Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 22, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the
application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding independent claims 1, 14, 17, and 18, the original disclosure does not discuss a server that periodically assigns a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product. Therefore, this limitation is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 13 and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Regarding independent claim 1, the claim recites as a whole a method of organizing human activity including commercial or legal interactions because the claims recite a method that includes in response to an input from the user in relation to a product being present at a store, obtaining product information and expiration information related to an expiration date of a product from the product, transmitting the product information and the expiration information, showing information containing an offered price of the product, determining the offered price of the product based on the product information and the expiration information, providing information that contains the offered price of the product, among one or a plurality of products present at the store, each corresponding to identical product information to the product information obtained, identifying a price-reduction product whose expiration date is closer than the expiration date of the product that is transmitted; notifying of information related to the identified price-reduction product, and showing information about the reduced price that is associated with a markdown indication code of the identified price-reduction product, a position of the identified price-reduction product, and a quantity of the identified price-reduction product, as the information related to the identified price-reduction product, which has been obtained; and wherein the markdown indication code is based on the expiration date of each of the plurality of products and is printed on a label attached to the price-reduction product and displayed on a display device at the store, the markdown indication code comprising at least one of a symbol, a sign, a mark, an emblem, and a pattern wherein the server periodically assigns a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product. The mere nominal recitation of a user terminal, a server, a processor, a display, and a price determination unit does not take the claims out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of obtaining, showing, determining, providing, identifying, notifying, transmitting, and showing in a computer environment. The claimed user terminal, server, processor, display, and price determination unit are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of obtaining, showing, determining, providing, and identifying, notifying, transmitting, and showing in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claims 2-13 and 19 are directed to substantially the same abstract idea as claim 1 and are rejected for substantially the same reasons. Claim 2 further narrows the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining updating the target route. Claims 2, 4, and 11 further narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining information related to the user, association of the user with a category, and user code information. Claim 3 further narrows the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining
determining the offered price of the product. Claims 5 and 8 further narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining showing pricing information and an operation target. Claim 6 further narrows the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining determining and showing an application start time. Claim 7 further narrows the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining printing markdown labels. Claims 9 and 12 further narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining performing a payment process for the product. Claim 10 further narrows the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining obtaining expiration information. Claim 13 further narrows the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining storing, notifying and showing product information. These limitations are all directed to a method of organizing human activity including commercial or legal interactions. Thus, claims 2-13 and 19 are directed to substantially the same abstract idea as claim 1 and do not add any additional elements to evaluate at Steps 2A prong two or 2B. Therefore, claims 2-13 and 19 describe neither a practical application of nor significantly more than the abstract idea.
Regarding independent claim 17, the claim recites as a whole a method of organizing human activity including commercial or legal interactions because the claims recite a method that includes in response to an input from the user in relation to a product being present at a store, obtaining product information and expiration information related to an expiration date of the product from the product, acquiring the product information and the expiration information obtained, determining an offered price of the product based on at least one of the product information and the expiration information acquired, providing information that contains the determined offered price of the product, and showing information containing the offered price of the product acquired, among one or a plurality of products present at the store, each corresponding to identical product information to the product information obtained, identifying a price-reduction product whose expiration date is closer than the expiration date of the product that is transmitted; notifying the user terminal of information related to the identified price-reduction product, and showing information about the reduced price that is associated with a markdown indication code of the identified price-reduction product, a position of the identified price-reduction product, and a quantity of the identified price-reduction product, as the information related to the identified price-reduction product, which has been obtained; and wherein the markdown indication code is based on the expiration date of each of the plurality of products and is printed on a label attached to the price-reduction product and displayed on a display device at the store, the markdown indication code comprising at least one of a symbol, a sign, a mark, an emblem, and a pattern; and wherein the server periodically assigns a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product. The mere nominal recitation of a user terminal, a server, and a display does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of obtaining, acquiring, determining, providing, showing, identifying, notifying, and showing in a computer environment. The claimed user terminal, server, and display are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of obtaining, acquiring, determining, providing, showing, identifying, notifying, and showing in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Regarding independent claim 18, the claim recites as a whole a method of organizing human activity including commercial or legal interactions because the claims recite a method that includes in response to an input from the user in relation to a product being present at a store, obtaining product information and expiration information related to an expiration date of the product from the product; providing the obtained product information and expiration information of the product, providing information containing an offered price of the product; receiving information that contains the offered price of the product, the offered price of the product being based on at least one of the product information and the expiration information acquired, showing the information containing the offered price, which is acquired, wherein, among one or a plurality of products present at the store, each corresponding to identical product information to the product information obtained, identifying a price-reduction product whose expiration date is closer than the expiration date of a reduced price lower than the offered price of the product that is transmitted; and showing information about the reduced price that is associated with a markdown indication code of the identified price-reduction product, a position of the identified price-reduction product, and a quantity of the identified price-reduction product, which has been obtained; and wherein the markdown indication code is based on the expiration date of each of the plurality of products and is printed on a label attached to the price-reduction product and displayed in a display device at the store, the markdown indication code comprising at least one of a symbol, a sign, a mark, an emblem, and a pattern; and wherein the server periodically assigns a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product. The mere nominal recitation of a user terminal, a server, and a display does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of obtaining, providing, providing, receiving, showing, identifying, and showing in a computer environment. The claimed user terminal, server, and display are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of obtaining, providing, providing, receiving, showing, identifying, and showing in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlert US20150317667 in view of Oyama US 20190102973, Veit US 8051015, and Tsutomu JP2000011264.
Regarding Claim 1, Wohlert discloses an information processing system comprising: a user terminal carried by a user; and a server being capable of communicating with the user terminal ([0026] “the mobile device 190 may run a shopping experience application, or “local application”, which enables the mobile device 190 to interact with an application server (AS) (e.g., any one or more of AS 120, AS 125 and AS 127) for receiving a notification of a discount price for an item”),
wherein: the user terminal comprises a processor configured to: in response to an input from the user in relation to a product being present at a store, obtain product information and expiration information related to an expiration date of a product from the product, and cause a display to show information containing an offered price of the product, which is acquired from the server ([0014] “the system sends a message (broadly a notification) to a consumer that indicates the discounted price and/or the amount of the discount, and the “reason” for such pricing, e.g., “ABC brand of bread is available for $.50/loaf with expiration date of today only”, or “ABC brand of cereal is available for $1.00/box with expiration date of one week from today”, and the like. This is in contrast to general discounts which provide no information related to the expiration date of the offered goods and which may in fact have no relation to the expiration date,” [0035] For mobile device 240 (having the local application installed and running thereon), the customer may enter a username and/or password or otherwise activate a shopping experience application on mobile device 240 prior to or after entering the store 220. The application may then attempt to communicate with application server 210 via wireless communication point 230. In one example, the mobile device 240 may send the communication using short-range wireless communication such as Bluetooth, BLE, ZigBee and the like, depending upon the nature of wireless communication point 230. In this regard, it should be noted that, the wireless communication point 230 may be the same or substantially similar to one or more of the wireless communication points 155 in FIG. 1, e.g., a BLE beacon, a WLAN access point, etc.” Claim 14 “A method for receiving a notification of a discount price for an item, comprising: notifying, by a processor of a mobile device, an application server associated with a store of a presence of the mobile device; receiving, by the processor, the notification comprising an identification of the item, the discount price for the item, an expiration date for the item and information associated with a location of the item within the store; and presenting, by the processor on a display of the mobile device, the identification of the item, the discount price for the item, the expiration date for the item and the information associated with the location of the item within the store”),
transmit the product information and the expiration information to the server ([0020] an augmented reality feature where a customer's mobile device may be directed at a product and the customer's mobile device may capture product identifying information such as image data, barcode information, quick response (QR) code information, RFID tag information, BLE tag information and so forth. The mobile device may upload this information to the application server. [0039] The communication from application server 210 may include an identification of the item, a discount price for the item, an expiration date for the item and/or information associated with a current location of the item within the store),
the server comprises a processor configured to: determine the offered price of the product based on the product information and the expiration information acquired from the user terminal, and provide information that contains the offered price of the product determined by the processor of the server, to the user terminal ([0020] “the application server may match the product identifying information to a specific product, determine a price for the item, which may comprise a discount
price based upon an approaching expiration date, and convey information pertaining to the price (e.g., an original price, a discounted price, a reason for the discount, such as the approaching expiration date, and so forth) back to the mobile device, e.g., via BLE from one or more communication points in the store,” [0017] “An illustrative algorithm for calculating a current discounted price is given as follows …” [0033] “AS [Application Server] 120, 125 and/or 127 may calculate discount prices for one or more items based upon approaching expiration dates using aspects of historical data supplied from one or more sources, “local” data regarding inventory and expiration date(s), or a hybrid approach combining both aspects to determine the dynamic pricing of various item being sold by a merchant”),
wherein the processor of the server is configured to: among one or a plurality of products present at the store, each corresponding to identical product information to the product information obtained by the processor of the user terminal, identify a price-reduction product; and notify the user terminal of information related to the identified price-reduction product, and wherein the processor of the user terminal is configured to cause the display to show information about the reduced price that is associated with a markdown indication code of the identified price-reduction product, a position of the identified price-reduction product, as the information related to the identified price-reduction product, which has been obtained from the server, wherein the markdown indication code is based on the expiration date of each of the plurality of products and is printed on a label attached to the price-reduction product and displayed on a display device at the store, the markdown indication code comprising at least one of a symbol, a sign, a mark, an emblem, and a pattern ([0002] a half-price sticker on the item or updating a display price on a shelf. [0020] the application server may match the product identifying information to a specific product, determine a price for the item, which may comprise a discount price based upon an approaching expiration date, and convey information pertaining to the price (e.g., an original price, a discounted price, a reason for the discount, such as the approaching expiration date, and so forth) back to the mobile device, e.g., via BLE from one or more communication points in the store. The user's mobile device may then overlay the product price on the image presented on the device's screen/display. The price can be visually emphasized in a variety of ways (e.g., highlighted, animated, presented in a three-dimensional representation, etc.). [0021] the mobile device may present a larger view of one or more potentially attractive price reduced items. For example, a user could stand at the head of an aisle in a supermarket, and view the aisle through the mobile device's display. Items that may be of interest, with dynamically reduced prices for example, may then be indicated, e.g., via an overlay on the view of the aisle being presented on the screen. For example, the price may be presented in a highlighted manner, e.g., animated, “floating” in space near the product, etc. The product itself could be highlighted. In one example, the information may be color-coded to reflect the amount of the price reduction).
Wohlert does not explicitly teach, however Oyama teaches a product whose expiration date is closer than the expiration date of the product that is transmitted from the user terminal to the server ([0018] According to the configuration mentioned above, since the second item icons are orderly arranged on the second item display screen 23 in the order of the expiration dates, the user can easily know the item having the shortest expiration date. [0023] a process of displaying the second item icon with the shortest expiration date in the possessed items corresponding to the designated first item icon in a screen of the display when switching from the first item display screen to the second item display screen. [0082] when the information processor 1 displays the first item display screen 22 or the second item display screen 23, the data is requested from the server 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the information processing method of Wohlert, the process of identifying a product whose expiration date is closer than the expiration date of the product that is transmitted from the user terminal to the server as taught by Oyama since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination is predictable. Such a combination would yield the predictable result of an information processing method where a product is identified whose expiration date is closer than the expiration date of the product that is transmitted from the user terminal to the server.
Wohlert does not explicitly teach, however Veit teaches show a quantity of the identified price-reduction product (Claim 8 a display configured to display a first data group and a second data group, the first data group including a budget, an original price, a final price, and a product quantity, the second data group including at least one of a gross price, a reference to the type of article, a fashion type of the article, a delta budget, a percentage of markdown profile, and a general material of the article; and a memory configured to store an adjusted price).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the process of displaying a quantity of the identified price-reduction product as taught in Veit with the reduced price sales method of Wohlert because such a combination enables “implementing a price planning schedule in conjunction with a corresponding budget enables cost control for any price reductions” (Veit Col. 5:6-15).
Wohlert does not explicitly teach, however Tsutomu teaches wherein the server periodically assigns a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product (p. 9 The discount conditions (thresholds) are the elapsed time after the production date (time expression), the number of hours before the store closing time (time expression), the number of remaining items (number expression) for the same product, the time interval The time zone (time expression) of the service (service that discounts only during that time), simultaneous discount information (situation, for example, umbrella on a rainy day), a discount rate (a discount rate or a discount amount), and the like. Further, with respect to the elapsed time after the production date, the discount rate may be changed every time the time elapses. For example, the discount may be set such as 1 discount when 1 hour has elapsed and 2 discounts when 2 hours have elapsed. Further, regarding the remaining number of the same product, if the remaining number is large, a method of increasing the discount rate or the like is also possible).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the information processing method of Wohlert, the process of periodically assigning a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product as taught by Tsutomu since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination is predictable. Such a combination would yield the predictable result of an information processing method where a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code is periodically assigning depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Wohlert, Oyama, Veit, and Tsutomu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Wohlert further discloses wherein: the processor of the user terminal is configured to obtain information related to the user ([0026] “mobile device 190 may comprise any endpoint device configured for wireless communication such as a personal computer, a laptop computer, a Wi-Fi device, a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), a mobile phone, a smartphone, an email device, a computing tablet, a messaging device, and the like. In one embodiment, mobile device 190 may have both cellular and non-cellular access capabilities and may further have wired communication/networking capabilities. In addition, in accordance with the present disclosure, the mobile device 190 may run a shopping experience application, or ‘local application’, which enables the mobile device 190 to interact with an application server (AS) (e.g., any one or more of AS 120, AS 125 and AS 127) for receiving a notification of a discount price for an item. In one example, the local application also provides the mobile device 190 with the ability to, inter alia: communicate an electronic shopping list to the application server, provide location information of the mobile device 190
[information related to the user] to the application server and/or receive location information of the mobile device 190 from the application server, receive location information of one or more discounted items from the application server, display a store map, and provide an augmented reality display on the mobile device 190 for assisting the customer (i.e., the user of the mobile device) in locating a discounted item. In one embodiment, the customer logs-in via the local application on the mobile device 190 which allows the customer/mobile device 190 to interact with the application server” (emphasis added), [0020] “the customer's mobile device may capture product identifying information such as image data, barcode information, quick response (QR) code information, RFID tag information, BLE tag information and so forth. The mobile device may upload this information to the application server for analysis” (emphasis added)), and
the processor of the server is configured to determine the offered price of the product based on the product information, the expiration information, and the information related to the user ([0016] “dynamic pricing of a product can vary on a regional basis, e.g., by county, state, locality, etc.” [0020] “the application server may match the product identifying information to a specific product, determine a price for the item, which may comprise a discount price based upon an approaching expiration date, and convey information pertaining to the price (e.g., an original price, a discounted
price, a reason for the discount, such as the approaching expiration date, and so forth) back to the mobile device, e.g., via BLE from one or more communication points in the store,” [0050] “as each customer walks into a store at successively later times, the method may recalculate a discount price. Thus, it is possible that each customer will be quoted a different discounted price depending upon the actual time in which the customer arrives at the store”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Wohlert, Oyama, Veit, and Tsutomu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Wohlert does not explicitly disclose, however Tsutomu teaches wherein the processor of the server is configured to determine the offered price of the product based on the product information and closing time of a store that sells the product (p. 11 “The discount amount is calculated based on a threshold (product management information) that is a predetermined time before the store closing time for the corresponding product, and the discount
amount and the product name are displayed on the display device 3 in association with each other,” p. 22 “A discount amount is calculated for a corresponding product based on a threshold (product management information) conditioned on a predetermined time before the store closing time, and the discount amount is associated with a product name in a display device”).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the process of determine the price of the product in Wohlert with the process of determine the price of the product in Tsutomu. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results). Such a simple substitution would yield the predictable result of a method including determining the price of the product based on the product information and closing time of a store that sells the product.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Wohlert, Oyama, Veit, and Tsutomu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Wohlert further discloses wherein the processor of the user terminal is configured to cause the display to show information indicating a standard price of the product or information indicating a rate of change of the offered price from the standard price of the product (FIG. 2B).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Wohlert, Oyama, Veit, and Tsutomu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Wohlert does not explicitly disclose, however Tsutomu teaches wherein: the processor of the server is configured to determine an application start time when the offered price of the product is applied, based on the closing time of the store that sells the product and on a quantity of stock of the product, and the processor of the user terminal is configured to cause the display to show information indicating the application start time of the offered price of the product (p. 9, para. 5 “The discount conditions (thresholds) are the elapsed time after the production date (time expression), the number of hours before the store closing time (time expression), the number of remaining items (number expression) for the same product, the time interval The time zone (time expression) of the service (service that discounts only during that time), simultaneous discount information (situation, for example, umbrella on a rainy day), a discount rate (a discount rate or a discount amount), and the like,” p. 10, para. 3 “the current date and time and the discount condition (time information) of the product management information are compared. If the elapsed time after the production date satisfies the discount condition, or if the current time satisfies the condition that the current time is a predetermined time before the store closing time (step S3), the condition is satisfied. Is used as a trigger for product guidance, the display data of the display device 3 is processed, and the display screen is updated (step S4),” pp. 10-11 “When the current time satisfies the condition that the current time is a predetermined time before the store closing time, the corresponding product is discounted at that time, and data indicating the discount is added to the product management information on the product … The discount amount is calculated based on a threshold (product management information) that is a predetermined time before the store closing time for the corresponding product, and the discount amount and the product name are displayed on the display device 3 in association with each other” (please see claim 1 rejection for combination rationale)).
Regarding Claim 14, Wohlert discloses an information processing system comprising: a display device disposed in a store that sells a product; and a server being capable of communicating with the display device ([0013] “when a consumer enters a store (broadly a commercial establishment where goods or products are sold), such as a supermarket, an application server associated with the store and having information pertaining to the dynamic pricing of various products may communicate such pricing information dynamically to a mobile device of the customer,” [0026] “the local application also provides the mobile device 190 with the ability to, inter alia: communicate an electronic shopping list to the application server, provide location information of the mobile device 190 to the application server
and/or receive location information of the mobile device 190 from the application server, receive location information of one or more discounted items from the application server, display a store map, and provide an augmented reality display on the mobile device 190 for assisting the customer (i.e., the user of the mobile device) in locating a discounted item. In one embodiment, the customer logs-in via the local application on the mobile device 190 which allows the customer/mobile device 190 to interact with the application server”),
wherein: the product is attached with one of a plurality of different pieces of markdown indication information indicating a price-reduction target product, each piece of markdown indication information being preset to each product depending on the expiration information for the corresponding product, among the plurality of different pieces of markdown indication information,
the server comprises a processor configured to: determine, among the plurality of different pieces of markdown indication information, one or more pieces of markdown indication information to be attached to a product whose price is reduced from a standard price, from among the plurality of different pieces of markdown indication information ([0017] “the optimal price of an item at a given time may change based upon more ‘local’ data. For instance, the system may implement an algorithm-based approach to determine a merchant's current level of inventory of an item, and accounting for the expiration date(s) of the items in stock, the system may adjust the current price and forecast optimal
prices at a number of future times,” [0019] “the system may use a hybrid approach combing aspects of historical data supplied from one or more sources with “local” data regarding inventory and expiration date(s) to determine the dynamic pricing of various item being sold by a merchant. For example, the system may maintain a set of recommended price points for an item at various times prior to the expiration date, where the system may deviate from the recommended price points depending upon the inventory level of the store, and a current sales trend, e.g., based upon a number of sales in a recent time period and the like,” [0049] “the method 300 calculates a discount price for the at least one item based upon the expiration date. For example, as described above price points may be determined as a function of an item's expiry time and a sales probability at a given price point”),” and
cause the display device to show the one or more pieces of markdown indication information that has been determined, wherein the markdown indication code is based on the expiration date of
each of the plurality of products and is printed on a label attached to the price-reduction product and displayed on the display device at the store, the markdown indication code comprising at least one of a symbol, a sign, a mark, an emblem, and a pattern ([0002] a half-price sticker on the item or updating a display price on a shelf. [0020] the application server may match the product identifying information to a specific product, determine a price for the item, which may comprise a discount price based upon an approaching expiration date, and convey information pertaining to the price (e.g., an original price, a discounted price, a reason for the discount, such as the approaching expiration date, and so forth) back to the mobile device, e.g., via BLE from one or more communication points in the store. The user's
mobile device may then overlay the product price on the image presented on the device's screen/display. The price can be visually emphasized in a variety of ways (e.g., highlighted, animated, presented in a three-dimensional representation, etc.).
Wohlert does not explicitly teach, however Tsutomu teaches wherein the server periodically assigns a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product (p. 9 The discount conditions (thresholds) are the elapsed time after the production date (time expression), the number of hours before the store closing time (time expression), the number of remaining items (number expression) for the same product, the time interval The time zone (time expression) of the service (service that discounts only during that time), simultaneous discount information (situation, for example, umbrella on a rainy day), a discount rate (a discount rate or a discount amount), and the like. Further, with respect to the elapsed time after the production date, the discount rate may be changed every time the time elapses. For example, the discount may be set such as 1 discount when 1 hour has elapsed and 2 discounts when 2 hours have elapsed. Further, regarding the remaining number of the same product, if the remaining number is large, a method of increasing the discount rate or the like is also possible).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the information processing method of Wohlert, the process of periodically assigning a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product as taught by Tsutomu since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination is predictable. Such a combination would yield the predictable result of an information processing method where a different reduction to the offered price of each price-reduction product that is associated with each markdown indication code is periodically assigning depending on a proximity of the expiration date of the associated price-reduction product.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Wohlert and Tsutomu teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above. Wohlert further discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the display device to show two or more different pieces of markdown indication information, which are respectively associated with one of a plurality of pieces of information indicating different degrees of price reduction ([0017] “the system may implement an algorithm-based approach to determine a merchant's current level of inventory of an item, and accounting for the expiration date(s) of the items in stock, the system may adjust the current price and forecast optimal prices at a number of future times,” [0049] “the method 300 calculates a discount price for the at least one item based upon the expiration date. For example, as described above price points may be determined as a function of an item's expiry time and a sales probability at a given price point. In one example, the sales probability is based upon historical sales rates observed at various times prior to a product's expiration and at various offered prices,” FIG. 2B “$1.99 (DISCOUNTED 45%”).
Regarding Claim 16, Wohlert discloses all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above. Wohlert further discloses further comprising a user terminal carried by a user and being capable of communicating with the server, the user terminal comprising a processor configured to cause a display to show the one or more pieces of markdown indication information provided from the server ([0026] “the local application also provides the mobile device 190 with the ability to, inter alia: communicate an electronic shopping list to the application server, provide location information of the mobile device 190 to the application server and/or receive location information of the mobile device 190 from the application server, receive location information of one or more discounted items from the application server, display a store map, and provide an augmented reality display on the mobile device 190 for assisting the customer (i.e., the user of the mobile device) in locating a discounted item. In one embodiment, the customer logs-in via the local application on the mobile device 190 which allows the customer/mobile device 190 to interact with the application server”).
Regarding Claim 17, Wohlert discloses an information processing method that is performed between a user terminal carried by a user and a server being capable of communicating with the user terminal, the method comprising: in response to an input from the user in relation to a product being present at a store, obtaining, by the user terminal, product information and expiration information related to an expiration date of the product from the product ([0020] “the present disclosure includes an augmented reality feature where a customer's mobile device may be directed at a product and the customer's mobile device may capture product identifying information such as image data, barcode information, quick response (QR) code information, RFID tag information, BLE tag information and so forth. The mobile device may upload this information to the application server for analysis, e.g., via BLE through one or more communication points in the store. For example, the application server may match the product identifying information to a specific product, determine a price for the item, which may comprise a discount price based upon an approaching expiration date, and convey information pertaining to the price (e.g., an original price, a discounted price, a reason for the discount, such as the approaching expiration date, and so forth) back to the mobile device, e.g., via BLE from one or more communication points in the store”),
acquiring, by the server, the product information and the expiration information obtained by the user terminal, determining, by the server, an offered price of the product based on at least one of the product information and the expiration information acquired from the user terminal ([0017] “An illustrative algorithm for calculating a current discounted price is given as follows …” [0033] “AS
[Application Server] 120, 125 and/or 127 may calculate discount prices for one or more items based upon approaching expiration dates using aspects of historical data supplied from one or more sources, “local” data regarding inventory and expiration date(s), or a hybrid approach combining both aspects to determine the dynamic pricing of various item being sold by a merchant”),
providing, by the server, information that contains the determined offered price of the product, to the user terminal, and causing, by the user terminal, a display to show information containing the offered price of the product acquired from the server ([0014] “the system sends a message (broadly a notification) to a consumer that indicates the discounted price and/or the amount of the discount, and the “reason” for such pricing, e.g., “ABC brand of bread is available for $.50/loaf with expiration date of today only”, or “ABC brand of cereal is available for $1.00/box with expiration
date of one week from today”, and the like. This is in contrast to general discounts which provide no information related to the expiration date of the offered goods and which may in fact have no relation to the expiration date,” [0020] “The user's mobile device may then overlay the product price on the image presented on the device's screen/display. The price can be visually emphasized in a variety of ways (e.g., highlighted, animated, presented in a three-dimensional representation, etc.)”),
wherein the server is configured to: among one or a plurality of products present at the store, each corresponding to identical product information to the product information obtained by the processor of the user terminal, identify a price-reduction product; and notify the user terminal of information related to the identified price-reduction product, and wherein the processor of the user terminal is configured to cause the display to show information about the reduced price that is associated with a markdown indication code of the identified price-reduction product, a position of the identified price-reduction product, as the information related to the identified price-reduction product, which has been obtained from the server, wherein the markdown indication code is printed on a label attached to the price-reduction product or displayed on a display device at the store, and the markdown indication code is formed with at least one of a symbol, a sign, a mark, an emblem, and a pattern ([0002] a half-price sticker on the item or updating a display price on a shelf. [0021] the mobile device may present a larger view of one or more potentially attractive price reduced items. For example, a user could stand at the head of an aisle in a supermarket, and view the aisle through the mobile device's display. Items that may be of interest, with dynamically reduced prices f