DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 07/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure and the title are objected to because the abstract and title are directed to an anode piece yet the claims are directed to a positive piece. See objection the disclosure immediate below. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: uses opposite terminology for a cathode and an anode. Instant specification refers to a negative piece as a cathode and including cathode active material (e.g., silicon oxide and/or silicon carbon). The positive piece is referred to as an anode and contains active material the prior art refers to as cathode active material. In the lithium battery arts, the cathode is considered the positive electrode (e.g., LiCoO2, LiNiMnCoO2, LiFePO4, etc.) and the anode is the negative electrode (e.g., carbon, graphite, Si, etc.) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: grammar. “An positive” should be changed to -A positive-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: “Lithium” (line 2) should not be capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “extreme conditions” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “extreme conditions” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinoshita et al. (US 2015/0147644).
Regarding claim 1, Kinoshita discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising:
a positive electrode containing a first and second positive electrode active material (abstract).
More specifically, first positive electrode active material includes a lithium-containing transition metal oxide represented by a Li2MnO3‒LiMO2 solid solution (a lithium-rich manganese-based solid solution). The second positive electrode active material includes a lithium-containing transition metal oxide (abstract). As the positive electrode active material, a mixture was used which was obtained by mixing first positive electrode active material and second positive electrode active material (para 0061; Example 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kinoshita discloses Li2.2Mn0.54Ni0.13Co0.13O2 (para 0061; Example 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, instant claims are proviso upon limitation lithium-rich solid electrolyte and lithium-separated silicon oxide not required by the independent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
Regarding claim 8, Kinoshita discloses a negative electrode including carbon silicon (para 0042).
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 2015/0034864).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a positive electrode active material and positive electrode for an electrical device comprising:
a solid solution lithium-containing transition metal oxide (A) represented by Li1.5[NiaCobMnc[Li]d]O3 (a lithium-rich manganese-based solid solution) (abstract; para 0164); and
a lithium-containing transition metal oxide (B) (abstract).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, instant claims are proviso upon limitation lithium-rich solid electrolyte and lithium-separated silicon oxide not required by the independent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
Regarding claim 5, Ito discloses a particle diameter D50 of 6.0 µm (Table 2: Example 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2015/0034864).
Regarding claim 6, Ito teaches the content of the solid solution lithium-containing transition metal oxide ranging from zero to 100% (Table 2), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 0.1-20% by mass.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited concentration because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita et al. (US 2015/0147644) in view of Yushin et al. (US 2018/0205111).
Regarding claim 7, Kinoshita teaches the second positive electrode active material, for example, LiNi0.8Co0.15Al0.05O2 (para 0036).
Kinoshita does not teach an area capacity.
Yushin, directed to electrolytes for metal-ion cells, teaches electrode capacities of 2-4 mAh/cm2 (moderate) and 4-10 mAh/cm2 (high) (para 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a higher area capacity because it is advantageous in certain applications for increasing cell energy density (e.g., electric vehicle batteries and other high energy applications) and reducing cell manufacturing costs (para 0040).
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723