DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 07/23/26.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 38 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of Claim 38 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2017/0133590 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of Claims 20-22, 26-30, and 33-37 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2017/0133590 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 23-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2017/0133590 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 03/27/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites “the formula (1)” which is nowhere defined. The Office has interpreted the term to refer to “the formula (3) of claim 20” for the purpose of this Examination.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 20-22, 27-30, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2017/0133590 A1).
Cho et al. discloses second compounds of the following form:
([0013]) where a23-25 = 0-3 ([0029]), L23-25 = arylene such as phenylene and naphthylene, and X22 = O or S (among others) ([0018], [0028], [0086]-[0088]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 52) such that m = n = o = 0, R2-3 = straight-chain alkyl group having 1 carbon atom (methyl), L = divalent aromatic ring system having 6 aromatic ring atoms (phenylene), R5 = aromatic ring system which has 6 aromatic ring atoms (phenyl), Y = CR7 (with R7 = hydrogen), and X = O of Applicant’s formula (3); p = 0 of Applicant’s Formulae (L-1) and (L-1-1). However, Cho et al. does not explicitly disclose a compound that is fully encompassed by Applicant’s formula (3). However, it would have been obvious to modify compound D11 as disclosed by Cho et al. (above) such that the resulting compound fully corresponds to Applicant’s formula (3). The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves change in the bonding position of the dibenzofuranyl group to the phenylene linker (i.e., from 4- to 1-position), producing a positional isomer that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties; additional motivation exists, including the fact that the production merely involves the selection of one possible embodiment from a highly finite list (in regards to the bonding position of the dibenzofuranyl group to the phenylene linker) as envisioned from the scope of Cho et al.’s general formula (above), thus rendering the modification predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Cho et al. further discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising the following layers: anode (110), organic layer (150), and cathode (190) (Figure); the organic layer comprises a hole-transporting region, light-emitting layer, and electron-transporting region ([0186]). Cho et al. discloses that the organic layer comprises a first compound and a second compound ([0012]-[0013]); the former serves as host material (matrix) ([0245]). The hole-transporting region comprises a hole-injecting layer, hole-transporting layer, and fluorescent assistant layer ([0189]); its inventive second compounds comprise the hole-transporting region, including the fluorescent assistant layer ([0194]-[0195]). Any of such layers are formed via spin coating (involving dissolution of material in solvent) ([0191]).
16. Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2017/0133590 A1) as applied above and in further view of Hayer et al. (US 2015/0322198 A1).
Cho et al. discloses the compound of Claim 20 as shown. Cho et al. discloses its inventive compounds to be electron-blocking and hole-injecting/transporting materials, the use of which in an organic electroluminescent (EL) device results in a device with high efficiency and long lifespan ([0007], [0188], [0194], [0240]). However, Cho et al. does not explicitly disclose an oligomer, polymer, or dendrimer as recited in the claim.
Hayer et al. discloses polymers for use in an organic EL device (OLED) (Abstract; [0009]); the polymer contains additional structural units which influence the hole-injecting and/or hole-transporting properties of the polymer ([0027]-[0028]). Hayer et al. discloses such additional structural units to be triarylamines ([0036]). It would have been obvious to incorporate any of the inventive compounds as disclosed by Cho et al. into the polymers as disclosed by Hayer et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Cho et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive hole-transporting compounds results in a device with high efficiency and long lifespan.
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claims 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is provided by Cho et al. (US 2017/0133590 A1), which discloses second compounds of the following form:
([0013]) where a23-25 = 0-3 ([0029]), L23-25 = arylene such as phenylene and naphthylene, and X22 = O or S (among others) ([0018], [0028], [0086]-[0088]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 52). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Cho et al. singly nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses any of the compounds as recited in the claims, particularly in regards to the nature and bonding configuration of the substituents attached to the arylamino nitrogen atom of Applicant’s formula (3).
Response to Arguments
18. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the deficiencies of the previously stated prior art rejection have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above. The Applicant argues that “Cho is directed towards a mixture of compounds . . . Cho also does not state anything regarding the possible use of single compounds” (page 38); however, the arguments fail to address that the composition as disclosed by Cho et al. still comprises the specific compound (after predictable modification) that would read on the compound limitations as recited in the claims. The open-ended language of the claims nowhere excludes the presence of other compounds that would prevent the use of the composition as disclosed by Cho et al. to arrive at the Applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
19. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786