DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because details of the various figures are blurry and in some cases it is not clear where the data points lie (see, for example, Fig. 1, particularly Example 2; similar remarks apply to the other figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu US20210218062A1 in view of Qian CN105304877A (using machine English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a lithium-sulfur battery (Xu, [0162], cathode comprises a carbon/sulfur composite, Fig. 2B battery 200), comprising:
a positive electrode (Xu, Fig. 2B, cathode 240), wherein the positive electrode comprises a sulfur-carbon composite as a positive electrode active material (Xu, [0162]) and
wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode current collector (Xu, Fig. 2B, collector 260) and a positive electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector (Xu, Fig. 2B, material 250, collector 260),
a negative electrode (Xu, Fig. 2B, anode 210),
a separator interposed therebetween (Xu, Fig. 2B, separator 270)
and an electrolyte solution (Xu, [0077]),
wherein the electrolyte solution comprises a lithium salt (Xu, [0077], lithium salt), an organic solvent (Xu, [0077], nonaqueous solvent), and an additive for the electrolyte solution (Xu, [0077], diluent), and wherein the electrolyte solution does not contain a dioxolane-based compound (Xu, [0135-0140]), the examiner notes that 1,3,-dioxolane is taught as one solvent which may be used, Xu discloses embodiments such as, for example, the nonaqueous solvent consists of DME (Xu, [0139]), satisfying the claim limitation,
wherein the additive for the electrolyte solution comprises bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether (Xu, [0142]). Xu however does not disclose wherein the positive electrode comprises an additive for the positive electrode, wherein the additive for the positive electrode comprises tellurium, and wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises the positive electrode active material and tellurium, wherein tellurium is contained in an amount of 1 to 10% by weight based on a total of 100% by weight of the positive electrode active material layer.
Qian teaches wherein the positive electrode comprises an additive for the positive electrode (Qian, [0028], “S1-x Mx /C (II)”), wherein the additive for the positive electrode comprises tellurium (Qian, [0028], “S1-x Mx /C (II)…M is any one or more of…Te”), and wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises the positive electrode active material and tellurium (Qian, [0028], “S1-x Mx /C (II)…M is any one or more of…Te”), wherein tellurium is contained in an amount of 1 to 10% by weight based on a total of 100% by weight of the positive electrode active material layer (Qian, [0015], [0028], “S1-x Mx /C (II)…0 < x < 1…M can be one or more of…Te”), the examiner notes that when x = 0.01, falling in the range as disclosed by Qian (Qian, [0024]), tellurium is contained in an amount of about 4%, falling within the claimed range and satisfying the claim limitation. Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the additive of Qian to Xu thereby improving electrochemical performance (Qian, [0009-0011]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Xu further teaches wherein bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)ether is contained in an amount of 1 to 20% by volume based on a total of 100% by volume of the electrolyte solution (Xu, [0151], solvent to diluent molar ratio of 5, corresponding to about 1.25 vol% of BTFE as the lower end of the molar ratio). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 10, modified Xu additionally teaches wherein the lithium salt comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of LiCl, LiBr, LiI, LiClO4, LiBF4, LiC4BO8, LiPF6, LiAsF6, LiSbF6, LiN(SO2F)2, LiSCN, LiN(CF3SO2)2, LiCF3SO3 (Xu, [0006]).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu US20210218062A1 in view of Qian CN105304877A (using machine English translation) and further in view of West US20060269834A1.
Regarding claim 6, modified Xu also teaches wherein the organic solvent comprises an acyclic ether (Xu, [0139]) but does not teach comprises a cyclic ether.
West teaches the organic solvent comprises a cyclic ether (West, [0023]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to add the cyclic ether of West to modified Xu thereby improving operating cell voltage (West, [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Xu as further modified above by West additionally teaches wherein the cyclic ether comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of 2-methylfuran, tetrahydrofuran (West, [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Xu additionally teaches wherein the acyclic ether comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of dimethoxyethane, diethylene glycol dimethyl ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, (Xu, [0139]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Xu also teaches wherein the organic solvent comprises dimethoxyethane (Xu, [0139]) and as modified above by West 2-methylfuran (West, [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jilek US20180048017A1 (discloses a Li-S battery and electrolyte comprising BTFE).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723