DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks, filed August 18, 2026. The amendment, filed August 18, 2026, is acknowledged, wherein claim 1 is amended and claims 2 – 3 are canceled.
Claims 1 and 4 – 11 are pending in this application and are currently examined.
Priority
This application is a national stage application of PCT/JP2021/020523, filed May 28, 2021, which claims benefit of foreign priority document JP2020-094792, filed May 29, 2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application is pertinent only when interference arises.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1 and 4 – 11 in the previous Office Action, dated May 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Castle has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 1.
The following are modified grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment, filed August 18, 2026, wherein claim 1 is amended.
New Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6, “wherein” should be inserted immediately before “the solid acid catalyst”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1 and 4 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castle (University of York Chemistry, 2016, page 1 – 195, cited in the PTO-892 on May 18, 2026) in view of Toda et al. (EP0734762A1, cited in the PTO-892 on June 11, 2025).
Castle teaches the synthesis of APGs from levoglucosan:
,
wherein R may be C8H17 or C10H21 (page 149, Scheme 71). Thus, Castle teaches the synthesis of APGs reads on the limitations “a method of producing an aliphatic glycoside compound”, “a step of subjecting an intramolecularly dehydrated sugar and an alcohol” to “an addition reaction”, “in the presence of an acid catalyst”, and “the number of carbon atoms constituting the alcohol compound is 2 to 22” of claim 1 as well as “the alcohol compound is 4 to 22” of claim 7 and “saturated aliphatic hydrocarbon” of claim 8. The zeolite used is a solid acid catalysts (page 30, para. 3). Castle explicitly demonstrates the general method for catalyst trials, wherein levoglucosan, alcohol, and catalyst are charged to the same microwave tube and then heated (page 159, para. 2). Thus, the disclosure reads on the limitations of claim 9. Levoglucosan is an anhydrosugar of glucose with a cyclic acetal between carbons 1 and 6. Levoglucosan is synthesized from cellulose degradation reactions (page 41, para. 2). Thus, the disclosure corresponds to the limitations of claims 4 – 6. Castle further teaches that solid acid catalysts include zeolites, clays, zirconias, and ion-exchange resins, and that such solid acids may be applied to a wide range of reactions and substrates (page 42, para. 2). Castle also recognizes limitations associated with zeolite pore structure for longer and sterically hindered alcohols and explicitly suggests further investigation of a wider range of solid acids (page 71, para. 3).
However, Castle does not teach a cation exchanger as a catalyst.
Toda et al. teach process for the preparation of glycoside compounds (page 2, lines 5 – 6). The process for the preparation of a glycoside compound comprises reacting a saccharide compound in the presence of solid acid catalyst (page 3, lines 14 – 21). To be precise, the process for the preparation of a glycoside compound comprises reacting a saccharide compound with the general formula [Z(OH)q], wherein Z stands for a saccharide skeleton and q for the number of hydroxyl groups connecting to the saccharide skeleton in the presence of a solid acid catalyst with a glycerol derivative having the general formula HO[C3H5(OH)O]x-R, wherein R stands for an aliphatic group having 1 – 22 carbon atoms and s for a number of 1 – 7 (page 3, lines 14 – 25). The reaction is expressed by the following formula:
Z(OH)q + HO[C3H5(OH)O]-R1 [Wingdings font/0xE0] [Z(OH)q-1]-O[C3H5(OH)O]-R1,
wherein R1 stands for an aliphatic group having 1 – 12 carbon atoms (page 4, lines 15 – 21). This reaction shows that one hydroxyl group of the saccharide compound is replaced with an -O[C3H5(OH)O]x-R1 group, thereby forming an O-glycosidic bond between the saccharide residue and the hydroxy-containing glycerol group. Toda et al. further teach that the solid acid catalysts include ion exchangers, wherein the ion exchange is preferably an acid type cationic exchanger because of easiness in regeneration and the acid type cationic exchangers involve sulfonic acid type (page 5, lines 20 – 25). Furthermore, Toda et al. demonstrate the operability of acid-type cation exchangers in glycoside-forming reactions through working example using acid-form Amberlite IR-120B as a catalyst for the reaction between D-glucose and 1-O-n-hexylglycerol to produce glucopyranoside products (page 12, lines 40 – 42). Thus, Toda et al. demonstrate the feasibility of using acid-form cation exchange resins to produce glucopyranoside products.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the β-zeolite solid acid catalyst used by Castle with the acid-type cationic exchanger in view of Toda et al. because Castle teaches that solid acid catalysts include zeolites and ion-exchange resins and further suggests investigating a wider range of solid acids for the levoglucosan/alcohol glycoside-forming reaction, while Toda et al. teach that both zeolites and ion exchangers are suitable solid acid catalysts for glycoside formation and identifies acid-type cationic exchangers as preferred solid acid catalysts. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the substitution because Castle recognizes limitations associated with zeolite pore structure, particularly for longer or sterically hindered alcohols, and explicitly suggests further investigation of other solid acids, while Toda et al. teach that acid-type cationic exchangers are preferred due to the ease of regeneration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Castle demonstrates that solid acid catalysis promotes formation of alkyl glucopyranosides from levoglucosan and alcohol, and Toda et al. demonstrate that acid-form cation exchange resins successfully catalyze formation of glucopyranoside products from saccharide substrates and hydroxy-containing organic compounds.
Regarding claim 4, Castle discloses levoglucosan, which is an intramolecularly dehydrated sugar, as the starting material and Castle states that levoglucosan is an anhydrosugar of glucose having a cyclic acetal between carbons 1 and 6. Formation of this 1,6-cyclic acetal necessarily requires intramolecular condensation between the hydroxyl group at C1 and the hydroxyl group at C6, with elimination of water, to form the internal C1-O-C6 bridge. Thus, the claimed feature that water is elimination from two hydroxyl groups including a hydroxyl group bonded to the carbon atom at the 1-position is inherently disclosed in the levoglucosan of Castle.
Regarding claim 5, Castle discloses levoglucosan, which has an intramolecular structure, and states that levoglucosan is an anhydrosugar of glucose. Glucose is an aldose. Thus, the claimed feature is met.
Regarding claim 10, Castle discloses that the reaction where levoglucosan reacts with alcohol with no continuous addition of feed or removal of product during the reaction.
Regarding claim 11, Castle teaches octanol, which is a liquid, and the sugar will inherently dissolve in octanol.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed August 18, 2026, have been fully considered and are found to be not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the 103 rejection over Castle in view of Toda et al. should be withdrawn because Castle and Toda et al. use different reactants and allegedly proceed by different reaction mechanisms. Applicant characterizes Toda et al. as forming a glycoside through a dehydration reaction between a saccharide and a glycerol derivative by acid-catalyzed ring opening/addition of an alcohol to levoglucosan. The argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not require bodily incorporation of the reactants of Toda or the overall reaction mechanism of Toda et al. into Castle. Castle remains the primary reference and supplies the claimed levoglucosan/alcohol reaction. Toda et al. is relied upon for its teaching concerning the choice of solid acid catalyst. Moreover, Castle recognizes ion exchange resins as a class of solid acid catalysts, and Toda et al. explicitly teach that ion exchangers and zeolites are suitable solid acid catalysts for glycoside-forming reactions, with acid-type cationic exchangers being preferred.
Applicant further argues that Castle teaches H-β-zeolite to be the best performing heterogeneous catalyst, including high conversion and selectivity, and therefore a person of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to replace β-zeolite with a cation exchanger. This argument is not persuasive. Castle’s identification of β-zeolite as a preferred or high performing catalyst does not amount to a teaching away from other solid acid catalysts. In fact, Castle recognizes limitations associated with zeolite pore structure, particularly for longer or sterically hindered alcohols, and explicitly suggests further investigation of a wider ranger of solid acids. Thus, Castle provides a reason to consider alternative solid acid catalysts. Toda et al. then provide a specific alternative by teaching acid-type cationic exchangers as preferred solid acid catalysts for glycoside preparation, including the stated advantage of east of regeneration.
Applicant also argues that there would have been no reasonable expectation that the cation exchanger of Toda et al. would function in Castle’s reaction because the references concern different substrates and reaction pathways. This argument is not persuasive because the prior art provides evidence of operability for the relevant catalytic function. Castle demonstrates that solid acid catalysis promotes formation of alkyl glucopyranosides from levoglucosan and alcohol. Toda et al. demonstrate that acid-form cation exchange resins successfully catalyze formation of glucopyranoside products from saccharide substrates and hydroxy-containing organic compounds, including working examples using acid-form cation exchange resins. Thus, although the precise substrates and detailed mechanisms differ, one of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected an acid-type cation exchanger to provide the required solid acid catalytic function in Castle’s glycoside-forming process.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the modified ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693