DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said antimony-containing catalyst" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken to mean said non-antimony-containing catalyst.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inada et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,350,851).
Regarding claims 1 and 2: Inada et al. teaches a method for improving the L* color (col. 8 lines 40-50) of polyethylene terephthalate (col. 1 lines 60-67). The method comprises exposing bis-hydroxyethyl terephthalate (col. 7 lines 55-67) in a molten state (melting point 112 °C, table 1, performed at 150 °C, col. 8 lines 10-20) to a point that the content of material having a boiling point lower than the boiling point of BHET is 5 wt% (col. 8 lines 10-20). Next an antimony trioxide catalyst is added at the molten state of BHET (col. 9 lines 20-35). Then the BHET is polycondensed/reacted to an oligomer (col. 9 lines 40-45). Inada et al. teaches heating the catalyst to 200 °C or less (col. 4 lines 55-67), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an overlapping temperature of the catalyst and would have been motivated to do so since Inada et al. teaches it is an acceptable temperature to add the catalyst.
Regarding claim 3: Inada et al. teaches removing glycol at 150 °C (col. 8 lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 5: Inada et al. teaches the BHET is derived from post-consumer PET containing waste material/ground flakes of used PET bottles (example 1).
Regarding claim 6: Inada et al. teaches the post-consumer PET-containing waste material as set forth above; therefore, the dimethyl terephthalate limitation is optional.
Regarding claim 7: Inada et al. teaches the BHET is derived from post-consumer PET containing waste material/ground flakes of used PET bottles (example 1).
Regarding claim 8: Inada et al. teaches antimony trioxide (col. 9 lines 30-35).
Regarding claims 9 and 10: Inada et al. teaches a method for improving the L* color (col. 8 lines 40-50) of polyethylene terephthalate (col. 1 lines 60-67) by adding a non-antimony-containing catalyst/germanium dioxide (col. 8 lines 55-60) and polycondensing/reacting to an oligomer (col. 9 lines 40-45). Inada et al. teaches heating the catalyst to 200 °C or less (col. 4 lines 55-67), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an overlapping temperature of the catalyst and would have been motivated to do so since Inada et al. teaches it is an acceptable temperature to add the catalyst.
Regarding claim 11: Inada et al. teaches titanium tetrabutoxide (col. 4 lines 50-55).
Regarding claim 13: Inada et al. teaches a polyethylene terephthalate polymer (col. 1 lines 60-67) produced by the claimed process.
Regarding claim 14: Inada et al. teaches a shaped product/molded product (col. 3 lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 15: Inada et al. teaches a polyethylene terephthalate polymer (col. 1 lines 60-67) produced by the claimed process.
Regarding claim 16: Inada et al. teaches a shaped product/molded product (col. 3 lines 1-10).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inada et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,350,851) as applied to claims 1 and 9 set forth above and in view of JP 2003-160650 using the English language machine translation for the citations below.
Regarding claim 4: Inada et al. teaches the basic claimed method as set forth above. Not disclosed is removing glycol at the claimed range. However, JP 2003-160650 teaches removing glycol at 13 kPa/100 mmHg (pg. 8). Inada et al. and JP 200-160650 are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polycondensing polyethylene terephthalate. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to remove glycol at 13 kPa and would have been motivated to do so since Inada et al. teaches the ethylene glycol can be successfully removed at this pressure.
Regarding claim 12: Inada et al. teaches the basic claimed method as set forth above. Not disclosed are the claimed catalysts. However, JP 2003-160650 teaches zinc acetate (pg. 8). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the zinc acetate of JP 2003-160650 in the method of Inada et al. and would have been motivated to do so since the reference teaches it is an acceptable catalyst for polyethylene terephthalate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that they can find no description or suggestion of the feature “wherein said antimony-containing catalyst is added at a temperature between 150°C and 200°C” is not persuasive. Inada et al. lists the catalysts, including both antimony-containing catalysts and non-antimony containing catalysts in column 4. In column 4 starting at line 56, Inada et al. teaches that the catalyst can be used directly or after it is dispersed in ethylene glycol at normal temperature or after it is dispersed in ethylene glycol and heated. It is preferably used after it is dispersed in ethylene glycol and heated. The heating temperature is preferably 200 °C or less, which overlaps the claimed ranges. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiment (MPEP 2123 II).
The previous Double Patenting rejection is removed due to the amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767