DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed response on 12/4/2025 has been received.
Claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 1-9 are under examination.
The rejection on Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable by Akinori (JP 2006143700; IDS reference; English translation) in view of Joseph (US 20150211012), Ye (US 20190307686) or Conceicao (US 20120328621) is withdrawn because secondary referencs Joseph, Ye, or Conceicao do not provide proper suggestion or motivation to switch ELISA to do-blot.
Accordingly, the rejection on Claim(s) 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akinori in view of Joseph, Ye or Conceicao as applied to claims 1-3, 5 and 6-9 above, and further in view of Gardosa (US 6759517) is withdrawn.
However the main Akinori reference still remains proper in combining different secondary reference to reach the current invention (see below).
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
The claims 1 and 2 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
As to claim 1 and 2, the wording “configured” in the specification section 0052, is a membrane known in the field for immobilizing allergen (including proteins) thereon, such as PVDF, nitrocellulose or other membrane capable of support allergens thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable by Akinori in view of Handzel (US 5597735), Wands (US 20070042437), Glaser (US 20100150920) and Wongkamchai (Allergology International 2000 49:151-155).
Akinori teaches a method of evaluating allergen inactivators using immunoassay methodology. Akinori teaches using ELISA plate having allergen coated there on followed with different potential allergen inactivator drugs, e.g. ginkgo, yellowchin leaves, tea leaves, lemon balm leaves, cabbage loses flowers and buds, and peanut astringent skin. An allergen specific monoclonal antibody is applied followed by horse peroxidase labeled (protein staining agent) for quantification to extent to which the allergens are inactivated by the above potential test agents, such as ginkgo, yellowchin leaves, tea leaves, lemon balm leaves, cabbage loses flowers and buds, and peanut astringent skin (See section 0049-0068; Table 1 and Table 2). Note, the term “test drug” under broadest reasonable interpretation encompass the tested agents ginkgo, yellowchin leaves, tea leaves, lemon balm leaves, cabbage loses flowers and buds, and peanut astringent skin. In addition, with respect to claim 2, there is no addition of test drugs to the second membrane, this can be considered as a control (without test drugs) vs. experimental group (with test drugs).
The difference between the current invention and that of Akinori is that Akinori uses ELISA to coat the plate with allergen specific antibodies followed by adding allergens and test drugs, whereas the current invention uses dot-blot assay, i.e. a step for preparing an allergen-supporting membrane configured by supporting allergens on the membrane, adding test drug followed by applying allergen specific antibody. Nevertheless, both use the same principle, i.e. allergen-allergen specific antibody binding. Moreover dot-blot has been developed because of some advantages for handling in the laboratory (see below).
For instance, Handzel studied infectious disease allergens (e.g. tuberculosis). Handzel performed parallel ELISA and dot-blot assays, and concluded “ELISA system can be advantageously replaced by Dot-Blot method” (Col. 14, line 5-10)(emphasis added). This shows that dob-blot is both compatible and even more easier to handle than ELISA.
In addition, Wands teaches that the use of dot-blot analysis requires less time, permit high throughput, prevent carryover contamination (section 0091).
Moreover, Glaser teach that dot-blot format provides advantages of high density and minimal amounts of sample materials for the assay (section 0034).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use alternative dot-blot assays as taught by Handzel, Wands and Glaser for assessing the allergen inactivators by taking advantages in less amount for high throughput, less-time consuming with reasonable expectation of success.
As to the features of preparing allergen-supporting membrane, adding allergen antibodies followed by detection and assessing the extent of allergen are inactivated by the test drug (e.g. less signals), these steps are known and practiced in dot-blot.
As to the washing step, although Akinori does not explicitly teach this step, nevertheless it would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled person to do so for (1) washing step for removing residual drugs after test drug treating on the membrane having allergens thereon; (2) similarly washing step for removing excessive antibodies after applying allergen antibodies on the membrane because these steps fall within routine practice by removing undesired or unnecessary interference due to residual test drugs and allergen antibodies for a better yield or more accurate analysis.
For instance, Wongkamchai teaches using dot-blot for detecting house dust mite allergens (see Title, Abstract, Materials and Methods). Wongkamchai teaches washing extra unbound dust extract with PBS for 10 seconds from the test strip (membrane), and another washing mAb antibody from the test strip for about 10 seconds (see “Performance of the dot-blot assay”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the unbound test drug and excess antibody from the membrane to reduce interference for better detection results. The washing steps are known and commonly practiced in the field.
As to claim 3-4, Handzel uses protein A conjugates for staining purpose (Col. 13, Materials and Methods).
As to claim 5, Handzel uses nitrocellulose as membrane (Col. 13, “Materials and Methods).
As to claim 6-9, the nitrocellulose membrane in dot-blot provides pluralities of locations for applying samples, applying detection antibodies and observations of results.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
CHANGHWA J. CHEU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1678
/CHANGHWA J CHEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678