DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on January 20, 2026 has been entered and considered and an action on the merits follows.
Specification
The proposed amendment filed on January 20, 2026 has been acknowledged and approved. The amendment sufficiently overcomes the disclosure informalities noted in the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 10, the limitation, “by spraying or nebulizing said aqueous solution over a period of time of less than 5 minutes before their entry into the press” is new matter. The original specification discloses, “the contact can be made by spraying or nebulizing said aqueous solution over a short period of time, in particular less than 5 minutes (see para. 59 of the specification”. This statement implied that the spraying of aqueous solution is less than 5 minutes, not less than 5 minutes before their entry into the press. Therefore, this limitation constitutes new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5 and 17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yongxia et al. (hereinafter "Yongxia") (CN 102746943 A).
Regarding claim 5, Yongxia discloses a de-oiled cake of seeds, wherein the cake comprising at most 17% of oil (see para. 32, lines 2-3, which discloses the residual oil of soybean cake is 7%), the percentages being expressed in mass in relation to a total dry mass of the cake.
Regarding claim 17, de-oiled cake of seeds according to claim 5, wherein said cake comprises at most 13% of oil (see para. 32, lines 2-3 of the English translation, which discloses the residual oil of soybean cake is 7%).
As to the de-oiled cake of seeds is obtained by the method according to claim 1, the claims are product by process claims, and the process limitations are not given a significant weight in the determination of the patentability. The process limitations are intended use recitation which do not differentiate the limitations from a prior art. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Response to Arguments
In Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2026, Applicant argued that Yongxia does not teach or suggest “wherein said aqueous solution is brought into contact with said seeds or fruits to be pressed, by spraying or nebulizing said aqueous solution over a period of time of less than 5 minutes before their entry into the press” as amended in claim 1. This argument has been fully considered. However, as set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above, the original disclosure does not provide support for this limitation. Therefore, it is unclear how one would perform the extraction process based on this claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725