DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. In particular, this Application is the national stage application of an international application that claims a domestic benefit to a provisional application filed on 28 May 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement, received on 24 Nov 2022, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (WO 2021/159466).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Wang teaches a wireless communication method and a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication, the UE for providing uplink (UL) feedback in response to receiving data corresponding to a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS), the UE comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Wang, ¶24 and figure 1(b) – UE includes a processor and memory), cause the UE to:
receive the data corresponding to the MBS (Wang, ¶¶39, 41– multicast and/or broadcast service data is received by UE via multicast traffic channels, MTCHs); and
enable a transmission of the UL feedback, in response to receiving the data corresponding to the MBS, when at least one of a plurality of predetermined conditions is satisfied (Wang, ¶52 – MTCHinfolist informs UEs if HARQ feedback is disabled or enabled),
the plurality of predetermined conditions comprising: receiving an indication to enable the UL feedback, wherein the indication to enable the UL feedback is configured in accordance with a Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI) associated with the MBS, and receiving an indication of a UL resource for transmitting the UL feedback. Wang, figure 5 and ¶55 (step 2 – UE receives MCCH configuration, which includes MTCHinfolist); Wang, 13:9, 13:20, 13:24,26 (MTCHinfolist includes “g-RNTI-r17,” “harqFeedbackEnabled-r17,” and “pucchResourceMulticast-r17” and/or “pucchResourceSetMulticast-r17”); Wang, ¶¶53 and 61-62 (PUCCH resource indicator for HARQ feedback).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Wang also teaches disabling the transmission of the UL feedback when none of the plurality of predetermined conditions is satisfied. Wang, ¶¶52, 58 (when the harqFeedbackEnabled bit is not set to “1,” HARQ is disabled [i.e. the bit is set to “0” instead]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Wang also teaches wherein the indication to enable the UL feedback is included in at least one of Downlink Control Information (DCI), a downlink (DL) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), a dedicated DL Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and broadcast system information. Wang, ¶48 (MCCH Configuration message, which includes the MTCHinfolist, may be an RRC message).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Wang also teaches receiving the data corresponding to the MBS within a frequency range. Wang, ¶41 (BWP used to transmit multicast and broadcast service data).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Wang also teaches wherein the frequency range corresponds to a DL Bandwidth Part (BWP) or a frequency supported by a cell. Wang, ¶41.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Wang also teaches transmitting the UL feedback after enabling the transmission of the UL feedback (Wang, ¶38 – second feedback option requires both ACK and NACK based HARQ),
wherein: transmitting the UL feedback includes:
transmitting a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Acknowledgement (ACK) or a HARQ Negative ACK (NACK) that corresponds to a HARQ process of the data corresponding to the MBS on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource (Wang, ¶¶53 and 61-62 - PUCCH resource indicator for HARQ feedback; Wang, ¶38 – transmit ACK or NACK transmitted by UE), or transmitting at least one of a UL Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a UL Radio Resource Control (RRC) message on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resource,
the HARQ ACK indicates that the data corresponding to the MBS is successfully received and the HARQ NACK indicates that the data corresponding to the MBS is not successfully received (Wang, 2:6-8 – ACK or NACK is delivered based on the success or failure of the transport block), and the UL MAC CE or the UL RRC message includes at least one of a first value or a second value, the first value indicating that the data is successfully received, and the second value indicating that the data is not successfully received. Examiner’s interpretation – the UL MAC CE/RRC message is optional in the claimed invention and therefore need not be taught by Wang because it teaches the other option.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Wang also teaches receiving Downlink Control Information (DCI) associated with the G-RNTI for the MBS, wherein the DCI indicates a downlink (DL) resource channel for receiving the data corresponding to the MBS. Wang, ¶46 (a specific DCI is received by the UE for the G-RNTI).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Wang also teaches wherein the indication to enable the UL feedback is transmitted to a group of UEs that are receiving the data corresponding to the MBS with a same G-RNTI (Wang, ¶28 – one G-RNTI identifies one MTCH, where MTCHs are received by a plurality of UEs), and a field of the DCI indicates the UL resource for transmitting the UL feedback. Wang, ¶55 (MTCHinfolist includes fields “pucchResourceMulticast-r17” and/or “pucchResourceSetMulticast-r17”); Wang, ¶¶53 and 61-62 (PUCCH resource indicator for HARQ feedback).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (of record) in view of Dinan (US 20220141853).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Wang teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, UE of claim 11, and enabling the transmission of the UL feedback. Wang, ¶55 (MTCHinfolist includes “harqFeedbackEnabled-r17”). Wang does not explicitly teach “initiating a Random Access (RA) procedure when the UL resource for transmitting the UL feedback has not been indicated.” However, Dinan provides a UE via an uplink grant via a random access response from the base station. Dinan, ¶213; see also id., figure 9 and ¶133 for RAR from eNB. In one embodiment, the UL transmission that is granted based on the RACH procedure includes HARQ feedback. Id. at ¶225. At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to perform RACH, as taught by Dinan, in order to send HARQ feedback, as taught by Wang, in order to provide the UE with another means to access an uplink channel, even when the PDCCH does not include an uplink grant. Id. at ¶213.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Wang teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, the UE of claim 11, wherein the data corresponding to the MBS is associated with a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) or a Transport Block (TB). Wang, ¶46 (received MAC PDU is decoded by the UE); Wang, ¶7 (HARQ feedback provided based on the success or failure of the whole transport block being decoded). Wang does not explicitly teach the data being “for a corresponding Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process.” However, Dinan teaches defining data based on HARQ process IDs. Dinan, ¶¶224-225. At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use HARQ process IDs, as taught by Dinan, when transmitting the MAC PDUs or TBs, taught by Wang, in order to enable the device to identify which HARQ process are associated with a given transmission. Dinan, ¶¶234, 243.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461