DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian CN105304877A (using machine English translation provided) in view of Mikhaylik US20050147891A1 and further in view of Chen, Shuru, et al. "A fluorinated ether electrolyte enabled high performance prelithiated graphite/sulfur batteries." ACS applied materials & interfaces 9.8 (2017): 6959-6966 (hereafter referred to as Chen-2017).
Regarding claim 1, Qian discloses a lithium-sulfur battery (Qian, [0028], “material prepared in this invention, when applied to lithium-sulfur batteries, can achieve a lithium storage capacity…”), comprising:
a positive electrode (Qian, [0028]),
a negative electrode (Qian, [0060]),
a separator interposed therebetween (Qian, [0105])
and an electrolyte solution (Qian, [0028]),
wherein the positive electrode comprises a sulfur-carbon composite as a positive electrode active material (Qian, [0012], [0014], “S1-x Mx /C (II)”) and an additive for the positive electrode (Qian, [0014], [0016], “S1-x Mx /C (II)…M can be one or more of…Te”),
wherein the additive for the positive electrode comprises tellurium (Qian, [0014], [0016], “S1-x Mx /C (II)…M can be one or more of…Te”),
wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode active material layer (Qian, [0012], “a sulfur-based cathode material, with the chemical formula shown in formula (I) or formula (II)”),
and wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises the positive electrode active material and tellurium (Qian, [0014], [0016], “S1-x Mx /C (II)…M can be one or more of…Te”)
and wherein tellurium is contained in an amount of 1 to 10% by weight based on a total of 100% by weight of the positive electrode active material layer (Qian, [0014-0016], “S1-x Mx /C (II)…0 < x < 1…M can be one or more of…Te”), the examiner notes that when x = 0.01, falling in the range as disclosed by Qian (Qian, [0024]), tellurium is contained in an amount of about 4%, falling within the claimed range and satisfying the claim limitation,
wherein the electrolyte solution comprises a lithium salt and an organic solvent (Qian, [0105]). Qian however does not disclose wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector and an additive for the electrolyte solution, and wherein the additive for the electrolyte solution comprises bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether.
In a lithium-sulfur battery Mikhaylik teaches wherein the electrolyte solution comprises a lithium salt (Mikhaylik, [0050]), and an organic solvent, such as blends of acyclic ethers and cyclic ethers (Mikhaylik, [0044]), an additive for the electrolyte solution (Mikhaylik, [0053], “N—O compounds for use as additives in the electrolyte…such as inorganic nitrates”) and wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector (Mikhaylik, [0032]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cathode of Qian with the teaching of Mikhaylik wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector thereby forming a composite cathode (Mikhaylik, [0032]).
In a lithium-sulfur battery Chen-2017 teaches wherein the additive for the electrolyte solution (Chen-2017, section 2, “The high CE is ascribed to the LiNO3 additive, which is known to suppress the polysulfide shuttling”) comprises bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether (Chen-2017, section 2, “the cell in the DOL/BTFE electrolyte shows much more stable discharge−charge profiles during cycling”). Therefore it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte additive of modified Qian with the teaching of Chen-2017 wherein the additive for the electrolyte solution comprises bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether thereby showing much more stable discharge−charge profiles during cycling (Chen-2017, section 2, “the cell in the DOL/BTFE electrolyte shows much more stable discharge−charge profiles during cycling”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Qian further teaches wherein the organic solvent comprises a cyclic ether and an acyclic ether (Mikhaylik, [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Qian additionally teaches wherein the cyclic ether comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of tetrahydrofuran, tetrahydropyran, 2-methyltetrahydrofuran (Mikhaylik, [0046]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Qian also teaches wherein the acyclic ether comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, dimethoxyethane, diethoxyethane (Mikhaylik, [0045]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Qian further teaches wherein the lithium salt comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of LiPF6 (Qian, [0105]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian CN105304877A (using machine English translation provided) in view of Mikhaylik US20050147891A1 and Chen-2017 (see above for full reference), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang US20180251681A1.
Regarding claim 5, modified Qian teaches all of the claim as set forth above and further teaches wherein bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)ether is contained in an amount of 50% by volume based on a total of 100% by volume of the electrolyte solution (Chen-2017, section 2, DOL/BTFE 1:1 v/v), but does not teach wherein bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)ether is contained in an amount of 1 to 20% by volume based on a total of 100% by volume of the electrolyte solution.
In a lithium battery Zhang teaches a lithium-sulfur battery (Zhang, [0171]) and wherein the electrolyte solution comprises a lithium salt, an organic solvent (Zhang, [0005]) and an additive for the electrolyte solution (Zhang, [0007]), wherein the additive for the electrolyte solution comprises bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)ether (Zhang, [0009]). Zhang further teaches wherein bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)ether is contained in an amount of 20% by volume based on a total of 100% by volume of the electrolyte solution (Zhang, [0162]), lying withing the claimed range and satisfying the claim limitation, in an amount of 1 to 20% by volume based on a total of 100% by volume of the electrolyte solution, see MPEP § 2144.05. Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte additive of modified Qian with the teaching of Zhang wherein bis (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)ether is contained in an amount of 1 to 20% by volume based on a total of 100% by volume of the electrolyte solution thereby producing a low flammability and nonflammable localized superconcentrated electrolyte (Zhang, [0010]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian CN105304877A (using machine English translation provided) in view of Mikhaylik US20050147891A1 and Chen-2017 (see above for full reference), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gorkovenko US20050175904A1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Qian teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the organic solvent comprises dimethoxyethane (Mikhaylik, [0045]) but does not teach wherein the organic solvent comprises 2-methylfuran and dimethoxyethane.
In a lithium battery Gorkovenko teaches the cathode comprising an electroactive sulfur-containing material (Gorkovenko, [0010]), such as those known in the art, for example, a carbon-sulfur composition (Gorkovenko, [0003]). Gorkovenko further teaches wherein the organic solvent comprises 2-methylfuran and dimethoxyethane (Gorkovenko, [0034-0035]), therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the organic solvent of modified Qian with the teaching of Gorkovenko wherein the organic solvent comprises 2-methylfuran and dimethoxyethane thereby reducing undesirable reactions, such as corrosion reactions, thereby increasing the cycle life (Gorkovenko, [0038]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rao US4190706A (discloses a cathode comprising sulfur-carbon compound and tellurium),
Muldoon US20110262804A1 (discloses a cathode comprising sulfur-carbon compound and tellurium).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723