Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao (CN-112692860-A) in view of Li et al. (US-2023/0028737 A1), further in view of Xiaodong (CN-104149949-A), further in view of Yu (US-2023/0125682 A1), and further in view of Liu (CN-114367837-A).
Regarding claim 1, Tao discloses the Underwater grabbing Device as claimed in claim 1, comprising: a mounting disc (200) connected with a lifting part (103) configured for controlling the mounting disc to ascend and descend, and a driving part (2) configured for controlling the mounting disc to move horizontally; a manipulator main body (1) fixedly arranged on a side of the mounting disc; and a plurality of mechanical claws (3,4) connected with an interior of the manipulator main body, wherein each mechanical claw is controlled by a control part (5) to rotate; and wherein connecting sleeves (109) are fixedly arranged between the manipulator main body and the mounting disc; the control part comprises rotating rods (116) arranged in the connecting sleeves, gear teeth (see Fig. 5) are arranged on outer sides of the mechanical claws, and driving gears (6) matched with the gear teeth are rotatably connected with interiors of the connecting sleeves.
Tao fails to disclose wherein; a plurality of mechanical claws slidably connected.
However, Li et al. teaches wherein a plurality of mechanical claws are slidably connected (Para. 0012).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a plurality of mechanical claws slidably connected on the Underwater Grabbing Device of Tao as taught by Li et al. in order to allow adaptability various objects.
Tao fails to disclose the lifting part comprises an expansion ball body fixedly connected with the mounting disc; the expansion ball body is communicated with a gas pipe; the gas pipe is fixedly connected with a limiting mooring rope, and an end of the gas pipe and an end of the limiting mooring rope are connected with a water ship body or an underwater robot.
However, Xiaodong teaches the lifting part comprises an expansion ball body fixedly connected with the mounting disc (Para. 0002 under detailed ways); the expansion ball body is communicated with a gas pipe (Para. 0002 under detailed ways), the gas pipe is fixedly connected with a limiting mooring rope (Para. 0002 under detailed ways), and an end of the gas pipe and an end of the limiting mooring rope are connected with a water ship body or an underwater robot (Para. 0002 under detailed ways).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce an expansion ball body fixedly connected and in communication with the gas pipe, gas pipe fixedly connected with the limiting mooring rope, and the ends being connected to a water ship body or an underwater robot on the Underwater Grabbing Device of Tao as taught by Xiaodong in order to allow for better control.
Tao fails to disclose a number of the connecting sleeves is equal to that of the plurality of mechanical claws.
However, Yu teaches a number of the connecting sleeves is equal to that of the plurality of mechanical claws (Para. 0040).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a number of connecting sleeves equal to that of the plurality of mechanical claws on the Underwater Grabbing Device of Tao as taught by Yu in order to stabilize the mechanical claws.
Tao fails to disclose an end of each rotating rod is connected with a transmission shaft through a bevel gear assembly; the transmission shaft is perpendicular to the rotating rod; and the driving gears are in shaft connection with the transmission shafts.
However, Liu teaches an end of each rotating rod (5) is connected with a transmission shaft (18) through a bevel gear assembly (Para. 0002 under embodiment); the transmission shaft is perpendicular to the rotating rod (Para. 0002 under embodiment); and the driving gears are in shaft connection with the transmission shafts (Para. 0002 under embodiment).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce an end of each rotating rod is connected with a transmission shaft through a bevel gear assembly; the transmission shaft is perpendicular to the rotating rod; and the driving gears are in shaft connection with the transmission shafts on the Underwater Grabbing Device of Tao as taught by Liu in order to allow durable and precise power transmission.
Regarding claim 2, Tao discloses the Underwater Grabbing Device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the mounting disc (200) comprises an upper fixed disc (205) and a lower connecting disc (206) which are fixedly connected, the manipulator main body (1) is fixedly connected with the upper fixed disc.
Tao fails to disclose to disclose wherein the expansion ball body is fixedly connected with the upper fixed disc, and the limiting mooring rope and the gas pipe fixedly connected with the lower connecting disc.
However, Xiaodong teaches wherein the expansion ball body is fixedly connected with the upper fixed disc (Para. 0002 under detailed ways), and the limiting mooring rope and the gas pipe fixedly connected with the lower connecting disc (Para. 0002 under detailed ways).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce the expansion ball body is fixedly connected with the upper fixed disc, and the limiting mooring rope and the gas pipe fixedly connected with the lower connecting disc on the Underwater Grabbing Device of Tao as taught by Xiaodong in order to allow for better control.
Regarding claim 3, Tao discloses the Underwater Grabbing Device as claimed in claim 2 wherein, the upper fixed disc (205) and the lower connecting disc (206) are connected through a fixed rod (203).
Regarding claim 4, Tao discloses the Underwater Grabbing Device as claimed in claim 3, wherein a rotating shaft (82) is rotatably connected between the upper fixed disc (205) and the lower connecting disc (206), the driving part comprises a driving shaft (2) and a propeller (307) fixedly arranged on the driving shaft, the driving shaft penetrates through the rotating shaft and is parallel to the upper fixed disc, and the driving shaft is driven by a first motor (55); and the rotating shaft is of a hollow structure, the fixed rod is arranged in the rotating shaft, and the rotating shaft rotates around the fixed rod.
Regarding claim 8, Tao discloses the Underwater Grabbing Device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the three-dimensional arc-shaped structure of the mechanical claw (3, 4) is of a three-point type structure, a first end point of the mechanical claw is arranged on an uppermost portion of the mechanical claw, and a second end point and a third end point of the mechanical claw are arranged on a lowermost portion of the mechanical claw and located on a same horizontal line; and at least three mechanical claws are provided and distances between every two adjacent mechanical claws (see Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 9, Tao discloses the Underwater Grabbing Device as claimed in claim 1, wherein an elastic limiting net is arranged between each mechanical claw and the manipulator main body (see Fig. below), an end of the elastic limiting net is provided at a highest end of the mechanical claw, and another end of the elastic limiting net is fixedly provided in the manipulator main body (see Fig. below)
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao (CN-112692860-A) in view of Li et al. (US-2023/0028737 A1), further in view of Xiaodong (CN-104149949-A), further in view of Yu (US-2023/0125682 A1), and further in view of Liu (CN-114367837-A), further in view of Ouyang (CN-109352673-A).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of the references discloses the Underwater Grabbing Device as claimed in claim 1.
Specifically, Tao discloses wherein at least two mechanical claws (3) are provided on two sides of the interior of the manipulator main body respectively (see Fig. 1), and the connecting sleeves (109) are arranged on two sides of an exterior of the manipulator main body (1).
The combination of references fail to disclose the manipulator main body is of a horizontal semicircular cylinder structure, each mechanical claw is of an arc-shaped structure matched with the semicircular cylinder structure of the manipulator main body.
However, Ouyang teaches wherein the manipulator main body is of a horizontal semicircular cylinder structure (8), each mechanical claw (9) is of an arc-shaped structure matched with the semicircular cylinder structure of the manipulator main body.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the manipulator main body is of a horizontal semicircular cylinder structure, each mechanical claw is of an arc-shaped structure matched with the semicircular cylinder structure of the manipulator main body on the Underwater Grabbing Device of Tao as taught by Ouyang in order to allow for non-destructive picking.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao (CN-112692860-A) in view of Li et al. (US-2023/0028737 A1), further in view of Xiaodong (CN-104149949-A), further in view of Yu (US-2023/0125682 A1), and further in view of Liu (CN-114367837-A), further in view of Ouyang (CN-109352673-A), further in view of Shima (US-4393920-A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of references discloses the Underwater Grabbing Device as claimed in claim 5.
Specifically, Tao discloses wherein a limiting plate (34, 35) is arranged on an outer side of each end plate (31, 32), and a hydraulic cylinder (78, 79) is connected between the limiting plate and the mounting disc.
The combination of references fail to disclose wherein two ends of the manipulator main body are detachably connected with end plates matched with the semicircular cylinder structure of the manipulator main body.
However, Shima teaches wherein two ends of the manipulator main body are detachably connected with end plates (Para. 0001 under detailed description of the preferred embodiment) matched with the semicircular cylinder structure of the manipulator main body (see Fig. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein two ends of the manipulator main body are detachably connected with end plates matched with the semicircular cylinder structure of the manipulator main body on the Underwater grabbing Device of Tao as taught by Shima so that when detached, objects can be grabbed by the folded mechanical claws.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651