DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE102020114066.5, filed on 05/26/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oruc (US20210384529A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Oruc discloses a bipolar plate 2 [pars. 0090-103; Fig. 2-3,6-14] comprising:
an inlet port (through-opening 11a);
an outlet port (through-opening 11d);
at least one flow field 17,20,20’ having a plurality of ducts (structures 21, 15,18,19,20,20’) connecting the inlet port to the outlet port; and
at least one bypass duct (bead interior 22 formed by perimeter bead 12e) at a side of the at least one flow field, wherein a flow resistance in the at least one bypass duct is determined by a design of the at least one bypass duct, and wherein a blocking element does not project into a cross section of the at least one bypass duct (i.e., Oruc does not disclose any blocking element projected into the cross section of the bead interior).
Regarding Claim 2, Oruc discloses wherein the at least one flow field includes a plurality of flow fields (e.g., flow field 17, distribution region 20, collection region 20’), wherein the at least one bypass duct includes a plurality of bypass ducts (top and bottom ducts as shown in Figs. 3,6-16), and wherein a respective bypass duct is provided on each of opposing sides of each of the flow fields [Figs. 3,6-14].
Regarding Claim 3, Oruc discloses wherein the at least one bypass duct repeatedly changes in direction between the inlet port and the outlet port [best seen in Figs. 13-14].
Regarding Claim 4, Oruc discloses wherein the changes in direction take place in a regularly distributed manner between the inlet port and the outlet port, and wherein a shape of the at least one bypass duct has a double serpentine profile (i.e., profile has two wavy sections – not shown) [par. 0097; Figs. 13-14]
Regarding Claim 5, Oruc discloses wherein a shape of a profile of the cross section of the at least one bypass duct is semicircular (e.g., one wave down, one wave up) [Figs. 13-14].
Regarding Claim 6, Oruc discloses wherein sides of the profile of the cross section of the at least one bypass duct are rounded [par. 0097].
Regarding Claim 8, Oruc discloses wherein the at least one bypass duct between the inlet port and the outlet port has at least one branch [par. 0101].
Regarding Claim 9, Oruc discloses wherein a beginning of the at least one bypass duct is formed by a branch from a side duct of the at least one flow field [Fig. 3,10].
Regarding Claim 10, Oruc discloses wherein a beginning of the at least one bypass duct is formed in a distribution area of the inlet port, upstream of the at least one flow field [Figs. 3,6-12].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oruc, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugiura (US20060110650A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Oruc fails to disclose wherein a surface in the at least one bypass duct is roughened. However, Sugiura, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a separator plate 102 including a bypass duct 104 at a side of a flow field (not shown), wherein the flow groove surface 104a of the bypass duct undergoes a hydrophilic treatment such as chlorination treatment or plasma treatment, which necessarily roughens the duct surface, for the purpose of improving performance of discharging water [Sugiura – pars. 0053,0079,0083; Figs. 7-8]. Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have employed the teachings of Sugiura to have modified the bipolar plate of Oruc, wherein a surface in the at least one bypass duct is roughened for the purpose of improving performance of discharging water.
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751