DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed June 11, 2026, which amends claims 4, 6, 8, 10, 18, and 20, cancels claims 5, 9, and 19, and adds claims 21-23. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-18, and 20-23 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed June 11, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 5, 9, 18, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (WO 2020/138867) as set forth in the Office action mailed March 11, 2026. The applicant cancels claims 5, 9, and 19 are canceled; therefore, the claims are no longer pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the Yoon does not teach the limitation regarding the overlapping of the fluorescence spectrum of the host and the dopant, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
The Office points out that this limitation is inherent to the mixture taught by Yoon. This limitation does not need to be specifically taught as long as the mixture contains this property. The compounds of Yoon are the same as the compounds specifically claimed by the applicant; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect compounds of Yoon would meet the applicant’s claimed limitation. The Office points out the applicant only specifically teaches two host materials and three dopant materials and the teachings from the applicant’s specification indicates that any mixture of these hosts and dopants would lead to the applicant’s claimed limitation. The applicant has not provided any evidence that the mixture of Yoon does not meet the applicant’s claimed limitation. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the energy matching conditions that need to be satisfied between the host material BH and the doped material BD, and they are also key technical means by which the material combination achieves efficient Forster energy transfer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (WO 2020/138867) (hereafter “Yoon”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-17, Yoon teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a blue light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [251]-[264]). Yoon teaches that the blue light emitting layer is composed of
and
, where that amount of
is 2% (paragraphs [78], [80], [110], [135], [251], and [264]).
is the same as taught and claimed by the applicant and
is the same as taught and claimed by the applicant. Both
and
are preferred compounds of the applicant and would meet the applicant’s claimed emission and absorption spectrum limitations. Yoon teaches the electroluminescent device can be used in a light apparatus comprising several pixels (plurality of electroluminescent devices) and the different pixels emits different color and one of the pixels can be the blue emitting device (paragraphs [5], [351], and [352], Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (WO 2020/138867) (hereafter “Yoon”) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-17 above, and further in view of Ikeda et al. (US 2012/0235561) (hereafter “Ikeda”).
Regarding claims 18 and 20-23, Yoon teaches that that the host material is an anthracene compound from the following formula,
,where R1 and R2 can be a C6-C30 aryl group, and L1 and L2 can be C6-C30 arylene group and Yoon teaches
as compound that meet the formula (paragraphs [73]-[80]).
Yoon does not specifically teach a host material that meets applicant’s claimed compound,
.
Ikeda teaches blue emitting electroluminescent devices, where the host material is an anthracene material (paragraphs [0041] and [0124]-[0138]). Ikeda specifically teaches that the host material can be
or
(paragraphs [0041] and [0137], Table 1). Ikeda teaches that when either of these compounds are used as the host material the device displays similar results (paragraph [0137], Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the anthracene host material of Yoon,
, with
as taught by Ikeda. Ikeda teaches that the two host materials can be substituted to each other and leads to devices with similar results; therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute the host materials for each other in the device of Yoon and one would expect the device to display similar results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759