GPS coordinates are used to triangulate the relative positions, relative orientations, and distances between the terminal different points along the front and rear of the vehicle. It is inherent that the angles, coordinate basis, reference frame, selection of the vehicle and method disclosed by Kameyama are equivalent to that of the second orientation information as claimed.).
Regarding Claim 14: Kameyama discloses (in at least figures 1-3, 5-8, and 11, the description, and the claims) a vehicle controller (fig. 1: diagram of electrical configurations of a user welcoming system for an automobile), comprising:
a processor, a memory and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor (fig. 1 and par. 59: controllers 1100, 1110 and 1120, each of which includes “a microprocessor with a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The ROM stores programs for carrying out functions […]”);
the processor is configured to, when executing the computer program, implement steps of a method for a lamp control of a vehicle (fig. 1 and par. 59: user welcoming system 1000 implemented via controllers 1100,1110, and 1120, fig. 11: flowchart of welcoming operation steps), comprising:
receiving information of tuning on an outer lamp of the vehicle from a terminal device to enter a vehicle entry mode on light guidance (fig. 8 and par. 86: “the welcoming controller 50 notifies the user of the parking location in the various output patterns by using the lighting device and the sound generators in combination. The lighting devices are effective for notifying the location of the automobile to guide the user to the automobile, when the user is approaching to the automobile in the night.” See also claim 14.).
receiving, from the terminal device, position information of the terminal device, and obtaining position information of the vehicle (fig. 1 and par.’s 58-59: terminal device 1 connects with wireless communication device 501 and automobile position determination controller 11002 via wireless communication network 1170. See par. 61: controller 1100 receives location information from terminal 1, and par. 62: The user terminal 1 establishes a connection with the network 1170 through a closest wireless base station 1171, and the base station 1171 adds location information thereof to communication data received from the user terminal 1 and transfers the resultant data to the position controller 1100);
determining a distance between the terminal device and the vehicle according to the position information of the terminal device and the position information of the vehicle (par. 62: “The location information is used to specify the distance between the user terminal 1 and the automobile, and the direction of the user approaching to the automobile.”); and
generating, when the distance is shorter than or equal to a preset distance threshold, first information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle, and turning on an outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to a location of the terminal device according to the first information (fig. 11 steps S27-S34, par. 66 and 93: lamps turned on according welcoming operation S29 or S31. Selection of S29 or S31 is determined based upon direction and orientation of terminal approaching vehicle. See also par. 64: “The location information respectively obtained by the GPS receiver 532 in the automobile and the GPS receiver 554 in the user terminal is useful to comprehend the distance and the relative direction, in particular when-the distance between the user terminal 1 and the automobile is relatively long. For example, the location information from the GPS receivers 532 and 554 can be effectively used in notifying the parking location to the user by means of the lighting devices 504-512 […]).
wherein the outer lamp of the vehicle comprises a front-left outer lamp, a front-right outer lamp, a rear-left outer lamp and a rear-right outer lamp (figures 14A-14C and par. 91: welcoming operation selects forward, backward, lateral, and relative right and left lighting devices 504-512 depending upon the direction and distance of the user terminal 1’s approach to the vehicle head or vehicle tail),
wherein the generating the first information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle comprises:
generating second orientation information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle according to the position information of the terminal device (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain their two locations and the “distance and the relative direction” between them. See also fig. 11: step S21 determine user’s direction and S27 obtain distance info);
generating third orientation information of a vehicle head orientation of the vehicle according to the position information of the vehicle (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain their two locations and the “distance and the relative direction” between them. See also fig. 11: step S21 determine user’s direction and S27 obtain distance info); and
generating first orientation information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle head orientation of the vehicle according to the second orientation information and the third orientation information (fig. 11 and par.’s 66 and 93: first and second orientations as claimed are used by selection controller 1120 to perform welcoming operation of either S29 or S31 both of which involve turning on corresponding lamps. See also fig. 11, par.’s 91-93, fig. 1 and par.’s 61-65: distance and orientation information of the user terminal with respect to position and orientation of the vehicle generates information that controller 1100 with approach controller 1110 and selection controller 1120 uses to implement welcoming operation), and
wherein the turning on the outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the location of the terminal device according to the first information comprises:
turning on the front-left outer lamp of the vehicle when the first orientation information indicates that the terminal device is located at a front left position with respect to the vehicle head orientation; or
turning on the front-right outer lamp of the vehicle when the first orientation information indicates that the terminal device is located at a front-right position with respect to the vehicle head orientation; or
turning on the rear-left outer lamp of the vehicle when the first orientation information indicates that the terminal device is located at a rear-left position with respect to the vehicle head orientation; or
turning on the rear-right outer lamp of the vehicle when the first orientation information indicates that the terminal device is located at a rear-right position with respect to the vehicle head orientation (fig. 11 steps S22-S26: whether to illuminate vehicle’s forward, backward, or lateral lamp is determined based on user’s direction relative to the vehicle, i.e., the orientation of the vehicle head relative to the orientation user terminal. See also figures 14A-14C and par. 91: welcoming operation selects forward, backward, lateral, and relative right and left lighting devices 504-512 depending upon the direction and distance of the user terminal 1’s approach to the vehicle head or vehicle tail).
Regarding Claim 4: Kameyama discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the generating the first information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle comprises:
generating third orientation information of the vehicle head orientation of the vehicle according to the position information of the vehicle (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain relative direction between their two locations, i.e., the orientation of the vehicle with respect to the terminal);
determining position information of a vehicle head of the vehicle and position information of a parking spot of the vehicle according to the third orientation information and the position information of the vehicle (par. 64: “The location information respectively obtained by the GPS receiver 532 in the automobile and the GPS receiver 554 in the user terminal is useful to comprehend the distance and the relative direction”);
determining a first distance between the terminal device and the vehicle head according to the position information of the terminal device and the position information of the vehicle head of the vehicle (fig. 11 and par.’s 90-93: orientation information is used in steps S21-S23 to select forward lamps of vehicle according to distance between the terminal and the vehicle head, position information is used in steps S27-S32 to select welcoming operation based upon distance threshold See also fig.’s 14A-14C); and
determining a second distance between the terminal device and a vehicle tail according to the position information of the terminal device and the position information of the parking spot of the vehicle (fig. 11 and par.’s 90-93: orientation information is used in steps S21-S25 to select backward lamps of vehicle according to distance between the terminal and the vehicle tail, position information is used in steps S27-S32 to select welcoming operation based upon distance threshold See also fig.’s 14A-14C and par. 64: “the location information from the GPS receivers 532 and 554 can be effectively used in notifying the parking location to the user by means of the lighting devices 504-512” ), wherein the first distance and the second distance are used as the first information (fig. 11 and par.’s 66 and 93: first and second distances as claimed are used by selection controller 1120 to perform welcoming operation of either S29 or S31 both of which involve turning on corresponding lamps).
Regarding Claim 15: Kameyama discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which stores a computer program, that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement the steps of the method for the lamp control of the vehicle according to claim 1 (fig. 1 and par. 59: controllers 1100, 1110 and 1120, each of which includes “a microprocessor with a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The ROM stores programs for carrying out functions […]”).
Regarding Claim 18: Kameyama discloses the vehicle controller according to claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to implement the step of generating the first information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle by:
generating third orientation information of the vehicle head orientation of the vehicle according to the position information of the vehicle (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain relative direction between their two locations, i.e., the orientation of the vehicle with respect to the terminal);
determining position information of a vehicle head of the vehicle and position information of a parking spot of the vehicle according to the third orientation information and the position information of the vehicle (par. 64: “The location information respectively obtained by the GPS receiver 532 in the automobile and the GPS receiver 554 in the user terminal is useful to comprehend the distance and the relative direction”);
determining a first distance between the terminal device and the vehicle head according to the position information of the terminal device and the position information of the vehicle head of the vehicle (par. 64: “The location information respectively obtained by the GPS receiver 532 in the automobile and the GPS receiver 554 in the user terminal is useful to comprehend the distance and the relative direction”); and
determining a second distance between the terminal device and a vehicle tail according to the position information of the terminal device and the position information of the parking spot of the vehicle (fig. 11 and par.’s 90-93: orientation information is used in steps S21-S25 to select backward lamps of vehicle according to distance between the terminal and the vehicle tail, position information is used in steps S27-S32 to select welcoming operation based upon distance threshold See also fig.’s 14A-14C and par. 64: “the location information from the GPS receivers 532 and 554 can be effectively used in notifying the parking location to the user by means of the lighting devices 504-512” ), wherein the first distance and the second distance are used as the first information (fig. 11 and par.’s 66 and 93: first and second distances as claimed are used by selection controller 1120 to perform welcoming operation of either S29 or S31 both of which involve turning on corresponding lamps).
Regarding Claim 19: The vehicle controller according to claim 18, wherein the processor is configured to implement the step of turning on the outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the location of the terminal device according to the first information by:
turning on an outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the vehicle head when the first distance is shorter than the second distance(fig. 11: steps S27-S32); or
turning on an outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the vehicle tail when the first distance is greater than the second distance (fig. 11: steps S27-S32).
Regarding Claim 21: Kameyama discloses the vehicle controller according to claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to implement steps of detecting whether a vehicle door is opened; and
turning off the turned-on outer lamp of the vehicle, and exiting the vehicle entry mode based on light guidance when the vehicle door is opened, after the step of turning on the outer lamp of the vehicle corresponding to the location of the terminal device according to the first information (fig. 11: steps S33-S34 once it is confirmed that the user is in the automobile, the lamps are turned off. It is inherent that entering the vehicle requires a door to be opened.).
Regarding Claim 22: Kameyama discloses the vehicle controller according to claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to implement the step of generating the first orientation information of the terminal device with respect to the vehicle head orientation of the vehicle by determining a difference value between a first included angle and a second included angle according to the second orientation information and the third orientation information, and using the difference value as the first orientation information (par. 64: GPS receivers 532 in the vehicle and 534 in user terminal 1 are used obtain relative direction between their two locations, i.e., the orientation of the vehicle with respect to the terminal, fig. 11 and par.’s 90-93: orientation information is used in steps S21-S23 to select forward lamps of vehicle according to distance between the terminal and the vehicle head, position information is used in steps S27-S32 to select welcoming operation based upon distance threshold See also fig.’s 14A-14C );
wherein the second orientation information is the first included angle between a first straight line formed by a connection line between the terminal device and the vehicle and with a horizontal coordinate axis or a longitudinal coordinate axis in a coordinate system established by taking the vehicle as an origin, the third orientation information is the second included angle between a second straight line formed by a connecting line between the vehicle head and the vehicle tail, and the horizontal coordinate axis or the longitudinal coordinate axis in the coordinate system established by taking the vehicle as the origin (par.’s 62-64, par.’s 90-93, fig.’s 14A-14C: GPS coordinates are used to triangulate the relative positions, relative orientations, and distances between the terminal different points along the front and rear of the vehicle. It is inherent that the angles, coordinate basis, reference frame, selection of the vehicle and method disclosed by Kameyama are equivalent to that of the second orientation information as claimed.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes:
Hayakawa (JP 2016068897 A) discloses the method according to claims 1-8 and the vehicle controller according to claims 14-22 in their entirety.
Cardillo (US 9970615 B1) discloses the method according to claims 1-8 and the vehicle controller according to claims 14-22 in their entirety.
Wickramasinghe (US 11414008 B2) discloses the method according to claims 1-8 and the vehicle controller according to claims 14-22 in their entirety.
Fleurence (FR 3056501 A1) discloses the method according to claims 1-8 and the vehicle controller according to claims 14-22 in their entirety.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN MANCINI/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 10/6/25
1 Automobile position determination controller 1100 is equivalent to welcoming controller 50, as stated in paragraph 59.
2 Automobile position determination controller 1100 is equivalent to welcoming controller 50, as stated in paragraph 59.