Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully disagrees with both of the above assertions and submits that Islam, Kim, and Moon, either singly or in any combination thereof, fail to disclose, at least, the feature "receiving a second configuration from the BS, the second configuration being different from the first configuration and indicating a first search space for monitoring a specific indication, the specific indication for indicating to the UE whether to monitor the PO, the first search space being different from the paging search space; ... determining whether to monitor the PO based on whether the specific indication is detected in the first search space," as recited in amended claim 1…
The examiner draws attention to the prior art of MOON et al. (US 20200280971 A1). MOON writes, “For example, the base station may inform the terminal of the configuration information of the COT initiated by the base station. In this case, a specific operation of the terminal may depend on the configuration information of the COT received from the base station. For example, a PDCCH monitoring operation within the COT configured by the base station may be different from a PDCCH monitoring operation outside the COT configured by the base station” (paragraph 0130). MOON indicates that a specific operation of the terminal may depend on the configuration information received from the base station, and a PDCCH monitoring operation may be different depending on the COT. Therefore, MOON suggests that a specific indication for indicating to the UE whether to monitor the PO may be based on the configuration information received from the base station.
MOON previously suggests that a specific indication for indicating to the UE whether to monitor the PO may be based on the configuration information received from the base station. ISLAM indicates that the network may employ a configured paging search space such as the paging search space configuration 700, where paging occasion monitoring may be associated with the search space.
Therefore, based on the response to the arguments above, the rejection of claims 1 and 11 remain. Further, the rejections of the dependent claims also remain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISLAM et al. (US 20190394749 A1, hereinafter, "ISLAM") in view of KIM et al. (US 20180213452 A1, hereinafter, "KIM"), JUNG et al. (US 20190223145 A1, hereinafter, "JUNG"), and MOON et al. (US 20200280971 A1, hereinafter, "MOON").
Regarding claim 11, ISLAM teaches at least one processor;
ISLAM writes, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may
include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in
the memory” (paragraph 0008, paragraph 0146; figure 11, 1140: processor).
and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one
processor,
ISLAM writes, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may
include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in
the memory” (paragraph 0008, paragraph 0146; figure 11, 1130: memory).
and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that,
ISLAM writes, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may
include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in
the memory” (paragraph 0008, paragraph 0153; figure 11, 1135: code).
when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to:
ISLAM writes, “The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a
paging configuration from a base station, the paging configuration indicating a paging occasion during
which the UE is to monitor for pages that are transmitted from the base station, where a location of the
paging occasion is based at least in part on at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) transmitted by
the base station, and where a mapping between a paging occasion index and the location of the paging
occasion is indicated in the paging configuration, monitor for a paging transmission from the base
station during the paging occasion, and receive a page from the base station based on the monitoring”
(paragraph 0008). ISLAM indicates instructions may be executed by the processor in the UE to perform
operations.
receive a first configuration from a base station (BS), the first configuration indicating a paging
search space;
ISLAM writes, “According to various aspects of the present disclosure, a paging configuration may be
provided by a base station that indicates one or more occasions during which a user equipment (UE) is
to monitor for pages. A location of the paging occasion may be based at least in part on at least one
synchronization signal block (SSB) transmitted by the base station. In some cases, a mapping between a
paging occasion index and the location of the paging occasion is indicated in the paging configuration. In
some cases, paging windows may be configured during downlink slots that contain an SSB transmission
and paging transmissions may use beamforming parameters that are the same as SSB transmission
beamforming parameters” (paragraph 0005). ISLAM adds, “In some cases, a base station may identify
multiple orders of paging occasions, based at least in part on a type of transmission that is used to
indicate SSB locations to a UE. In some cases, paging search spaces for paging downlink control
information (DCI) transmissions may be based on a combined ordering of paging occasions. In some
cases, the combined ordering of paging search spaces may be based on a first order of paging occasions
followed by one or more paging occasions of a second order of paging occasions that are not included in
the first order of paging occasions” (paragraph 0006). ISLAM indicates a paging configuration provided
by the base station on one or more occasions, with paging search spaces based on paging occasions.
monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the first search space to detect the
specific indication;
ISLAM writes, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of a paging search space configuration 600 with beam swept
SSB that supports paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications in accordance with
aspects of the present disclosure. As discussed herein, NR allows the network (e.g., via a base station) to
configure a paging search space to a UE. The paging search space allows network to flexibly configure
periodicity, offset, duration and monitoring symbols within a slot. Hence, network may use such
parameters, along with the explicitly configured location of the first paging monitoring occasion (e.g., a
PDCCH monitoring occasion) of each paging occasion. The paging search space configuration 600 shows
each slot having a plurality of symbols, with multiple monitoring symbols configured (shaded in FIG. 6)”
(paragraph 0121; figure 6). ISLAM indicates that the network (e.g., via a base station) to configure a
paging search space to a UE, and that the network may use such parameters, along with the explicitly
configured location of the first paging monitoring occasion (e.g., a PDCCH monitoring occasion) of each
paging occasion.
and determine whether to monitor the PO based on whether the specific indication is detected in the first search space.
ISLAM writes, “FIG. 7 illustrates an example of mapping between SSBs and paging monitoring occasions
for a paging search space configuration 700 with beam swept SSB that supports paging configuration in
beamformed wireless communications in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The
network may define a non-default association between SSBs and paging monitoring occasions. For
example, the network may employ a configured paging search space such as the paging search space
configuration 700. More specifically, the network may use the explicitly configured location of the first
paging monitoring occasion of the paging occasion and other parameters (e.g.,
monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration, and monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot) of the paging search
space configuration 700 to define the association. As such, no additional RRC parameter is introduced”
(paragraph 0122; figure 7). ISLAM indicates the network may employ a configured paging search space
such as the paging search space configuration. ISLAM adds, the network may use the explicitly
configured location of the first paging monitoring occasion of the paging occasion and other parameters
of the paging search space configuration to define the association.
ISLAM fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a user equipment (UE) for performing a
power saving operation in one of a radio resource control (RRC)_INACTIVE state and an RRC_IDLE
state, the UE comprising:”, “determine a paging occasion (PO) based on the paging search space;”, and “receive a second configuration from the BS, the second configuration being different from the first configuration and indicating a first search space for monitoring a specific indication, the specific indication for indicating to the UE whether to monitor the PO, the first search space being different from the paging search space;”.
However, in analogous art, KIM teaches a user equipment (UE) for performing a power saving
operation in one of a radio resource control (RRC)_INACTIVE state and an RRC_IDLE state, the UE
comprising:
KIM writes, “According to the aspect of the present disclosure, the signaling overhead can be reduced
and the terminal battery can be saved through a method for switching (transitioning) between the RRC
connected mode, the RRC inactive mode (or lightly-connected mode), and the RRC idle mode based on
the timer” (paragraph 0017). KIM continues, “In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure,
there is provided a method by a terminal in a wireless communication system. The method includes
receiving, from a base station, a paging message for switching a mode of the terminal in a radio resource
control (RRC) inactive mode to an RRC idle mode, transmitting an RRC message to the base station
based on reception of the paging message, receiving an RRC connection release message from the base
station, and transitioning from the RRC inactive mode to the RRC idle mode based on the RRC
connection release message” (paragraph 0020). KIM specifies, “User equipment (‘UE’ or ‘terminal’) …”
(paragraph 0093). KIM indicates the user equipment (“UE” or “terminal”) battery can be saved through a
method for switching (transitioning) between the RRC connected mode, the RRC inactive mode (or
lightly-connected mode), and the RRC idle mode based on the timer. KIM adds a paging message,
received from a base station, for switching a mode of the terminal in a radio resource control (RRC)
inactive mode to an RRC idle mode, transmitting an RRC message to the base station based on reception
of the paging message, receiving an RRC connection release message from the base station, and
transitioning from the RRC inactive mode to the RRC idle mode based on the RRC connection release
message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KIM for “a wireless mobile communication system, and more particularly, to a method and an apparatus for configuring a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) and a radio link control (RLC) header format in a next-generation mobile communication system.” KIM provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “...the UE in the RRC inactive mode transmits data in the RRC inactive mode, it has the advantages that it has a very short transmission delay and very small signaling overhead.” (paragraph 0317). KIM also discloses the apparatus and method are for, "reducing a delay in relation to mobility of a terminal in a next-generation mobile communication system", and "reducing a delay during a handover in a next-generation mobile communication system." (paragraph 0003-0004).
ISLAM and KIM fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determine a paging occasion (PO) based on the paging search space;”, and “receive a second configuration from the BS, the second configuration being different from the first configuration and indicating a first search space for monitoring a specific indication, the specific indication for indicating to the UE whether to monitor the PO, the first search space being different from the paging search space;”.
However, in analogous art, JUNG teaches determine a paging occasion (PO) based on the paging search space;
JUNG writes, “In certain embodiments, each of the one or more paging occasion configurations includes information related to a paging search space within a paging slot, wherein the paging symbol is determined based on the paging search space” (paragraph 0141).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM and KIM to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by JUNG that “relates generally to wireless communications and more particularly relates to acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.” JUNG provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “...determining a paging slot and a paging symbol within the determined paging slot based on the selected paging occasion configuration" (paragraph 0007).
ISLAM, KIM, and JUNG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receive a second configuration from the BS, the second configuration being different from the first configuration and indicating a first search space for monitoring a specific indication, the specific indication for indicating to the UE whether to monitor the PO, the first search space being different from the paging search space;”.
However, in analogous art, MOON teaches receive a second configuration from the BS, the second configuration being different from the first configuration and indicating a first search space for monitoring a specific indication, the specific indication for indicating to the UE whether to monitor the PO, the first search space being different from the paging search space;
MOON writes, “An operation method of a terminal, according to a first exemplary embodiment of the
present disclosure for achieving the above-described objective, may comprise receiving, from a base
station, first configuration information of a control resource set (CORESET) and second
configuration information of a search space associated with the CORESET; receiving, from the base
station, third configuration information indicating one or more physical downlink control channel
(PDCCH) monitoring resource sets associated with the CORESET and the search space; and performing
a PDCCH monitoring operation on the one or more PDCCH monitoring resource sets, wherein each of
the one or more PDCCH monitoring resource sets is located within each resource block (RB) set
configured in an unlicensed band” (paragraph 0006). MOON adds, “For example, the base station may inform the terminal of the configuration information of the COT initiated by the base station. In this case, a specific operation of the terminal may depend on the configuration information of the COT received from the base station. For example, a PDCCH monitoring operation within the COT configured by the base station may be different from a PDCCH monitoring operation outside the COT configured by the base station” (paragraph 0130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM, KIM, and JUNG to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by MOON that “relates generally to techniques for transmitting and receiving control information in a communication system, and more specifically, to techniques of transmitting and receiving control information for channel access and occupation in a communication system supporting an unlicensed band.” MOON provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “...the PDCCH monitoring operation can be dynamically switched within the channel occupancy time (COT) initiated by the base station. Accordingly, the degree of freedom of arrangement of the uplink (UL) transmission burst period can increase. In addition, the base station can change (e.g., expand or reduce) the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT. Thus, the efficiency of the spectrum usage can be improved, and the transmission performance can also be improved. That is, the performance of the communication system can be improved" (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 15, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON teach the UE of claim 11,
Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the first search space is monitored while a timer is running.
KIM writes, “According to the aspect of the present disclosure, the signaling overhead can be reduced
and the terminal battery can be saved through a method for switching (transitioning) between the RRC
connected mode, the RRC inactive mode (or lightly-connected mode), and the RRC idle mode based on
the timer” (paragraph 0017). KIM explains, “If scheduling information on a new packet is received on
the PDCCH for the on-duration time at 2j-05 (or at 2j-10), the UE starts a DRX inactivity timer at 2j-15.
The UE maintains in an active state for the DRX inactivity timer. That is, the UE continues
the PDCCH monitoring” (paragraph 0355). KIM indicates that switching (transitioning) between different
RRC modes is based on the time and that the UE continues to monitor a search space while the timer is
running.
Claims 1 and 5 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 11 and 15 that have
already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 11 and 15.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under the same rational as claims 11 and 15.
Claim(s) 2, 6-8, 12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of KANG et al. (US 20200092813 A1, hereinafter, "KANG").
Regarding claim 12, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON teach the UE of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to:
ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “monitor the PO upon determining that the specific indication is successfully detected in the first search space;” and “and skip monitoring the PO upon determining that the specific indication is not successfully detected in the first search space.”
However, in analogous art, KANG teaches monitor the PO upon determining that the specific
indication is successfully detected in the first search space;
KANG writes, “The monitoring of the at least one search space associated with the detected
[wake up signal (WUS)] may include not monitoring a search space not associated with the detected
WUS” (paragraph 0018). KANG indicates monitoring the search space with the detected WUS.
and skip monitoring the PO upon determining that the specific indication is not successfully
detected in the first search space.
KANG writes, “The monitoring of the at least one search space associated with the detected [wake up
signal (WUS)] may include not monitoring a search space not associated with the detected WUS”
(paragraph 0018). KANG indicates not monitoring the search space not associated with the detected
WUS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KANG for “monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a wireless communication system.” KHANG provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “The disclosure proposes a method for configuring the WUS and associated BS and UE operations. It may include a low power mode indicator configuration method (e.g.,
time/frequency/periodicity configuration method or BWP configuration method), physical layer channel
structure for transmitting the low power mode indicator (a sequence-based transmission method, or a
DCI-based transmission method), method for monitoring the low power mode indicator (activation/deactivation method, or UE-request-based activation method), a method for monitoring the
PDCCH when the UE detects the low power mode indicator, and a UL control channel and data channel
transmission method while the UE is monitoring the low power mode indicator” (paragraph 0145).
KHANG adds, "With the proposed WUS transmission method and the subsequent PDCCH monitoring
method performed by the UE, the UE may consume least power for PDCCH monitoring" (paragraph
0146).
Regarding claim 16, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON teach the UE of claim 11,
ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the specific indication indicates a UE group.”
However, in analogous art, KANG teaches wherein the specific indication indicates a UE group.
KANG writes, “The search spaces may be classified into common search spaces and UE-specific search
spaces. A certain group of UEs or all the UEs may check into a common search space of the PDCCH to
dynamically schedule the system information or receive common control information in the cell, such as
a paging message. For example, PDSCH scheduling allocation information for transmitting an SIB
including cell operator information or the like may be received by checking (detecting, or monitoring)
into the common search space of the PDCCH. For the common search space, a certain group of UEs or all
the UEs need to receive the PDCCH, so the common search space may be defined as a set of pre-
appointed CCEs. UE-specific PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling allocation information may be received by
checking into the UE-specific search space of the PDCCH. The UE-specific search space may be UE-
specifically defined as a function of various system parameters and an ID of the UE” (paragraph 0101).
KANG indicates that a certain group of UEs or all UEs may check into a common search space of the
PDCCH to dynamically schedule the system information or receive common control information in the
cell, such as a paging message. KANG explains, “PDSCH scheduling allocation information for
transmitting an SIB including cell operator information or the like may be received by checking
(detecting, or monitoring) into the common search space of the PDCCH. For the common search space, a
certain group of UEs or all the UEs need to receive the PDCCH, so the common search space may be
defined as a set of pre-appointed CCEs.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by KANG for “monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a wireless communication system.” KHANG provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “The disclosure proposes a method for configuring the WUS and associated BS and UE operations. It may include a low power mode indicator configuration method (e.g., time/frequency/periodicity configuration method or BWP configuration method), physical layer channel structure for transmitting the low power mode indicator (a sequence-based transmission method, or a DCI-based transmission method), method for monitoring the low power mode indicator (activation/deactivation method, or UE-request-based activation method), a method for monitoring the PDCCH when the UE detects the low power mode indicator, and a UL control channel and data channel transmission method while the UE is monitoring the low power mode indicator” (paragraph 0145). KHANG adds, "With the proposed WUS transmission method and the subsequent PDCCH monitoring method performed by the UE, the UE may consume least power for PDCCH monitoring" (paragraph 0146).
Regarding claim 17, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, MOON, and KANG teach the UE of claim 16,
Additionally, KANG teaches wherein determining whether to monitor the PO comprises
determining whether the UE is associated with the UE group.
KANG writes, “The search spaces may be classified into common search spaces and UE-specific search
spaces. A certain group of UEs or all the UEs may check into a common search space of the PDCCH to
dynamically schedule the system information or receive common control information in the cell, such as
a paging message. For example, PDSCH scheduling allocation information for transmitting an SIB
including cell operator information or the like may be received by checking (detecting, or monitoring)
into the common search space of the PDCCH. For the common search space, a certain group of UEs or all
the UEs need to receive the PDCCH, so the common search space may be defined as a set of pre-
appointed CCEs. UE-specific PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling allocation information may be received by
checking into the UE-specific search space of the PDCCH. The UE-specific search space may be UE-
specifically defined as a function of various system parameters and an ID of the UE” (paragraph 0101).
KANG indicates that a certain group of UEs or all UEs may check into a common search space of the
PDCCH to dynamically schedule the system information or receive common control information in the
cell, such as a paging message. KANG specifies that the UE-specific search space may be UE-specifically
defined as a function of various system parameters and an ID of the UE. Therefore, the UE is determined
to be associated with a group either by system parameter and/or an ID of the UE.
Regarding claim 18, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, MOON, and KANG teach the UE of claim 16,
Additionally, KANG teaches wherein the UE group is formed based on at least one of a UE
identifier (ID) or UE assistance information.
KANG writes, “The search spaces may be classified into common search spaces and UE-specific search
spaces. A certain group of UEs or all the UEs may check into a common search space of the PDCCH to
dynamically schedule the system information or receive common control information in the cell, such as
a paging message. For example, PDSCH scheduling allocation information for transmitting an SIB
including cell operator information or the like may be received by checking (detecting, or monitoring)
into the common search space of the PDCCH. For the common search space, a certain group of UEs or all
the UEs need to receive the PDCCH, so the common search space may be defined as a set of pre-
appointed CCEs. UE-specific PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling allocation information may be received by
checking into the UE-specific search space of the PDCCH. The UE-specific search space may be UE-
specifically defined as a function of various system parameters and an ID of the UE” (paragraph 0101).
KANG indicates the UEs included in the group of UEs are determined to be associated with a group
either by system parameter and/or an ID of the UE.
Claim 2, 6, 7, and 8 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 12, 16, 17, and 18
that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims
12, 16, 17, and 18. Claims 2, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under the same rational as claims 12, 16, 17, and
18.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of BHATTAD et al. (US 20180270756 A1, hereinafter, "BHATTAD").
Regarding claim 13, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON teach the UE of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to:
ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “monitor the PO if a value of the specific indication after detecting the specific indication is a first value;” and “and skip
monitoring the PO if the value of the specific indication after detecting the specific indication is a
second value.”
However, in analogous art, BHATTAD teaches monitor the PO if a value of the specific
indication after detecting the specific indication is a first value;
BHATTAD writes, “For example, a first value may indicate that the UE is to monitor only a first [control
channel search space (CCSS)] resource corresponding to the wakeup signal, a second value may indicate
that the UE is to monitor only a second CCSS resource corresponding to the wakeup signal, a third value
may indicate that the UE is to monitor both the first and second CCSS resources, a fourth value (or the
absence of a wakeup signal) may indicate that the UE is to skip monitoring of all corresponding CCSS
resources, and/or the like (paragraph 0127). BHATTAD indicates that the value may indicate that the UE
is to monitor only a certain CCSS resource corresponding to the wakeup signal.
and skip monitoring the PO if the value of the specific indication after detecting the specific
indication is a second value.
BHATTAD writes, “For example, a first value may indicate that the UE is to monitor only a first [control
channel search space (CCSS)] resource corresponding to the wakeup signal, a second value may indicate
that the UE is to monitor only a second CCSS resource corresponding to the wakeup signal, a third value
may indicate that the UE is to monitor both the first and second CCSS resources, a fourth value (or the
absence of a wakeup signal) may indicate that the UE is to skip monitoring of all corresponding CCSS
resources, and/or the like (paragraph 0127). BHATTAD specifies that certain values may indicate that the
UE is to skip monitoring of all CCSS resources, and/or the like.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON to include aspects of the techniques and apparatuses described by BHATTAD for “wireless communication, and more particularly to techniques and apparatuses for control channel monitoring using a wakeup signal.” BHATTAD provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “By using a wakeup signal resource that occurs a configurable number of subframes (or slots) before a corresponding CCSS resource, scheduling delay can be reduced. For example, a base station may be able to make scheduling decisions for communications closer in time to when the communications are actually sent, thereby improving utilization of network resources during scheduling” (paragraph 0122). BHATTAD also discloses "In some aspects, such mapping of UEs to wakeup signal groups may improve performance" (paragraph 0116).
Claim 3 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 13 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 13. Claim 3 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 13.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of WENG et al. (US 20120122495 A1, hereinafter, "WENG").
Regarding claim 14, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON teach the UE of claim 11,
ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the specific indication is detected before the PO.”
However, in analogous art, WENG teaches wherein the specific indication is detected before
the PO.
WENG writes, “The example method illustrated in the flowchart of FIG. 1A is based on a ‘positive’
indication from the network component that a potential page is present in the upcoming paging
occasion. That is, in accordance with FIG. 1A, the network component transmits the early paging
indicator to indicate that a mobile device should check for a page during the upcoming paging occasion”
(paragraph 0093). WENG indicates that based on ‘positive’ indication from the network component that
a potential page is present in the upcoming PO. WENG mentions that the network component transmits
the early paging indicator to indicate that a mobile device should check for a page during the upcoming
PO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON to include aspects of the method and system described by WENG for “reducing energy consumption of mobile devices using a phase-continuous early paging indicator (EPI).” WENG provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “Some potential benefits of this approach include: Backward compatibility with E-UTRA; The early paging indicator occasion and the normal paging occasion can happen at the same subframe; and Repeated EPI transmission can help UEs at the cell edge to detect the EPI...” (paragraph 0332-0335). WENG also adds, "...reduced total energy usage by a handheld UE, thereby increasing the battery life" (paragraph 0392).
Claim 4 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 14 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 14. Claim 4 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 14.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of JAIN et al. (US 20130301499 A1, hereinafter, "JAIN").
Regarding claim 19, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON teach the UE of claim 11,
ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the second configuration is received via one of system information and an RRC release message.”
However, in analogous art, JAIN teaches wherein the second configuration is received via one
of system information and an RRC release message.
JAIN writes, “The UE enters RRC Idle state 612 in a variety of ways, such as when RRC Connection
Release (illustrated by 616) is received from an eNodeB (such as eNodeB 110 or eNodeB 112). While
in RRC Idle state 612, the UE can perform various activities such as monitoring network paging activity,
and/or monitoring system information broadcasts” (paragraph 0042). JAIN indicates that the UE enters
RRC Idle state when RRC Connection Release is received, such as through receiving and RRC release
message, and that while in RRC Idle state, the UE can perform various activities such as monitoring
network paging activity, and/or monitoring system information broadcasts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON to include aspects of the method and apparatuses described by JAIN “...for reducing power consumption in UE in a wireless network...” JAIN provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “ECM Deep Idle state 520 and/or RRC Deep Idle state 522 reduce the circuitry powered up, the data stored, the processing load (e.g. procedures performed) or some combination thereof...” (paragraph 0039).
Claim 9 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 19 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 19. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 19.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of ZHOU et al. (US 20200154489 A1, hereinafter, "ZHOU").
Regarding claim 20, ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON teach the UE of claim 11, wherein:
ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “monitoring the PDCCH in the first search space comprises monitoring one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions in the first search space to detect the specific indication according to a number of Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) transmitted by the BS.”
However, in analogous art, ZHOU teaches monitoring the PDCCH in the first search space
comprises monitoring one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions in the first search space to detect the
specific indication according to a number of Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) transmitted by the
BS.
ZHOU writes, “The initial coreset described herein may be in an initial search space (e.g., a
common search space (CSS)), and, for connected state, if a type 0, type OA, or type 2 CSS is the
initial search space, the UE 115-a may monitor the CSS on the PDCCH monitoring occasions according to
an association with an SSB” (paragraph 0075). The association, ZHOU mentions, may include the number
of SSBs transmitted by the BS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of ISLAM, KIM, JUNG, and MOON to include aspects of the method and apparatuses described by ZHOU that “relates generally to wireless communications and more specifically to configuring transmission configuration indication (TCI) states on an initial control resource set (coreset).” ZHOU provides motivation for modification of the invention indicating, “The described techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support configuring transmission configuration indication (TCI) states on an initial control resource set (coreset). Generally, the described techniques provide for efficiently identifying spatial parameters for receiving control information in an initial coreset” (paragraph 0005).
Claim 10 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 20 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 20. Claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as claim 20.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 11/24/2025
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475