DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14-15 of co-pending Application No. 17/776,926 (reference application) which teaches an iridium complex reading on the instant application also used as a dopant in an OLED. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-20 of U.S. Patent No 12/477,942. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches an iridium complex reading on the instant application also used as a dopant in an OLED.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOUDREAULT (US 20150315222 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-7 and 9, BOUDREAULT teaches a metal complex represent by:
(page 5).
Ligand LA shows that two adjacent RB(s) can form a six-membered ring (paragraph 84) which can be represented as the ligand below (page 6) referred to going forward as “BOUpg6”.
(page 6)
(page 7)
The metal complex of BOUDREAULT includes a metal with an atomic number > 40 (paragraph 70) which includes iridium which is readily known in the art to have an atomic number of 77.
BOUpg6 teaches a number of substituent groups which are independently selected from a finite set of options which upon selection gives rise to obvious variant of generic LA (paragraph 67), absent unexpected results.
One such variant reading on applicants’ Formula 1 and 2 shows X5 = N (applicants’
A8); X6-X8 = CH; RA (applicants’ R4), RF (applicants’ R1), RG (applicants’ R2)= alkyl; R (applicants’ R3)= CD3. This corresponds to applicants’ R1-R3 = alkyl; A8 = N; A7 = alkyl; A6-A5 = CH; A1 bonded to Ring E; A2 bonded to the metal; A3 = alkyl; A4 = CH; A =N.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have made a variety of derivatives of generic LA by selecting various functional equivalent substituents which would have included the above variant which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 1-2).
The above variant reads on:
claim 3 wherein X5 = A as N
Claim 4 wherein X6 = A7 as alkyl adjacent to A9 (per claim 4)
Claim 5 wherein R corresponding to applicants’ R3 can be CD3 (page 7)
Claim 6 wherein R corresponding to applicants’ R3 = CD3 adjacent to carbon metal bond (per claim 7).
Claim 9 wherein X = O
Regarding Claim 8, BOUDREAULT teaches the invention of claim 1. Claim 4 recites Formula 4
The above variant of BOUDREAULT BOUpg6 reads on applicants’ isoquinoline ligand A. Ligands b and c are represented below (paragraphs 68-69)
(claim 8).
Regarding Claim 12, BOUDREAULT teaches the invention of claim 1 wherein Ligands b and c are represented by
which corresponds to applicants’
(per claim 12).
Regarding Claim 13, Applicant claims a ligand represented by
and
BOUDREAULT teaches a ligands reading on L5 and L45 represented by
found in compound 43 on page 11 and
found in compound 1 on page 25 (page 110) (per claim 13).
Regarding Claims 14-15, BOUDREAULT teaches an organic light emitting device, that includes an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode. The organic layer may include a host and a phosphorescent dopant. The organic layer can be an emissive layer and the compound (BOUpg6) can be an emissive dopant (paragraphs 130-131). The metal complexes that are useful in emissive devices. The incorporation of these ligands allows red phosphorescent materials with good external quantum efficiency (EQE), good color, and good lifetime (paragraph 65) (per claims 14-15).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786