DETAILED ACTION
Application status
Claims 1-14 and 16-17 are pending in this application.
Priority
The instant application is the 371 national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/064067, filed on 05/26/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to a foreign patent application EPO EP20176551.8 filed on 05/26/2020.
Election
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-14, and species S101E, N43R and L262E in the response filed on 10/14/2025, is acknowledged.
Applicants traverse the restriction requirement that the claims possess unity of invention. Specifically, as provided in 37 C.F.R. 1.475(b), an international or a national stage application in the national stage complies with the unity of invention requirement if the claims are drawn various combinations of categories, including “…[a] product and a process of use of said product…” Group I claims and Group II claims are so related. Significantly, no objection to unity of invention was raised at any point of the PCT phase. Applicant, therefore, respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the restriction requirement.
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not deemed persuasive for the following reasons. As explained previously, O’Connell et al. (Patent Application Publication No. 2017/349861, see IDS) teach a subtilase variant comprising substitutions N76D+S101E+A228V+L262E in SEQ ID NO:3 which has 98.7% sequence identity to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1 (see para [0094], and below sequence alignment to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), which meets the limitation of claim 1, and thus, the shared technical feature of the groups is not a “special technical feature”, unity of invention between the groups does not exist.
Result Query
No. Score Match Length DB ID Description
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 1343 98.7 269 1 AASEQ2_07102025_115236
ALIGNMENTS
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_07102025_115236
Query Match 98.7%; Score 1343; DB 1; Length 269;
Best Local Similarity 98.1%;
Matches 264; Conservative 2; Mismatches 3; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 AQSVPWGISRVQAPAAHNRGLTGSGVKVAVLDTGISTHPDLNIRGGASFVPGEPSTQDGN 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 AQSVPWGISRVQAPAAHNRGLTGSGVKVAVLDTGISTHPDLNIRGGASFVPGEPSTQDGN 60
Qy 61 GHGTHVAGTIAALNNSIGVLGVAPSAELYAVKVLGASGSGSVSSIAQGLEWAGNNGMHVA 120
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | |::||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GHGTHVAGTIAALNNSIGVLGVAPSAELYAVKVLGADGEGAISSIAQGLEWAGNNGMHVA 120
Qy 121 NLSLGSPSPSATLEQAVNSATSRGVLVVAASGNSGAGSISYPARYANAMAVGATDQNNNR 180
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NLSLGSPSPSATLEQAVNSATSRGVLVVAASGNSGASSISYPARYANAMAVGATDQNNNR 180
Qy 181 ASFSQYGAGLDIVAPGVNVQSTYPGSTYASLNGTSMATPHVAGAAALVKQKNPSWSNVQI 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 ASFSQYGAGLDIVAPGVNVQSTYPGSTYASLNGTSMATPHVAGAAALVKQKNPSWSNVQI 240
Qy 241 RNHLKNTATSLGSTNLYGSGLVNAEAATR 269
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 RNHLKNTATSLGSTNLYGSGLVNAEAATR 269
Search completed: July 10, 2025, 11:52:37
Job time : 1 secs
Claims 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
For the reasons provided above, this restriction requirement is deemed proper, and therefore, it is made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/2022 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code on page 1, line 13. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 (3-14 dependent therefrom) recites “preferably” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 3 and 9 recite “P131*” which is unclear because it is unclear what the phrase means. In the interest of advancing prosecution, the noted term is interpreted as “P131A”.
Claim 11 recites “L262” as a substitution. However it is unclear what L262 is substituted to. In the interest of advancing prosecution, the noted term is interpreted as “L262E”.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by O’Connell et al. (Patent Application Publication No. 2017/349861, see IDS).
Instant claims are drawn to a subtilase variant of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 comprising the substitution S101E/D, preferably S101E, and two or more of the substitutions N43R, N76D, Q206L, Y209W and L262E, wherein the variant has protease activity and has at least 80% but less than 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein position numbers are based on the numbering of SEQ ID NO: 2.
O’Connell et al. teach a subtilase variant comprising substitutions N76D+S101E+A228V+L262E in SEQ ID NO:3 which has 98.7% sequence identity to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1 (see para [0094], and below sequence alignment to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), optionally S156D, A194P, V205I and/or Y209W substitutions (see para [0010] and [0081]), thereby anticipating claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 10. O’Connell et al. further teach that said subtilase variant is comprised in a detergent composition having improved stability and/or improve wash performance in liquid detergent (see para [0082]), thereby anticipating claims 12-14. Claim 11 is included in this rejection because the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicants’ subtilisin variant with the subtilisin variant of the prior art with regard to the storage stability. Therefore, the burden is on the applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art (i.e., the subtilisin variant of the prior art does not possess the improved storage stability compared to the claimed subtilisin variant). See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594. For the reasons provided herein, teachings of O’Connell et al. anticipate claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 10-14.
Result Query
No. Score Match Length DB ID Description
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 1343 98.7 269 1 AASEQ2_07102025_115236
ALIGNMENTS
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_07102025_115236
Query Match 98.7%; Score 1343; DB 1; Length 269;
Best Local Similarity 98.1%;
Matches 264; Conservative 2; Mismatches 3; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 AQSVPWGISRVQAPAAHNRGLTGSGVKVAVLDTGISTHPDLNIRGGASFVPGEPSTQDGN 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 AQSVPWGISRVQAPAAHNRGLTGSGVKVAVLDTGISTHPDLNIRGGASFVPGEPSTQDGN 60
Qy 61 GHGTHVAGTIAALNNSIGVLGVAPSAELYAVKVLGASGSGSVSSIAQGLEWAGNNGMHVA 120
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | |::||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GHGTHVAGTIAALNNSIGVLGVAPSAELYAVKVLGADGEGAISSIAQGLEWAGNNGMHVA 120
Qy 121 NLSLGSPSPSATLEQAVNSATSRGVLVVAASGNSGAGSISYPARYANAMAVGATDQNNNR 180
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NLSLGSPSPSATLEQAVNSATSRGVLVVAASGNSGASSISYPARYANAMAVGATDQNNNR 180
Qy 181 ASFSQYGAGLDIVAPGVNVQSTYPGSTYASLNGTSMATPHVAGAAALVKQKNPSWSNVQI 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 ASFSQYGAGLDIVAPGVNVQSTYPGSTYASLNGTSMATPHVAGAAALVKQKNPSWSNVQI 240
Qy 241 RNHLKNTATSLGSTNLYGSGLVNAEAATR 269
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 RNHLKNTATSLGSTNLYGSGLVNAEAATR 269
Search completed: July 10, 2025, 11:52:37
Job time : 1 secs
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell et al. (Patent Application Publication No. 2017/349861, see IDS) in view of Amin et al. (WO2012151534-A1, see sequence search result 2 of 20251215_114627_us-17-927-164-1subs99en42rl256e.minpct80.rag available in SCV, which has been copied/pasted below for Applicants’ convenience).
Instant claims are drawn to a subtilase variant of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 comprising the substitution S101E/D, preferably S101E, and two or more of the substitutions N43R, N76D, Q206L, Y209W and L262E, wherein the variant has protease activity and has at least 80% but less than 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein position numbers are based on the numbering of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Teachings of O’Connell et al. are as described above.
O’Connell et al. do not teach N43R substitution based on the numbering of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Amin et al. teach a subtilase variant having 99.2% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 which has N43R substitution (which is identical to N42R in Bacillus lentus) according to the numbering of SEQ ID NO: 2.
RESULT 2
BAG75746
(NOTE: this sequence has 2 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
ID BAG75746 standard; protein; 269 AA.
XX
AC BAG75746;
XX
DT 17-JAN-2013 (first entry)
XX
DE Bacillus lentus subtilisin GG36 protease variant protein #3799.
XX
KW mutein; protein engineering; protein production;
KW subtilisin GG36 protease protein; surfactant.
XX
OS Bacillus lentus.
OS Synthetic.
XX
CC PN WO2012151534-A1.
XX
CC PD 08-NOV-2012.
XX
CC PF 04-MAY-2012; 2012WO-US036608.
XX
PR 05-MAY-2011; 2011US-0482938P.
XX
CC PA (DASC ) DANISCO US INC.
CC PA (PROC ) PROCTER&GAMBLE CO.
XX
CC PI Amin NS, Augustyn K, Basler JR, Cascao-Pereira LG, Collier KD;
CC PI Concar EM, Estell DA, Kellis JT, Magennis EJ, Pisarchik A;
CC PI Poulose AJ, Souter PF, Ward GS, Yao J;
XX
DR WPI; 2012-P61600/76.
XX
CC PT New isolated subtilisin variant comprising specific amino acid sequence
CC PT having combination of amino acid substitutions at specific positions, for
CC PT used in cleaning surface e.g. dishware item, fabric item, laundry item,
CC PT personal care items.
XX
CC PS Example 2; Page; 441pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to an isolated subtilisin variant (D1)
CC selected from 8 subtilisin variants, e.g. an isolated subtilisin variant
CC comprising specific amino acid sequence having a combination of amino
CC acid substitutions at specific positions. The invention further includes:
CC (1) an isolated nucleic acid (A1) comprising a polynucleotide sequence
CC that encodes the subtilisin variant (D1); (2) an expression vector (V1)
CC comprising the nucleic acid (A1); (3) a host cell comprising the
CC expression vector (V1); (4) a method of preparing the isolated subtilisin
CC variant (D1); (5) a composition (C1) comprising the subtilisin variant
CC (D1), where the composition is not a fabric and home care product; (6) a
CC method of cleaning (M1), involving contacting a surface or an item with
CC the cleaning composition (C1); and (7) a method of cleaning (M2) a
CC surface or an item, involving providing the cleaning composition (C1) and
CC a surface or an item in need of cleaning; and contacting the cleaning
CC composition with the surface or an item in need of cleaning under
CC conditions suitable for the cleansing of surface of the surface or an
CC item, to produce a cleansed surface or an item. The isolated subtilisin
CC variant is useful in cleaning composition for cleaning surface or an item
CC including dishware item, fabric item, laundry item, personal care items
CC and tableware item, e.g. dishes, cutlery, knives, forks, spoons,
CC chopsticks, glassware, pitchers, sauce boats, drinking vessels and
CC serving items. The subtilisin variant is a mature form having proteolytic
CC activity; and is not a cold water protease variant. The present sequence
CC represents a Bacillus lentus subtilisin GG36 protease variant protein
CC (N043R/S101D) used in the cleaning composition for cleaning surface or an
CC item. Note: The present sequence is not shown in the specification but is
CC derived from the Bacillus lentus subtilisin GG36 protease protein given
CC in the sequence listing (see BAG71943).
XX
SQ Sequence 269 AA;
Query Match 99.2%; Score 1351; Length 269;
Best Local Similarity 99.3%;
Matches 267; Conservative 1; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 AQSVPWGISRVQAPAAHNRGLTGSGVKVAVLDTGISTHPDLRIRGGASFVPGEPSTQDGN 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 AQSVPWGISRVQAPAAHNRGLTGSGVKVAVLDTGISTHPDLRIRGGASFVPGEPSTQDGN 60
Qy 61 GHGTHVAGTIAALNNSIGVLGVAPSAELYAVKVLGASGEGSVSSIAQGLEWAGNNGMHVA 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GHGTHVAGTIAALNNSIGVLGVAPSAELYAVKVLGASGDGSVSSIAQGLEWAGNNGMHVA 120
Qy 121 NLSLGSPSPSATLEQAVNSATSRGVLVVAASGNSGAGSISYPARYANAMAVGATDQNNNR 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NLSLGSPSPSATLEQAVNSATSRGVLVVAASGNSGAGSISYPARYANAMAVGATDQNNNR 180
Qy 181 ASFSQYGAGLDIVAPGVNVQSTYPGSTYASLNGTSMATPHVAGAAALVKQKNPSWSNVQI 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 ASFSQYGAGLDIVAPGVNVQSTYPGSTYASLNGTSMATPHVAGAAALVKQKNPSWSNVQI 240
Qy 241 RNHLKNTATSLGSTNEYGSGLVNAEAATR 269
||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||
Db 241 RNHLKNTATSLGSTNLYGSGLVNAEAATR 269
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make and use the subtilase variant taught by O’Connell et al. and make further substitution of N43R as taught by Amin et al. for B. Lentus subtilase. One would have been motivated to make and use such subtilase variant because Amin et al. teach that making a N43R substitution greatly increases the cleaning performance of the detergent comprising said subtilase variant (see Table 2-6 on page 341). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success to make and use such subtilase variant because all of the required biochemical reagents and techniques to make and use B. Lentus subtilase variants were rampantly used as evidenced by O’Connell et al. and Amin et al. prior to the filing of the instant application. For the reasons provided herein, the invention as claimed is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,550,381. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patents anticipate those of the instant invention.
Claims 1-4 of the ‘381 patent recites a subtilase variant having protease activity and having at least 25% improved stability comparted to a subtilase with SEQ ID NO: 1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the sequence of the variant subtilase has at least 90% but less than 100% sequence identity to the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, comprising the mutations X9E, X76D, and X262E (note this is a comprising claim and thus the subtilase variant may have additional mutations, same as the instantly claimed enzymes), and further comprising one or more substitutions including S3T, X9E, X43R, S101E, X205I, X206L, X209W, N261W and X259D wherein each position (e.g. the numbering) corresponds to the position of SEQ ID NO:2. The ‘381 patent further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see claims 6-8). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation. Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘381 encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-7 and 9-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,015,183. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patents anticipate those of the instant invention.
Claims 1-4 of the ‘183 patent disclose a protein comprising a subtilase variant having protease activity and having at least 25% improved stability comparted to the subtilase of SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the sequence of the variant subtilase has at least 87% but less than 100% sequence identity to the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), comprising substitutions in positions X43R and X262E wherein each position corresponds to the position of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO:2 (in claim 1 of ‘183), and further comprising one or more substitutions including S3T, X9E, X43R, S101E, X205I, X206L, X209W, N261W and X259D (‘183 claims 2 and 4). The ‘183 patent further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (‘183 claims 5-7). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation. Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘183 encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-7 and 9-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,626,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patents anticipate those of the instant invention.
The claims of the ‘388 patent recite: a subtilase variant, having protease activity and at least 85% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the variant comprises one or more of the substitutions including X101E, X43R, X262E, and further comprising additional substitutions including X3T, X9E, X43R, N76D, S101E, X205I, X206L, X209W, N261W and X259D (see ‘388 claims 1, 4, 5 and 13). ‘388 patent further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see ‘388 claims 8-10). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation. ‘388 patent further teach that said variant has an improved stability (see claim 6). Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘388 encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-7 and 9-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,920,209. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patents anticipate those of the instant invention.
The claims of the ‘209 patent recite: a subtilase variant, having protease activity and at least 82% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the variant comprises one or more of the substitutions including S101E, N43R and L262E, and further comprising additional substitutions including S3T, S9E, N43R, N76D, S101E, V205I, Q206L, Y209W, S259D, and N261W (‘209 claims 1-6). The ‘209 patent further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see claims ‘209 12-13). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation. The ‘209 patent further teach that said variant has an improved stability (see ‘209 claim 8). Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘209 encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-7 and 9-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,586. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patents anticipate those of the instant invention.
The claims of the ‘586 patent recite a subtilase variant, having protease activity and at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the variant comprises one or more of the substitutions including S101E, N43R and L262E, and further comprising additional substitutions including S3T, S9E, N43R, N76D, S101E, V205I, Q206L, Y209W, S259D, and N261W (‘586 claims 1-3). The ‘586 patent further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see ‘586 claims 9-10). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation. The ‘586 patent further teach that said variant has an improved stability (see ‘586 claim 5). Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘586 encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-7 and 9-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10,683,491. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patents anticipate those of the instant invention.
The claims of the ‘491 patent recite: a subtilase variant, having protease activity and at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the variant comprises one or more of the substitutions including X101E, X43R and X262E, and further comprising additional substitutions including X3T, S9E, N43R, N76D, X194P, X205I, Q206L, X209W, S259D, and X261W (‘491 claims 1, 14-15 and 26). The ‘491 patent further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see ‘491 claims 22-24). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation. The ‘491 patent further teach that said variant has an improved stability (see ‘491 claim 18). Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘491 encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,680. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patents anticipate those of the instant invention.
The ‘680 patent claims recite a subtilase variant having protease activity, wherein the sequence of the variant has at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the variant comprises one or more of the substitutions including S101E, N43R and L262E, and further comprising additional substitutions including S3T, S9E, N43R, N76D, V205I, Q206L, Y209W, S259D, and N261W (‘680 claims 1-5). The ‘680 patent further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see ‘680 claims 11-13). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation. The ‘680 patent also teach that said variant has an improved stability (see claim 7). Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘680 encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-7 and 9-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 10-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-10, 15 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 17/246,266. This rejection is newly presented, after consideration of related patent families.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference applications are coextensive in scope with the instantly claimed invention.
The 17/246,266 application claims are drawn to a subtilase variant having at least 25% improved stability, wherein the variant has a sequence identity of at least 85% but less than 100%, to SEQ ID NO:1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the variant comprises one or more of the substitutions including S101E, X43R and X262E, and further comprising additional substitutions including S3T, X9E, N43R, X205I, X206L, X209W, X259D, and X261W (‘266 claims 1-5, 8-10, 15 and 17-20). The ‘266 application further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see ‘266 claims 8-10). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation. Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘266 application encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 10-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-12, 28 and 30-37 of copending Application No. 17/252,446 in view of US Patent No. 10550381. This rejection is newly presented, after consideration of related patent families.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference applications are coextensive in scope with the instantly claimed invention.
The 17/252,446 application claims are drawn to a subtilase variant, wherein the variant has a protease activity and has a sequence identity of at least 80% but less than 100%, to SEQ ID NO:1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the variant comprises one or more of the substitutions including X101E, and L262E, and further comprising additional substitutions including X205I, X206L, X209W with improved storage stability (‘446 claims 1, 9-12, 28). (note this is a comprising claim and thus the subtilase variant may have additional mutations, same as the instantly claimed enzymes). Even though ‘446 application does not teach N43R substitution, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to insert an additional substitution N43R as taught by ‘381 patent. A POSITA would have been motivated to make such a substitution because it improves stability (see claim 1 of ‘381 patent). A POSITA would have had a high expectation of success for making and using said subtilase variant because all of the required biochemical reagents and techniques were rampantly available as evidenced by ‘446 application and ‘381 patent. ‘446 application further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see ‘446 claim 28). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation.
Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘446 application encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-2, 4-5 and 12-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/043,532. This rejection is newly presented, after consideration of related patent families.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference applications are coextensive in scope with the instantly claimed invention.
The 18/043,532 application claims are drawn to a protease variant of a parent protease, wherein the variant has a sequence identity of at least at least 80% but less than 100%, to SEQ ID NO:1 (100% identical to Applicants’ SEQ ID NO: 1), wherein the variant comprises one or more of the substitutions including S101E, N43R and L262E, and further comprising additional substitutions including S3T, S9E, N43R, N76D, V205I, Q206L, Y209W, S259D, and N261W (‘532 claims 1-5). The ‘532 application further teach a liquid detergent composition comprising said subtilase variant (see ‘532 claims 20-22). Regarding claim 10, a subtilase variant according to claim 1 with a minimum of 3 substitutions has at least 98.8% identity to SEQ ID NO :1 meeting the percent identity limitation.
Regarding the improved storage stability, the recited storage stability property would be an inherent property of a subtilase variant of the reference application claims, as the reference claims encompass subtilase variants having identical structure to that of the instant claims. According to MPEP 2112.01.II. “ ‘Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.’ In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id”.
Thus the scope of the claimed subtilase variants in ‘532 application encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims 1-7 and 9-14, with the elected mutations of “S101E”, “N43R” and “L262E”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are rejected for the reasons as stated above. Applicants must respond to the objections/rejections in this Office action to be fully responsive in prosecution.
The instant Office action is non-final.
/JAE W LEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/MANJUNATH N RAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1656