DETAILED ACTION
Suspension of Action
The suspension of action requested 11/25/2025 was for a maximum period for suspension of 6 months.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 8-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO2008/003782 (DE SCHINKEL).
As to claims 8-10 and 15, the claimed invention is directed to a composition comprising L. lactis deposited at the CNCM under reference number CNCM I-5450. At page 1, lines 30-35, it is stated that the present invention is based on the unexpected finding that the Lactococcus lactis strains degrade phytates and can be used for increasing the bioavailability of phytate complexed minerals. The present specification also teaches at pg. 4, lines 1-10 that mutants and variants derived from a parent species or strain will be considered as being encompassed by reference to the parent species or strain, e.g. the phrases “Lactococcus lactis” and “CNCM I-5450” shall be taken to include strains, mutants and variants derived therefrom.
De SCHINKEL discloses vegetal yogurts (i.e., a vegetal material) that are fermented with e.g., Lactococcus lactis S, which degrades phytic acid (i.e., indicating the food contains phytate) and quickly reduces the pH of the vegetal base (see Table 2 beginning on page 20). At page 17, lines 14-22, it is taught that that degradation of phytic acid improves bioavailability of minerals in the yogurt. Given De Schinkel teaches a strain of the same genus, same species and exhibits the same properties (i.e., degrades phytic acid), it is considered that the Lactococcus lactis S is a strain or variant of the claimed L. lactis deposited under reference number CNCM I-5450.
In the alternative, any slight differences in the strain would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and well within the ordinary level of skill to select a L. lactis strain with the same properties.
Response to Arguments
At the outset, it is noted that the enablement requirement is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2015 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the strain of the claims shows a tolerance to gastric and intestinal conditions with a minimal decrease in cfu during intestinal stress while maintaining some dephosphorylation capacity (See Specification at Example 4; Figs. 5 and 6). This indicates that the strain can survive and exert the effects of degrading phytic acid in the gastric and intestinal conditions and avoid direct fermentation of phytate rich food products. Applicant further argues that De Schinkel discloses three L. lactis strains: LMG P-23669 (L. lactis S), LMG 8522, and LMG 9452, but does not discuss them in the context of the digestive tract.
However, De SCHINKEL does teach in Table 2 that the Lactococcus lactis s (LMG P-23504) can be maintained on S medium and induce the breakdown of phytic acid. Table 2 evidences this (see Table 2). And is based on results of a fermentation that was stopped at pH 4.5. Thus, the strains are capable of being adapted and are viable at a lower pH than suggested by applicant. Indeed, it is noted that fermentation was halted at pH 4.5 for purposes of the experiment. There is no evidence that the strain would not be viable at a lower pH or perform in the same manner.
As noted above, De Schinkel teaches a strain of the same genus, same species and exhibits the same properties. It is still considered that Lactococcus lactis S is a strain or at least variant of the claimed L. lactis deposited under reference number CNCM I-5450 (i.e., especially considering that the present specification also teaches at pg. 4, lines 1-10 that mutants and variants derived from a parent species or strain will be considered as being encompassed by reference to the parent species or strain). In the alternative, any slight differences in the strain would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and well within the ordinary level of skill to select a L. lactis strain with the same properties.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791