DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the one or more natural-vibration suppression portions” in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the claim has been interpreted as being dependent on claim 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 further recites the suppression portions as being formed “such that no tension along a direction perpendicular to the first surface is applied to the surface-layer member.” This limitation is generally unclear. For example, it is unclear if the no tension limitation refers to no vibration or force being applied to the first surface, or if the suppression portions have a damping or attenuating effect on vibrations which results in “no tension” being applied to the first surface. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
The term “high decorativeness” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high decorativeness” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification merely recites two different examples for a material with high decorativeness, a printed circuit board and a cloth, i.e. two materials having very different functions, constructions and design (see pg. 19, ¶ 0048 of the originally filed specification). It is therefore not clear what materials would fall under the category of “high decorativeness” as claimed and what materials would not.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the first member” in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the claim has been interpreted as being dependent on claim 18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No 4252211 to Matsuda et al. (“Matsuda”).
As to claim 1, Matsuda discloses a speaker, comprising: a diaphragm that includes a surface-layer member that has a first surface and a second surface on a side opposite to the first surface (21, see figures 1-4; col. 2, lines 65-68; col. 3, lines 1-11), a plurality of drive points used as a reference for transmission of vibrations being set at predetermined positions of the second surface (see col. 1, lines 9-18; col. 3, lines 7-11), and a reinforcing member that includes a plurality of first reinforcing portions and one or more second reinforcing portions and is connected to the second surface of the surface-layer member (frame 32 with beams 36/38 and portions 35, see figures 1-9; col. 2, lines 65-68; col. 3, lines 32-40), the plurality of first reinforcing portions being formed in a vicinity of the respective plurality of drive points (35, see figures 1-4), the one or more second reinforcing portions being formed to connect, in a state of being spaced apart from the second surface, between the plurality of first reinforcing portions (38, see figures 2-3 and 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 12-14, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of US Patent Pub No 2020/0213764 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”).
As to claim 2, Matsuda discloses the speaker according to claim 1.
Matsuda further discloses further comprising: an actuator that generates a vibration and transmits the vibration generated by the actuator to the diaphragm (26, see figures 1-4; col. 3, lines 1-10), wherein the first surface has a planar shape (see figures 1-4), but does not disclose a plurality of transmission members that is disposed on a side of the second surface with reference to the plurality of drive points, and each of the plurality of transmission members transmits a vibration along a direction perpendicular to the first surface to the diaphragm. However such a configuration is known in the art, as taught by Lee, which discloses a similar speaker device, and further discloses an actuator in the form of sound generating devices 200/1600 that is disposed on a rear surface of a diaphragm in the form of display panel 100 to generate sounds via vibrations, the sound generating device being attached to the panel via rings 1652 configured to transmit vibrations to the panel (see figures 1A-8 and 14A-21C; pg. 4, ¶ 0066; pg. 7, ¶ 0121). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being as a matter of design depending on the design or type of actuator used, and further to provide a secure connection between the actuator and the diaphragm and provide a uniform vibration transfer to the diaphragm (Lee pg. 7, ¶ 0121; pg. 11, ¶ 0153).
As to claim 3, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of drive points is set at positions of nodes of a natural vibration generated in the surface-layer member (Matsuda col. 1, lines 9-18; col. 3, lines 7-11).
As to claim 4, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of first reinforcing portions holds the plurality of transmission members (Matsuda figures 1-4; Lee figures 6-8).
As to claim 5, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein one or more natural-vibration suppression points are set at predetermined positions of the second surface, the speaker further comprising one or more natural-vibration suppression portions that are disposed on a side of the second surface with reference to the one or more natural-vibration suppression points and connected to the diaphragm (Matsuda pole 40 for preventing a rotational vibration of the diaphragm, see figures 1-5; col. 3, lines 46-51 and 62-66; col. 4, lines 23-29).
As to claim 6, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein the one or more natural-vibration suppression portions are formed such that no tension along a direction perpendicular to the first surface is applied to the surface-layer member (Matsuda col. 3, lines 62-66; col. 4, lines 23-29).
As to claim 7, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein the one or more second reinforcing portions are formed at positions facing the one or more natural-vibration suppression points (Matsuda figures 2-3 and 6-7).
As to claim 12, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of drive points is four drive points set to be symmetrical with respect to a center of the second surface, the plurality of first reinforcing portions is four first reinforcing portions formed to surround the respective four drive points (Matsuda figures 1-4; col. 3, lines 34-36), and the one or more second reinforcing portions are four second reinforcing portions including two second reinforcing portions extending in a first direction and two second reinforcing portions extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Matsuda figures 2-3 and 6-7).
As to claim 13, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein the surface-layer member has a rectangular shape as viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first surface (Lee figure 1A), the rectangular shape having two side portions whose main direction is the first direction and two side portions whose main direction is the second direction (Matsuda figures 2-3 and 6-7).
As to claim 14, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein the one or more natural-vibration suppression points are set at a center of the second surface and a center of adjacent two drive points of the four drive points (Matsuda figures 1-6).
As to claim 16, Matsuda in view of Lee further discloses wherein the surface-layer member has at least one of an image display function or a lighting function (Lee pg. 4, ¶ 0066).
As to claim 20, Matsuda discloses a speaker including a diaphragm that includes a surface-layer member that has a first surface and a second surface on a side opposite to the first surface (21, see figures 1-4; col. 2, lines 65-68; col. 3, lines 1-11), a plurality of drive points used as a reference for transmission of vibrations being set at predetermined positions of the second surface (see col. 1, lines 9-18; col. 3, lines 7-11), and a reinforcing member that includes a plurality of first reinforcing portions and one or more second reinforcing portions and is connected to the second surface of the surface-layer member (frame 32 with beams 36/38 and portions 35, see figures 1-9; col. 2, lines 65-68; col. 3, lines 32-40), the plurality of first reinforcing portions being formed in a vicinity of the respective plurality of drive points (35, see figures 1-4), the one or more second reinforcing portions being formed to connect, in a state of being spaced apart from the second surface, between the plurality of first reinforcing portions (38, see figures 2-3 and 6-7)
Matsuda is silent on specific uses for the speaker and therefore does not expressly disclose an electronic apparatus, comprising the speaker, nor a control unit that controls driving of the speaker. However the use of speakers in an electronic apparatus with a control unit for controlling the speaker is known in the art, as taught by Lee, which discloses a similar speaker device, and further discloses the speaker being implemented in an electronic apparatus such as display devices, and the device including a controller for controlling device functions such as the sound generating display (see pg. 3, ¶ 0057, ¶ 0059). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being as a matter of design and depending on the desired use or function of the speaker, as there are a wide variety of devices that require or benefit from the use of sound generating elements (Lee pg. 3, ¶ 0057).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of Lee, and further in view of US Patent No 4426556 A to Saiki et al. (“Saiki”).
As to claim 8, Matsuda in view of Lee discloses the speaker according to claim 5.
Matsuda in view of Lee does not disclose wherein the one or more natural-vibration suppression portions include a vibration damping member disposed between the second surface and the second reinforcing portion. However such a configuration is known in the art, as taught by Saiki, which discloses a similar speaker device, and further discloses the use of suppression portions in the form of damping members 11 which are compact enough and therefore can be positioned between the diaphragm and a support structure for the actuators (see figures 8-9B, 13B, 17B). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being depending on the type of vibration that is being dampened or absorbed, which informs the number of dampers needed, their material and construction, and their position on the diaphragm (Saiki col. 4, lines 21-30; col. 5, lines 5-22; col. 5, lines 49-65; col. 6, lines 35-42).
As to claim 9, Matsuda in view of Lee and Saiki further discloses wherein the one or more natural-vibration suppression points are set at positions of antinodes of a natural vibration generated in the surface-layer member (Saiki figures 5A-5B, 8-10B; col. 4, lines 31-39).
Claim(s) 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of Lee, and further in view of US Patent No 8391540 B2 to Berriman et al. (“Berriman”).
As to claim 10, Matsuda in view of Lee discloses the speaker according to claim 3.
Matsuda in view of Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the natural vibration is at least one of a natural vibration of a (2,0)-(0,2) mode or a natural vibration of a (2,2) mode. However such a configuration is merely a straightforward possibility from which a skilled person would select, as taught by Berriman, which discloses a similar speaker, and further discloses the speaker diaphragm can be configured as vibrating in various modes, including a (2,0)-(0,2) mode or a (2,2) mode (see figures 5a-5b; col. 8, lines 4-17). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being as a matter of design and depending on the desired response or operating frequency range of the speaker, and further as knowledge of the vibration modes can aid in the optimal positioning of the transducer or actuator elements to provide a balanced vibration (Berriman col. 1, lines 33-59; col. 2, lines 39-47).
As to claim 15, Matsuda in view of Lee and Berriman further discloses wherein the surface-layer member is formed of a metal material, a material having a property of suppressing a higher-order natural vibration mode, or a material having high decorativeness (Berriman col. 5, lines 21-25).
Claim(s) 11 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda.
As to claim 11, Matsuda discloses the speaker according to claim 1.
Matsuda does not expressly disclose wherein the reinforcing member is formed by assembling a first member including the first reinforcing portion and a second member including the second reinforcing portion. However such a configuration is considered obvious, as it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Constructing the reinforcing member as taught by Matsuda with first and second members assembled together is therefore an obvious variation given the teachings of Matsuda, depending on various factors such as the material(s) used for the reinforcing member, manufacturing techniques, etc., as long as the end result is assembled to perform the function of the reinforcing member as taught by Matsuda.
As to claim 18, Matsuda further discloses the diaphragm includes a shielding part that is connected to each of a peripheral edge portion of the surface-layer member and a peripheral edge portion of the first member and shields an inside of the speaker from an outside air (22, see figures 1 and 4-5; col. 3, lines 26-31), but does not expressly disclose wherein the reinforcing member is formed by assembling a first member including the first reinforcing portion and a second member including the second reinforcing portion. However such a configuration is considered obvious, as it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Constructing the reinforcing member as taught by Matsuda with first and second members assembled together is therefore an obvious variation given the teachings of Matsuda, depending on various factors such as the material(s) used for the reinforcing member, manufacturing techniques, etc., as long as the end result is assembled to perform the function of the reinforcing member as taught by Matsuda.
As to claim 19, Matsuda further discloses wherein the first member includes one or more through holes extending along a direction perpendicular to the first surface, and the diaphragm includes a pin member that is connected to the second surface of the surface-layer member and disposed to penetrate the one or more through holes of the first member (Matsuda figures 1 and 4-5; col. 3, lines 26-31).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of US Patent No 9185477 B2 to Kim et al. (“Kim”).
As to claim 17, Matsuda discloses the speaker according to claim 1.
Matsuda does not disclose further comprising a substrate for driving the actuator, the substrate being installed on the reinforcing member. However the use of a substrate for driving the actuator is known in the art, as taught by Kim, which discloses a similar speaker device, and further discloses the use of a printed circuit board FPCB for driving the voice coil via electrical signals (see figures 3 and 9-10; col. 3, lines 62-67; col. 4, lines 1-6; col. 5, lines 48-57). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being to provide a driving element near or adjacent to the actuator, and provide the actuator with the necessary electrical signals to drive the actuator and generate vibrations for moving the diaphragm (Kim col. 5, lines 48-57).
Conclusion
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693