DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on March 24, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 1 and 13 have unity of invention as claim 13 is prepared by the method according to claim 1. Applicant further argues that is no serious search and/or examination burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive for the same reasons provided in the previous action, because Groups I-II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require technical feature of mixing a metal/metal oxide, oxidant, water, complexing agent to a crystallization reaction equal to or greater than 200 µS/cm and ORP less than 100mv, complexing agent concentration, conducting magnetic separation to obtain a magnetic particles slurry, conducting separation to obtain solid particle and filtrate, washing and drying to obtain the precursor, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of CN109860530 in view of CN104505493 in view of CN108265178. CN109860530 teaches mixing an iron salt, titanium salt, phosphorus salt, niobium salt, precipitant comprising ammonia or urea, oxidant comprising hydrogen peroxide, stirring, conductivity of solution less than or equal to 200µm/cm, filtering and drying to form precursor (Paragraphs 17-36). CN109860530 fails to teach the precipitant concentration, metal or magnetic separation. CN104505493 teaches forming a lithium cathode precursor material comprising a metal including nickel, cobalt, manganese, aluminum, zirconium, magnesium (Claims). CN 108265178 teaches adding cobalt, nickel and urea solution, stirring, washing drying and sieving and magnetic separation to obtain a precursor used for electrode material (Claims). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provide the metal and magnetic separation in view of CN109860530 and CN104505493 in order to effectively separate the precursor compound for forming an electrode material. It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to optimize the amount of the precipitant in the reaction for forming the precursor material. There would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because (a) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and (b) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 is dependent on claim 1, which is a withdrawn claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 is dependent on claim 14, which is a withdrawn claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (CN109473667).
Regarding claims 13, 18 and 20, Song et al teaches a nickel cobalt aluminum hydroxide precursor for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract). Song et al further teaches a porous spherical particle precursor, beneficial for rapid and sufficient diffusion of lithium into the precursor (Paragraph 15). Song et al further teaches loose particles and uniform particle distribution (Figures 4-7). Song et al further teaches forming the precursor by mixing metals with oxidants, water and complexing agents comprising 2mol/l of ammonia (about 34g/L); forming a slurry and then performing solid-liquid separation and washing and drying (Example 2). Song et al further teaches sieving to obtain the hydroxide precursor material particle size (Paragraph 50). Song et al further teaches the average particle size corresponding to a particle size distribution of 50% is 3-19µm, which can be adjusted (Paragraph 16). Song et al further teaches mixing the spherical precursor material with lithium to form a positive electrode material for lithium-ion batteries (Paragraph 59). However, Song et al fails to specifically disclose the method of the making the precursor of the instant claims and recite uniform particle distribution.
With regard to the method of making the precursor, any difference imparted by the product by process limitations would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because where the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to the applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct, not the examiner to show the same process of making, see In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685 and In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324.
With regard to uniform particle distribution, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided uniform particle distribution as Song et al teaches the precursor particles having a uniform particle distribution in the figures 4-7. Furthermore, Song et al teaches sieving the particles to obtain the precursor particle size, wherein the average particle size corresponding to a particle size distribution of 50% is 3-19µm, which can be adjusted; hence, it would only be obvious to the ordinary artisan to sieve the obtained precursor particles to a uniform particle size distribution.
Conclusion
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 April 14, 2026