DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed July 13, 2026.
Claim 1 was amended, rendering claims 1-12 pending, with claims 10-12 withdrawn as a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the phrase, “preferably <1%” is indefinite. The term preferably is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether <1% are required by the claim or not.
In claim 3, the phrase, “the stretch factor” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 1 does not recite a stretch factor. At best, claim 1 recites an area stretch factor.
In claim 5, the phrase, “preferably from 130°C to 160°C”. The term preferably is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether stretching temperatures from 130°C to 160°C are required by the claim or not.
Claims 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected for being dependent on instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103(a)
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Temchenko et al. (WO 2017/075499)
Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), as in claims 1-3. In claim 1, the phrase, “made by the process of: stretching an ETFE film having an initial thickness of 400 um or more to create an area stretch factor (Ax) of at least 1.65, wherein the stretched ETFE film exhibits a shift in the NIR combination bands relative to the unstretched film” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having an ETFE film with a thickness of at least 150um or more. The reference suggests such a product because Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5).
Concerning claim 4, Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In claim 4, the phrase, “made by the process steps of: heating an ETFE film having an initial thickness of 400um or more to its softening point to temperature condition the ETFE film; and mechanically stretching the ETFE film by 165-400% to create an area stretch factor (Ax) of at least 1.65” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having an ETFE film with a thickness of at least 150um or more. The reference suggests such a product because Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5).
Concerning claim 5, Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In claim 5, the phrase, “made by the process of claim 4 wherein the stretching temperature ranges from 120°C to 180°C, and preferably from 130°C to 160°C” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having an ETFE film with a thickness of at least 150um or more. The reference suggests such a product because Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5).
Concerning claim 6, Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5). In claim 6, the phrase, “made by the process of claim 5 including the step of pre-heating the initial ETFE film” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a ETFE film. The reference suggests such a product because Yang discloses an ETFE film having a thickness of less than 0.20mm (200um) (paragraph 2).
Concerning claim 7, Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5). In claim 7, the phrase, “made by the process of claim 4 including the step of annealing the stretched film at a temperature between 120°C to 180°C” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a ETFE film. The reference suggests such a product because Yang discloses an ETFE film having a thickness of less than 0.20mm (200um) (paragraph 2).
Concerning claim 8, Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5). In claim 8, the phrase, “made by the process of claim 4 wherein the step of mechanically stretching is done by a tenter-frame machine in one direction thereby imparting biaxial orientation” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a ETFE film. The reference suggests such a product because Yang discloses an ETFE film having a thickness of less than 0.20mm (200um) (paragraph 2).
Concerning claim 9, Temchenko discloses an ETFE layer having a thickness from 50 microns to 250 microns, where the film has a haze value of less than 16% (paragraph 5). In claim 9, the phrase, “made by the process of claim 4 wherein the step of mechanically stretching is done by a tenter-frame machine in one direction thereby imparting uniaxial orientation” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a ETFE film. The reference suggests such a product because Yang discloses an ETFE film having a thickness of less than 0.20mm (200um) (paragraph 2).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 106279946 A) are moot based on grounds of new rejection.
Applicant’s arguments of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Teijin (JPH 10-212362 A) are moot based on grounds of new rejection.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781